Chanel • Bois des Iles • Fragrances

rated 4.1(128 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 emmagreen on 2/27/2009 4:59:00 PM more reviews by emmagreen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I v. much respect this perfume. Based on how powdery (and white chocolate sweet) I found this, I expected this is what Coromandle would have smelled like. Though, this is not in any way gouramond-- it's a Chanel Boutique frag, and yes, it smells expensive, and also light, v. diffuse. The more things I've smelled I think it's actually the sandalwood I'm smelling, except its nothing like the Indian Sandlewood soaps I remember, before Sandlewood became so nearly extinct. I agree w/ the reviewer below who said there seems to be a structural overlap in the chanel boutique fragrances; the aldehydes? Lasting power maybe a couple hours, but i have dry skin. Though, i catch traces of it hours after that. This review is not doing this justice at all. I have a very hard time coming up w/ any other frag that to my nose smells even remotely like it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lvpoetess on 2/26/2009 5:48:00 PM more reviews by lvpoetess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Truly a classic, and one of the few woody perfumes I can wear. I find this one hard to describe, but to me it's like wearing a soft cashmere scarf on cold days. I don't own a full bottle because the ones Chanel sells are so huge, but I hope they release smaller sizes someday. I would like this bottle to sit with my no.5 I took off one point for lousy staying power - I get 3 hours tops with this, again making smaller sizes necessary, since I'm not going to tote the huge vat they sell around with me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liontigre on 12/13/2008 2:39:00 PM more reviews by liontigre

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It it very warm and it lasts very long, the only thing I didn't like about it was it smells a bit "old", maybe too sophisticated for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pusca on 12/6/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by pusca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my all time favourite fragrances. I absolutely adore Bois des Iles. I just wish Chanel would release an EDP or make the parfum again. I keep trying out new scents when they're released and yet i always come back to this. This is woods - smooth, sensual and creamy woods. Divine ...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mimiacid on 12/4/2008 5:35:00 AM more reviews by Mimiacid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The only way I can describe this perfume is by saying that it smells like a woman. But not just any woman. Imagine Botticelli's Venus on her shell, and then imagine how fragrant the skin of such an idealized beauty would be. This comes close to the effect of Bois des Iles... it is a kind of ur-perfume, a perfect poem describing idealized femininity. It is tremendously gentle, superbly balanced between sweet woods, florals and aldehydes. After the first 'fix' of aldehydes, it develops on the skin into a fragrance so beautifully blended, so whisper-soft that it breaks the heart.

And yet it is not a 'special occasion' kind of scent - it is not about fireworks. You can wear it every day and it becomes a part of your skin, a part of your being. To say it is perfect signature-scent material sounds impertinent, since it is a masterpiece and one cannot personalise a masterpiece, but Bois des Iles runs counter to that notion. It is at once grand and intimate. If I ever need a reminder of why I'm obsessed with perfume, Boid des Iles is it.

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Beauty0Marked on 11/21/2008 6:37:00 AM more reviews by Beauty0Marked

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Notes: vetiver, tonka bean, vanilla, ylang ylang, iris, coriander, rose, jasmine and aldehydes.
This is a very lovely woody scent. It's elegant, classic, sophisticated, warm and very smooth. I'm glad that I bought a sample of this.
I'm not sure how much this retails for here in the UK but you can expect to pay out a pretty nice price for this, I'm sure. Of course the packaging is the usual divine, timeless stuff that you can expect of Chanel.
It seems a shame to give this only three lippies but it just doesn't completely bowl me over but it is indeed very beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rpolisk on 10/29/2008 3:35:00 PM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

How sad! Based on the reviews and blogs thought I would want gallons of this. Found instead that one scant spritz was PLENTY. Aldehydes galore, without the sparkling sexy mischeviousness of No. 5
Indeed, if I hadn't sprayed this myself at the Chanel boutique, I would swear someone was trying to pass off a bad No. 5 dupe.
No go.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaeBoscana on 9/24/2008 9:34:00 AM more reviews by MaeBoscana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wonderful! My fragrance staple, Bois des Iles is the kind of woman I want to be: warm, sophisticated, full of heart and comfort, but calm and confident. Like many other great fragrances it is full of life, changing every time, always itself, but somehow different. In the outdoors, especially in cool weather, its florals sparkle a little more, in a cozy spot, its vanilla/ginger warms seems to mimic the mood.

I wear the parfum, it opens with a creamy rose, sandalwood, plenty of aldehydes. As it develops, I notice more jasmine and ginger melding with the sandalwood base. I have never tried and EdT and I would like to see if there are noticeable differences.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angeleyes022 on 7/23/2008 9:22:00 AM more reviews by angeleyes022

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this perfume to be quite sickening to be honest. I had high hopes for it, based on the reviews. I find it very powdery, musky and intensely strong. It actually made my stomach churn, and that's tough to do - I am a perfume lover and can stand some of the strongest fragrances around.

Gave this extra points because the lasting quality is terrific - however - it is extremely headache inducing, and far too powdery for my likings - reminds me a lot of Chanel #5 - smells almost identical on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 oakley1 on 7/15/2008 10:41:00 PM more reviews by oakley1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Does Chanel keep the same basic scent framework for all of their perfumes? For some reason, to me, it smells similar, but worse than, Cuir de Russie and shares some accords with no. 5. I definitely get that smell of wet wipes, and not the baby powder ones either...more like the ones they give you at some restaurant to wipe your greasy fingers after you dine on King Crab. These scents last on me A LONG time (the old adage I guess), cuz I'm just not that into them. I certainly don't agree w/ Luca Turin (Perfumes: The Guide) on a lot of things. Perhaps I agree more with Christopher Brosius from CB, who I think said that perfumes are more about psychological/emotional connections. Maybe it was my wicked stepmother who wore one of these perfumes, and I'm just not conscious of it. Kidding.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products