Castor Oil

4.3

390 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil.


on 2/2/2015 6:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Castor oil is a must have for anyone! I started off by using it on my eyelashes to promote healthy, luscious lashes. I didn't really believe they would promote new growth. I was wrong.

I believe because my lashes received the nourishment and care they needed, it promoted new growth. The little massage I do while applying it also helps. My lashes are fuller, longer, thicker, and just beautiful. I have been asked on several occasions what mascara I was using, when I was make up free!

How I use it: Mix some castor oil with another oil (optional, but suggested to help with spreading castor oil since its very thick) in a small container. I mostly use almond oil, or coconut oil if I ran out. I leave it in my bathroom cabinet and use once every night. I just dip my ring finger (its the gentlest when applying pressure) into the container and gently massage it on my lash line. Then I run my finger along the lashes with the left over oil that's on my finger. I do the same to my lower lashes sometimes.


I recently started using it in a mix for my hair. I will update soon with my progress!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 1/28/2015 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I dont use this for my eyebrows since my eyebrows are already so full, but i heard castor oil can help grow your eyelashes as well. My eyelashes are very short and no amount of mascara ever helped give the effect of long lashes for me so i eventually gave up and started wearing falsies as part of my everyday routine. Fast forward to 9 days ago, i was looking at random reviews to find new products to try and i came across a blog where the blogger used castor oil to grow out her lashes, i then googled this bizarre trick only to find that its a very popular solution to growing lashes. I had a bottle of castor oil USP (the laxative one) so i started putting it on my upper lashline every night and in the short 9 days ive been using it, my eyelash length has doubled! I decided to test out my new found eyelash length last night by wearing mascara instead of falsies and everyone asked me if i was wearing my falsies! This stuff is amazing and so cheap, i will continue using this everynight!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got castor oil about a week and a half ago to help grow out my eyebrows and what a difference its made! Ive been using it on my eyebrows and lashes over night, and my eyelashes are already flaring out at the corners and my lower lashes are growing farther in than they used to! Places where I never even had lashes are filling in rapidly! Its crazy! I just use my finger to apply them to lashes and brows after I remove all my makeup, before I go to bed.

I had a few gaps in my eyebrows from over tweezing. My thin, sparse brows are already filling in with thicker, darker new hairs! The only downside is that this oil is VERY sticky and hard to work with. It smells kind of odd as well, but in a strange way, I actually like the smell haha. Many people would probably hate the scent though, so thats something to look out for.

I don't know how it benefits hair yet. I've been massaging a few drops of castor on my scalp the night before a wash. I'll update later if I notice results! :)

EDIT 1/25/15: My eyelashes have gotten so thick! I can't even get my mascara on all of them! Curling my eyelashes used to be a daily necessity, now I don't have to curl them anymore! They haven't been getting much longer recently, I think I've pushed them to get as long as they're gonna get, they have been getting darker though and I am getting more volume as well! I massage this oil into my scalp at least an hour before a wash and I haven't noticed a difference with my hair growth yet.

My skin has been getting so dry recently due to the freezing, winter weather. I've been doing to oil cleansing method along with coconut oil, and my skin feels so silky once I do this!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2014 6:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought a bottle of castor oil to try for the oil cleansing method a while ago, but I didn't like it for that so I gave it a shot on my brows after seeing some of the positive reviews on Makeupalley. I use a tiny drop shared across both brows with a quick swipe of my finger, focusing on my poor bald spot in my brows. I've been using it consistently each night for about a month, and unfortunately the results are no different than when I used Vaseline previously.

I have read that moisturizers like Vaseline and castor oil don't help with encouraging actual hair growth but they do prevent breakage of the hair, which leads to the appearance of faster growth. Other people may have different experiences, but for me this is spot on since my brows are a tiny bit longer than they were before. However, in the one spot where I over tweezed and sorely wish I hadn't, there has not been any new growth.

Overall, this didn't work for me in the way I had hoped (stimulating growth in my eyebrow bald spot), but it still was effective at conditioning my brow hairs and preventing breakage. If you have some castor oil (or any other oil/petroleum jelly) around, it may be worth giving a shot but it's not something I would repurchase specifically for this purpose.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2014 10:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried castor oil about a year or so ago to grow out my edges and help my poor wimpy little eyebrows but wasn't consistent with it and just couldn't seem to get it to work for me. I was making the mistake of using it plain and no matter how small of an amount you use, if you use it alone it will be too thick and sticky.

Fast forward to about 3 months ago and i started mixing it with avocado oil (1/3 castor oil, 2/3 avocado oil) in a small bottle for removing eye makeup and i started noticing how much thicker and longer my lashes looked. I noticed they were fuller first and now they're longer, to the point that it looks like i'm wearing one coat of mascara even when they're bare. I've started to using around my edges in the front to hopefully grow out my bangs faster. Good stuff and it really does work if you use it sparingly and consistently.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2014 6:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is the HG to growing your hair out. I use it once every two weeks and it has shown improvement.

Also helped growing my eyebrows out when the girl who waxed them waxed too much off.

I use it also for my eyelashes at night and as an OCM

Definitely an investment you'll enjoy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 6:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using castor oil (Now Solutions brand) for about... hmm.. the 8 months or so? I first got it to help grow back my pixie hair cut faster. Then I remembered that lots and lots of people swear by it for growing back or conditioning their lashes and brows.

I'm of East Asian descent and I have very sparse, thin, stick straight lashes and brows. You know you're playing a dangerous game when you're plucking your brows and you pick ONE wrong brow hair and it's GAME OVER. Now you have a giant bald spot you have to fake being full with makeup til who knows when it will grow back. The thing is, I was quite overzealous with this when I was a young teen and it NEVER GREW BACK. This plucking business is even more dangerous for me because I have such thin, sparse brows. So that is the sad, sad story of how I came to have a giant bald spot on my left eyebrow many years ago.

I really wasn't expecting much of anything when I started putting this on my brows and lashes. Just to let you know, it's not a miracle potion or anything. I really only started using it for extra conditioning properties and figured it wouldn't hurt. I wasn't expecting any growth from it at all, and it really didn't do anything for a long while, and I went about my usual daily business of placing that extra dark brown powder in my bald spot and wrestling with my curler and mascara to try to enhance what I've got (or what I haven't got..?). But then one day I noticed that hey! What the cabbage??? I don't have to put on as much brow powder anymore! And I took a step back and just LOOKED at my brows. HEY! HEY BUDDY, YOU'RE BACK! WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN THE PAST DECADE??

And SO folks, THAT is the story of how my left brow was united with its old buddy, the brow hairs, after a decade long absence. In fact, castor oil brings a little TOO many buddies all over my eyelids in a much shorter amount of time than before I started using it. Now I actually have to spend some quality time with my tweezerman tweezers. Castor oil didn't make my brows or lashes grow any THICKER or anything, but I am perfectly happy for this incredibly cheap remedy because my brow buddies are BACK and I don't mind plucking a some extra hairs from time to time. And I'm pretty sure it's castor oil that is making the difference because I've been using lots of different oils as moisturizer/lash conditioner for years now, and have also tried vaseline as well, and they didn't do anything in terms of growth.

As for my lashes, like I said, it didn't help with volume or anything, but my lashes are DEFINITELY longer and actually visible now with mascara on (I take before and after pictures of everything, particularly for skin improvements). Even my partner noticed, and he never notices /anything/. But take this with a grain of salt because it could also be because I took a break from curling my lashes and putting on mascara every single day for a little while. I just like to use it for conditioning my lashes (my full n soft waterproof mascara I've been using for the past 4 years or so is definitely too strong for my eyes and probably lashes, as it makes my eyes bloodshot and water and burn a bit.. oh well time to make the switch), and don't expect it to give me the fake lash effect.

I really just think this helps you reach your body's natural potential for hair growth, that's been stopped for whatever reason. My pixie cut is reaching my shoulders now too, after 6 months of usage, but I don't want to be too hasty and say that that is castor oil all by itself, because I also used rosemary essential oil as well (which is also supposed to stimulate growth, but it's also INCREDIBLY AMAZINGGGG if you have hair that gets oily really fast like I do - just put several drops mixed with water/aloe on your scalp after showers - it doesn't make your hair greasy AT ALL if it is not diluted rosemary oil.. NOW Foods/Solutions 4 oz bottle on amazon that I bought feels definitely diluted... But Aura Cacia's did not. What a waste of money!). And I also did apple cider vinegar rinses after shampooing. (If you are doing ACV rinses, and if pH of hair things matters to you: you can see on kimmaytube's pH test of commonly used hair things video that only 1/4 tsp of it, which is a TINY amount, in 4 oz. of water = half a cup of water, brings the pH of ACV to 4.0, which is okay and won't eat away your hair or anything, assuming your water has a pH of 7. So yeah, it doesn't take a lot to get good effects is all I'm sayin'.)

Oh, one thing to consider though, I have read that it's extremely dangerous for workers to harvest the castor plant. From what I know, a lot of people since ancient times have made use of this plant for all sorts of things so I'm thinking it should be okay if done safely, but I do not know what the working conditions are for mass-produced castor oil/etc. from the company I order from is like, so I'm opting to go with Mountain Rose Herb's brand next time I order because they seem like they're a lot more aware of these kinds of things. This concerns me a lot, as I wouldn't want others to get hurt or potentially die partly because little ol' me wants to look a little better on this side of the world.

So yeah. In summary, castor oil helped with the growth of my hairs. I hope that helped someone. Yey i actually finished something

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 7:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Where I come from, they say: Castor oil for Hairs and Lashes (to grow faster), Almond oil (sweet) for Brows and Hairs (to grow new hairs!).. Almond oil is not good on eyes anyway.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Castor oil is 90% ricinoleic acid, which has skin smoothing and moisturizing properties.

I'm not a huge fan of castor oil for the eyebrows. I think it's better for cleansing, though that too has its detriments: https://www.futurederm.com/2011/07/29/does-the-oil-cleansing-method-work-the-friendly-friday-qa-post/


on 10/24/2014 9:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have mixed feelings about castor oil in general, but since this is a review for using it on the brows, I'll keep it at that. About a month ago I was using this on my brows religiously every night for about 3 weeks, so it's safe to say I've formed a pretty solid opinion.

From my experience it seems like it moreso makes brow hairs longer rather than fuller. The length of my brow hairs is not my issue; they're long enough. My brows aren't extremely sparse, but they're sparse enough to have to use more products than I care to (pencil, powder, and tinted brow gel) to make them look decent. I think it MAYBE could have helped grow back overplucked areas slightly more quickly, but that could just be a placebo effect.

In a nutshell: If your brow hairs are too short, I think castor oil will help. If you want your brows to be more full, you'll probably be disappointed.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
Castor Oil
390 Reviews
Brow Wiz
Brow Wiz
380 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
Eyebrow Kit
640 Reviews
Eyebrow Gel
Eyebrow Gel
41 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Natural Lash Growth Gel by KlairedelysArt



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

117 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

48 reviews
Back to Top