Vaseline Cocoa Butter Gel Body Oil

3.6

79 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Hydrogenated Styrene/Butadiene Copolymer, Brazil Nut seed oil, Sweet Almond oil, fragrence.


on 12/15/2010 1:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This gel smells amazing, soft and sweet, definitely not cloying. But unfortunately the gel is so sticky the bottle is sitting in my bathroom collecting dust.



on 8/10/2010 7:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In my neverending quest to find relief from the dry Montana summer, I picked this up on sale at CVS after being enticed by its appearance- so soothing-looking in its clear bottle, full of bubbles that go to show its viscosity. I found this gel to be ultra-moisturizing, but it does require a bit of rubbing in to eliminate that oiled-up look. Moisture lasted all day- I can usually run a fingernail across my dry legs and leave a flaky, white line. Not so after using this- my skin stayed hydrated and smooth all day. The light cocoa-butter scent is an added bonus, and I can't wait to use this as an after-sun lotion during my trip to the beach next month.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2010 4:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have very dry skin and usually use a very rich body lotion - my usual product was out and when I saw this I thought I'd give it a go (I'm a sucker for cocoa butter).

For the first two days I was mightily impressed - great smell, easy to use and with fantastic results to boot, I thought I'd found my desert island beauty product.

But then, on the morning of day three I noticed a rash appearing on my legs. ... Worried, I used the product on the rest of my body and left my legs alone. By evening the rash was angry red and my legs, hot, itchy and swollen with welt-like marks on them.

With nothing different to my diet or routine in the days I'd used this product I decided that my beloved cocoa butter gel was to blame... And my suspicions were confirmed after a quick internet search - several other people reported similar problems.

They, the same as me, had used the product all over the body - but had a rash develop on the leg.

I've never had an allergic reaction to anything in my life and was so concerned I called NHS Direct! (antihistamines and calamine lotion were prescribed and to my relief the rash was gone in a week).

I really liked this product and am so disappointed by the results I had - I recommend doing a patch test before using it all over - hot, angry rashes are never good!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2010 9:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought a bottle of this last winter, when it was so cold and windy that my skin was just red and chapped all the time. It doesn't absorb super-quickly, but it did do a good job of moisturizing my skin. I also like the scent, which is not strong but still smells warm and cozy. I wouldn't have thought of it as a summer product, though, until I reached for it a few weeks ago -- and now it's a regular part of my routine. I have sensitive skin that usually gets irritated easily (especially my legs after shaving), but this has been a godsend: this has kept my skin smooth and free of the usual red bumps! I have also taken to putting it on my hands, my elbows, and my upper chest (which is starting to show a bit of age) at night. . .and it has worked well on all of those areas. I just use a tiny bit, so I imagine a bottle will last me for the whole year -- but, when it runs out, I will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2010 10:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have dark skin & don't need maximum SPF this can be used as a great tanning oil aid on the beach ladies! I alternated between this & Hawaiian Tropic on holiday but i'm convinced it was that that helped my tan go that extra mile when I wanted a particularly fair part of my previously patchy skin to get darker. Yes it takes a while to absorb but i quite liked this as whilst its absorbing in it also draws in the sun to darken the desired area. I brought this on a 2 for 6 offer so I think the price is good. I really like Vaseline's Cocoa range :) (I like the body butter too) The bottles I have should last me ages too as a little goes a long way so wont have to re-buy for a good while

Update: I really do love this gel and its seriously GREAT value for money as I can you belive i'm only 1/4 of the way down into the 1st bottle from snagging that 2 for 6 offer ages ago- amazing. You only need a small amount. Greasiness has never been an issue for me whichever way i use this but one tip I'd suggest is mixing this with your fave body butter, it boosts the moisturising qualities x5 and really does make your skin feel extra lush! I love using this after using a salt scrub, I cant stop rubbing my legs together enjoying the unbelievable smootheness lol


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this because it was raved about in this month's Allure. I'm disappointed -- it just "sat" on top of my skin and didn't soak in after a LOOOOONG time. It didn't make it softer, either. It did give it a pretty sheen, but it was so greasy. I guess I should know that if mineral oil is the first ingredient, it will be greasy and sit on top of your skin. :-( I didn't like the smell, either.


on 2/21/2010 6:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this! I tend to use it during the summer when I'm showing a bit more skin because it just gives me a great glow...not too greasy and it feels amazing on my skin. I have it on auto delivery from Amazon so I won't be without it...can't go wrong with that!


on 1/29/2010 1:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have dry Winter skin and hate it. This kind of product is the only thing that works. I tried the regular lavender body oil gel from Johnson and Johnson, and it's reallly greasy. How could someone put that even on a baby? It's too heavy, but this has good for your skin light oils that absorb and smell amazing. I got a pack of 2 at Target. It doesn't smell anything like plain old cocoa butter. My skin isn't greasy, but it does have a nice sheen. A little goes a long way.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product without having much high hopes for it. I thought it would be too oily on my body and leave me feeling slightly dirty. However, reluctantly a few weeks ago I tried it after my shower and was suprised at how quickly it absorbed straight into my skin! It was sooo moisturizing as I could feel just how much softer my skin was, but it didn't leave any residue. This product left me pleasantly suprised and I am looking forward to trying the Aloe Vera oil now. Definitely recommend - don't disapprove until you try! :)


on 10/13/2009 8:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Mmm I just put it on and I smell so delicious that I might just eat my arm! I have never used body oil before or a body oil GEL! This stuff is amazing. I like that it smells like cocoa butter but also kind of like a cupcake, a very rich buttery cupcake! A lot of lotions/creams that I have tried containing cocoa butter have had that fake or extremely potent scent to it which I wasn't very fond of. This smells like cocoa butter & almond oil. I love it.
Seeing as it is a body oil, it is "greasy". I feel that it renews the moisture in my skin & leaves a nice glow. You don't need a lot of the oil like a regular cream/lotion. I've had this for a good month & I've got 90% left. Personally, I prefer this over a rich body butter or an "intensive moisturizing body lotion". I hope by the time I finish with this bottle, it will be available in Canada :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
All Products
718 Reviews
Healing Cream
Healing Cream
320 Reviews


Top Rated Vaseline Products

image

Creamy Formula

80 reviews
image

Vaseline

230 reviews
Back to Top