Aphogee • Two-Step Protein Treatment (formerly Treatment for Damaged Hair) • Hair Treatments

rated 4.5(189 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* moonandtheriver on 5/1/2013 3:20:00 PM more reviews by moonandtheriver

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start by saying my hair has been in terrible condition. TERRIBLE. I had split ends all over the sides and it was breaking off like crazy. I tried conditioners, oils, treatments, overnight treatments and regular trimming to no avail. I have no idea why my hair has been so bad, I don't color very often, I dry on a low heat setting and am very light with the curling iron, I use natural shampoos and a leave in conditioner to help with dryness and heat protection. I was frustrated. This was kinda my last resort...honestly I was scared to try this after some of the reviews about it drying rock hard and don't overuse protein, etc. So I bought the packets at Sallys and tried it.I washed and towel dried, put the stuff in a spray bottle and sprayed it on...super sticky mess by the way) and put the blow dryer on it for 15 minutes and that was all it took for my fine thin hair to dry. It was hardened, like having waaaay too much gel dried in your hair. I jumped in the shower and rinsed out, it came out easily. I added the conditioner that came with it and some of my own rich conditioner mixed in, left it in for 5 minutes and rinsed it out. Wow. Soft, shiny hair. I trimmed off the split ends and my hair looks so much better and the dryness and breakage seems to be held at bay. My hair feels better, it styles better, it has the movement it used to have. Wish I had done this ages ago. This seems to be the restart of better health for my hair and I will continue to use this every so often to keep my hair healthy. I have to wonder if my next coloring will be better as well. I love the conditioner this came with too. Not nearly as scary as people make it sound and seem... the worst part was cleaning up the stickiness off the counter afterward. I'm so happy to have my hair back!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yase88 on 4/17/2013 2:37:00 AM more reviews by yase88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So when i saw all these reviews, i was sooooo excited to buy this treatment.

I have died my hair to black monthly for a year then 4 days ago i wanted lighten my hair and go dark brown at least! then i saw color oops reviews and wanted to try. I used twice and didnt get any difference in colour, i went to pick up an other box but then i changed my mind and picked up bleach!!!! i was thinking i would only leave it on for 10mins and heal the damage with oils and such. Well i was wrong, i left it in like 30mins, especially at the ends to get ombre look ( hahahha how stupid i am). As a result......My hair was soooooo thin and mushy:((( omg im soooo depressed, don't know what to do with myself:(( My hair is soo long, down to my butt but extremely thin.

Well i just used the treatment (3days after my bleaching nightmare), i felt that mushy feeling was gone and my hair felt harder. I dont think step2 is conditioning enuf but im happy that its not mushy anymore! I was expecting a miracle tho, thats why im bit disappointed.

As everyone says, you cant fix damaged hair over night! but wouldnt it be great, if we could fix it with a treatment that is $5!!

My advice! if u have damaged mushy, strangely soft damaged hair, you should def use this treatment but with different conditioner!! n get a spray bottle for the application!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NiecyBaby on 4/7/2013 5:51:00 AM more reviews by NiecyBaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Lately I've only been using this right before I get my sew-in. I love how to reconstructs the hair for up to 6 weeks afterwards. Which is just 2 weeks short of the typical length of time I keep my weave in. I haven't tried using this when wearing my hair on its own but will do it soon and post an update.
I definitely recommend putting the formula in a spray bottle, having wet paper towels or washcloths ready to wipe down your neck and wearing clothes you don't particularly care about. Because this stuff will make a mess. It drips and is really sticky.
Follow the instructions thoroughly. I know people who wanted to do things their way and use their own conditioner instead of the Balancing Moisturizer that you're supposed to use. Then they complain that the treatment made their hair really dry and straw like. Use the Balancing Moisturizer right after. Rinse it out and if you want use your regular conditioner after that.
The smell is another story. Its not great but not so horrible that I wouldn't use it. For such a potent treatment you shouldn't expect it to smell like flowers.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kjb778 on 4/3/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by kjb778

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used this numerous times, but to be honest it did nothing for me. My hair is fine and thin and damages easily from daily styling, heat and periodic coloring. The only way to make my hair better is by regular trims. Maybe my hair isn't as damaged as others and I am grateful for that.

The smell of it isn't bad, just not pleasant. I will continue using it though because it is cheap and maybe it is doing something I am not aware of.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* magpiesparkle on 3/25/2013 2:17:00 PM more reviews by magpiesparkle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Three things:

1] Have a fan on in the bathroom or wherever you're doing this treatment as it STINKS;

2] Step One should be done with your head over a sink or bathtub as it's watery and runny.

3] Invest in a hard-shell/hard hat hair dryer. Your arms will thank you for it!

Having said that, this product helped me get my bleached out hair almost back to normal. I followed the directions and the reviews here on Makeup Alley and within an hour or so, I had happy hair again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elleycampbell on 2/23/2013 5:20:00 PM more reviews by elleycampbell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

This stuff has worked wonders on my hair! I'm naturally dark brunette and have been box dying my hair since I was 15. I'm now 30 and as you can imagine my hair wasn't in the best condition. I recently went baby blonde over the course of just a few months which wasn't a good idea teamed with damaged, over processed hair. My hair was like straw when dry and stretchy/mushy when wet. I tried all sorts of treatments to help replenish it; from expensive protein treatments, leave in conditioners, hot oils... nothing worked. I came across this whilst searching for affordable at home treatments, and after some online research I gave it a go. It almost fixed my hair with just one application and my hair was soft and manageable again without many signs of breakage/split ends or stretchiness. It's not the easiest thing to apply as it's very runny and goes everywhere... but it's worth the hastle! I use my own clarifying shampoo first, towel dry, add the protein treatment until my hair is saturated, dry until rock hard (don't touch your hair at this point as it will snap!), rinse, apply aphogee balancing moisturizer and leave for a few mins (to balance ph levels... a very important step as Iíve tried it without and hair felt horrible and lacked shine), rinse, apply my favourite moisturising conditioner, rinse again, and that's it. I do this once a month when I have my roots done, or once every two months when my hair is feeling ok. Be warned though - using the treatment too often, such as every few weeks, will result in further damage/breakage. Plus, you MUST use a conditoner after the balancing moisturiser! I only recommended it for dry, damaged, over processed hair. Healthy hair wonít benefit from this treatment and could become damaged.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennyjams on 2/23/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by jennyjams

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just used this for the first time and my hair feels amazing! My hair is very dry bleached hair that was in need of a major protein treatment, This did the trick. I followed the directions perfectly (which you really need to do). My hair feels soft and looks really healthy..atleast compared to how it was. I only used step one and then for step 2 i used shea moisture deep treatment masque. I will be using this every 6 weeks for sure!
check out my new blog about my hair growth journey www.waistfulwishes.com

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sgrplmfairy333 on 2/7/2013 2:05:00 PM more reviews by sgrplmfairy333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Fortunately, I just got a nice little one time use dual-packet of this treatment so it only cost me $4. I decided to give this product a try to see if it would improve the condition of my hair. I also wanted to use this product as a pre-coloring treatment. I normally use neutral protein filler, which i love, but just wanted to try something a little different. big mistake. i have serious hot roots now! however, my hair IS super soft and shiny. in the future ill use this as a stand alone treatment on days when im not dying my hair. for a treatment to help w/ even color distribution, ill stick to neutral protein.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 2/3/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product that I use once a month as a protein treatment. I hate doing two steps so I mix this product in a separate container with Jessicurl deep conditioning treatment and my hair is left transformed- my natural 4c hair pops with curls, is detangled and luscious.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tbabi on 1/14/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by tbabi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

From damaging my hair consistently for many years with flat irons, curling irons and blow dryers my hair had 3 textures. The root was my curly 3b/3c hair and the middle was 2c/3a texture and the end being stick straight dead. I wanted to fix this and didn't want to go the drastic route of cutting the dead ends off so I was introduced to this product. It helped revive those stick straight ends to a 2c/3a texture that I could somewhat deal with until my hair grew out to where I could cut them off. When my hair got back to it's normal state, I returned to the evil flat iron and it gave me the same problem but with loads of frizz. I tried the 2 step treatment and it has revived some of my curls. (I will slowly cut of those ends that are not my real texture slowly)

The 2 step protein treatment is messy and stinky. I used a spray bottle the second time but still it still drips and makes a mess. It also is very stinky but that's expected from pure protein. Great product.. did an awesome job on my very damaged ends.

The moisturizer had great slip but wasn't really a great moisturizer. The second go at using this product I mixed it with another moisturizer for added moisture.

I bought the little packs and I bought 2 the first time and then the second time I did it I bought 3 because my hair is sooo thick, 2 seemed like it wasn't enough. Directions were easy to follow but for those that don't know.. don't place a towel under your hair when doing the protein treatment or any clothing because your hair literally will harden to whatever material it dries to. Don't agitate the hair too much as well because depending on how fragile and damaged your hair is, it could just snap off when the protein is dried in hair. I know it sounds scary but honestly it's the easiest thing to do and not as scary as it sounds.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aphogee products

More Hair Treatments products