Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant

4.2

189 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Diatomaceous Earth, Butylene Glycol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Papain, Bromelain, Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Cetearyl Alcohol, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Magnesium Silicate, Lactic Acid, Sulfur, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract, Citrus Medica Limonium (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Polysorbate 80, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl PCA, Phenoxyethanol, Linalool, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


on 2/4/2013 6:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This does wonders for my congested and sometimes flaky skin. I loathe grainy exfoliants and feel they do more harm than good on my face. I started using this twice a week, putting a thin layer on my face and leaving it on for about 20-30 mins. I find it does reduce the size of pimples (you know those red, inflamed spots). This also fades acne scars and pigmentation, but you have to give it time to work

I've tapered off usage to once per week because I have started using La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo and I'm afraid to irritate my skin too much. My only issue with this is the price as it is expensive for the amount you get.

You should try this out if grainy scrubs or brushes do not work for you or if you have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/7/2012 7:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Impressed. I received quite a few samples of this and loved it. Have purchased a full size now.

Its a very mild exfoliant mask, my skin looked brighter and feel smoother after using it. I have very sensitive skin around my eyes and have to be very careful to avoid that area. The first time using this, my skin is alittle wet and the product got near my eye area. My eyelids are irritated for a week. I have to be careful not to use any aha based product near my eye area because the same thing happen after using a aha based cleanser. Now I'll dry my face before applying it and I have not problem.

The only downsize is Dermalogica products are so expensive.


on 11/6/2012 4:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I was really excited to try this after my dermatologist recommended it and after I read the reviews here. I just can't notice an improvement. I like the idea that it doesn't have anything to rub your skin but then again I just don't see the results I wanted. I'm disappointed and would've expected something better especially with a product this expensive.


on 10/19/2012 9:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Like a lot of other people I got a sample of this product after Lisa Eldridge raved about it in one of her skincare videos. She described her skin as being a lot like mine, as in very prone to congestion. I also get dehydrated skin easily (eg oily even though it's dry), and have a lot of hyperpigmentation from acne on my cheeks. Add to that a fierce aversion to scrubby scrubs and it's probably no surprise I love this stuff.
I use it at night about once a week, a very thin layer for 10 minutes, wash it off and put on loads of coconut oil and moisturiser, go to sleep and wake up looking like a princess.
This exfoliator makes my skin smooth, my congestion at bay, helps to fade hyperpigmentation and evens out my dry/oily skin.
Caution: do NOT use a thick/ish layer, don't leave it on for more than 8-10 mins the first few times, do NOT use it any more than 1-2 times/week, be sure to wipe off any stray dots around your eyes/mouth and use a lot of moisturiser or/and a moisturising mask afterwards. I disobeyed these rules after a few weeks of trying it and my face turned orange (you know, I wanted to "increase the effect" by using more and leaving it on for longer. Bad idea. BAD idea.)

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2012 9:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this product after realizing, my skin wasn't as smooth as I wanted it to be. I tried a few samples and loved it. I apply it in the shower and leave it on for ten minutes till I'm done washing or as I'm doing work. It stays put and doesn't drip. My skin is fairly sensitive but this doesn't break me out. I use it about 2x a week. I noticed that if I skip, I have clogs showing up randomly. The only con would be the strange smell. Other than that, I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2012 1:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After Lisa Eldridge recommended this in one of her videos, I had to get it. But Iīm a little disappointed. It doesnīt have much of an effect on my skin, except making it a bit softer right after using it. Itīs gentle and doesnīt upset it, and it isnīt perfumed. I appreciate that. But I donīt see a difference in my skin. Wonīt buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2012 6:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received a decent sized sample of the Gentle Cleansing Cream in a Dermalogica skin care kit. I am a bit on the combo - oily side, but needed some TLC for dry and irritated skin. I chose Dermalogica because there is a spa that carries the line on the main floor of the building I work in. I guess you can say I tried out the brand due to laziness : )

The Gentle Cleansing Cream has a strange, chemical like smell (not at all like the herbaceous freshness of other Dermalogica products). It went on like a thicker lotion and I was happy that it did not take much out of the sample tube to coat my face evenly. I did not feel a sting as I applied and allowed the product to sit, but later that evening some areas of my face felt a wee bit tender. After application, I mix a bit of an alcohol free toner with moisturizer and pat the finishing touches of my skincare ritual into my face. My face is brighter after using the Gentle Exfoliating Cream and it has helped a bit with clogged pores and spots. I am happy that I can use this a few times a week. It is quite gentle and effective. Not at all harsh like other AHA or BHA products. *glares at PC and Neostrata*

I have gotten 4 applications of of the sample sized tube and will get one more use before I am out. The product price is $50 Canadian. Will I purchase? YES! Is the price terrible? Not too bad when compared to Neostrata 10-2 AHA/BHA toner (level...whatever the strongest one is) at $30 per (very small) bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love love this produckt! cant say anything but- It works! I use it 1-2 a week and it takes all my dry flaky skin away.. and ti last a looooong time, its pricey BUT i will last you a long long time..


on 8/20/2012 1:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay, this stuff is great. I'm a big fan of exfoliation, but I'd always used a scrubby method -- usually a cream cleanser and a nice hot washcloth. This enzyme-based product does a better job than my usual method, is as gentle as advertised and is simple and easy to use. I've been using it twice a week for about a month, and I've noticed a huge improvement in the texture and clarity of my skin. I have very sensitive skin, and I haven't had any kind of redness, stinging or lingering reaction to this product. Just great-feeling, clean, soft skin. I'm a total convert. It's certainly not cheap, but the price on Amazon isn't bad -- I think I paid $27 -- and even using it twice a week I'm estimating that the tube I've got should last the better part of a year, so it's not so bad.

My routine in case anyone is interested: wash with Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser and hot washcloth morning and night, a tiny bit of Cetaphil cream (in the big tub) as daily moisturizer, Dermalogica exfoliating mask twice a week.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2012 7:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really enjoyed using this product. It's unlike any other exfoliant I've tried - it's gentle and not abrasive like so many other facial scrubs out there. It takes a total of about ten minutes to apply, wait, and rinse the product off. Once you're done, you'll feel a nice, noticeable difference. My face usually comes out feeling clean, but not stripped of essential oils. The Gentle Cream Exfoliant is on the pricey side, but a little goes a long way - so it should last anywhere from a few months to a year. I use it about once or twice a week.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top