NARS • Shanghai Express • Lipstick

rated 4.4(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jesusson on 11/10/2007 6:13:00 PM more reviews by jesusson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So, being of olive complexion its kind of difficult to find the perfect RED. Well low and behold walking through the aisles of sephora i tried on this perfect shade. the thing with nars is that it kinda makes your lips peely if you dont exfoliate before applying. i also use a lip primer to make this baby last all night. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* askr on 7/10/2007 11:22:00 PM more reviews by askr

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very flattering dark red brick lipstick (think deep red brick meets raw tuna flesh!) on my NC40 golden with a hint of olive, skintone. I use it over a lip balm which keeps it from drying my lips. Great definition and lasting power. Will not feather. Looks great both day and night. Finally, won't "turn" pink with wear. This is a keeper red!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kuuipogal on 5/17/2007 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Kuuipogal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have light golden olive skin,black hair. Most reds look awful on me. I was searching for a warm,highly pigmented red that looks great with Asian skin colorings,and this is perfect. It also mixes well with gloss ontop-and a dab of gold eyeshadow in the center for glamour! Shanghai express is not too orange,not too shiny,and lacks the blue that many reds have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 underpaidkid on 12/16/2006 1:42:00 AM more reviews by underpaidkid

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

it's the perfect true dark brick red. enough said. this lipstick is amazing! it's the red lipstick i believe i shall be wearing and devoted to because it's so classic, simple, and beautiful!!! i bought it for 23.00 at sephora

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sxychika1014 on 12/3/2006 9:40:00 PM more reviews by sxychika1014

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this lipstick. It's my first NARS l/s and I had heard NARS could be drying but this one is actually pretty moisturizing. It has good lasting power, I did not have to reapply until about 5 hours later, and that included a meal in the middle. The color is a beautiful red with some brownish undertones. Amazing for olive toned girls like myself. I would definitly buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Labello on 10/2/2006 9:33:00 AM more reviews by Labello

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Finally I found the perfect red. Not too orange, not too pink. This is a true dark red colour. Dramatic but classy. It is a bit expensive and a bit on the dry side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kofi on 3/14/2006 6:49:00 AM more reviews by Kofi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this lipstick! It goes on matt but creamy on application. And is lovely red on my NW50 skin. This lipstick makes me want to end my current lipgloss phase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keavy on 2/26/2006 6:14:00 PM more reviews by keavy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

not as drying as the other nars lippies i've tried,and such a beautiful color ! francois nars himself said this is naomi campbell's favorite,on tv. the color is buildable and again,not very drying at all. i love this lippie ! a very beautiful red =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghost on 12/8/2005 11:48:00 AM more reviews by ghost

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My own personal favorite red in the NARS collection, this red is slightly darker and more brown than Red Lizard but not near as brown as Cabaret. I find this to be a great expression of "oriental red" and it looks great on olive skinned girls, I remember giving it to an italian friend as a gift and it became her HG color.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DearAlexandra on 11/29/2005 5:37:00 PM more reviews by DearAlexandra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

a stunning, highly pigmented blood red (deep true red with brown undertones) but hell to wear for extended periods--one of the most DRYING lipsticks I've ever worn. I spent a full day with this on (re-applying maybe 10 times), and 3 days later i'm still so chapped that my mouth looks scabby. (ew). i have even developed two small sores on my bottom lip because the chapping got so bad and my skin ripped off. i suggest priming lips a lot before wearing this for extended periods

i also agree with the one reviewer who notes that Nars lipsticks stay good for only about a year. I've had so many of them turn hard, stinky (like a strong crayon scent) and uneven in their application (pulling in some areas and depositing in an uneven way).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products