Vaseline Cocoa Butter Gel Body Oil

3.6

79 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Hydrogenated Styrene/Butadiene Copolymer, Brazil Nut seed oil, Sweet Almond oil, fragrence.


on 12/15/2010 1:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This gel smells amazing, soft and sweet, definitely not cloying. But unfortunately the gel is so sticky the bottle is sitting in my bathroom collecting dust.



on 8/10/2010 7:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In my neverending quest to find relief from the dry Montana summer, I picked this up on sale at CVS after being enticed by its appearance- so soothing-looking in its clear bottle, full of bubbles that go to show its viscosity. I found this gel to be ultra-moisturizing, but it does require a bit of rubbing in to eliminate that oiled-up look. Moisture lasted all day- I can usually run a fingernail across my dry legs and leave a flaky, white line. Not so after using this- my skin stayed hydrated and smooth all day. The light cocoa-butter scent is an added bonus, and I can't wait to use this as an after-sun lotion during my trip to the beach next month.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2010 4:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have very dry skin and usually use a very rich body lotion - my usual product was out and when I saw this I thought I'd give it a go (I'm a sucker for cocoa butter).

For the first two days I was mightily impressed - great smell, easy to use and with fantastic results to boot, I thought I'd found my desert island beauty product.

But then, on the morning of day three I noticed a rash appearing on my legs. ... Worried, I used the product on the rest of my body and left my legs alone. By evening the rash was angry red and my legs, hot, itchy and swollen with welt-like marks on them.

With nothing different to my diet or routine in the days I'd used this product I decided that my beloved cocoa butter gel was to blame... And my suspicions were confirmed after a quick internet search - several other people reported similar problems.

They, the same as me, had used the product all over the body - but had a rash develop on the leg.

I've never had an allergic reaction to anything in my life and was so concerned I called NHS Direct! (antihistamines and calamine lotion were prescribed and to my relief the rash was gone in a week).

I really liked this product and am so disappointed by the results I had - I recommend doing a patch test before using it all over - hot, angry rashes are never good!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2010 9:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought a bottle of this last winter, when it was so cold and windy that my skin was just red and chapped all the time. It doesn't absorb super-quickly, but it did do a good job of moisturizing my skin. I also like the scent, which is not strong but still smells warm and cozy. I wouldn't have thought of it as a summer product, though, until I reached for it a few weeks ago -- and now it's a regular part of my routine. I have sensitive skin that usually gets irritated easily (especially my legs after shaving), but this has been a godsend: this has kept my skin smooth and free of the usual red bumps! I have also taken to putting it on my hands, my elbows, and my upper chest (which is starting to show a bit of age) at night. . .and it has worked well on all of those areas. I just use a tiny bit, so I imagine a bottle will last me for the whole year -- but, when it runs out, I will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2010 10:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have dark skin & don't need maximum SPF this can be used as a great tanning oil aid on the beach ladies! I alternated between this & Hawaiian Tropic on holiday but i'm convinced it was that that helped my tan go that extra mile when I wanted a particularly fair part of my previously patchy skin to get darker. Yes it takes a while to absorb but i quite liked this as whilst its absorbing in it also draws in the sun to darken the desired area. I brought this on a 2 for 6 offer so I think the price is good. I really like Vaseline's Cocoa range :) (I like the body butter too) The bottles I have should last me ages too as a little goes a long way so wont have to re-buy for a good while

Update: I really do love this gel and its seriously GREAT value for money as I can you belive i'm only 1/4 of the way down into the 1st bottle from snagging that 2 for 6 offer ages ago- amazing. You only need a small amount. Greasiness has never been an issue for me whichever way i use this but one tip I'd suggest is mixing this with your fave body butter, it boosts the moisturising qualities x5 and really does make your skin feel extra lush! I love using this after using a salt scrub, I cant stop rubbing my legs together enjoying the unbelievable smootheness lol


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this because it was raved about in this month's Allure. I'm disappointed -- it just "sat" on top of my skin and didn't soak in after a LOOOOONG time. It didn't make it softer, either. It did give it a pretty sheen, but it was so greasy. I guess I should know that if mineral oil is the first ingredient, it will be greasy and sit on top of your skin. :-( I didn't like the smell, either.


on 2/21/2010 6:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this! I tend to use it during the summer when I'm showing a bit more skin because it just gives me a great glow...not too greasy and it feels amazing on my skin. I have it on auto delivery from Amazon so I won't be without it...can't go wrong with that!


on 1/29/2010 1:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have dry Winter skin and hate it. This kind of product is the only thing that works. I tried the regular lavender body oil gel from Johnson and Johnson, and it's reallly greasy. How could someone put that even on a baby? It's too heavy, but this has good for your skin light oils that absorb and smell amazing. I got a pack of 2 at Target. It doesn't smell anything like plain old cocoa butter. My skin isn't greasy, but it does have a nice sheen. A little goes a long way.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product without having much high hopes for it. I thought it would be too oily on my body and leave me feeling slightly dirty. However, reluctantly a few weeks ago I tried it after my shower and was suprised at how quickly it absorbed straight into my skin! It was sooo moisturizing as I could feel just how much softer my skin was, but it didn't leave any residue. This product left me pleasantly suprised and I am looking forward to trying the Aloe Vera oil now. Definitely recommend - don't disapprove until you try! :)


on 10/13/2009 8:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Mmm I just put it on and I smell so delicious that I might just eat my arm! I have never used body oil before or a body oil GEL! This stuff is amazing. I like that it smells like cocoa butter but also kind of like a cupcake, a very rich buttery cupcake! A lot of lotions/creams that I have tried containing cocoa butter have had that fake or extremely potent scent to it which I wasn't very fond of. This smells like cocoa butter & almond oil. I love it.
Seeing as it is a body oil, it is "greasy". I feel that it renews the moisture in my skin & leaves a nice glow. You don't need a lot of the oil like a regular cream/lotion. I've had this for a good month & I've got 90% left. Personally, I prefer this over a rich body butter or an "intensive moisturizing body lotion". I hope by the time I finish with this bottle, it will be available in Canada :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Body Skincare Products


All Products
697 Reviews
Healing Cream
310 Reviews
Baby Oil
354 Reviews


Back to Top