Rimmel • Cool Matte 16hr Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.6(57 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 N1cky3 on 5/5/2008 4:01:00 PM more reviews by N1cky3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

If you're looking for flawless, natural coverage, then this foundation probably isn't for you. After liking the look of the mousse (hoping it would give my dry skin a fighting chance of an even coverage) I thought i'd give it a go- and for about a fiver it didn't really seem like there was much I could lose.
I think saying that this foundation was 'dreadful' would be too harsh, as it wasn't that bad. It did, however, give a cakey look, and it was hard to find a difference in coverage without it on. It also dryed out very quickly- which is particulary embarrasing when its at the start of the day (though in all fairness, it has been dry weather lately, not giving this much of a chance) . My mother though uses this foundation daily and it looks great on her. She has oiler skin then mine though, so I think its probably a matter of my poor application or a better skin type.
An average foundation- not bad, but not great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goldie_Loks on 5/2/2008 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Goldie_Loks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to have to say this...but I think I like this as well as my beloved Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse! Why you ask? Because, it provides just as much coverage, doesn't show off dry patches like the DMM, and gives a much more flattering natural matte look, than the flat uni-tone look of DMM. It is MUCH more transfer-proof than the DMM, and looks and feels just fabulous on my combo/oily/dry blemish prone skin. UPDATE: this dries and sets too quickly, and once it does, if you have uneven spots, you can't blend them. Not enough time to work w/the product! 1 lippie off for that, and another b/c I think this *may* have broken me out, I'm going to let me skin clear and try again..will update.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelamakeup on 4/12/2008 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Angelamakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product disappointed me. It went on very blotchy and did not sit well on my facial skin. I felt like I have a mask on my face and had to immediately wash it off. I wouldn't buy this again. This product has frightened me away from trying any foundation from Rimmel again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BellaDiva on 3/10/2008 9:01:00 PM more reviews by BellaDiva

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was quite hopeful about this product, it went on smoothly and had a nice texture. That was short lived unfortunately as it looked very patchy as the day went by and highlighted every little imperfection. Yuk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nelly4 on 2/6/2008 9:52:00 PM more reviews by nelly4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I hated this foundation and what it did for my skin. The concept seemed ok for a mattr foundation which was going to last. I think the first time I wore it, it wasn't too bad, I guess I was hoping it was going to be a nice change from the more expensive products like L'oreal and Revlon but each day I wore it, it got worse. In the end, it felt like no matter how much I put on, it didn't stay there. I could see all my blemishes and by the end of the day, my face was really pink/orange but looked like I wasn't wearing makeup. It was terrible. Will not repurchase this again and threw the jar of this stuff in the rubbish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sproose35 on 1/9/2008 3:57:00 AM more reviews by sproose35

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've only been using this for a few days, it's not really a moose but I do like the texture and the coverage is good, I use shade 100, I think its medium cover, it has a nice finish, I have some breakouts/red areas and it covers this nicely. I would buy it again as it a very affordable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aerobideb on 1/6/2008 9:20:00 AM more reviews by aerobideb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have just tried this for the first time-oh dear!!! I had to wash it off within an hour of application. For a start, the finish is abysmal-cakey, blotchy and pretty crap !! Oh and then my skin began to itch really badly-I couldn't wait to get it off and apply my LM MMU. That's better !!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tamberb on 1/1/2008 4:18:00 PM more reviews by tamberb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this about two weeks ago, and so far it's amazing!


I have combo/normal skin, and this didn't cause me to break out at all. I also have a light olive/caramel complexion with neutral undertones, so it's very difficult to find a decent match. I bought the '303 true nude' and it matches my complexion perfectly!


As this does dry relatively fast, I would recommend doing as I do, and moisturize before applying it, and perhaps applying in small areas.


Provides a nice matte finish that is very pleasing, and lasts very long. Good, medium, coverage (you might need to put a touch of concealer on very dark or red spots), yet it doesn't feel like it's caked on.


Overall, one of my best purchases ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 manarnoor on 12/26/2007 7:59:00 PM more reviews by manarnoor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i bought this foundation about 9 months ago. i liked the way it felt on my skin. but two days ago when i opened it i found some mold and i threw it away. i will never buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lba619 on 11/29/2007 12:22:00 PM more reviews by lba619

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on a whim at a BOGO sale, and must say I love it. I have combo skin, not too oily, with no breakouts. I guessed that shade 200 was a pretty good match for my NC25 skin. I was wrong, too light. So I went back and picked up 303 thinking I could mix the too, and 303 matched nicely. This foundation dries to a nice matte finish with just the right amount of coverage. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Foundations products