MAC Cyber

3.9

80 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/20/2012 7:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Intense dark purple shade. Finding a cheap lip liner was difficult for this shade. This lipstick is a bit drying as it is a satin finish but not as drying as the matte finishes. It looks gorgeous once applied and lasts a few hours, lasts longer with a lip liner. However it comes off almost instantly when I eat. So minus one lippie for that.
Like most MAC lipsticks, the quality is great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/26/2012 10:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Let me preface this by saying that I have always hated MAC lipsticks. I've had two - both of which dried out my lips like crazy and faded unevenly and it was horrible. Diva (matte) made my lips feel like cracking paper-mache, became patchy when fading, and once removed, my lips were unbelievably dry and in desperate need of some emergency repair. Creme d'Nude isn't a matte shade, so I got that one expecting different results, but they were very much the same. My lips actually cracked and bled from this one. Not attractive.
Despite my instincts, I decided to give Cyber a shot. I wanted a good blackened purple for the cold months and the only other one I could find that was well-pigmented was Rimmel, and that one looked ridiculous when it faded and settled into the lines on my lips and feathered like nobody's business. So I headed to the MAC counter and tried on Cyber. I loved the color, and since their return policy is pretty lenient, I decided to give it a shot.
So far, I love it. I use a lip primer (the ELF one which is surprisingly good) and a dark liner from Sally's called "currant" which looks EXACTLY like MAC's lip liner of the same name. I apply one coat of Cyber, blot, and then apply one more coat. Looks amazing. Fades evenly so I don't have to lean like a chola, and lo and behold, doesn't dry out my lips at all! I'm so pleased! Perhaps the satin finish is the way to go.
I love the pigmentation and the sweet, frosting-like scent. This will definitely be my HG lip color for the cool months!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2012 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Cyber is one of the vampiest colours MAC has to offer. It is extremely pigmented and creamy. A deep, dark aubergine colour with a mahogany undertone. It can be applied lightly for a dark berry stain or full-force for sultry perfection. I do not reach for this colour enough to have it on hand but it is definitely a great choice for evening. I wish it was a little more reddish-purple, though. It tends to look kind of brown on me. A mixture of Cyber and Rebel would be my perfect shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this product! It looks good on almost anyone, and you can always mix it with some red and get a gorgeous dark red lip.
The only con is that it's a bit dry and smells awful.
I recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2012 9:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this lipstick. It's extremely creamy and doesn't dry the lips out. It's a gorgeous dark purple shade. The only thing I don't like about it is that it is the only dark purple shade, and I prefer matte lipsticks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2012 2:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was really excited to try out violet lips, so I decided to buy this color from MAC since I've had a pretty good experience with their lipsticks in the past. This one was not like the ones I've tried before. Cyber is supposed to be a satin finish, but although it felt creamy enough, it looked like cheap grease makeup when it went on. It's a very dark purple with a brown-ish undertone, so every crease and flaw on your lips will catch most of the color as to be expected with darker lip colors. In other words, make sure to scrub and moisturize your lips before using this. My main issue is that no matter how many layers I put on of Cyber, it never seemed to fully settle. I would have to do a few layers to get rid of the pink undertone of my lips showing through and it would come out of the tube streaky, so I had to take care to smooth it out. The product would get displaced easily, especially from the center of my lips. I wonder if this is just an issue with deep purple lipsticks in general as I ended up returning this and trying out Revlon's Va Va Violet instead, which has similar problems, albeit slightly better still and much cheaper. Maybe I should invest in a good lip primer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2011 1:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So sad that this didn't work for me. It's a beautiful eggplant color. Not the plummy eggplant that every cosmetic company seems to make, but the really dark, blackish-purple color of a ripe eggplant. I mean, it's gorgeous.

But: the reasons I buy MAC lipstick in the first place: pigmentation, even application, staying power. MAC lipsticks are more expensive than DS brands but they save me money because I don't have to buy a liner to match and I don't have to keep reapplying. Cyber just does not apply evenly. I've never had this problem with any other MAC lipstick. Even with a lip brush, even with MAC Prime + Prep lip primer, I can still see pink patches through it. You pretty much have to have a lipliner the same color as Cyber to make it work. And I just don't think you should HAVE to have a lipliner for a lipstick to be wearable. I returned and got Rebel instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2011 5:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Takes some confidence to rock this but omg it's gorgeous! Very sexy vampiric deep purple/black colour which looks amazing against fair skin and makes my eyes all dark and mysterious! Application is key with this and you need to have perfectly lined and primed lips for this, it is not for the faint of heart! I highly recommend


on 8/19/2011 11:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great colour on darker skintones. I'm about an NW45. You can wear it full on for a more dramatic look or sheered out as a stain. I'd recommend trying beaux lustre glass on top. It adds a beautiful richness to it that makes it wearable in the day. This is what I wore today and I felt so sexy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

A very dramatic "vampire/ gothic" dark purple/berry colour. I'm going to be blunt and say it's a "young person's" shade. On me, I dab a light amount on my lips (I stress LIGHT amount otherwise it's too overpowering) and apply a soft pink lipgloss over the top to dilute the colour and give it a nice shine. Mac 'currant' lipliner is a good match for cyber- when worn lightly. Cyber works well with dark hair. I haven't had a problem with feathering like some other reviewers have mentioned. A strong colour that lasts on the lips. I'd probably repurchase it as it's good value for money; especially considering how long one tube is going to last me.

Note: All mac products get a high rating for price from me as Australia's luxury import tax makes them VERY expensive. $36 for a tube of lipstick :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
216 Reviews
Russian Red
Russian Red
634 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top