Vaseline • Cocoa Butter Gel Body Oil • Skincare - Body

rated 3.6(76 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 DrChris on 7/24/2010 9:51:00 PM more reviews by DrChris

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a bottle of this last winter, when it was so cold and windy that my skin was just red and chapped all the time. It doesn't absorb super-quickly, but it did do a good job of moisturizing my skin. I also like the scent, which is not strong but still smells warm and cozy. I wouldn't have thought of it as a summer product, though, until I reached for it a few weeks ago -- and now it's a regular part of my routine. I have sensitive skin that usually gets irritated easily (especially my legs after shaving), but this has been a godsend: this has kept my skin smooth and free of the usual red bumps! I have also taken to putting it on my hands, my elbows, and my upper chest (which is starting to show a bit of age) at night. . .and it has worked well on all of those areas. I just use a tiny bit, so I imagine a bottle will last me for the whole year -- but, when it runs out, I will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starspex on 5/30/2010 10:05:00 AM more reviews by starspex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

If you have dark skin & don't need maximum SPF this can be used as a great tanning oil aid on the beach ladies! I alternated between this & Hawaiian Tropic on holiday but i'm convinced it was that that helped my tan go that extra mile when I wanted a particularly fair part of my previously patchy skin to get darker. Yes it takes a while to absorb but i quite liked this as whilst its absorbing in it also draws in the sun to darken the desired area. I brought this on a 2 for 6 offer so I think the price is good. I really like Vaseline's Cocoa range :) (I like the body butter too) The bottles I have should last me ages too as a little goes a long way so wont have to re-buy for a good while

Update: I really do love this gel and its seriously GREAT value for money as I can you belive i'm only 1/4 of the way down into the 1st bottle from snagging that 2 for 6 offer ages ago- amazing. You only need a small amount. Greasiness has never been an issue for me whichever way i use this but one tip I'd suggest is mixing this with your fave body butter, it boosts the moisturising qualities x5 and really does make your skin feel extra lush! I love using this after using a salt scrub, I cant stop rubbing my legs together enjoying the unbelievable smootheness lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annalisameyer on 3/1/2010 7:36:00 PM more reviews by annalisameyer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this because it was raved about in this month's Allure. I'm disappointed -- it just "sat" on top of my skin and didn't soak in after a LOOOOONG time. It didn't make it softer, either. It did give it a pretty sheen, but it was so greasy. I guess I should know that if mineral oil is the first ingredient, it will be greasy and sit on top of your skin. :-( I didn't like the smell, either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asianiis on 2/21/2010 6:27:00 PM more reviews by asianiis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! I tend to use it during the summer when I'm showing a bit more skin because it just gives me a great glow...not too greasy and it feels amazing on my skin. I have it on auto delivery from Amazon so I won't be without it...can't go wrong with that!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 1/29/2010 1:01:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have dry Winter skin and hate it. This kind of product is the only thing that works. I tried the regular lavender body oil gel from Johnson and Johnson, and it's reallly greasy. How could someone put that even on a baby? It's too heavy, but this has good for your skin light oils that absorb and smell amazing. I got a pack of 2 at Target. It doesn't smell anything like plain old cocoa butter. My skin isn't greasy, but it does have a nice sheen. A little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VanityInsanity on 1/1/2010 7:25:00 AM more reviews by VanityInsanity

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product without having much high hopes for it. I thought it would be too oily on my body and leave me feeling slightly dirty. However, reluctantly a few weeks ago I tried it after my shower and was suprised at how quickly it absorbed straight into my skin! It was sooo moisturizing as I could feel just how much softer my skin was, but it didn't leave any residue. This product left me pleasantly suprised and I am looking forward to trying the Aloe Vera oil now. Definitely recommend - don't disapprove until you try! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NuttyPoo on 10/13/2009 8:16:00 PM more reviews by NuttyPoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Mmm I just put it on and I smell so delicious that I might just eat my arm! I have never used body oil before or a body oil GEL! This stuff is amazing. I like that it smells like cocoa butter but also kind of like a cupcake, a very rich buttery cupcake! A lot of lotions/creams that I have tried containing cocoa butter have had that fake or extremely potent scent to it which I wasn't very fond of. This smells like cocoa butter & almond oil. I love it.
Seeing as it is a body oil, it is "greasy". I feel that it renews the moisture in my skin & leaves a nice glow. You don't need a lot of the oil like a regular cream/lotion. I've had this for a good month & I've got 90% left. Personally, I prefer this over a rich body butter or an "intensive moisturizing body lotion". I hope by the time I finish with this bottle, it will be available in Canada :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 auburngrad02 on 9/24/2009 6:55:00 PM more reviews by auburngrad02

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use the CVS Brand and now I won't use anything else! I actually LOVE the fact that it goes on greasy! Within a few min it fades but leaves my skin super soft!!!! I just have to wait a min or two before I get on the computer or touch anything, but I LOVE IT! It leaves my skin sooo soft from the time that I put it on until the time that I get home from work!! I can't get enough of it, I even put some in a small container that I rub on my hands at work when I start to feel dry. LOVEEEEEEEEEEE IT esp after shaving, your man will want to touch you all night long hehe, but don't waste it as massage oil...it's too thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missred2u on 9/22/2009 9:00:00 AM more reviews by missred2u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using the lotion version of this and really like it. So, I decided to try the gel for use after a bath or shower at night. I applied to damp skin and it just kinda sat there. It didn't absorb at all, really. I had to wipe off with a towel afterwards, and I still had an oily residue on my skin. However, the next morning, my skin felt very soft. But, I could STILL feel the residue on my back. I won't be repurchasing just because it's too thick. I will keep this around as a massage oil, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 newyorkshopper on 9/16/2009 11:07:00 PM more reviews by newyorkshopper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this by mistake, I meant to buy the aloe body gel but I went ahead and tried it anyway. I don't like lotions that leave your body greasy or do not absorb quickly, this does not do either. I don't hate it as much as I thought but I also only use it when I'm not in a hurry to get dressed or do anything. I will not buy it again but I am keeping the bottle I have around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Vaseline products

More Skincare - Body products