Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(52 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ReggieJackson on 5/23/2010 2:54:00 PM more reviews by ReggieJackson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The one I have is actually a bit different. The ingredients listed are similar but there are no citrus based ones. Mine is also a waterproof product. I bought this to use exclusively on my decollete which is the most sun damaged part of my body. I have tried other sunscreens and end up getting a rash or red spots. I use a powdered sunblock on my face, but it gets all over my clothes if I use it on my neck and chest. SO...I am thrilled with this! Yes it is thick, but is very good for my skin. It feels so much more supple after a week of use. It also works all day and I have no reaction to it. This is a keeper for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 expira on 5/17/2010 9:22:00 AM more reviews by expira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like many reviewers have commented on before, it leaves a thick white residue on your face after you apply it. I've gotten a technique down where I just apply it very quickly to let it soak it, and while the end result is better than if I did nothing at all, my face still doesn't look quite...right. Furthermore, it doesn't sit right with face powder; if you powder your face, remember to apply the sunscreen at least thirty minutes before you apply the powder, and then hope for the best.

That being said, it does offer awesome protection. I brought my winter-pale face to Australia last winter/Australian summer, and this stuff prevented it from turning lobster. In fact, one day I used a Nivea sunscreen, and it was stunning to notice how much better this Badger sunscreen is.

So...I'd buy again if going somewhere I would burn easily. Otherwise...nah.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* modernabsurdity on 4/17/2010 3:04:00 PM more reviews by modernabsurdity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product remind me of something that should be featured on Dave Chappelle's Playa Hater's Ball. That's how much I hate it. Last summer when I was on my quest for the perfect natural mineral sunscreen I saw how highly this was rated on EWG's site and bought it. It's a thick, greasy, white, heavy hot mess. In its favor it does contain 20% zinc oxide and truly is broad spectrum. The smell is also nice.


Applying this stuff is a nightmare. Usually with mineral sunscreens I start out with small amounts, glide it on, then pat it and build up, but no technique is good for this stuff. I'm very fair and was left with a grotesque white cast. The first 2 ingredients are olive oil and beeswax which explains the texture. No matter what I did I was left with a greasy residue that transfered onto anything I touched. I never bothered trying this on my face, I could barely stand using it on my body.


If you don't care about the cosmetic elegance or the fact it's expensive and you get a small amount (around $14 for a whopping 2.9 oz/82 g), then maybe give it a try. I am somewhat skeptical since it contains citrus essential oils which causes photosensitivity. Kinda defeats the purpose of a sunblock, eh? I tried to pawn my tube off on my sister and when she wasn't a fan I tossed it. Devita, Caribbean Sol, and a host of other natural/organic companies make far superior sunscreens that won't make you hate life and are a better value.


The verdict? Hate, hate, hate, hate!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zetaflickan on 4/6/2010 6:03:00 AM more reviews by Zetaflickan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Used up a tube of this on a recent Thailand vacation. My son and I are very fair and burn easily. The sun situation was indeed extreme, we only used the sun screen on hands, face, lower legs and feet, using protective clothing on the rest of our bodies. I bought this due to the good rating on skindeep, and yes, I do believe it is not as harmful to the skin and body as other sunscreens, but the formula is so greasy that it is hard to keep it on if you're active, and also hard to reapply if sweating. My son burnt his hands boogie boarding, the cream would wipe right off if touching anything. Our faces and rest of the bodies were fine. I had the same problem with California Baby, and will try another sunscreen next time. My face would be shiny and white, but not burnt, so it did work on areas that were not touched. In a more "normal" setting (not tropical) it would probably work much better, and not require such thick layers. But I do feel grateful that this alternative exists, having previous sun damage from years of chemical sun screens that let the UVA thorough. At least my son can have more wrinkle and sun spot free years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MaggieN on 10/20/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by MaggieN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this product awhile ago when I couldn't find a more cosmetically elegant zinc oxide sunscreen. The consistentcy is pretty white and thick and really oily, the ingredients contains alot of oils (plant-based I believe). My face appear constantly oily with this on and the lotion is really hard to spread because it's really white so if you don't have really light skin, it's pretty easy to see the uneven whiteness on the skin, the sunscreen seems pretty greasy too, and when I'm driving in the car, it seems the sunscreens transfer itself to the steering wheel and other areas of the car, making a whitish greasy thing. I didn't bother to finish the bottle, so I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 skinjazz on 9/15/2009 12:51:00 PM more reviews by skinjazz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand why this product is so highly regarded as a sunblock, because although it has a good dose of zinc oxide, it is also crammed with every kind of citrus oil known to man. Just google citrus oils- they are known to induce sun-sensitivity. I really, really wanted to like this. I was prepared to overlook the oiliness and the white caste. But I realised that I was burning with this on. I amnot one of those people who just wear sunblock because it is supposed to be good for you. I extremely sensitie skin needs sunblock, and it needs it to work!. I often glance at the mostly full container on my shelf and think, why, why the citrus?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isingonrooftops on 7/30/2009 2:28:00 AM more reviews by isingonrooftops

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This smelled amazing, and was moisturizing without being greasy. The EWG database reports that the ingredients in it are really safe, and won't break down in the sun. I must warn you, however, that this does leave a white cast on your face. The fact that it leaves my face pale doesn't bother me much. However, it can be hard to maintain even skin tone, since the white cast fades from your body more quickly than your face.
As for the question regarding whether or not their use of essential oils causes skin reactions, read this: http://www.badgerbalm.com/t-SPF_FAQ.aspx

Edit: I still like this sunscreen, but have realized that it's quite hard to spread around. The consistency is more like a balm rather than cream. I may still buy this again, but I would also like to try the CA Baby Sunscreen after I run out of my 1st tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JessieWW on 6/10/2009 11:40:00 AM more reviews by JessieWW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have fair skin that's very sensitive, with rosacea and dermatitis, and I tried this on my neck:

The good:
a. If you want to avoid chemical sunscreens, this doesn't have chemical sunscreens--just 20.5% zinc oxide for physical protection
b. Packaging: comes in a tube with flip top; easy to use
c. The product doesn't include the typical preservatives and emulsifiers (the usual suspects) that can trigger sensitive skin irritation such as alcohols, tocopheryl acetate, etc.

The bad:
a. OMG, it's like trying to apply a cream full of sand particles to your body--that much zinc oxide (particulates to begin with) balls up in the formula. I felt like my skin was being scraped as I tried to rub in. Way too abrasive to ever consider on my very sensitive face. (It was so bad I checked the expiration date to see if maybe something was wrong with the product but it wasn't--it still had another year on it.) Note: once you rub it in, the "sandy lumps" go away.
b. It's somewhat greasy feeling (ingredients include beeswax and cocoa butter) and of course it leaves a white cast because of all the zinc (although I wouldn't mind that if it weren't for the sandy feel)
c. The product includes a bunch of essential oils (lavender oil, ylang ylang, etc.)--another reason I would never put this on my face. Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database shows the product as safe but some of these essential oils haven't been much tested to begin with--and a web search reveals that some of the essential oils can cause a skin reaction.
d. The smell--because of the essential oils--is weird.

Summary: If you have normal, not sensitive, skin and are looking for a safe sunscreen, this might be it (other than the potential for clogging due to greasy ingredients). I personally didn't like the smell or the sandy application.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Moyra on 4/5/2009 12:33:00 AM more reviews by Moyra

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have chemical sunscreen allergies, so this seemed like a really good product idea. Alas, in execution, its odd stuff.
Its incredibly greasy, has a large amount of gritty little balls of who-the-heck-knows-what - zinc? - and you have to rub it in for ages before you can appear in public without looking like you're wearing white grease paint with little white grains all over it.
After trying it on my face a few times, I went back to using DeVita SPF 30 on my face, but I do like Badger SPF 30 on my hands/arms. I even like the lavendery smell, which is strong but still pleasant and a good alternative to smelling like stale oils, like the highly touted Soleo Organics SPF 30.
I would repurchase as a winter/hands sunscreen, since I live in a very sunny climate, am very pale and have dry skin. But its definitely a fair bit of work to use, and it would be nice if the company figured out how to blend their ingredients properly so the gritty white balls dissappeared.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 laz on 11/11/2008 4:14:00 AM more reviews by laz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Badger provides EXCELLENT UVB/UVA protection with 20.5% Zinc Oxide. However, though Badger uses Z-cote (which a tradename brand of Micronised Zinc Oxide, though Badger notes that it uses particle sizes of 100Nm and above whereas many nano mineral formulations use particles as small as 20nm) it still lives quite a white cast on your face. This subsides, though, after an hour. Eventually it sinks in to an invisible sheen, but for that first hour you look like you belong in a carnival.

My main gripe about this product is this: on one hand, it's almost perfect for sensitive skins because it contains no chemical filters whatsoever, but on the other hand Badger has decided to put a lot of volatile essential oils in the formula: namely lime, lavender and orange. If anything, these oils provide a greater likelihood of skin irritation. Badger, apparently, are reformulating their product at present so we'll see what the new one looks like.

All in the all, if you're okay with the whitish cast, and the oils don't irritate your skin, I'd recommend this. It doesn't contain many antioxidants but then, conversely, it doesn't contain any suspect preservatives either.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products