Cover Girl • Lash Blast Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.4(988 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 2/6/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After using the Fusion version of Last Blast (water "resistant" version) and deciding it was okay, I decided to try out the original (waterproof). It's really disappointing. I would have thought that it would be more volumizing, since the formula's not also trying to achieve length; instead, it's much LESS volumizing. The formula is very wet/waxy, and the first coat seems to just blacken the lashes, nothing more. Adding further coats just glues the lashes together. To get any kind of decent look, I have to fight with this mascara for quite a while. Using it regularly would add several minutes to my daily routine.

It's more waterproof than the Fusion formula, I'll give it that, but it's really pointless. If I'd tried this first, I would never have bothered with any of the other Lash Blast line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 1/16/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

about three years ago, I had this in the regular version, and now I have been using the waterproof, after not using any kind of waterproof mascara for three years either. I'm not sure how I dealt with it when I had the non-waterproof version, because the wand is so big and I always get smudging on my eyelid because the wand is difficult to maneuver. (maybe because I've been using mascaras with smaller, lighter wands since then.) fortunately, with the waterproof version, unlike regular mascaras that I've used that smudge, it wipes easily off skin if I smudge some. it also stays on the lashes pretty well; I remove it with mineral or olive oil. but I gave this mascara only a 3 not just because of the hard-to-control big wand, but also because it gives my lashes plenty of length, but little volume. I thought I remember Lash Blast Volume giving me more volume when I last used it a few years ago, unless my lashes have thinned out since then, or perhaps I have fewer! :( nevertheless, for something that's marketed as a volumizing mascara, I think it should do more. I'll keep on using it, but I need to be extra careful so as not to get it all over my eyelids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pec on 1/5/2013 2:14:00 AM more reviews by pec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Applicator:
Rubber bristles. This style of applicator evenly coats your lashes, as well as define & separate enough during application that you don't need to comb afterwards. I haven't used a mascara with a traditional brush wand since I tried rubber bristles, as I find they just clump chunks of lashes together and require lots of combing to separate. However, the applicator on this mascara is so fat that unless you are extremely skilled/careful, you will smudge mascara on your eyelid, waterlines or lashlines. The tip is only very slightly tapered.


Easy to Hold:
No. The grip on the wand is too fat & awkwardly shaped, and is made of a satin finish plastic that is a little slippery. Everytime I use this mascara I grip the wand for dear life out of fear that I'll drop it on the carpet.


Easy to Use:
No. As mentioned above, the wand is difficult to work with because of the fat applicator that isn't tapered enough at the tip and the awkward grip. I find it extremely hard to get right to the root of my lashes (both top and bottom) without accidentally smearing mascara on my lashlines. I can't get to the root of my inner corner lashes at all (for fear of ruining my eyeshadow with a huge blob of mascara), so they end up coated from the mid-lengths only. The stopper in the tube doesn't scrape enough product off the tip, so extra wiping or blotting is required. I can't wear a light, soft or neutral eyeshadow look with this because if I accidentally smear some on my lashline (happens 99% of the time), I need to then smoke out my look by adding a smudged pencil or shadow eyeliner to disguise the boo-boo. I save this mascara for dramatic looks only so if I do make a mistake, it's already hidden by black liquid liner.


Lashes Achieved:
Defined & Volumised. A light application will darken, define & add lots of volume, a few more coats will add defined mega volume. Doesn't add much length.


Buildable:
Yes. You can apply several layers to build up extra definition or volume without clumping or spidery lashes. However, it is too easy to goop too much mascara on the lash tips due to the fat applicator, so you need to be careful.


Holds a Curl:
As it is waterproof, yes.


Flakes/Smudges:
As it is waterproof, no. Though if your lashes get wet (tears, rain or swimming) you will lose the defined look and have clumpy chunks of lashes.


Formula/Consistency:
Perfect - not too wet or dry. You can use the mascara straight away without having to wait a few days or weeks for it to dry out to a manageable consistency. This is the only reason this mascara gets 2 lippies instead of 1.


Recommended:
Mascara experts; someone who regularly wears dramatic/smokey looks and won't be bothered by accidental smearing on lashlines; someone who wants a mascara that can give volume from the very first coat; someone who needs a truly waterproof formula.


Not Recommended:
Those who already have a hard time applying mascara; someone who applies makeup in a rush to get out the door and won't have time to fix mistakes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 megancya on 12/28/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by megancya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara, it does what I always wanted falsies to do. It makes my lashes look full and thick, will definitely always have one of these around!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ldimples00 on 12/24/2012 7:34:00 PM more reviews by ldimples00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara def makes my lashes look fuller and gives me more volume. I sometimes use this with Maybelline Full N' Soft and it makes me look like I have on falsies. I only use waterproof mascara as the non-waterproof mascaras will not hold a curl. With using waterproof mascara all the time, I make sure to remove it every night and condition my lashes every night so my lashes will not dry out and break off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Heart433 on 12/23/2012 1:38:00 AM more reviews by Heart433

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Adds blackness and a modest amount of length. Two layers shows much more added length. Smudges horribly after a few hours however, and is nearly impossible to remove deliberately. Finishing coat of clear mascara is required. Application wand also has good shape and the thick handle makes it easy to manipulate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beatrizbeltran on 12/14/2012 9:46:00 AM more reviews by beatrizbeltran

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best mascara ever. Hold the curl, does not smudge, I applied it at 5 in the morining and it is still perfect by 8 at night!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Coronet on 12/2/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by Coronet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not a fan. I always use waterproof mascaras due to my straight-as-boards lashes that can't hold curl without a waterproof formula. This mascara is hard to work with. For starters, the brush is thick, but the bristles are short and stubby. This deposits tons of clumpy mascara without separating any of my lashes giving me a really trashy look no matter how much I comb through my lashes. After grooming through my lashes the curl is gone, so it's not really worth it overall for me. The positives are that there really isn't any fall out for me, so that's good, but I don't feel like I get much length.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MichelleB03 on 12/2/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by MichelleB03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is really thick, and I think the brush makes it harder to apply. I need a Tweezerman lash comb if I use this. It is pretty waterproof, I only get a few flakes after splashing my face with water and rubbing my eyes. It does give big lashes, but it is really sticky and clumpy and a lash comb is definitely needed. Maybe a better applicator would help. I would buy it again, but only because I don't know of a waterproof mascara that flakes less.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWhit99 on 11/11/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by JaneWhit99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This from what I have heard is a hit or miss for a lot of people. In my case, it was a hit :) This definitely added length, holds the curl, and lots of volume to my lashes. The only trouble I saw with this product is it is a bit difficult to remove. Either use solid balm or a pad and you should be fine. I have bought this about 8 times and will keep doing so until I find something better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products