L'Occitane • 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.8(77 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 slipping_glimpser on 7/1/2009 9:48:00 PM more reviews by slipping_glimpser

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I obtained a sample of this Creme Ultra Riche from Nordstroms. I didn't care for it as body cream as it takes too long to absorb and the scent fights with my perfume - I do, however, love it as foot cream. It is ultra rich and works terrific after to keep feet in sandal condition. I apply after showering while my feet are still a bit damp and then pull on some cotton socks while I drink my coffee and get ready for work. It's also great to use in the winter when you go to sleep- put some on your feet and socks and wake up with soft,smooth skin. I use it daily and my feet have never looked so good.
One lipstick off because I don't care for having to scoop it out of the jar. It tends to get under the fingernails and be a pain to clean off. I ended up using a long plastic caviar spoon I found at work and this is a definite improvment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* roarwoman on 6/8/2009 4:23:00 PM more reviews by roarwoman

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I live in Calgary Alberta. The winter's here can be merciless on your skin and the fact that the climate is very dry is like a double whammy. This cream, while really expensive, is the only thing I use from Nov-May (yes, winter can last that long here). It is much to thick for the warmer summer months, but is an absolute life saver when it's -30 and the snow and wind are whipping at your hands and face.

The smell is really pleasent, the word I would use is "fresh". I have recieved a lot of compliments on the way I smell through out the day and my BF digs it. The cream is very thick so I always apply one full coat straight out of the shower or bath. I use a lot less, but still have very smooth skin. I will then use it before I go to bed on my feet, elbows, area's where the skin is a little tougher.

I have tried a lot of lotions, and I do mean A LOT! This is my go to, and I suck up the price of $64 CND because it works so much better then anything else, smells so nice and keeps my skin very smooth all winter long.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JudgeJudy41 on 4/20/2009 10:17:00 AM more reviews by JudgeJudy41

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I found this cream heavy, overpriced and basically useless. It sat on my skin forever ( took awhile to sink in ) and did little to moisturize. The scent was okay, but I didn't expect much. My skin needs a good moisturizer that conditions, smells nice and worth the price. I didn't find that at all with L'Occitane.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glittereyez on 12/31/2008 12:03:00 PM more reviews by glittereyez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I found this half price at Marshalls, otherwise it is definitely overpriced! I found a cool way to use it.

I added few drops of pure glycerine (from CVS) to the tub of shea butter cream and mixed it up with a fork. Viola! I has ultra smooth, delicious smelling, whipped creamy moisturizer. And with the glycerine, it just moisturizes my skin way better than any other cream, with lasting effects.

I even use this on my face every so often and leave it on for an hour after scrubbing. It makes my skin baby smooth, tight and young.

Maybe its just the glyecrine but they make a luxurious combination!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gdriban on 12/27/2008 10:20:00 AM more reviews by gdriban

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Average and overpriced! There is nothing special about this product and it is way overpriced. I'm not sure why L'occitane touts their products as natural because if you read the ingredients this is loaded with parabens and other stuff. I don't think it did a particularly good job of moisturizing my skin. Save your money and get a drugstore cream for about 1/8th the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aamna_601 on 11/6/2008 3:40:00 AM more reviews by aamna_601

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't think I'd like this product as much as I do.... at first I was like meh, another body butter, how is this different from the tubs of cetaphil again? But as I use it more I get more addicted to it. First of all it smells scrumptious: like almonds and faintly like vanilla but very faintly (Im not a fan of over the top bath and body works type vanilla smells). I also realized that the oils in this cream make my perfume stay on longer (I am using Pucci's Vivara nowadays, but it works even with my chanel no.5). I use it daily on my heels at night and put socks on; I also put excess on my hands. I Have to admit I really do overkill on the amount I put on my heels, but what can I say Im just one of those people that puts on way too much product lol. I like it so far; Its much more moisturizing than anything else I've seen. I've also been using L'occitane lavendar soap and I Think in conjunction with that this cream has been lovely. It is expensive but yes I Would repurchase. My skin is SO worth it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carita on 11/2/2008 2:47:00 AM more reviews by carita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It didn't help at all after using it for several days my skin still stayed dry. Plus, after applying it, it seems very sticky. I expected better for that price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SZQueue on 10/7/2008 1:28:00 AM more reviews by SZQueue

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Could be upped to four... it's not yet cold in Northern California; also, some uncharacteristic late-summer humidity. I think I over-applied the first time as I was Ieaving elbow and forearm prints all over my glass dining table. Ack! The residue seemed to follow me around all day. So I took this into the shower and used about a quarter of the amount while not yet quite toweled dry. Much better. felt moist all day without leaving an oily trail. UPDATE: okay, so now it's January and 71F in NorCal so no great insight into cold weather performance. Upside of the product's thick consistency is that it forces me to moisturize at maximum moisture level, with downside being that I'm FORCED to do it then because otherwise the stuff is just too darned difficult to rub in without using so much that I look like a buttered cookie sheet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 scarletraine on 7/29/2008 10:37:00 PM more reviews by scarletraine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this cream. I live in Wisconsin and the dry air in the winter is the WORST. I have tried everything...baby oil, cocoa butter and just about EVERY lotion and cream I could find. I even tried most of the organic brands. But I could never find anything that was moisturizing without greasiness. This cream is perfect. My skin was actually so soft that after my coworker passed me by, placing her hand on my leg as to not bump into me, she went straight to my boyfriend and told him how amazing my skin felt! In the dead of Wisconsin winter!

The only drawback to this product is the price. Though I can understand why, it makes me think twice about buying it...especially since I use it morning and night. I have replaced my nightly application with coconut oil instead. It is wonderfully moisturizing and I wake up feeling amazingly silky and soft. I still prefer L'Occitane after the shower, though. It smells wonderful and has no oily slip like coconut oil.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wonder78 on 6/4/2008 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Wonder78

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I abosolute love this body cream. My body is very dry, legs are flacky, but acne back. This is very mosizturing for my body and yet not greasy. The cream get obsorb vy your skin very quickly unlike other cream or even lotion. My skin feel smoother, healther, and protected. I have the Verbena scent, but I will swith to the regular shea butter scent next time since I feel in love with the scent after using their shea butter hand cream and lotion. I don't think I can find better cream than this. The consistency and how it get obsorb and the feel on my skin is perfect. Though I do like to try other thing once in a while since I am a big beauty product juncky. But this is the cream I will keep repurchasing. Highly recommended for people have dry, flacky skin!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products