Laura Mercier • Brow Definer • Brows

rated 4.4(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 11/11/2009 7:46:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this product in Fair, Soft and Warm.

I usually use it when I do makeup for a client and they usually want to buy it because of the way their brows get filled in looking sexy and shapely.

The soft shade is for medium to darker brunettes or blondes but do remember it has a bit of red in it. The warm is ASH, a dark ashy color which is perfect for dark haired women or grey haired women -- it is fantastic on Asian skin and eyebrows. The fair is what I use personally and what I would recommend for redheads and most blondes and light brunettes (neutral tones). The pot is small but the amount of product is plenty for any one person for a long time.

This product should be used without any creams under it because it will slide off. If you use a cream, before using this brush lightly brush the brows with loose powder. The brush should be a stiff and yet soft brush which will apply the product and brush it at the same time... I use a MAC 266 brush or a BB Eyebrow brush (the old version).

This is a fantastic product for the price and for the use it gives you.

I will start wearing it again since I am going through all my stash.

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skh323 on 11/11/2009 7:01:00 PM more reviews by skh323

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I made the mistake of over-plucking my brows for years which left them sparse in places, so I have tried basically every brow product there is to try and fill them in. This is the only product I've found that looks completely natural and stays on all day. The key to application is to use the right shape of brush, I've found that the LM angled brow brush works best but Anastasia also makes a great one. The texture of this product takes a little while to get used to, it's kind of like a tinted wax / pomade / mousse hybrid. I accidentally left the top off of mine for awhile and found that the texture actually improved, if you're looking for more coverage I would advise letting it dry up a tiny bit because then it tends to stay put better. I would highly recommend this product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caitiewithac on 9/8/2009 11:47:00 PM more reviews by caitiewithac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a HG product for me. I'm a super-fair redhead with totally invisible brows, and I've been searching for something like this forever. Pencils look unnatural and powders don't stay put very well, but LM Brow Definer is perfect for me.

I had been using Anastasia's brow gel in blonde but I'd become fed up with how shiny and sparkly it was, even if the color was good. The sales girl at Sephora recommended this to me (in Fair) and I was sold before she had even put it on the second eyebrow. It matches my hair perfectly, goes on quickly and easily, looks natural and stays on all day. Love it! And at $20 I thought it was totally affordable. Five bucks less than Sephora and it's going to last me forever, so it was totally worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ronbong on 8/31/2009 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Ronbong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Best product for eyebrows!!!

I wouldn't recommend this for ppl already have full brows though...

I have vey pale eyebrows and if using pencils to fill in it would look really unnatural so I have been using MAC wax pen (in Wheat, their darkest tone) to enhance my brows. One pen normally lasts 3-4 months and to get the results I want, I always have to press it quite hard on my brow then brush upwards to get rid of the clumps and look natural.

I only come across LM brow definer 1 week ago and bought it immediately. I use it with my MAC angle brush (the one for eyeliner). It delivers perfect results right away, I don't even have to brush afterwards. I think the small pot would last forever so choose carefully which shade you want. It also works out very cheap for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 6/21/2009 6:25:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

As other reviewers have mentioned, the names of this product are a little misleading. There are three shades: Fair, Soft and Warm. One would think that Warm is the warm shade (duh) and Soft the ashy shade but it's the opossite. Soft was much too warm for me but Warm is an ashy brown which compliments my skintone and brows perfectly. My hair is a very dark espresso brown without any gold or red tones and my brows, though sparse, are black and my skin is a light olive tone so warm brows = unnatural and weird-looking.


I've neglected my Brow Definer because, well, I've been lazy. It's so much easier to use my Anastasia Brow Wiz and be done with my brows. However, I started using Brow Definer again after failing to get the sexy, dramatic old Hollywood bombshell brows with Brow Wiz. Brow Definer is a waxy brow product which must be applied with a stiff brow brush. I find that it gives my brows more "definition" for a more dramatic brow look. Using my Smashbox brow brush, I dab some product (you don't need much) and start to draw in the shape with tiny strokes then I dab instead of brush color onto bare spots. Since it's a waxy product, it lasts all day and doesn't sweat or melt off at all.


Although I don't use it often, I think it's a good idea to have more than one brow product if you like to try different looks from time to time. Brow Definer is definitely a keeper. I've had mine for almost 2 years and it's still good.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 piripiri on 6/21/2009 10:24:00 AM more reviews by piripiri

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product for my very thin and fair brows. I am using Revitalash on my brows (which seems to be working) and this product is helping them look great now. It grabs on the tiniest and fairest of hairs, coats them nicely, fills in the gaps and looks very natural. I have used a bunch of brow products (pencils, gels, powders, powder with wax) but like the convenience of this best. I guess I would call it a very firmly packed cream. The slightly waxy but fine consistency provides the benefits of all types of brow products rolled into one. Good staying power is another plus. I ran into a LM Rep while buying this at Sephora. She insisted that I needed the LM brush but I opted to check out my options in my own (extensive) brush collection. A really small and stubby Chanel eyeliner brush has turned out to be the best applicator I have found and I'll start using that for all my brow products. I think that most anyone would find this product useful - it is verstile enough for just slight grooming or to fill in brows as thin as mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 floralipke on 4/19/2009 8:15:00 PM more reviews by floralipke

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is an eye brow product that I am going to stay with. I used Bobbi Brown eyeshadow for my brows over years. Sometimes, the eyeshadow fell down on my eye lid and mess up my eye makeup. I am glad I switched to this. I bought LM's Brow Definer brush too. The BA showed me how to use this. You only need a tiny bit. It is very natural. Stay on put. I use warm to match my Asian dark hair. It is perfect! I won't use any other eye brown product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 frenchy on 4/19/2009 3:59:00 PM more reviews by frenchy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in Warm, Soft and the lightest one, in a fit of indecision. The Warm (actually the darkest with no red in it) looks the most dramatic and I need to apply this lightly. I may go back to using one of the other two for a bit. I always use over the Ash duo LM Brow Powder and with the Brow Definer brush, which really works. The powder fills in and the definer defines the hairs which, together, works very well and lasts a long time. I have an excellent Chanel eyebrow pencil which is a great colour (blond cendre, now discontinued) but I find the pencil seems to "disappear" in a few hours, unlike the LM products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syeung2 on 3/18/2009 10:39:00 PM more reviews by syeung2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Product - As others have noted, the shade name "Warm" is misleading for this grey/ash-toned deep brown brow wax/pomade. For Asian gals (fair-medium skin and black hair), brow products that aren't outright brown are few and far between. Black eyeshadow is a reasonable alternative but - for me, anyway - not the easiest to apply or long-wearing. The color Warm is perfect for me - it's not too warm, not too brown, no red tones, not too light, and not too stark a contrast to my own brows. It gives the illusion that my brows are casting a deeper and more uniform shadow than before - really provides more definition and looks so completely natural even I can't tell I'm wearing it. This tames my brow hairs, though not with the same gusto as, say, clear mascara or brow gel might. Texture-wise, this Brow Definer is like a firm creme/pomade. Doesn't feel heavy or sticky like clear mascara or brow gels. It's thick but firm, so I don't get too much on my brush. And a little goes a long way. It seems to apply fine with my old crappy natural-hair brow brush, but I will probably invest in a good synthetic one (with lighter colored brush head for contrast with my shade) now that I've discovered a brow product worth keeping and using. Lasting power is quite good, and it appears to be quite water-resistant and smudge-resistant - nice to know this won't be straying across my face during the day!


Packaging - The packaging is the same as LM's GWP-sized Lip Stain pots. About the same diameter and a little taller than Smashbox waterproof shadow liners.


Overall - For such a simple product, it really polishes my look. I didn't know I needed this until I tried it and saw the results. Instant HG status - one of those products I wish I'd known about years ago.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msimone on 3/17/2009 10:25:00 AM more reviews by msimone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I bought this product as I have been recently trying out a few LM products. I bought this in fair. I wear MUFE F&B in #32 for reference. I used it with my Smashbox brow brush and I am in love!! It looks extremely natural - more natural than any powders or pencils. Previously I was using Anastasia's brow pencil in Ultimate Brown but I found that sometimes it would smudge or look too harsh or not enough. I decided to try a gel product for my brows. It took me 2 seconds to put on, and its lasting all day. I love it. And the pot will probably last me a lifetime since you use so little. So in the end, its definitely worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Brows products