Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3382 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 dbdb70 on 6/23/2014 2:51:00 PM more reviews by dbdb70

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my first review on MUA. I've been a long time reader of reviews and consider the site the best place to get reliable reviews before trying new products. So, I thought I'd start with a product I've had many years of off and on experience with. I am 44, skin is combo, dry cheeks, oily/dry t-zone (I'm not sure at this point if my t-zone is truly oily anymore.) I've always had mild to moderate acne and still have mild adult acne, enter Pro Activ. I first used this when I was in my 20's and right off the bat it works really well. However, as others have said you must use it exactly as directed twice a day, every day. Well, at this age twice a day is way too drying. I now only use this around my period which is when I am most prone to breakouts and only if I'm feeling really desperate for a quick fix. I wish this product always worked as it says, but it doesn't. It clears my skin, but the turnaround for return acne is quicker now than it used to be with this product. I don't even buy it anymore, my son does and in those desperate moments I steal a bit of his. I do feel that the sulphur mask is a good product on its' own for spot treating and I suppose the benzoyl peroxide as well. Although, both can also be very irritating. I am one with skin that does not respond at all to salacylic acid, but rather benzoyl peroxide. I'm also I believe allergic to tea tree oil as it really irritates my skin. I have tried many,many skin care products from neutrogena, mario badescu, clean & clear, st. ives, murad, acnefree, witch hazel, prescription meds, birth control pills, microdermabrasion, facials to pro activ and on and on and on. I can't say I've found anything that works well with even continued use. In that respect, I'd have to say that Pro Activ is probably the most consistent. If you're not one who responds well to benzoyl peroxide than I definetely wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MarG05 on 6/23/2014 1:41:00 PM more reviews by MarG05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

What they don't tell you is that once you stop using proactive you will break out even worse afterwards. You can't stop
Using it when your skin clears like most acne prescribes topical creams.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Staurhy on 6/19/2014 2:37:00 AM more reviews by Staurhy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was excited to use this product as it had lots of great reviews and the ads we're very good at luring you in. No doubt this products works but unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positive.
Here are a few of the problems that I encountered-
-Very high maintenance and very demanding always having to apply it and you had to follow some strict guidelines in order for the product to work.
-My skin broke out into a rash the first time I used it.
-It includes a bleaching agent (to reduce redness) and the product ended up bleaching not only my face but also all my towels.
-My skin became very sensitive to light and during the summer I had to put ice blocks on my face to help the burning sensation.

I was very impressed with the packaging and the information that comes with it about skin and acne in general. They give you a nice roll up bag and headband to use as well. This product does work in time but, please be careful and make sure to trial it or consult your doctor or dermatologist before buying the whole system.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaunan on 6/10/2014 5:07:00 PM more reviews by shaunan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i tried this when i was younger and thought i would never switch to anything else.
but heres the thing. if you have the sort of skin that they recommend you have to use this product, chances are this product isnt for you. if you have bumps that are red and irritated, the scrubbing agents in this make it worse. and then it dries out your skin, so its either bumpy skin or super red dry skin.

it took me a long time to figure this out. if you think you need this, try using something that doesnt hurt your skin instead. cream cleansers with no suds work the best.

but this, no. this hurts, costs a ton, and makes things worse for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bellamoma on 6/9/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by bellamoma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wow, surprised by the negative reviews here. I started using the original proactiv 3 step kit back in 2002 and it made my skin beautiful. I had struggled with moderate acne from age 18 and started using proactiv around age 31. My acne is hormone, stress, and too much touching my face related. Tried benzamycin, cleocin (prescriptions) and retin A, which I totally could NOT tolerate. Nothing worked as well for me as proactiv did. I generally skipped the toner step after a while bc I found the whole cotton swiping bit to be annoying. I stopped using it until 2007 because my face had cleared considerably. After my son was born I needed it again and re-ordered with good results.

Now I'm facing hormonal changes again in my 40s. I wanted to stop using proactiv bc of price and bc I hate that mail order nonsense. I tried many,many other products before coming back to proactiv, now using proactiv +. I am happy with the product as it does my very sensitive skin good. Hate the price and the mail order stuff but it works for me without any crazy reactions.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ashleydefreitassssss on 6/6/2014 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Ashleydefreitassssss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

When I used it it worked very well for me however when I stopped using it my skin was worse than you could imagine, there wasn't a single cubic cm that didn't have at least 2-3 breakouts in it. My face resembles gravel and extremely painful :( your skin becomes dependent and you have to buy it forever

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jdubois02 on 6/4/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by jdubois02

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The product dried my skin out and made it look wrinkled. I would never buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CJenkins33 on 6/3/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by CJenkins33

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Don't give into the hype this is just a water based acid product for acne it over dries your skin which end up causing irritation and rashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PolskaBlondynka on 6/2/2014 12:36:00 PM more reviews by PolskaBlondynka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tried the products before and did not like them. The Acne.org Regimen works much better with more gentle products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Carybear on 6/1/2014 4:28:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm writing this review not because I use this now, but I did, in 2008-2009.
Yes, it gave me super clear skin. For exactly one year. Then, everything went south. My skin went from smooth and clear to a pimply mess. Then I stopped, and whoa man...things got stupid scary. I broke out in these deep, hard pimples that would not go away. I tried to go back on the Proactiv system and it didn't work anymore.
I'll never see that clear skin from proactiv again-that's fine because it's not worth the free radical damage all the BP causes and it does stop working.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products