Yves Rocher • Voile d'Ambre • Fragrances

rated 3.9(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catsrsmarterthandogs on 9/4/2006 8:39:00 PM more reviews by catsrsmarterthandogs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a perfect amber scent, more on the sweet side, and very light. It's cozy and warm. I have only the tiny bottle and can't wait for it to be in the larger size. I love amber scents, but too often they seem to be heavy, and overwhelming...this one is not. Very soothing, pretty, light and young.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WarmFuzzy on 9/3/2006 10:49:00 AM more reviews by WarmFuzzy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was pleasantly surprised by this scent from Yves Rocher. I was expecting it to smell like Revlon's Fire and Ice (which smells very good, by the way), but it didn't. It smells expensive and the bottle is gorgeous! I can't wait for the full size bottle to come out. I hope it's a spray because I loe to spray my hair with my perfume. I also can't wait for the body lotion and shower gel to come out. This scent makes me long for the fall and can't wait for it to turn cooler.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* potionsandlotions on 8/29/2006 5:01:00 AM more reviews by potionsandlotions

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

What a nice woody-vanillic amber! This is nice and sexy and has great staying power! I agree with the other reviewers in that this is comforting yet warm and seductive. Perfect bed time scent, and perfect to put on during winter when you plan to stay in and wrap yourself in your rope, with your black stockings and lacy bra underneath it all (or your sexy satin two piece pajamas).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goddess_Dreams on 7/19/2006 10:24:00 AM more reviews by Goddess_Dreams

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ahhh, finally I scored a bottle of this mysterious liquid delight! Voile d'Ambre, created by Olivier Pescheux, is a seductive, sensuous, intoxicatingly charming Oriental-Woody-Amber: with alluringly opulent opening notes of Italian Green Mandarin and Cardamom and middle notes of Myrrh, Insence, Opoponax that transport you to far-away places on the wings of warm, caressing winds, only to dry-down in the most ravishing and silently bewitching way with Madagascar Vanilla, Patchouli, Australian Sandalwood... infused with golden Amber all throughout this mysterious composition. Voile d'Ambre is a light oriental, rich but never heavy. In character it somewhat reminds me a little bit of Shalimar and Musc Ravageur, as if those two were playing all night in the shadows and Voile d'Ambre came out as the result of their playful passion... (EDIT: Aug. 25/06) I am still so very enamored by Voile d'Ambre!!! Like a sheer veil it wraps itself around me and on a rainy day warms me... I so wanted to wear my Prada edp today, but still found it a bit too much for the summer -- then I remembered my Voile d'Ambre and now my hear is smiling!!!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 4/21/2006 11:46:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

On me it is an arid, resinous, and very true amber. Absolutely gorgeous. The bottle is very sexy too. I got this thanks to a dear MUA buddy, but alas, I have to accept that although I like the idea of amber and the way it smells on others as well as on me, I do not enjoy wearing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BasiaS on 3/19/2006 10:24:00 AM more reviews by BasiaS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was able to test this scent thanks to a sweet swapper who sent me a sample. On me, it's basically a fruity oriental, with a sparkling, slightly green citrus note on top, a warm amber-myrrh-incense heart and a vanilla drydown with just a touch of dry sandalwood. This is a pleasant night-time scent, surprisingly fresh considering the notes, nice but ultimately nothing special. It has that sparkling quality to it that I do not much care for, but the myrrh-vanilla combo in the drydown creates a really comforting sensation that completely saves it for me. A must try for amber and incense fans. Notes: green mandarin, myrrh, incense, sandalwood, vanilla, patchouli.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nefferttitti on 1/14/2006 2:43:00 PM more reviews by nefferttitti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I tested this fragrance today.........and OMG - I am AMAZED! This is so warm, so unexpected, so sexy and so unique!!! I am usually into designer fragrances only, but I guess this time I am gonna make an exemption and put this one on my wish list without a doubt!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syltetyta on 12/9/2005 12:47:00 PM more reviews by syltetyta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I received a free 5ml bottle of this fragrance, and couldn't make up my mind about it at first. It was summer when I tried it on, and it turned sour on me. As the review below posted, this is a vanilla-incense scent that is not heavy and lingers close to the skin. There is also sandalwood, patchouli, amber, myrrh, and green mandarines in it too. It is best worn during winter because of the mandarine (my bodychemistry turns anything citrusy sour on me during summer) It's a warm, comforting, soft, mature and womanly scent.This is a scent that makes people take a long sniff. They literally put their noses on my skin and breathe in several times to figure out what it is - my skin? Soap? Body Lotion? Fabric softener?
It can't be a fragrance?? But it is sooo soft! There is nothing offensive about this beautiful skin-scent and because of this I will gladly purchase a new bottle when mine is finished. Enjoy!
UPDATE: This skinscent is definately growing on me, and I wish there were more lippies so I could upgrade it. I now have the bodymilk and usually layer it with the perfume. My nose is glued to my arm while wearing it.



Just a note:

After more than 15 years of being a repeat customer at Yves Rocher, I've closed my membership and account after being treated rudely one last time by their customer service in Norway. Clearly the company has a worldwide issue with their customers if they are dissatisfied, after reading more than one review mentioning it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vanja on 12/6/2005 2:00:00 PM more reviews by vanja

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is very incense-y on me. I smell incense and woods with some slight vanilla sweetness in the drydown (but it's very slight, it's just a hint of vanilla on me). I love it!

On me, this is not a loud fragrance with aggressive sillage, no, it stays pretty close to my skin. It's soft and classy, not a 'sugary sweet' or 'fruity fun' kind of scent. It's such a perfect winter scent!

Oh, and the bottle looks classy as well (a nice change for Yves Rocher).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karinmun on 9/28/2005 9:51:00 AM more reviews by karinmun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a tester of Voile d'Ambre with my Yves Rocher mailing.
Usually I'm not really fond of the cheap smelling/cheap packaged perfumes of Yves Rocher, but this fragrance is a different thing.

The bottle is a classical shaped spray bottle with simple black capitol letters. The cap is clear and round with lettres inscribed on it.
The bottle oozes chic, and the fragrance is a chic oriental smell. Base note: vanilla, patchoeli, sandelwood. Heart note: mirre and incense. Top note: green mandarin. This oriental smell is soft, mostly because of the vanilla.
After I tested this fragrance, I couldn't help myself to immediately order this eau de parfum. It's the most expensive (46 euros) fragrance from Yves Rocher, but there was an introduction offer I could not resist.

It's a classic fragrance, belonging to their 'Secret d'Essences' line. I got the impression this was the first of this exclusive line and that there will be more exclusive fragrances to come within this line.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Rocher products

More Fragrances products