Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(339 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Erinmh on 12/8/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Erinmh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I loved this product when I first got it. It is a truly long lasting foundation and it's actually incredibly hard to take off with just face wash so you definitely need a good makeup remover for this. However after about 3 weeks of use I noticed the foundation looks extremely cakey after not even 1 hour. I have combination skin and it clings to all of my dry patches and makes them look very patchy. It also settles into any and all of my fine lines, which is ridiculous because I really don't have any... Applying one layer is a very sheer coverage, almost like you're wearing nothing at all. I usually apply 2 layers, but when I do so it feels really sticky. No matter what I do I can't prevent this foundation from looking cakey and gross on my skin. Such a bummer as I had high hopes for this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 justmigrating on 12/5/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by justmigrating

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Good color match for my pale skin. No smell. Didn't irritate my rosacea.

Cons: Sticky and difficult to spread. Didn't cover my redness. Coverage not buildable. Dried out my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Calliopi on 11/27/2013 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Calliopi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the most long wearing, natural looking foundation I've tried. It's also my most repurchased foundation. When I want my complexion to look perfect and stay perfect all day, I reach for this foundation. I wear the color Ivory which is a perfect match. With the Cover girl Clean SS foundation my shade is Ivory as well for reference. Almay TLC foundation can be hard to wash off, but I guess that's the point right? Love this stuff.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 10/28/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I had given up on my quest for drugstore foundations days ago. After all, I have quite a few holy grail foundations that out-perform most drugstore fleshpaste. For example, MUFE's HD, NARS Sheer Glow, MUFE's Face and Body, and Bourjois' Healthy Mix serum in their respective fall/winter shades are already out on top of my vanity. Despite having my HG and more, I had to be sure that there wasn't a drugstore dupe out there that would do just as well.

I want undetectable, flawless, longwearing, and yellow. Yellow like a boiled chicken. And cheap. Maybe under $15 bucks. Drugstore foundations ultimately fail because they are often too thick, clog my pores, and oxidize too neutral or pink on my skin after a few hours. It's been a quest.

While many tote Revlon's Colorstay as the best a girl can get for cheap, I digress. While it's great and well, it can be too thick and dare I say cakey... even if the result is flawless. Weirdly, I've gotten compliments only by SA's and MUAs when wearing it, so they know I'm wearing foundation. Even Covergirl's 3-in-1 with its amazing formulation doesn't have enough yellow tones to match Jaundice Be.

Well, I think I've struck gold with Almay's TLC in Buff. Why?
Yellow and light harmoniously coexisting. It's not light and neutral (NW20), or yellow and dark (NC35+). It's perfectly NC25, the same yellow-ness as a MAC foundation.
It's cheap. I found it for $12.99 at Rite Aid but with a BOGO discount. It's an underdog. I mean, literally at the bottom aisle of the display, tucked in the corner like some forgotten brand. I've NEVER owned an Almay product in my life.
It's very thick in consistency but amazingly easy to blend into the skin, especially with a BeautyBlender. It's also very buildable from a normal medium coverage to full without caking. It's about the same consistency as my Bourjois.
It wears for years. The name TLC actually stands for Truly Lasting Color. I would say it is as long wearing and potent as Colorstay.
It also comes with a pump that dispenses a perfect amount, unlike Colorstay.
It's moisturizing and doesn't point out flakes. The finish is satin, perfect for winter.
*Hallelujah*

So is the quest for drugstore foundation done and over with? Maybe. I'd like something with a little less coverage than this for lazy days, but if you're one with skin problems it should be a huge hit. The closest thing to what I wanted was L'oreal True Match Lumi in W4 until I discovered massive clogged pores.

I'll give this one another two weeks and report back.

Be

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Aprilsfool413 on 10/22/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Aprilsfool413

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I've been searching for a cheap foundation that won't break me out... When I first started using this product I loved it. It controlled my oiliness! But tht was rele the only reason I liked it... Now I'm afraid it has broken me out with cystic acne ): I'm so upset. I don't know what to do anymore. I can't afford jane Iredale anymore ):

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Djf1234 on 10/15/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Djf1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So I have been using this foundation off and on (mostly on) for a few years, and I love it! I guess I would consider it to be my HG foundation, only because I always have it even if I'm currently trying something different. I will continuously come back to this product.

First off I love the packaging because it's in a pump bottle, which is so much easier to use. And the product itself is a pretty nice consistency, thick so you don't need too much at a time, but still liquidy. I will say that my skin is generally very clear so I don't need a full coverage foundation, this gives a light to medium which I love. If you need a heavy coverage though, this probably wouldn't work.

I live in Texas so it gets quite humid (all the time) but this foundation doesn't make my skin LOOK oily (my skin isn't overly oily though). Another thing is, this is one of the few drugstore foundations that has a nice, solid yellow undertone which I need.

So basically this never causes me to breakout, works well with my skin type, and I love it! I would absolutely repurchase seeing as how I have for about three years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amdd1004 on 10/8/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by amdd1004

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this on and off for a month now and I have to say this stuff is amazing. I say "on and off" because I get blemishes once a month and I like to use almay's blemish clear foundation when I do. But this foundation is amazing when you have a long day ahead and you don't want to touch up too much apart from blot oil from your face.

I have quite an oily T zone and this foundation doesn't really stop the oil from coming through but it does minimize the oil slick compared to when I'm only wearing moisturizer (and my face is REALLY oily so that's saying something). I need to blot halfway throughout my day and that's about it.

I like to apply this with a makeup sponge. I've tried it with a stippling brush but I think this foundation's too thick to spread it that way. It is a bit sticky when first applied but it goes away after a while. I don't think it oxidizes even with my oily skin, which is a great big plus in my books.

It is quite expensive in NZ though, for $40! It usually never goes on sale here in NZ as well so that's a big downer. Packaging is nice as it has a pump but it is a glass bottle, so I would probably need a spatula to get some of the remaining foundation out when I run low on product.

Will definitely buy again! I don't really recommend this if you have dry skin that flakes because it highlights flaky skin, which I get whenever I have a blemish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babybefree on 10/6/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by babybefree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Just started using this yesterday after reading through a lot of favorable reviews here. Not a lot of time with this, but I wanted to share my experience and results so far and will be sure to update with any changes.

My skin is very fair, sensitive, and usually has a range of mild to moderate breakouts and the pink marks they leave behind. I was previously using Neutrogena SkinClearing makeup as concealer over spots because it didn't break me out, but I wanted to find something better and that I could maybe use all over my skin to make all one even shade.
Reviews for TLC were mostly great so I was very excited and bought some at cvs in the lightest shade Ivory the next morning.

First impression: When I got home, I opened it and pumped out my first squirt. SO much came out onto my hand. Now, I've never used full liquid foundation, just cover up here and there, so I'm not used to having a lot of product. I tried rubbing it into my hand and it was a terrible pink mess. I figured there was no way I could use this on my skin with better results so I planned on returning it.

First use: The next morning I saw the bottle next to my neutrogena concealer and realized that the TLC color looked like a much better match for my skin, so I wondered why it came out so pink. I decided to instead squirt out a very little bit and apply in small spots with my fingers as a concealer, as I'd done with the neutrogena. Bingo! It was a perfect match and looked totally natural with my skin in terms of color and texture. I didn't apply it everywhere, but just over those scars and any redness and then applied a light physicians formula powder to set it. I had to put a little more over the darker spots, but it did end up covering- so I'd say this is sheer to medium coverage.

I had a long day of walking around outside in 90 degree heat and was consistently surprised when I saw myself in a bathroom mirror with good looking skin. I didn't feel the need to touch up the TLC, just another thin dusting of my powder. I asked someone how my skin/makeup looked at one point and she said it looked great but like I wasn't wearing any makeup.So this stuff does have pretty impressive staying power.

I feel pretty confident when I put this on that I can count on it and fake having nearly perfect/healthy skin. I will update in the future if there are any changes, for better or worse- just wanted to share how I was able to use this with good results.

Edit: So unfortunately there was a change for the worse. I love this stuff, but it does in fact irritate my skin, causing breakouts. I'd recently suspected this so I went back to my neutrogena skin clearing makeup (which is just ok but doesn't break me out) and while in a fitting room looking in the mirror noticed I could use some more coverage on some spots. So I put some of this tlc on and it looked much better- though in the car driving home I could feel that area kind of tingling, not a good sign. tried it again yesterday and by the time I washed it off the one area, there were a bunch of red irritated new spots. Sad to say I can't use this anymore.Giving it a 2 instead of a 4 because it does have great coverage, but not worth the breakouts. I cross-referenced it with the neutrogena on cosdna to see which ingredient it was, and I narrowed it down to the butylene glycol causing problems. hope this helps.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Catka06 on 9/11/2013 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Catka06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite foundation. Almay is one of the only drugstore brands that has a shade light enough to match my ultra fair skin. I have a relatively good complexion so I don't need much coverage, just enough to make my face look smooth and perfect all day and this does it. It survives the Florida summer heat which I am yet to find another product that does that, department store or not. By the end of the day my face still looks good enough to trick me into thinking my skin has turned *that* flawless until I wash it off and am slapped back into reality of not having a permanent photoshop artist with me everywhere I go. Alas, these are the trials of life.
The pump bottle it comes in keeps it hygienic, but beware if you are a fellow klutz as I have broken many bottles of foundation as they are made of glass. The price does seem to be a dollar or so higher than the other drugstore brands, but it is easy to find it on sale or pick up a coupon somewhere. And from what I've seen, it lasts longer than your average, say, Loreal or Cover Girl foundation.
I also agree with many reviewers, however, that have noted that the lack of SPF is a disappointment, which is why I only rate it with 4 lippies. Normally I wear the Almay CC cream they have that includes SPF 35 as a primer, but it would be nice to be able to just use the foundation and feel confident that I wasn't doing further damage to my skin.
All of that said, overall the coverage is fairly light but stays through sweat, sun, heat and stress - which is important to me in my daily life. The lack of a SPF is disappointing, but can easily be remedied with a daily moisturizer or primer/BB/CC cream that has at least a SPF of 30. My favorite thing about it, hands down, is how the lightest shade really does match me - no orange line bordering my face, no weird yellow tint; just a perfect match.
But always do your research when it comes to finding the right foundation shade for you because as frustrating as it can seem, there is a shade somewhere that can match you. The most important thing is to be comfortable, happy and healthy with your skin tone. You don't need to worry about if you're too pale or too dark; just be you and let the makeup companies work around it.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 supergal197 on 9/11/2013 2:09:00 PM more reviews by supergal197

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this is the shade naked, and it is one of the only foundations i have used that matched me perfectly. I would say the coverage is light-medium, and it has a natural finish. I really think it makes me look like i'm not wearing any make up. I have some problem areas, so it doesn't cover everything up, and its not buildable. If you try to build up the coverage it will mess up the foundation, making it kinda smudge. I'm not sure how else to describe it. I have oily skin and i don't get shiny at all when using this. If i had better skin I think I would use this daily, because it looks natural and keeps me shine free. Currently I only use it on good skin days because the coverage isn't as high as i'd like.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products