Maybelline • Dream Mousse Blush in Coffee Cake • Blush

rated 3.6(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skippy_gayle on 12/11/2005 9:05:00 PM more reviews by skippy_gayle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

for some background, im pretty fair (but tan easily), dark brown hair, hazel eyes and all of the dream mousse shades suit me wonderfully. so in love. the i was initially intimidated by the texture (like mousse of course), but thats what makes it so easy to blend and create a natural flush. coffee cake blends to a very pretty brown'ish bronze. nothing orange and nothing too muddy. gives you a pop of color without the typical pink cheek. if youre looking a little pale but dont want your typical pink cheek, this is the way to go. awakens the face, for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slg279 on 10/30/2005 7:07:00 PM more reviews by slg279

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This color looks really nice on my skin! I am a light skinned African-American and didn't know if it would show up on me, but it is a beautiful peachy pink on my cheeks. I can see it being easy to apply too much on lighter skin tones, but I didn't find that I had to be TOO careful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shortcake1 on 10/12/2005 3:25:00 PM more reviews by Shortcake1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very fair skin, with neutral undertones and I had already purchased some of the other Dream Mouuse Blushes (i.e. peach satin, pink frosting, and soft plum). I have found that this one seems to look the most natural. As someone else said, a little goes a long way, and if you apply it very lightly, it gives a beautiful effect, almost like a bronzer, but I find it tends to blend better than powder bronzer. There is just enough brown in it to give a bronzy effect without if looking "muddy", as many bronzers have a tendency to do for those of us who have very fair skin. I'm very please with this and I find that it can be worn over either cream to powder or mineral foundation with excellent results. The only thing that I didn't like is the fact that the pots are glass and somewhat bulky and heavy, but as far as the product itself, it's far superior to other "cream" blushes that I have tried, even high-end brands. My second favorite is the pink frosting, but I think the coffee cake gives a little more natural look, at least for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AddysMom23 on 10/8/2005 10:14:00 PM more reviews by AddysMom23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am a NC20 in mac. This is the only blush I have EVER used and liked one me. At first I was scared since it looked so dark. But it went on a pretty peachy bronze. It really brighted up my skin. I am sooo happy to finally have a blush I can use. I aslo have this in peach satin which I also like. I perfer this one more though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tonicologne on 9/4/2005 12:26:00 PM more reviews by tonicologne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great color if you feel the rest are too light, pink or plum. I have rosacea, so I don't need to look as if I'm blushing! Coffee cake is a bronzy peach and works well to tone down a ruddy complexion. Can also serve as a bronzer, imo. Great product. Very creamy but not greasy. A little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slok87 on 7/25/2005 12:23:00 AM more reviews by slok87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I bought one of these in Peach Satin too and my critique is almost exactly the same-great blush in a cute little container, but the color is not what I expected. The blush is smooth, easy to apply, lasts for hours, and gives a hint of sheen. The color you see in the pot from the outside does not look like the color you take out of the pot to apply to your cheeks. It's a fake-tan looking kind of color with heavy orange tones in it. I can make it work if i apply it very lightly--I've been mixing this with the Peach Satin to make it useable. If your skin is the type that does well with orange tones, you might like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arienette9 on 7/6/2005 7:39:00 PM more reviews by arienette9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really impressed with the quality of this product. The color seemed a bit scary to me in the jar, but it goes like a bronzer for me (I'm a NW20 in MAC terms). It has a nice shimmer to it, not too sparkly. It goes on so smooth, and the color is easily layered. I reach for this blush a lot lately, and I would definitely recomend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahryb on 6/28/2005 11:25:00 PM more reviews by ahryb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Airy and soft to the touch, very lightweight feel on the skin. This gives me more color than I would have expected but I'm fair and I think this is the most intense color of the lot (?). Very pretty color, peachy coral with a slight sheen. Blends quite well so it's not "spotty" looking. My one complaint is the packaging (a screw-top jar you stick you stick your fingers into). It's not even so much the hygenic aspect but the jar itself is too big and heavy for a small amount of lightweight blush/mousse. I seriously feel like I could clobber someone over the head with it; it's nothing I'd want to "throw in my purse" or take traveling for the weekend. I much prefer the daintier, lighter packaging of Clinique's Touch Blush (also a good product). However, Maybelline's product *does* have a wider opening than Clinique's mousse blush, so it is easier to get your fingers in there. Overall, this Maybelline product itself is good and I might try a couple of the other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 method on 6/28/2005 3:27:00 AM more reviews by method

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The only tester available at my Longs was Peach Satin, and unfortunately it was nothing but shimmer on my NC40 skintone. I really loved the texture though (lighter than Stila's Rouge Pots), and upon theporpoise's recommendation, I picked up Coffee Cake a few days later. She described it as a "peachy bronze" and she's absolutely right! It complements my tanned skin, and the shimmer is subtle. It doesn't emphasize my pores like I thought it would (I have this problem with shimmery blushes), and the fluffy texture blends very nicely. Oily skinned girls, don't be afraid of this blush. I haven't broken out, so I think it's safe to say that I won't later. $7.99 at Longs, and I will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theporpoise on 6/27/2005 9:46:00 AM more reviews by theporpoise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a new favorite for me. Wonderful light mousse texture, just like the foundation. Very easy to work with, I apply with my fingers, its super blendable. They last throughout the day over my Stila tinted moisturizer. I am NC20 and on me, Coffee Cake is a peachy bronze with subtle shimmer, more pigmented than Peach Satin, so if you are MMM-GGG this will show up on you. I have seen them at various CVS stores, priced from $6.99 to $8.49. I will repurchase this again, however I am still not sure if they are Limited Edition or not.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Blush products