NARS Shanghai Express

4.4

54 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/10/2007 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So, being of olive complexion its kind of difficult to find the perfect RED. Well low and behold walking through the aisles of sephora i tried on this perfect shade. the thing with nars is that it kinda makes your lips peely if you dont exfoliate before applying. i also use a lip primer to make this baby last all night. Love it.



on 7/10/2007 11:22:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very flattering dark red brick lipstick (think deep red brick meets raw tuna flesh!) on my NC40 golden with a hint of olive, skintone. I use it over a lip balm which keeps it from drying my lips. Great definition and lasting power. Will not feather. Looks great both day and night. Finally, won't "turn" pink with wear. This is a keeper red!


on 5/17/2007 4:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have light golden olive skin,black hair. Most reds look awful on me. I was searching for a warm,highly pigmented red that looks great with Asian skin colorings,and this is perfect. It also mixes well with gloss ontop-and a dab of gold eyeshadow in the center for glamour! Shanghai express is not too orange,not too shiny,and lacks the blue that many reds have.


on 12/16/2006 1:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

it's the perfect true dark brick red. enough said. this lipstick is amazing! it's the red lipstick i believe i shall be wearing and devoted to because it's so classic, simple, and beautiful!!! i bought it for 23.00 at sephora


on 12/3/2006 9:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this lipstick. It's my first NARS l/s and I had heard NARS could be drying but this one is actually pretty moisturizing. It has good lasting power, I did not have to reapply until about 5 hours later, and that included a meal in the middle. The color is a beautiful red with some brownish undertones. Amazing for olive toned girls like myself. I would definitly buy again.


on 10/2/2006 9:33:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Finally I found the perfect red. Not too orange, not too pink. This is a true dark red colour. Dramatic but classy. It is a bit expensive and a bit on the dry side.


on 3/14/2006 6:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love love love this lipstick! It goes on matt but creamy on application. And is lovely red on my NW50 skin. This lipstick makes me want to end my current lipgloss phase.


on 2/26/2006 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

not as drying as the other nars lippies i've tried,and such a beautiful color ! francois nars himself said this is naomi campbell's favorite,on tv. the color is buildable and again,not very drying at all. i love this lippie ! a very beautiful red =)


on 12/8/2005 11:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My own personal favorite red in the NARS collection, this red is slightly darker and more brown than Red Lizard but not near as brown as Cabaret. I find this to be a great expression of "oriental red" and it looks great on olive skinned girls, I remember giving it to an italian friend as a gift and it became her HG color.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2005 5:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

a stunning, highly pigmented blood red (deep true red with brown undertones) but hell to wear for extended periods--one of the most DRYING lipsticks I've ever worn. I spent a full day with this on (re-applying maybe 10 times), and 3 days later i'm still so chapped that my mouth looks scabby. (ew). i have even developed two small sores on my bottom lip because the chapping got so bad and my skin ripped off. i suggest priming lips a lot before wearing this for extended periods

i also agree with the one reviewer who notes that Nars lipsticks stay good for only about a year. I've had so many of them turn hard, stinky (like a strong crayon scent) and uneven in their application (pulling in some areas and depositing in an uneven way).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
178 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top