Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments

rated 3.1(240 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 theiriina on 1/1/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by theiriina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great product, the best spot treatment I've ever used. It doesn't make your pimples to go away in one night but it reduces the redness and relieves the pain. My pimples heal much faster! It doesn't help to get rid of black/whiteheads BUT it makes them very easy to squeese out :) Got clear skin with this product, couldn't be happier. It doesn't dry out or irritate my sensitive skin. I use it once a day before going to sleep and wash it off in the morning before putting make-up on.

One lippie off because of the smell though, it smells disgusting, like dill weed or something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashestoamour on 11/30/2011 11:59:00 AM more reviews by ashestoamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This spot treatment is one of the most effective I have ever used. If I put it on a pimple at night, the pimple is smaller in the morning. That being said, it only works for cystic pimples, not for whiteheads or blackheads. Additionally the pimple is generally still there in the morning, but you can't expect an over the counter product to complexity eliminate a huge cystic pimple. I have had the best results using this on a cystic pimple while it is forming, to prevent it from getting larger while eliminating it. The yellow color means you can only treat pimples when you are staying inside, but it doesn't bother me because I use the Murad cover up to treat during the day. Just remember to look in the mirror before you go out, so that you don't have random hello spots on your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cornflakes on 9/22/2011 9:30:00 AM more reviews by Cornflakes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Murad does not work at all on my acne. It made my skin oily and gross. It smells like dill weed. Hated it. Will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mischievous1 on 9/22/2011 9:25:00 AM more reviews by Mischievous1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use a lot of the products in the acne line but this is one of my faves. I have battled acne on and off since I was a teen and as an adult I developed acne on my chin and jawline. I have used tea tree, Oxy creams, BP, Clearasil,Salycylic Acids etc but nothing has worked to really treat and prevent.
This has become a staple in my acne fighting regime. I don't know what in the world I would do without it. I only use it at night (mostly all over my chin and jawline) to prevent any new zits from appearing. In the instruction pamphlet I received with the 30 day acne kit I purchased it mentions to only use a small amount and to dab it on the zits. I find if I use too much of this then it tends to make the skin flake. Very important to dab it on and not rub it in..it seems to soak in better by dabbing.
t smells awful which is a big con in my opinion, but for the effectiveness of it I can put up with having my pillow smell like matches.
I can say that it does work as I went about 2 months wihout using it because I ran out of the product. I noticed I started getting zits again on my chin and nothing was preventing them. I ordered some more of this and noticed zits starting to clear up again.I put it on overnight and by the morning the size and redness has diminished significantly.
Definetly a product I will keep ordering!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinkeyey on 9/14/2011 2:28:00 AM more reviews by pinkeyey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm still if-fy about this... For me, I find that sulfur (which is Murad Acne Spot Treatment's active ingredient) tends to work better than BP, but this has been a hit/miss for me so far. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I usually apply this at night on the smaller pimples- right when they are starting to form. when i wake up, sometimes the pimple is still there, sometimes it's not. I never know.
But once the pimple has formed (or has turned into a cyst), I KNOW this will NOT WORK.
I have also applied this in the morning- under makeup. but you have to be careful not to "rub" it, cause it'll turn into that eraser-rubber. and you can't apply too much cause (although it's green when wet), it dries white and matte - which looks really weird when people see you from an angle.
People complain about the smell, but i don't really smell anything. However, I do agree that it's a little expensive (given that it doesn't work 100%). If you can, try to get the "trial" size. I have seen them sell it inside the fishbowl jars next to the counter. it's more than enough and it's convenient to keep inside your makeup bag - to use immediately once you find a zit when you're out.

so, my verdict, I would recommend buying the trial size - cause this works for new zits. (and if you don't know whether you're a sulfur or a BP person, you can try both. for example, i'll use this in the morning and BP in the evening.) but i wouldn't get the regular size one cause a) you don't need so much and b) it doesn't work on formed zits .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lindadomini on 6/17/2011 1:23:00 PM more reviews by lindadomini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This spot treatment contains sulfur... which I have found to be a great ingredient... despite the smell sometimes. As with most acne products, works best when applied at onset. When I applied on a fully-formed pimple, it only made things worse by drying the area directly on top of it and sometimes irritated it to the point of increased redness. I prefer to use the refining mask (which also contains sulfur). You can use the mask as a spot treatment overnight and you can just wash it off. I think that works as well for healing the blemish but without the irritating side effects of the spot treatment. Gave it a 3 because it works (in some aspects) but the side effects turned me off and there's other alternatives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sumug on 4/17/2011 6:30:00 PM more reviews by sumug

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know what this can do for serious or cystic acne, probably not a lot, but this works well on those random bulging pimples that people with an otherwise clear face can get (and that includes me). I've had this product for a very long time, yet I felt compelled to review it today because I recently started working out again and got a huge red zit on my forehead which I suspect I got from resting my forehead on the mat (over a towel) while doing prone cobras. It got so big that I had to "expel" it. And that just made it worse, redder, and impossible to hide with make-up. But then I used this stuff (aggressively, like 3 times a day for a day and a half) and it dried it up so fast. Like, overnight. Then it peeled, completely flattened out, and faded. (Too much information, huh?) But I also treated it with liquid erythromycin and used my Retin A like I normally do. Still, this stuff comes in handy when swiping with liquid erythromycin doesn't do the job fast enough. Especially if you apply it on an "open" pimple. Icky, but true. It lasts a long time too. I've had mine for like over 2 years and it's half full and still works perfectly. But it does not work so well on hormonal chin break outs. (Does anything apart from Retin A?)

Anyway, when it runs out, I would definitely buy it again. And by the way, I don't apply this when I'm stepping out. I apply it generously when I'm at home directly on the pimple, and it shows. Rubbing it in and then going out is a) less effective and b) will show, because the stuff crusts a little bit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lynard on 2/12/2011 11:19:00 PM more reviews by Lynard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am generally a fan of Murad products, but this just does not do anything for me. I do not notice any improvements.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenniviva on 2/5/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by jenniviva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is good for really small blemishes... but it wasn't quite powerful enough for my worse breakouts around that time of the month.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 babygirl95 on 1/31/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by babygirl95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this product is great for drying up small pimples without overdrying the skin. When I have a large breakout, using this product alone is not effective. However, when I use this product on nights that I do not use my salicylic or benzoyl peroxide creams, I find that it reduces redness and overtime reduces the size of pimples. It is not a miracle product and it won't reduce things overnight. I think sulfur (the main ingredient in this product) is great for individuals with mild acne breakouts who don't want to dry their skin out. My tube has lasted me for more than a year. If I ever run out, I think I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments products