Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(48 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MaggieN on 10/20/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by MaggieN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this product awhile ago when I couldn't find a more cosmetically elegant zinc oxide sunscreen. The consistentcy is pretty white and thick and really oily, the ingredients contains alot of oils (plant-based I believe). My face appear constantly oily with this on and the lotion is really hard to spread because it's really white so if you don't have really light skin, it's pretty easy to see the uneven whiteness on the skin, the sunscreen seems pretty greasy too, and when I'm driving in the car, it seems the sunscreens transfer itself to the steering wheel and other areas of the car, making a whitish greasy thing. I didn't bother to finish the bottle, so I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 skinjazz on 9/15/2009 12:51:00 PM more reviews by skinjazz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand why this product is so highly regarded as a sunblock, because although it has a good dose of zinc oxide, it is also crammed with every kind of citrus oil known to man. Just google citrus oils- they are known to induce sun-sensitivity. I really, really wanted to like this. I was prepared to overlook the oiliness and the white caste. But I realised that I was burning with this on. I amnot one of those people who just wear sunblock because it is supposed to be good for you. I extremely sensitie skin needs sunblock, and it needs it to work!. I often glance at the mostly full container on my shelf and think, why, why the citrus?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isingonrooftops on 7/30/2009 2:28:00 AM more reviews by isingonrooftops

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This smelled amazing, and was moisturizing without being greasy. The EWG database reports that the ingredients in it are really safe, and won't break down in the sun. I must warn you, however, that this does leave a white cast on your face. The fact that it leaves my face pale doesn't bother me much. However, it can be hard to maintain even skin tone, since the white cast fades from your body more quickly than your face.
As for the question regarding whether or not their use of essential oils causes skin reactions, read this: http://www.badgerbalm.com/t-SPF_FAQ.aspx

Edit: I still like this sunscreen, but have realized that it's quite hard to spread around. The consistency is more like a balm rather than cream. I may still buy this again, but I would also like to try the CA Baby Sunscreen after I run out of my 1st tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JessieWW on 6/10/2009 11:40:00 AM more reviews by JessieWW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have fair skin that's very sensitive, with rosacea and dermatitis, and I tried this on my neck:

The good:
a. If you want to avoid chemical sunscreens, this doesn't have chemical sunscreens--just 20.5% zinc oxide for physical protection
b. Packaging: comes in a tube with flip top; easy to use
c. The product doesn't include the typical preservatives and emulsifiers (the usual suspects) that can trigger sensitive skin irritation such as alcohols, tocopheryl acetate, etc.

The bad:
a. OMG, it's like trying to apply a cream full of sand particles to your body--that much zinc oxide (particulates to begin with) balls up in the formula. I felt like my skin was being scraped as I tried to rub in. Way too abrasive to ever consider on my very sensitive face. (It was so bad I checked the expiration date to see if maybe something was wrong with the product but it wasn't--it still had another year on it.) Note: once you rub it in, the "sandy lumps" go away.
b. It's somewhat greasy feeling (ingredients include beeswax and cocoa butter) and of course it leaves a white cast because of all the zinc (although I wouldn't mind that if it weren't for the sandy feel)
c. The product includes a bunch of essential oils (lavender oil, ylang ylang, etc.)--another reason I would never put this on my face. Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database shows the product as safe but some of these essential oils haven't been much tested to begin with--and a web search reveals that some of the essential oils can cause a skin reaction.
d. The smell--because of the essential oils--is weird.

Summary: If you have normal, not sensitive, skin and are looking for a safe sunscreen, this might be it (other than the potential for clogging due to greasy ingredients). I personally didn't like the smell or the sandy application.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Moyra on 4/5/2009 12:33:00 AM more reviews by Moyra

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have chemical sunscreen allergies, so this seemed like a really good product idea. Alas, in execution, its odd stuff.
Its incredibly greasy, has a large amount of gritty little balls of who-the-heck-knows-what - zinc? - and you have to rub it in for ages before you can appear in public without looking like you're wearing white grease paint with little white grains all over it.
After trying it on my face a few times, I went back to using DeVita SPF 30 on my face, but I do like Badger SPF 30 on my hands/arms. I even like the lavendery smell, which is strong but still pleasant and a good alternative to smelling like stale oils, like the highly touted Soleo Organics SPF 30.
I would repurchase as a winter/hands sunscreen, since I live in a very sunny climate, am very pale and have dry skin. But its definitely a fair bit of work to use, and it would be nice if the company figured out how to blend their ingredients properly so the gritty white balls dissappeared.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 laz on 11/11/2008 4:14:00 AM more reviews by laz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Badger provides EXCELLENT UVB/UVA protection with 20.5% Zinc Oxide. However, though Badger uses Z-cote (which a tradename brand of Micronised Zinc Oxide, though Badger notes that it uses particle sizes of 100Nm and above whereas many nano mineral formulations use particles as small as 20nm) it still lives quite a white cast on your face. This subsides, though, after an hour. Eventually it sinks in to an invisible sheen, but for that first hour you look like you belong in a carnival.

My main gripe about this product is this: on one hand, it's almost perfect for sensitive skins because it contains no chemical filters whatsoever, but on the other hand Badger has decided to put a lot of volatile essential oils in the formula: namely lime, lavender and orange. If anything, these oils provide a greater likelihood of skin irritation. Badger, apparently, are reformulating their product at present so we'll see what the new one looks like.

All in the all, if you're okay with the whitish cast, and the oils don't irritate your skin, I'd recommend this. It doesn't contain many antioxidants but then, conversely, it doesn't contain any suspect preservatives either.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snickety on 11/3/2008 4:38:00 PM more reviews by snickety

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My allergy prone skin so wanted to love this line of product, but my hyper-sensitive nose stepped in and won the battle... the smell of these products is just horrible. And, to be fair, the product itself felt very greasy and ucky on my skin. The packaging is adorable, love the tins. Unfortunately these items go into the unusable items drawer, and it's back to the drawing board for hyper-sensitive smeller/allergic skin friendly products:)

P.S. I purchased and tried the chai rose lip balm, the evolving body balm, and the spf 30 sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 worldwide on 10/15/2008 2:36:00 AM more reviews by worldwide

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this on myself and my toddler and preschooler all summer, and it is great. This is the ONLY sunscreen my kids will use now. I was using Jason Naturals children's sunscreen (in the yellow bottle) but it is SO thick and hard to spread, and so opaque-white my kids hated it. And when you are putting sunscreen on a squirming 2 year old, you don't have time to rub-rub-rub it in. The Badger sunscreen is thick, yes, but it does rub in fairly quickly (helps if you warm it in your hand first to melt it). Now if I try to put non-natural sunscreens on the kids, they complain about the "yucky" sunscreen. Amazing that even such young children can tell what's good and natural and what are chemicals. Anyway, they (and I) love the fragrance and the creamy feel of it. We have very fair skin, so the whitening is no big deal for us. We live in a very sunny climate, so we have to be coated with sunscreen every day. I feel good using this on myself and my kids, all over, every day, knowing that there are no potentially harmful chemicals in it. If you are looking for a thin-consistency, matte, undetectable sunscreen you will be disappointed with this. I was looking for a completely-natural, safe, pleasant to use sunscreen, and I have been very happy with this. This sunscreen has a very good safety rating on Environmental Working Group's Skin Deep Report: http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/special/sunscreens2008/findyoursunscreen.php

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 joyacchen on 9/23/2008 12:01:00 PM more reviews by joyacchen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really really really wanted to like this. It's got natural ingredients and offers really good sun protection. On the flipside, in order to offer good sun protection as a natural product, it's ultra thick and VERY VERY white. I'm already fairly tan and it turns my bronzed skin into a strange pink hue, which is quite unattractive when I'm trying to blend in with the locals on vacation...

I love what this product is about but really just can't bring myself to walk around with a strange pepto bismol-y cast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blondiegoodlooks on 8/1/2008 1:56:00 AM more reviews by blondiegoodlooks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to like this stuff. It's difficult to find a chemical-free sunblock today, especially one that doesn't have nano zinc.

My review is for the SPF 15, which I got because other reviewers said the SPF 30 was too whitening. Although whitening is not really an issue on the 15, it is terribly greasy, even after being on ur skin for a few hours.

If you can live with that, I'd say buy it, but if you need a product that feels like it sinks in, this is not for you. I wish Badger could reformulate into something not as greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products