Aphogee • Two-Step Protein Treatment (formerly Treatment for Damaged Hair) • Treatments

rated 4.5(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jennyjams on 2/23/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by jennyjams

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just used this for the first time and my hair feels amazing! My hair is very dry bleached hair that was in need of a major protein treatment, This did the trick. I followed the directions perfectly (which you really need to do). My hair feels soft and looks really healthy..atleast compared to how it was. I only used step one and then for step 2 i used shea moisture deep treatment masque. I will be using this every 6 weeks for sure!
check out my new blog about my hair growth journey www.waistfulwishes.com

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sgrplmfairy333 on 2/7/2013 2:05:00 PM more reviews by sgrplmfairy333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Fortunately, I just got a nice little one time use dual-packet of this treatment so it only cost me $4. I decided to give this product a try to see if it would improve the condition of my hair. I also wanted to use this product as a pre-coloring treatment. I normally use neutral protein filler, which i love, but just wanted to try something a little different. big mistake. i have serious hot roots now! however, my hair IS super soft and shiny. in the future ill use this as a stand alone treatment on days when im not dying my hair. for a treatment to help w/ even color distribution, ill stick to neutral protein.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 2/3/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product that I use once a month as a protein treatment. I hate doing two steps so I mix this product in a separate container with Jessicurl deep conditioning treatment and my hair is left transformed- my natural 4c hair pops with curls, is detangled and luscious.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tbabi on 1/14/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by tbabi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

From damaging my hair consistently for many years with flat irons, curling irons and blow dryers my hair had 3 textures. The root was my curly 3b/3c hair and the middle was 2c/3a texture and the end being stick straight dead. I wanted to fix this and didn't want to go the drastic route of cutting the dead ends off so I was introduced to this product. It helped revive those stick straight ends to a 2c/3a texture that I could somewhat deal with until my hair grew out to where I could cut them off. When my hair got back to it's normal state, I returned to the evil flat iron and it gave me the same problem but with loads of frizz. I tried the 2 step treatment and it has revived some of my curls. (I will slowly cut of those ends that are not my real texture slowly)

The 2 step protein treatment is messy and stinky. I used a spray bottle the second time but still it still drips and makes a mess. It also is very stinky but that's expected from pure protein. Great product.. did an awesome job on my very damaged ends.

The moisturizer had great slip but wasn't really a great moisturizer. The second go at using this product I mixed it with another moisturizer for added moisture.

I bought the little packs and I bought 2 the first time and then the second time I did it I bought 3 because my hair is sooo thick, 2 seemed like it wasn't enough. Directions were easy to follow but for those that don't know.. don't place a towel under your hair when doing the protein treatment or any clothing because your hair literally will harden to whatever material it dries to. Don't agitate the hair too much as well because depending on how fragile and damaged your hair is, it could just snap off when the protein is dried in hair. I know it sounds scary but honestly it's the easiest thing to do and not as scary as it sounds.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FrankieStein on 1/3/2013 4:50:00 AM more reviews by FrankieStein

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Personally I loved the way the two step treatment smelled. The moisture packet that came with it on the other hand...YUCK! It smells like old lady hair products on a hot and sweaty summer day. Firstly let me inform you of my hair. I naturally have black hair, that I've been bleaching the life out of since I was 13 (currently 19) I've had my hair every color imaginable. Currently its white and silver. Well needless to say my hair is in need of repair and this stuff works! I could instantly tell the difference once I washed out the protein. I have super curly hair that I bleach every 2weeks, I deep condition every week so moisture wasn't was what I was lacking. I loved this stuff, will go out and buy the full size bottle ASAP. Side note: I used two packets of the two step treatment and one moisture packet followed by Aussie 3min miracle to mask that old lady scent. My hair is a couple inches past my shoulders, its quite porous and I have a TON of hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristalov on 12/27/2012 6:02:00 PM more reviews by kristalov

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used this about a year ago and though I liked it the first time I tried it, I didn't use it again until just now. And I love it! Why didn't I use it until now? Because I had read so much about protein overload I was afraid to. My hair is weak, dry, naturally frizzy, and brittle and I have to be honest with you....I am still confused as to how to determine whether hair needs protein or moisture. So, I cut out the protein and concentrated on moisturizing. My hair remained dry, brittle, and frizzy. (My hair is colour-treated). So I saw the Aphogee 2 Step in my cupboard and decided to try it again and I'm glad that I did! I followed the directions exactly except that after rinsing it out, I lightly shampooed and then followed with the Aphogee balancing moisturizer. After rinsing that out my hair still felt dry so I grabbed some Suave Shea Butter conditioner (bought as a cheapie for the kids) and wow! My hair feels and looks great! It actually feels healthier and stronger. I think it helped using a shampoo after rinsing and using another conditioner after the Aphogee moisturizer because the Aphogee one does not take out tangles or make hair very soft. I will definitely use this again. Turns out that it is great for soccer moms as well! ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 can178 on 12/12/2012 4:33:00 PM more reviews by can178

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't think I've ever even written a review - but I'm just so happy with how this product worked I wanted to share. I got the 2-two pack at the beauty store for 2.99, love that price! I wanted to re-lighten the tips of my hair (naturally dark brown with a blond ombre at the tips) after a haircut cut most of the blonde out. I used one pack of this a few days before I colored with Revlon Frost & Glow, and then waited a few weeks and used one about 4 weeks after I colored. The treatment before the bleaching really helped minimize the damage, but this second treatment after the bleaching is the one that has me amazed. My tips now have almost no visible damage, instead of that straw-like texture they are just as smooth as the rest of my hair and they have much more natural bend to them again. I am really thrilled with how smooth my hair feels, and how little hair I'm shedding.

I think next time I might only use the protein treatment after the bleaching, and stick to just coconut oil to protect it during coloring.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IfyCynthetic on 12/11/2012 2:20:00 PM more reviews by IfyCynthetic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this product because my hair was damaged from too much heat styling. Split ends were endless and my hair looked limp. After just one usage, my hair was super soft and shiny. It was as though life has been infused into. I don't suffer breakage like I used to. Aphogee two-step protein treatment actually stops breakage. Can't wait till my next treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 12/6/2012 4:56:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product did nothing for my hair and I wouldn't buy it again but not because it is a bad product, but because it isn't for me. Aphogee Two-Step is a heavy-duty protein treatment that (according to those who've been there) will pretty much rescue severely damaged hair that is breaking off. And by severely damaged I mean from bleaching, relaxers, perms, etc. Believe me, unless your hair is in extremely bad shape this treatment will make absolutely no difference in your hair's condition. It is inexpensive but very time-consuming. I used it twice and followed the instructions both times. Followed the treatment with a moisturizing, protein-free conditioner. And- nothing. As though I hadn't done anything at all.
If you're looking for a treatment that will strengthen your hair and deliver results you can see (and your hair is in okay shape to begin with), try Nexxus Emergencee. That's my favorite protein treatment, very effective. I had thought that Aphogee would work like Emergencee times ten, but I was mistaken. Don't waste your time with this product unless you really, really need it. If your hair is really that damaged, then Aphogee Two-Step might be just what you need. Others swear by it. But I won't be re-purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xkillerxcrushx on 12/4/2012 5:34:00 AM more reviews by xkillerxcrushx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Wow. My hair was almost in dreadlocks it was such a tangled mess from over processing. I couldn't comb my hair without a small handful breaking off. This stuff seems to have undone all that damage. My hair isn't breaking as much, it's not tangled and it's shiny!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aphogee products

More Treatments products