No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Castor Oil • Brows

rated 4.4(352 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Sileane on 3/24/2014 7:36:00 AM more reviews by Sileane

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using castor oil for 3 months now, and my eyebrows and eyelashes have gotten thicker. I had eyelash extensions for a month, and afterwards they took a lot of my eyelashes out, my eyelashes were sore and etc. I was looking up at youtube and google to fix my eyelash loss problem and i've been using castor oil nightly. I didnt think it would work at all, because not many products work out for me, but this made my eyelashes grow little baby lashes everywhere and noticed how darker my lashes got to!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shaylynn on 3/19/2014 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Shaylynn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Before I started using castor oil, my hair grew 1/3 of an inch (.8cm) per month. Now, it grows at a steady inch per month. All I do is lightly oil my hair and work a tiny bit into the roots before I head off to school. It leaves a very nice shine and doesn't look oily.

Also, I burned the tips of my eyelashes off, so I thought I'd try using castor oil on them. Two days later, I can definitely notice a good difference in my singed lashes!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slash123 on 3/17/2014 9:07:00 PM more reviews by slash123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hello all,

So, I am currently using castor oil on my eyebrows and hair as of March 10, 2014. I use the NOW version.

First, I will explain why I began using castor oil for my eyebrows/hair.

Second, I will explain my routine.

Third, I will explain my progress (with routine updates of course).

Why?
I am using castor oil on both my eyebrows and scalp to promote hair growth. I read that it helps, and recently had a bad experience in the threading salon.

I have EXTREMELY thick eyebrows, and for some reason, the threader decided that my brows should be thin and uneven. So annoying! I'm crazy about eyebrows, and already spent 3 months growing them out 4 years ago to get them shaped. The shape is pretty clear, so I don't know how this lady messed them up. I also had a gap missing in my right eyebrow from the experience. Unfortunately, now I have to grow out my eyebrows again! I wanted to expedite the process, so I did some research and found castor oil was good for that.

As to my hair, I have noticed that it seems like my baby hairs are beginning to retreat. After years of dying my hair any color I felt like that day, using shitty shampoo, and straightening and blowdrying it into submission, I was not at all surprised. Luckily, my hair mirrors my brows and is very thick. However, I have noticed less growth than before and would like to return it to its initial healthy, thick, shiny look.

Routine
Nightly, I put castor oil all over my scalp and face. I rub it into my eyebrows and use my finger as a "wand" to evenly coat both sides of my eyelashes. Occasionally, I will hop in the shower first so my hair is nice and steamy before I apply the oil.

Results
March 17, 2014
I have only missed one day this week, but I am already seeing results in the quality of my hair. My eyebrows will stay in place a bit easier, and my eyelashes seem a tiny tiny tiny bit thicker. My hair has had amazing results thus far, I can't believe it! Such a short amount of time. It's DEFINITELY a lot shinier. Easier to brush, and feels so much softer.

March 28, 2014
I have missed a couple days here and there, but I've been pretty consistent with it. My hair has improved dramatically and I think it's getting longer, really fast. I also think that my little baby hairs are growing out...

I haven't noticed a difference on my eyebrows though :( I can't tell if this is just because it takes longer or what, though because I HAVE noticed a difference on my eyelashes. Will update soon, and I'm taking pictures for later.

Updates Soon

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KristyF on 3/10/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by KristyF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my!!! I have noticed as I am getting older that my eyebrows are not growing in so much. My eyebrows were never thin but just some area's have stopped growing in. My eyelashes are much sadder, so straight and not full at all.

I bought the natural one at Whole Foods and applied it twice a day and it's only been 2 weeks and the results have been amazing.

My eyelashes are much longer and fuller, my eyebrows have no bald patches. The hairs on my hairline are growing in much thicker. I am so happy about this and for the price it's unbelievable. I will continue to use this always!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ysaldra on 2/28/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by Ysaldra

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This didn't do much for my eyebrows, I must admit. Then again, I had so little to work with from the start. HOWEVER...my eyelashes have never been so long! Ever! With just a couple of light coats of mascara they look like false lashes. And I've been applying this to my face, throat and hands at night and after my morning shower for 2 months, sometimes straight or mixed with moisturizers. My skin has never felt this clean and soft! It also got rid of a dry patch of skin on the bridge of my nose that I've had forever -- all flakiness on my nose is gone! Castor oil will live forever in my memory as the product that got my skin through the (Michigan) winter of 2014. Thanks to MUA readers for all the great reviews that led me to try it!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissNolasco on 2/26/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by MissNolasco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think that castor oil is overrated and extremely expensive for what it is. I don't like this particular one because of its smell but I have purchased a new by a different brand which is cheaper and could tell the difference on my brows within 4 weeks of having it. This one is not worth the money but if you are just trying it for the first time give it a chance and don't be influenced by my review because it works differently for different people. But if you are not sure about buying it, listen to me and don't waste your money on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessdenman on 2/23/2014 11:02:00 PM more reviews by jessdenman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Castor oil is such a brow saver! I've been using it for quite some time now and my brows have never looked better. After a bad tint my hairs started to fall out and I wasn't left with much. After a few months use (not consistently just when I remember) I have full thick brows with hairs growing in spots I thought I would never have hair again. Definitely recommend castor oil to anyone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iamnonay on 2/20/2014 11:03:00 PM more reviews by iamnonay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I want to share my experience to you guys. Im an asian with very short lashes, i cant even curl it! So im really searching for creams/oils or whatever-you-call-it thing that will help me grow my lashes longer and thicker. So then one time I saw on facebook this "natural beauty and health remedies" group(you should join this gals too) i saw that a lot of members are using 'castor oil + vit e mixture' to have a longer lashes and they have a good feedback in it.

So after reading a lot of reviews i give it a try. I bought 60ml castor oil and 2 vit e capgel(myra-e) . What i did is i cut the vit e and mix it with the oil. I use vit e because it will boost the effectiveness of the oil. I applied it to my lashes every night before bedtime using my finger. After 6 times of using it, i see the results already! Awesome right? And now i keep on applying it for more healthy and longer lashes!

Don't hesitate to try this! Make sure you'll apply it gently to avoid Eye contact.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kimballchili on 2/19/2014 8:31:00 AM more reviews by Kimballchili

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely the best product for your eyes and body. Multipurpose thing - every girl/boy shoud have it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moonlight11 on 2/18/2014 2:00:00 AM more reviews by moonlight11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Best beauty product ever - and for so cheap. I use it as the "muscle" in my oil mixture for the Oil Cleansing Method. I use it to help fill in bald spots on my eyebrows, to make my lashes grow longer, to get rid of age spots in two weeks or less, to fade scars, as an anti-frizz leave-in conditioner, to soften my feet, as well as to plump up wrinles. The stuff is very viscous but is easily absorbed by the skin. Castor Oil Packs became widely known during Edgar Cayce's readings, and there are thousands of cases of its healing power. I have seen it myself. I tell ya, the 'Palm of Christ' oil is nothing short of miraculous. I will never be without it again.

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Brows products