Joico Moisture Recovery

4.1

78 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Propylene Glycol, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Cocamide Mea, Sorbitol, Pentapeptide-29 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Keratin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Algin, Sea Water/Maris Aqua/Eau De Mer, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Silicone Quaternium-16, Citric Acid, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Undeceth-11, Arginine, Sodium Citrate, Butyloctanol, Undeceth-5, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Stearyl Dihydroxypropyldimonium Oligosaccharides, Dmdm Hydantoin, Methylparaben, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzyl Benzoate, Limonene, Fragrance/Parfum, Ext. Violet 2 (CI 60730), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).


on 2/20/2012 3:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My hair is thick, wavy and dry from the seemingly endless winter months. I had been using Head & Shoulders for the past 6 months due to awful dandruff which I attributed to our town's very hard water. I happened to see a litre sale in a salon store with the Joico products on sale for $34.99 - $43.99 for the shampoo and conditioner sets, so I decided I would pick up a set to give my hair better treatment. The Moisture Recovery set came up to $36 with tax which is reasonable for the amount of product. Regular price of the litre sets are anywhere from $50 - $100
First of all, I loved the smell. It smells fresh and light, something I prefer to overpowering floral or perfumed scents. The woman in the store suggested I use Moisture Recovery as my hair would definitely benefit from what the product offers to do. Once I got home I tried the shampoo and I immediately felt my purchase was worth it. The first wash, there is little to no lathering, but once you rinse and repeat, there is a lot of foam and gentle cleaning. It rinsed clean from my hair. I find that the pump distributes a very precise amount, but I think two applications are necessary with this shampoo. All in all I think I made a wise choice in buying this particular type from Joico. I am enjoying soft and smooth hair that smells great and looks healthier already.



on 1/19/2012 9:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got the huge bottle of this...boy was it a mistake! Just for reference, I have thick poofy hair with lots of natural waves. I need a shampoo that is non-volume, even anti-volume if you can believe it haha! Despite people's complaints that this shampoo weighed down their hair, I figured that's what I needed anyway. Get the stuff, use it in the shower, and I can feel right away as I am washing that it feels like I am ADDING gunk to my hair if anything! It doesn't even suds until the second time washing. As my hair drys, it looks greasy and weight down/flat at the top...the rest of my hair has these annoying fly aways. I used it for the week, needing to wash my hair everyday instead of every other day, and it didn't get any better.


on 1/15/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've never written a shampoo review because I am usually so underwhelmed by shampoos in general...usually, for me, they're either too drying (in the case of most sulfate ones) or they don't really cleanse (in the case of sulfate-free ones). This is by far the only shampoo that's ever worked so well for me that I would feel compelled to write a review.

For one, I LOVE the scent. Clean, ocean-y (and I am a sucker for those mid-90s "ocean" type scents like Escape)--this reminds me most of that. I love the smell--which is NOT overwhelming, just nice. (so many hair products are really overwhelmingly scented, even when the scent is pleasant--Garnier Fructis, are you listening????)

Second, my hair has been just awesome since I started using this. For reference, I have damaged, dry, fine hair that I am repairing from heavy highlights/ bleach. I have a ton of hair, but it's very fine--a lot of things just weigh it down & make it look tacky and greasy.

Third, I use this in conjunction with Joico K-Pak Intense Hydrator (which is also INCREDIBLE!!!!) and about once a week (sometimes 2X, I am nursing my formerly bleached hair back to health) I follow this shampoo with K-Pak classic deep-penetrating reconstructor, followed by the intense hydrator.

My hair hasn't felt so great--and so light (I can't stress that enough!!! not weighed down by -cones) in years! THanks Joico...your products and research are awesome. You really treat hair as something as sensitive as skin.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2011 10:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

When I first started using this shampoo/cond I didn't think it was anything fantastic, but it certainly did nothing bad. I took a break from it for a long while, then found it in my cabinet and decided to finish it. For some reason now I'm loving it, it makes my hair smell so good (nice scent all day long) and I generally have good hair days when I use this. Doesn't dry my hair at all and does help maintain moisture. Will repurchase, I'm almost out!


on 8/18/2011 7:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE Sept 13, 2011: Ok, the lack of hair loss has continued. Not always, but a lot more than ever before. I'm talking 0 to less than 10 strands in the drain (how is that even possible!?). Also, rinse and repeat or forget using it at all.


PROS: Originally I thought this was a pretty basic shampoo with no special qualities, except that this I lose a TON less hair in the shower. I don't have damaged hair and my hair has never broken off/fallen out, but in the shower, a lot just naturally comes out, all the loose hairs just get dislodged. I thought the less hair loss was maybe the Vitamin D that I started a month before I used this but read that Vitamin D usually takes effect in 3 months. Also, I didn't notice less hair loss till the first wash with this stuff. Worth mentioning no matter what the cause was. Now I lose little to almost NO hair in the shower. Since then I've discovered this shampoo actually works really well, provided that you follow the instructions: later, rinse, REPEAT. You must repeat. I was afraid of dryness but the shampoo is gentle, so much that with one lather/rinse only my hair would be left dry because it was not properly cleaned, so I started doing it twice with much better results. I also don't really "wash" my hair with it, I mostly concentrate on my scalp. The second wash makes HUGE body wash like foam and feels like overkill, it works.


CONS: Not sure if it really moisturizes hair, but it just doesn't leave it feeling raw or super dry. And since I need to lather, rinse, and repeat I will use it up faster.


OVERALL: I'm sticking with it. I might actually buy it again!


on 7/29/2011 11:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

packaging: functional, no complaints. a pump would have been MORE convenient but meh.
price: alright for a salon shampoo, however drugstore shampoos do the same job.
product: i expected this to nourish and salvage my dry, damaged hair however the result i got was only mediocre. it did no damage but considering joico's reputation and better drugstore shampoos that i've tried, this one isn't a big winner :)


on 3/24/2011 4:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i would loveee this Shampoo, but i seem to lose more hair in the shower than usual when i use it, same goes for the treatment balm in the same range. such a shame!! It cleans well though and is one of the only shampoos that i have used that doesnt make my hair feel dry before conditioner. my hair also dried shinier and smoother (maybe a tiny bit flatter at the roots) than usual. I would recommend to anyone who wasnt paranoid about hair fall in the shower. my hair is damaged, so its prob just me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2011 12:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this shampoo for over a month. Stopped using it a couple days ago and here's why. It made my scalp itchy, weighed my hair down, hair felt greasy, frizzy, and it made my hair really dry. It just did not work for me.


on 1/20/2011 5:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

My hair is curly, extremely dry. @ first, I felt as if this product had made my hair drier. But eventually after a couple washes my hair felt EXTREMELY soft. I don't mind the price. Smells great ! Will continue purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2010 11:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I decided to try this after getting the black bleached out of the underside of my hair. I need moisture badly on parts of my hair and this made my hair feel very soft and I like that it doesn't have any protein. The downside is by the end of the day, my hair felt like it was dirty. My hair is color treated so I try to only wash it every 2-3 days but I can absolutely NOT do that with this product. This would be great for someone with damaged hair that is normal or thick. My hair is just too fine to handle all the moisture.




Back to Top