Alpha Hydrox 10% AHA Gel

4.0

217 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Sodium Lactate, Green Tea Extract, Sea Kelp Extract, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer


on 6/26/2010 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this every once in a while. It's a gel that is perfect if you have oily skin. It seems to refine my pores very well and doesn't irritate my skin. I apply at night and then wash my face in the morning. My skin feels soft and my face looks a bit brighter. So far I had luck with this not breaking me out and I look forward to getting the souffle next to see how that goes. You should definitely use sunscreen when using any AHA products as this can make your skin more photosensitive.



on 5/7/2010 10:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Have been using this product for many years. I have acne prone, hypersensitive skin. This product is one of they keys in why my skin stays acne free now. If I stop using it - the acne will return. I use it twice a day on my face, once a day on chest, shoulders and upper back where I also used to break out. Only recently I've noticed it stings when I put it on (only stings face, not other skin) - so I think now as I age (early 40's) I can reduce the amount I'm using on my face - or possibly only use it once a day on my face. There are only three places to buy it as far as I know - the company direct, Ulta web site, Drugstore.com. This is a product I would not go without. I do apply a heavy moisturizer (cetaphil cream) over the top, and sometimes aloe additionally.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2010 4:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Started this product because my esthetician recommended using glycolic acid on my face. I just started using it and so far....

Pros: My skin feels really smooth and soft. Bumps are minimize and acne is going away.

Cons: The tube gives out too much product. Hole needs to be smaller so less product comes out.

Overall: I'm in love with this stuff. It stings a little when I put it on. When it dries I put on my Aveeno moisturizer and it feels great. Will give an update later.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i like using this on my nose when i see pimples forming. it shrinks them within a day or two. i just dont like how runny it is....


on 4/4/2010 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

At first I thought this was working for me, but then I realized it was breaking me out. It turns out that it's loaded with carrageenan, which gets a 5 on just about every list of pore-clogging cosmetic ingredients I've seen. My breakout wasn't terrible, but I'm still done with this. I might try it on my scaly elbows, but it's not going anywhere near my face again. I guess I have to keep looking for a good exfoliant.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

For three months now, I have used this product every other night, alternating with the Alpha Hydrox Retinol ResQ.

Results: Day two, dead skin balled up in the shower and rolled off. For a few weeks, I had bouts of mild flakiness. Then, MARKED improvement in overall skin coloration and texture. Sunspots and acne scars are fading, and patchy redness/flakiness is gone. I'm just starting to see a definite softening of the fine lines around my eyes. No breakouts in three months. Improvement continues with time.

Unexpected result 1: I have very fair Irish skin with the beginnings of rosacea. I started slowly on this gel, expecting stinging. There was a little at first, now there's none. The gel format seems better for ultra-sensitive skin than the lotions are. Also, it doesn't have that characteristic spoiled-milk smell.

Unexpected result 2: I started rubbing the excess into the back of my hands, figuring it would help combat sun damage there too. I've had problem (creeping, ragged, out-of-control) cuticles all my life. No more! My nailbeds actually look pretty now, with no further maintenance. Can't stop staring!

Would I buy again? Yes! I've bought tubes for my mother and sister as well.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2010 1:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU ARE ACNE PRONE. IT CONTAINS SEA KELP (CARAGEENAN), WHICH IS HIGHLY COMEDOGENIC!!! I used this for the first two weeks in January. Oh my!! I have never had such a bad breakout!! Worse than the OCM breakout I had just finally cleared up from when I decided to try this. It has been over a month since I stopped using this and my skin is still horribly broken out. I know it was this stuff. It literally clogged every pore on my face. The worst thing is that they are not normal pimples, they are all like cysts that I am waiting to come to a head and turn into a giant inflamed pimple . I have several new scars and I am terribly disapointed with this product. I gave it to my hubby (his skin is not as sensitive as mine) and he had been using it since I stopped with no negative effects, just positive. Still though, I am very upset that this is marketed to people who are acne prone but has something that rates as a five (worst) on the comedogenic scale. I have started to use acne.org's AHA+ the last two night's along with Paula's BHA liquid in the daytime in hopes that they will help get my skin under control again. It is too soon to tell yet though. I am hoping..............


on 1/22/2010 2:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was so so dissappointed! I reallly wanted this to work for me, after reading all the positive reviews. I gave this a looong time before I realized it was breaking me out. I finally found a great skin regimen that keeps my skin clear with my clarisonic and jojoba oil. I thought using this would help it even more and give me smooth skin. In the beginning I thought i was purging, but after weeks, it didn't stop! finally as soon as I stopped using it, my skin started calming down. This gave me congested clogged pores, and i even got a few painful pimples, which I never get, not even during my period. I was surprised it didn't work for me because I don't really have sensitive skin, so I don't break out from products usually. It was also a bit pricey, I bought it for around $11 for a little tube. I would say, beware if you have sensitive skin! this might not be the best for you.


on 1/15/2010 2:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This broke me out. I kept wondering why my skin was looking more and more congested the longer i used it. Then i discovered that sea kelp extract is very comedogenic. Stopped using this and switched to the soufflee which was 100 times better- cleared me up and made the texture of my skin unbelievably smooth. My advice is to avoid this if you are acne prone.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2009 8:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I fell for the reviews. Even bought the "purging" baloney. My skin was in relatively good shape but I bought this product hoping to refine it. However, after a month, it is in worse shape than years. Red and white bumps all over; really rough skin; zits like I thought I'd gotten rid of; scarring. I cannot believe how ineffective--and actually damaging--this stuff is.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
532 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
Back to Top