No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Argan Oil • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(119 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 6/11/2013 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use argan oil I get from the fruitful yield, I've used many of their oils in the past and they've been awesome.
I have a dropper style bottle which i do love. Makes it easier to control how much I use.
I've read many reviews about their argan not having a scent... 100% pure argan SHOULD have a scent. It should be a nutty scent. If it has no scent you may be getting scammed.. google "7 Warning Signs that Your Argan Oil is Impure".
I generally use my argan oil on my hair. I co-wash my hair and using 100% oils on my hair is best. I have to read labels religiously for hair products. I can't use stuff with silicones and non water soluble things in them.
Argan oil makes my hair super soft. I usually use it in conjunction with coconut or jojoba oil. My hair is in great condition it's soft and not frizzy. I have wavy hair that tends to frizz a lot, but since I co-wash it's been a lot better. Most days I don't use gel or mousse just argan oil to keep my hair nice.
Styling my hair with argan oil is super easy. soaking wet hair and scrunch in argan and let dry. it's that easy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 summerbrow on 6/11/2013 4:21:00 PM more reviews by summerbrow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is good stuff. My dry, acneprone skin is looking better than ever with very little effort, just some oil on face, neck, chest and back every night. My skin is still purging though, so I expect more improvements to come. I am getting pimples in unusual places, one being on my thumb(!) but they clear up quickly leaving no scars. Love this.
EDIT: the zits just kept turning up, getting bigger and bigger so in the end I stopped using this and they went away. Guess argan is not for me...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reemyn on 6/6/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by Reemyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love argan oil as a hair treatment! It makes my hair shiny & healthy, actually I like to use it as a shine serum! The best: you only need to use a few drops.
My hair likes AO better than my skin but hey, summer is coming, so I'll experiment with it as soon as the wheather is colder.

One more thing: Be careful when you pick your AO. I hate what Josie Maran, John Masters & Kahina do, (I bet they make a lot of money by only putting AO into a shiny, nice bottle with their names) but it is better to pay a little more and get the real thing!
I tried a lot of brands, you can feel the quality!
AO supposed to have a nice yellow-golden color, the higher the vitamin E content is the more nutty smell it has, (no goat smell!). Too pale AO is also a warning sign!
So be careful&ENJOY!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBehaviour on 6/2/2013 5:17:00 AM more reviews by MissBehaviour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far I have used pure argan oil only as a hair treatment, so cannot comment on suitability for my extremely sensitive skin yet.

As a hair conditioning treatment, argan oil deserves five lippies +. I mainly distribute this all over my hair, concentrating less on scalp and roots, and leave it to sink in for however long my Sunday routine allows (anywhere between 1 and 3 hours so far). I then shampoo as normal with whatever shampoo I'm using at the time and voila--my straight but very thick hair is easy to comb, soft, glossy and not frizzy. Even my husband comments on how great my hair looks again. The best part is that despite providing so many moisturising benefits, it doesn't leave a greasy look or weigh hair down, not even after the second day.

I would recommend using this over the silicone and other chemical infused "Moroccan Oil" and other overpriced gimmicky products any day. The brand I'm currently using is Naissance (UK organic skincare company available via amazon), but I'd happily use any other brand of pure argan oil too. Thumbs up!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 6/1/2013 9:06:00 AM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a review of Mogador argan oil that I got on amazon for $25 for a 2oz brown dropper bottle. It's from a female coop in morocco and is organic, etc. I thought that was kinda pricey til I saw what Josie Maran was charging... Eek. Anyway I originally purchased this for my chemically fried hair which it makes feel almost like virgin hair. I put a tiny amount in and really work in w a boat bristle brush. Wet or dry, whenever my hair looks like it needs it. I had plenty of 'argan oil' products but they all contained 'cones, which although I'm not against as long as u use a good clarifying shampoo occasionally, do not help the health of your hair, they just make it LOOK nice. Pure argan does both!! BONUS: this stuff makes my face FAB! I have oily (sometimes combo) skin and I put this on am & pm when face still damp, 1 drop spreads around nicely, and my skins oiliness has totally balanced out. You just gotta be sparing and let it really absorb before other steps. Def new HG product. Will continue to buy Mogador from Amazon since I know I'm getting a quality product & the price is right compared to Maran's, plus it goes for a good cause!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TanniMH on 5/13/2013 3:45:00 PM more reviews by TanniMH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have recently just started using argan oil on my face and a little bit in my hair when its still wet. I can't really say much for it in my hair apart from it has made it some what softer.

As for my face I have noticed a difference in a good way. I apply it at night then use a face roller/massager from the body shop to massage it in to my face.
It has improved my skin tone and just the general appearance of my skin I can't really explain what exactly it has done but my skin looks more even, it is more hydrated and generally feels better.

Argan Oil is a 'dry' oil meaning it absorbs in to the skin fast and doesn't leave too much of a greasy finish. It has a nutty subtle scent that doesn't really last long. Be careful where you get your argan oil from, I got mine from ebay but there are loads of cheap so called 'organic' products online. It isn't very expensive but it cost me 10 for about 60ml (2oz) and then another 5 for postage and packaging.
It should come in a dark coloured bottle or container, if its in a clear container most likely it isn't the real stuff as Argan oil doesn't react well to sunlight. It should have a slight scent nothing offensive or cosmetic smelling just a kinda natural smell.
Overall I think Argan oil is a great product it apparently has anti-ageing properties so I will be using it hopefully for a long time.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 4/10/2013 3:14:00 PM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin hates argan oil. I have sensitive, oily, acne-prone skin that does pretty well with coconut oil. I was looking for something that was a little lighter for day use and thought this might work. It felt nice enough, light and fluid, sunk in nicely and didn't make me feel like an oil slick. During the day, however, it starts making my skin feel "suffocated" and gives me painful whiteheads and clogged pores. This definitely doesn't work for me.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 2/12/2013 10:58:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Argan oil is nice but doesn't help me with my dry skin... I haven't used it on my dry hair yet, so I'll have to see if I get any benefits there... I bought generic pure argan oil in a dropper bottle from a vitamin website for $9 rather than trying Josie Maran's much more expensive version from Sephora for the same size. I read that all argan oil comes from a solitary quality-controlled source in Morocco, so paying higher prices for well-known brands wouldn't make a difference in quality or purity (hope that's true).


I'm a formerly oily skinned person whose complexion dried up in the past several years with the creeping changes of advancing age & am now looking for relief of parched skin & wrinkles rather than pimples & shine (one curse is exchanged for another). I liked Tarte's maracuja oil but I'd never pay full price for a full-size bottle (I always bought sample sizes) & it's slightly rancid scent was off-putting & made me wonder if it passed its freshness threshold even when it was new. Maracuja is a light-textured oil & didn't clog my skin. I heard nonstop wonderful things about argan oil & I knew nothing breaks me out anymore, so I thought I'd try argan for its heavier, richer texture. The amazing thing about this argan is that it actually absorbs into skin without absolutely any greasy afterfeel - that's different from moist oils IME. But the disappointing thing is that my skin (hands & face) was still left uncomfortably dry after it would fully absorb. Upon application, it feels soothing & comforting, but it ultimately doesn't help my dryness problem. So on to trying other things... CeraVe cream (good but not enough)... Vaseline Repairing Moisture lotion (surprisingly much better)... Neutrogena Sesame Body Oil (good stuff actually)... & finally, pure hyaluronic acid serum (hello good relief response!).


I wanted argan to be a good moisture sealer, the top layer to a nighttime skin regimen. But after it sinks in, it's like I never put it on. Perhaps I could better use it in the summer when air humidity is comfortably higher. This dry winter weather is killing me. I'll give argan oil a try on my crispy hair.


8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rossjen on 1/27/2013 7:45:00 PM more reviews by rossjen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am relatively late jumping on the bandwagon with the seemingly never-ending argan oil craze. I finally succumbed to trying it after seeing it in everything from shampoo to skincare. I wound up purchasing the Studio 35 Beauty brand from Walgreens, which lists only argania spinosa kernel oil, at a reasonable price of $15 for 1.7 oz. It is a very light-weight oil that doesn't feel overly greasy, so major props for that. The brand I bought has absolutely no scent. I am only reviewing it for the purposes of skincare, since no oil has ever worked on my fine hair, no matter how light-weight it claims to be. I do find it to be adequately moisturizing (although on really dry skin days, this is not enough by itself) for my body and face, and I don't think I've broken out from it at all.
Am I absolutely in love? Unfortunately, no. I just find it too similar to other oils that perform pretty much the same functions (jojoba, almond, and camellia oil), and I just don't see a huge difference in the condition of my skin. I definitely wouldn't pay what some companies are asking for the same amount of this oil, which in my opinion, borders on the insane. I recommend doing research for cheaper options online and in health food stores.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 1/17/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had high hopes for this oil because I've heard and read so many good things about it, but as always, everyone's skin is different. Unfortunately, I am lumped into the minority of people who have a strong, bad reaction to this oil. It went on fine for a few hours (sank in quickly, made my skin soft), but then I broke out in whiteheads the next day. Then I went through a full MONTH of cystic acne all over my face and neck where I applied it. It was extremely painful and embarassing, and I stopped using this oil immediately. (I did double check that it was argan oil causing all the acne since I had no changes in my makeup, skin or eating regime up until then.)


Obviously, I didn't patch test ahead of hand. I always suggest you do that with any new skin product, particularly with oils!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Moisturizers products