Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(333 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amdd1004 on 10/8/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by amdd1004

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this on and off for a month now and I have to say this stuff is amazing. I say "on and off" because I get blemishes once a month and I like to use almay's blemish clear foundation when I do. But this foundation is amazing when you have a long day ahead and you don't want to touch up too much apart from blot oil from your face.

I have quite an oily T zone and this foundation doesn't really stop the oil from coming through but it does minimize the oil slick compared to when I'm only wearing moisturizer (and my face is REALLY oily so that's saying something). I need to blot halfway throughout my day and that's about it.

I like to apply this with a makeup sponge. I've tried it with a stippling brush but I think this foundation's too thick to spread it that way. It is a bit sticky when first applied but it goes away after a while. I don't think it oxidizes even with my oily skin, which is a great big plus in my books.

It is quite expensive in NZ though, for $40! It usually never goes on sale here in NZ as well so that's a big downer. Packaging is nice as it has a pump but it is a glass bottle, so I would probably need a spatula to get some of the remaining foundation out when I run low on product.

Will definitely buy again! I don't really recommend this if you have dry skin that flakes because it highlights flaky skin, which I get whenever I have a blemish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babybefree on 10/6/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by babybefree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Just started using this yesterday after reading through a lot of favorable reviews here. Not a lot of time with this, but I wanted to share my experience and results so far and will be sure to update with any changes.

My skin is very fair, sensitive, and usually has a range of mild to moderate breakouts and the pink marks they leave behind. I was previously using Neutrogena SkinClearing makeup as concealer over spots because it didn't break me out, but I wanted to find something better and that I could maybe use all over my skin to make all one even shade.
Reviews for TLC were mostly great so I was very excited and bought some at cvs in the lightest shade Ivory the next morning.

First impression: When I got home, I opened it and pumped out my first squirt. SO much came out onto my hand. Now, I've never used full liquid foundation, just cover up here and there, so I'm not used to having a lot of product. I tried rubbing it into my hand and it was a terrible pink mess. I figured there was no way I could use this on my skin with better results so I planned on returning it.

First use: The next morning I saw the bottle next to my neutrogena concealer and realized that the TLC color looked like a much better match for my skin, so I wondered why it came out so pink. I decided to instead squirt out a very little bit and apply in small spots with my fingers as a concealer, as I'd done with the neutrogena. Bingo! It was a perfect match and looked totally natural with my skin in terms of color and texture. I didn't apply it everywhere, but just over those scars and any redness and then applied a light physicians formula powder to set it. I had to put a little more over the darker spots, but it did end up covering- so I'd say this is sheer to medium coverage.

I had a long day of walking around outside in 90 degree heat and was consistently surprised when I saw myself in a bathroom mirror with good looking skin. I didn't feel the need to touch up the TLC, just another thin dusting of my powder. I asked someone how my skin/makeup looked at one point and she said it looked great but like I wasn't wearing any makeup.So this stuff does have pretty impressive staying power.

I feel pretty confident when I put this on that I can count on it and fake having nearly perfect/healthy skin. I will update in the future if there are any changes, for better or worse- just wanted to share how I was able to use this with good results.

Edit: So unfortunately there was a change for the worse. I love this stuff, but it does in fact irritate my skin, causing breakouts. I'd recently suspected this so I went back to my neutrogena skin clearing makeup (which is just ok but doesn't break me out) and while in a fitting room looking in the mirror noticed I could use some more coverage on some spots. So I put some of this tlc on and it looked much better- though in the car driving home I could feel that area kind of tingling, not a good sign. tried it again yesterday and by the time I washed it off the one area, there were a bunch of red irritated new spots. Sad to say I can't use this anymore.Giving it a 2 instead of a 4 because it does have great coverage, but not worth the breakouts. I cross-referenced it with the neutrogena on cosdna to see which ingredient it was, and I narrowed it down to the butylene glycol causing problems. hope this helps.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Catka06 on 9/11/2013 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Catka06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite foundation. Almay is one of the only drugstore brands that has a shade light enough to match my ultra fair skin. I have a relatively good complexion so I don't need much coverage, just enough to make my face look smooth and perfect all day and this does it. It survives the Florida summer heat which I am yet to find another product that does that, department store or not. By the end of the day my face still looks good enough to trick me into thinking my skin has turned *that* flawless until I wash it off and am slapped back into reality of not having a permanent photoshop artist with me everywhere I go. Alas, these are the trials of life.
The pump bottle it comes in keeps it hygienic, but beware if you are a fellow klutz as I have broken many bottles of foundation as they are made of glass. The price does seem to be a dollar or so higher than the other drugstore brands, but it is easy to find it on sale or pick up a coupon somewhere. And from what I've seen, it lasts longer than your average, say, Loreal or Cover Girl foundation.
I also agree with many reviewers, however, that have noted that the lack of SPF is a disappointment, which is why I only rate it with 4 lippies. Normally I wear the Almay CC cream they have that includes SPF 35 as a primer, but it would be nice to be able to just use the foundation and feel confident that I wasn't doing further damage to my skin.
All of that said, overall the coverage is fairly light but stays through sweat, sun, heat and stress - which is important to me in my daily life. The lack of a SPF is disappointing, but can easily be remedied with a daily moisturizer or primer/BB/CC cream that has at least a SPF of 30. My favorite thing about it, hands down, is how the lightest shade really does match me - no orange line bordering my face, no weird yellow tint; just a perfect match.
But always do your research when it comes to finding the right foundation shade for you because as frustrating as it can seem, there is a shade somewhere that can match you. The most important thing is to be comfortable, happy and healthy with your skin tone. You don't need to worry about if you're too pale or too dark; just be you and let the makeup companies work around it.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 supergal197 on 9/11/2013 2:09:00 PM more reviews by supergal197

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this is the shade naked, and it is one of the only foundations i have used that matched me perfectly. I would say the coverage is light-medium, and it has a natural finish. I really think it makes me look like i'm not wearing any make up. I have some problem areas, so it doesn't cover everything up, and its not buildable. If you try to build up the coverage it will mess up the foundation, making it kinda smudge. I'm not sure how else to describe it. I have oily skin and i don't get shiny at all when using this. If i had better skin I think I would use this daily, because it looks natural and keeps me shine free. Currently I only use it on good skin days because the coverage isn't as high as i'd like.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 opheliae on 9/10/2013 7:07:00 PM more reviews by opheliae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i am in absolute love with this foundation.
i have some post acne pigmentation. my acne is now gone thanks to acne.org's treatment but i did pop them (:x) but i was careful to further irritate them also so my pigmentation marks aren't the worse.
i also wear sunscreen daily but the old formulation of this contains spf. (the newer one doesn't and much of the cyclomethicone has been traded off for cyclopentasiloxane, smaller molecule silicone but still volatile)
this covers everything for me like a concealer yet doesn't feel mask like.
i never look oily in it without a setting powder but it doesn't feel drying at all either.
the color ivory actually matches my nw10/15 skin tone and is a very neutral shade.
it LASTS and it doesn't look any different either. it was over 95 degrees today & i was outside for maybe only 2 hours but i applied my current foudation 10 hours ago and it still looks exactly the same.

the only other foundation i have found that i have really loved is MUFE Face & Body but it is much lighter coverage than this and it is not silicone based so it is sometimes fussy with spf or moisturizer underneath it.


pros
great pale shade
very long lasting
good coverage
doesn't break down or oxidize
controls MY oil (i am not very oily though)
doesn't feel drying
very natural looking
not expensive compared to HE foundations
pump

cons
new formula doesn't have spf

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MiniAndBoss on 9/9/2013 12:28:00 PM more reviews by MiniAndBoss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! A drugstore foundation that has lighthetrue yellow undertones!!!! I used Revlon colorstay for the longest time, and while I loved the lasting power and coverage, the color match was poor. Sand beige in Revlon was always too pink and i needed to blend down my neck and use a more yellow powder on top to make the foundation look not like a mask. Almay TLC in buff is my new love! The color match is perfect for my light/medium nc20-25 skin with yellow undertones. The coverage of this foundation is not as heavy as that of color stay, but since I mainly need to cover the redness on my cheeks and around my nose, TLC does that pretty well. The lasting power is pretty great too, I can wear this from 7am to 7pm without it separating or creasing around my mouth. The only con I can think of is that the texture of this foundation is kind of sticky at first, but the stickyness does go away once it completely dries.

Overall, I love this foundation sooooo much more than Revlon colorstay. Although the shade selection is limited, if you can find a color match, definitely give this a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pipaya on 9/2/2013 3:38:00 AM more reviews by pipaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this foundation so much, I always come back to it! Very well priced too! I used to use $80-$100 foundations and this is better! It stays in place and the colour selection seems pretty good, I have pale to medium skin with a pinkish undertone and it's nice it's not too yellowy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heatherbelleday on 8/20/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by heatherbelleday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I keep trying other foundations but keep coming back to this one. It lasts wonderfully well and does not irritate my quite sensitive skin. I do find that it applies best with fingers, I smooth it on and then kind of "pat" it in (I learned that from Mary Greenwell video on YouTube). This means that my lovely brushes don't get used for it but I suppose I shouldn't complain about that! I do have to apply it soon after moisturising, and make sure that my skin is really well moisturised, otherwise it will "grab" to the drier spots and look terrible. And I go easy with the powder - a light dusting on the T-zone only. Once I have it on, it looks great and lasts all day. I really think it's excellent value for money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catmj on 8/16/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by catmj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this foundation, and I'll use it in the winter when the humidity goes down. It is so smooth in its application, no weird smell. I have cystic nodular acne breakouts once a month and this provides natural looking coverage with the added benefit that it's water resistant, sweat proof, and has a ton of natural ingredients like green tea extract, kelp extract, lemon peel extract, etc. Most importantly, if you compare the ingredients (the top 4) to the ingredients of high-end products like Make Up Forever Foundations, this is A MATCH. HOLY GRAIL!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShawndyLee on 8/1/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by ShawndyLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin is quite fair, combination, sensitive, and I have rosacea. I love the coverage and finish of this product. It has truly lasted all day and didn't cause any skin irritation. I wear the "naked" shade, which blended perfectly with my Samantha Chapman stippling brush. I didn't feel the need to powder my forehead once while wearing this. I typically wear much more expensive foundations due to my sensitive skin, but this is just as nice as my high end products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products