Clinique Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK

4.4

205 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

isododecane, cyclopentasilosane, polyethylene, barium sulfate, trimethylsiloxysillicate, disteardimonium hectorite, propylene carbonate, lecithin, phenyl trimethicone, ethylehexylglycerin, hydrogenated polyisobutene, methicone. May contain: mica, iron oxides, carmine, titanium dioxide, yellow 5 lake, ultramarines, manganese violet, chromium oxide greens, bismuth oxychloride, ferric ferrocyanide, blue 1 lake, chromium hydroxide green.


on 5/27/2012 12:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only reason I'm not buying this product again (or giving it full 5 lipsticks) is because of the ingredients. It's not awful, but these days, I prefer my beauty products to have progressive or natural ingredients and show some sort of transparency on their product website.


What it's like: a little glass pot with a black gel cream inside. The brush they provide is kind of crap so I recommend using a liner brush (a soft paint brush) or an angled eyeliner brush (an actual cosmetics brush). I prefer the latter unless I'm doing something very specific and nontraditional.


How I use it: I have oily skin so I always use a primer base. These days, I either use a sample I got from MAC's paint pot line in Painterly, or Bare Escentuals Brightening Primer. I carefully paint the cream on my lids with a brush in small strokes. You can get pretty detailed with this stuff. It goes on smoothly and isn't runny, clumpy, or difficult to work with.


How it wears: the end result is very pigmented and lasts all day. It won't budge after it's fully dried (just a few minutes). I basically only use this product for special events or going out, when I actually take time to apply more dramatic makeup. It's never disappointed me as long as I have some sort of eyeshadow primer on underneath. I did the winged eye look for a friend's wedding earlier this year. This eyeliner lasted throughout the wedding and after party, flawlessly. It only came off when I washed it with soap.


As long as you're not extremely strict with what goes into your cosmetics, this would be a great eyeliner (not that this is full of incredibly harmful ingredients or anything). It's not irritating; it's easy to work with, wears well and lasts long.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/26/2012 10:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

i love this stuff. especially for winged eyeliner.
it stays forever and the true black color is so dark you don't even need to build it. the consistency is so smooth and easy to work with. i think it works best (in my opinion) with an angled eyeliner brush. all in all when i run out i will certainly repurchase but that probably won't be anytime soon because i'm only using this for special events (high school budget)


on 5/21/2012 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG liner for my upper lid. It stays a true black and only smudges if I use it to make a wing, and that happen only after 8+ hours. I use a slanted brush to apply it in 5 minutes or less. And at $10, it's a true gem.


on 3/15/2012 5:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this gel liner or cream liner as they refer to it. It is BLACK! I was using the clinique tube liquid liner before I accidentally got this after I sent a friend to buy me my clinique liner refill and he brought this instead and I tried it and I can't go back to d tube liner. It takes about a min to dry and turns charcoal/khol black! It is perfect for the winged cat eyes. The downside to this is the application brush included, it doesn't help give you straight line, I use my maybelline gel liner brush instead and it is fantastic. I will definitely buy again and again


on 3/9/2012 3:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Sorry to sound like everyone else but this is the queen of liners. It doesn't budge or transfer, even on my tightline where I use it most. Unlike my MAC fluidline, it hasn't dried out at all - I have had it for over a year and the consistency is the same lovely creamy texture it was when I bought it. HG product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2012 11:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this eye liner. It is very easy to apply and has a great smooth finish. I love MAC eye products, but found their fluid line did not perform as well as the Clinique brush on cream liner. I am currently on my third or fourth tub and will continue to purchase. Don't waster your money elsewhere as this is the best cream eye liner I have worn.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2012 10:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I think that this is great for the daytime becuase it's not super pigmented. To wear this for a night look you would definitely have to build the color. Very smooth and easily applied though. I really like it but like I said, it's not a super dark black so if you're looking for that, look elsewhere.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2012 3:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Really good product. Nothing bad to say. Lasts. Smooth on application. Does not irritate my eye. Easy to remove despite it being long-lasting. Has not dried out after a few months.

Can't compare it to other big players (e.g. MAC fluidline/bobbi brown) cos I haven't tried them. After reading reviews and contemplating, I went straight to this. Don't think I'll go back, to be honest.
Just don't like that it has to come with a brush everytime you buy one. Guess it's smart of them to include it so they can charge you more. But I don't use it, and I think it's a waste of material. Just have to keep finding friends to give them to, I guess.
:)
-----------------------------
UPDATE: I found a way to make this last ALL night. I was shocked when I checked after a night out. Primer helps, but if you have oily or hooded lids as I do, dust (or pile on - the more the better as long as you don't look chalky) on a layer of your-skin-coloured eyeshadow before applying the liner. If you forget to apply the shadow before, apply it above the area that's covered in liner. The shadow will absorb the oils throughout the night. Moreover, if you make a mistake with the liner, it's easier to rub off with a Q-tip since there's shadow underneath.


on 1/25/2012 10:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the gel liner I keep coming back to. I have used MAC's Fluidline in Blacktrack and Bobbi Brown Gel Liner and this consistently performs the best. I find the Fluidline gets dry too quickly and the Bobbi Brown does not last on the lid. The Clinique doesn't have these issues. I find this formula is a bit more "watery" than others, but it makes application smoother and keeps product soft longer and does not sacrifice lasting power.


I can't really find anything wrong with this, so I will keep buying. I love using this for the cat-eye look. For reference I use this with an Ecotools angled liner brush and it works perfectly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2012 1:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been wearing gel liner for years and this is the one I prefer by far. It's jet black, doesn't budge until I'm ready to take it off, and is creamy and easy to apply. I love that it doesn't dry out until I'm done with the entire thing, I've found that a lot of other gel liners tend to go dry long before they've run out. Definitely a staple for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top