Olay Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash

4.1

504 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water , Glycerin ,Sodium Myristoyl Sarcosinate, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate , Sodium Lauroamphoacetate , Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice , Polyquaternium-10 , PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate , Glycol Distearate , Sodium Laureth Sulfate , Cocamide MEA , Laureth-10 , Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate , Sodium Trideceth Sulfate , Citric Acid , Disodium EDTA , Phenoxyethanol , DMDM Hydantoin. 6/25/12


on 4/16/2014 10:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Not a Face Wash for me, but still a MUST

If you are at the drugstore looking for a gentle fragrance free foaming cleanser, you can't do better than this one. Clean & Clear also make something similar but I could not tolerate its fragrance. This is much much better and the price difference is not that much.

Don't forget to use first a waterproof makeup remover if you apply longwear makeup. This is not as strong as some other cleansers out there, but that is what makes it also less harsh.

If you are travelling.. during your last use.. when you're getting out the usual amount.. remember to not release the pump nozzle but screw it completely down. Now you can secure it with a bit of tape and throw it directly into your suitcase if you like.

Note: This cleanser has been around for a while and Olay is known for frequently repackaging their products. But the formula has remained the same throughout. Currently it is sold in a 7.0 fl oz tube as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/30/2014 8:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

This is another product I keep coming back to. I've been using this on and off for MANY years.

P&G overhauled the packaging of their foaming cleanser a couple of years ago (blue bottle/white pump instead of white bottle/black pump), but THANK HEAVEN they left the formula the same.

I like the pump bottle, the fragrance-free variety, and what I consider to be a low SLS formula. Unlike other foaming cleansers, this one also contains non-sulfate surfactants. So although it's not SLS-free, at least it contains less and therefore is not as drying as other cleansers (both drugstore and department store varieties).

I tried Neutrogena's Foaming Face Wash, but found it to be more expensive but not more effective at removing makeup than Olay's Face Wash. I also tried Clinique's Rinse-Off Foaming Cleanser, which stripped every drop of oil from my face and left it dry and flakey. Plus a few other cleansers not worth mentioning.

I'll probably always try out other cleansers in search of a HG, but this one is always within easy reach.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2014 12:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this face wash for about 2 months now and so far I'm liking it. It gently removes make up with a good lather. It does leave my skin nice and moisterised with a little bit of a film so i can see why its good for dry / sensitive skin. I just make sure i rinse off really well and follow it up with a toner to make sure its removed before i apply my face cream on. I know that ther is no fragence but it has a funny smell to it, which i dont mind because i know its very gentle without the harsh chemicals.

UPDATE: Still loving it. Repurchashed this 5 times now and have back ups. My sister started using it too and she is enjoying it. The best way to use this is to pump onto wet hands and rub hands together until it starts to foam up then apply to the face and massage onto all areas, wetting hands again and massaging into the skin. Rinse off with warm water and pat dry (i use thick paper towels). I follow it up with toner and my moisturiser.


on 3/14/2014 2:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I will always have this on hand. I love the fact it is fragrance free. Can be used to cleanse the eye area of makeup. Does not irritate my skin whatsoever. Has aloe in it which is something I hold highly in skincare items. Love the convenient pump but I think it also is sold in a more travel friendly version of a tube. The creamy fragrance free lather is something I've grown accustomed too. No complaints whatsoever for my acne prone, dry overly sensitive skin. Will always repurchase probably till I'm 80 years old.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2014 11:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this stuff. I have sensitive, highly reactive skin. Finding products that work on my skin is a huge challenge. This has been an amazing find. It is gentle enough to not cause redness and irritation, but strong enough to wash off my make-up. The best part is that it is so readily available... If I forget it while traveling, I just have to hit up the nearest drug store. I gave it a four only because it leaves a slight slimy residue, but if that doesn't bother you than it's amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2013 12:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this on and off for a looonnng time. I actually am surprised I missed reviewing this since I've reviewed most of my standard products. I have bought countless bottles. I didn't really think I was too sensitive when I was younger, but somehow I started this and kept using it. Anyway, I stopped using this when people recommended other things, but my face got worse and worse and spun out of control. I kind of always had this around, so I kept going back and forth, but because of my full blown acne issues, it wouldn't clear it up on it's own, and I didn't give it enough time anyway. Sometimes my face was so sore and irritated from other products (like Retin A) or popping pimples that this couldn't "help" that, and sometimes it exacerbated the dryness. So it was very hard for me to realize this would help if I just stopped the other products and found the correct routine with the help of a dermatologist.

I now use a very simple routine. Just this, alba enzyme mask, brown sugar as a scrub when needed, and just added La Roche Posay Effaclar duo as well as some perscription antibiotic pills.

I have had a long road to beating my acne, a deep rooted problem that won't go away with just a cleanser, but this is something I always return to and can count on. As far as it can do, it's amazing. It takes off makeup which many gentle cleansers can't do, yet it's still gentle. I don't care about the film either, since I actually feel clean and have some improvements in my skin and haven't over dried this time around either. I even used a second cleanser to get rid of the film but found it wasn't as safe as this one so I was better off with one I could trust. I'm seeing improvements finally and will NOT stop using this again. It really is for sensitive skin, and will help those with mild to moderate acne, just stick with it and don't use those harsh products or you won't see the benefit of this. This is one of the few things I can really call HG, and that's rare for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2013 4:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have kind of oily acne prone skin. This product is really gentle but surprisingly works well for me. At first I thought it would be too gentle and wouldnt clean my skin enough, but it works fine. I use it with clean and clear benzoyl peroxide cream and my skin really agrees to this regimen. Its a nice balance instead of using a salicylic acid or super drying face wash with the cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 9:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am in my early 20s, and I have been advised by many people that using a foaming cleanser in your "younger" years of life, its better for combination/oily/acne-prone and sometimes sensitive skin. In the past I have used Vichy normaderm (which isn't bad, but after 3 years, my skin hadn't improved, but it wasn't irritated either), La Roche posay Effaclar for approx 2 years now, and it is decent but pricey!!!!

This have been using this product for a couple of days, and this is my review:

Pros:
- Fragrance, oil, and soap free!!
- Smooth skin
- surprisingly, the darkness around my eyes are lightening up
- removes makeup well, for a cleanser anyways. The rest my toner picks up (no alcohol) (but I only wear one layer of liquid makeup. no more).
- T-zone is dry for a couple hours


Cons:

- if you use too much, overdrying the face, and promoting more oil production
- dry patches of skin

Its winter, maybe in the summer it may be different. Will provide an updated review in the future.

UPDATED 2014: This cleanser is great, in relation to daily usage, and does take off some makeup, but not all. I feel this cleanser would be better in the summer time. I currently use Paula's choice EArth Source gel cleanser and its amazing for winter usage.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

just amazing. it leaves my skin feeling so soft and non irritated like other cleansers that claim to be for sensitive skin. i like that it has a pump too. only complaint i have is it doesnt really foam up like it claims but thats ok causr it cleans my face like i want it to. i would definently recommend this cleanser

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2013 4:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

THE BEST CLEANSER EVER!


Back to Top