Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(429 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 HoodieNinja on 12/17/2012 6:44:00 AM more reviews by HoodieNinja

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been wearing Alima SMF for about 3 years now. After trying many other brands of mineral makeup, Alima impressed me with its quality, color selection, and business ethics. It appears to "melt" into my skin better than other powder foundations, and looks very natural. When I wear it, I get so many compliments on my "perfect" skin; I never get these compliments when wearing liquid or cream foundations.

This is the only product that I have been able to find a perfect match in, as my skin tone is not the typical cool porcelain. (I am very pale, but with peachy-golden undertones. I wear Beige 1)

I wore Alima all through my pregnancy, and felt good knowing that I was not putting questionable ingredients on my face, which would be absorbed into my body.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigergirly on 12/16/2012 9:08:00 AM more reviews by tigergirly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

What a lifesaver! Almost every foundation breaks me out, including mineral powders. BE and Pur contain bismuth oxychloride, which causes me cysts on my cheeks. Even talc is enough to cause a full-scale breakout! To make matters trickier, I'm extremely pale yellow- we're talking ghost-white with yellow undertones. The majority of companies do not make foundations pale or yellowy enough (even the new Double Wear shades). Along comes Alima mineral powder in Warm 0- amazing match! It somehow matches perfectly without washing me out or oxidizing. It lasts ALL day, including on my nose during a cold and hot weather. No to minimal transfer, no separating or fading. I also use the primer underneath, which keeps my oily tzone at bay all day, no blotting needed. Best of all, no breakouts or itchiness. My skin feels bare and comfortable all day. It does look bad on very dry skin, so be sure to moisturize. Sure, the containers and loose powder can be annoying, but I'd gladly deal with it for such quality foundation. Give this a try if you're hard-to-match, have trouble with lasting power or oil-control and/or have very sensitive skin. So glad I found this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dancerwannabe on 11/16/2012 2:53:00 PM more reviews by dancerwannabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Alima Pure for about 2 years now and I have to say I'm very happy with the product. The company itself is great and I like buying from a socially conscious company but I understand that the products need to be great too.

The color range was and still is a HUGE plus. I don't understand how so many make up lines can still be neglecting a huge chunk of the market. I am very fair with olive (and maybe gold) undertones and had spent way too many years of my life oscillating between makeup that was fair with pink undertones or darker foundations with gold undertones. It sounds ridiculous but - for me - finding Alima Pure Olive 1.5 Foundation was revolutionary. I had thought I must be terrible at make up or that I could never look as good as the stereotypic 'girl next door' and I just wanted to shout 'yes, fair skin with olive undertones IS a thing and women like me exist!'

I haven't noticed any problems with fading or clumping. I like it much better than bare minerals which I had been using before despite having to go with mismatched foundation (although I've heard they've since introduced an olive line maybe). For me Alima Pure is much softer and smoother and has better coverage.

Another plus is I find the Alima Pure system for naming and organizing their foundations to be straight forward. I appreciate creativity but fun names like Tabby or Sunset mean nothing to me and I'm a busy girl without taking extra time to understand what each color is. You can buy samples of different colors for $1.50 before you buy. All in all I think it's a very user friendly operation:).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thumbelina1 on 11/7/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by Thumbelina1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Best mineral powder foundation I've ever tried, period, and I've used Bare Minerals, I think something called Joelle, and Susan Posnick. Great match for my skin, beautiful texture, buildable coverage, wears very well. Excellent. Also lasts me for a while.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emdashem on 10/26/2012 3:38:00 PM more reviews by emdashem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I wear Alima in Neutral 3 every day. I actually wear it on top of liquid foundation (MUFE 115) because I like more coverage, but it is an absolutely perfect color match for my skin. I am so impressed with Alima's collection of tones/shades--very extensive. If you have trouble finding a close color match for your skin, I'd definitely give Alima a whirl. And their online reps will help you choose a selection of samples so you can narrow it down to the best match easily. The woman who helped me was spot-on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 digigirltx on 10/25/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by digigirltx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm very pleased with the Alima Pure mineral cosmetics. When I went "clean" last year, I ordered samples from many different mineral makeup companies. Many were grainy, or way too expensive, or didn't have the right colors, or caked / sat on top of the skin.

Alima makeup goes on smoothly, doesn't make my troubled skin break out and layers beautifully. They have a wide range of colors, so you can almost certainly find a perfect match for your skin. And it goes a long way - one container of foundation will last me for 4-6 months or more.

Definitely a keeper for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 queenrabbit on 10/14/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by queenrabbit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is by far my favorite makeup product that I own! My one and finally only HG foundation! Evens out my skin tone, lasts all day, doesn't clog my pores, dry my skin out, or break me out. The color I use is Cool 3. I also use the setting powder in Keiko. I can also can use Neutral 2 but I liked the way that Cool 3 looked.
And the fact that this has build able coverage is awesome! Also when I'm having good skin days, I love to mix a bit with my moisturizer and then set it with the setting powder for a lovely natural skin finish.
I love love love it! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to try a mineral foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ava_B on 10/3/2012 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Ava_B

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love Alima Pure. This is hands down the best foundation I have ever used. I have tried so many products looking for a shade that matched and stayed that way. A lot of times, if I would find something that matched, an hour later, I would look in the mirror and the color went horribly wrong. I have not found this to be the case with almost 2 years of using Alima Pure. If you ever have a problem, their support line is quick to fix it. And it's an American company, with American workers and is 100% cruelty-free. I highly recommend all of their products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shaaralee on 9/27/2012 12:45:00 AM more reviews by shaaralee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

My first try of powdered mineral foundations lead me to believe it was all just a big marketing stunt. Alima proved me wrong. I am in love with this foundation. I use the Alima primer, foundation and finishing powder daily and am happy to report no breakouts after over a year of use and no oil build up. You can build up your coverage, admittedly I always thought that phrase was a joke, but again I am happy to say I was wrong! If you are into mineral foundations definitely give Alima a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 princesssage on 9/13/2012 4:23:00 AM more reviews by princesssage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I begrudgingly gave this foundation 2 starts instead of one because the ingredients really are stellar. But the problem is it turns patchy after two hours, and then turns into a COMPLETE OIL SLICK in about 4 hours. For that reason I can't wear it. I have combo skin that is occasionally oily and occasionally dry depending on the weather and my diet. This foundation goes oily whether my skin is dry or not, though less oily than say in the summer with high humidity. I so wanted to love this product, but for me it's unusable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products