NARS • Shanghai Express • Lipstick

rated 4.3(51 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 underpaidkid on 12/16/2006 1:42:00 AM more reviews by underpaidkid

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

it's the perfect true dark brick red. enough said. this lipstick is amazing! it's the red lipstick i believe i shall be wearing and devoted to because it's so classic, simple, and beautiful!!! i bought it for 23.00 at sephora

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sxychika1014 on 12/3/2006 9:40:00 PM more reviews by sxychika1014

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this lipstick. It's my first NARS l/s and I had heard NARS could be drying but this one is actually pretty moisturizing. It has good lasting power, I did not have to reapply until about 5 hours later, and that included a meal in the middle. The color is a beautiful red with some brownish undertones. Amazing for olive toned girls like myself. I would definitly buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Labello on 10/2/2006 9:33:00 AM more reviews by Labello

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Finally I found the perfect red. Not too orange, not too pink. This is a true dark red colour. Dramatic but classy. It is a bit expensive and a bit on the dry side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kofi on 3/14/2006 6:49:00 AM more reviews by Kofi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this lipstick! It goes on matt but creamy on application. And is lovely red on my NW50 skin. This lipstick makes me want to end my current lipgloss phase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keavy on 2/26/2006 6:14:00 PM more reviews by keavy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

not as drying as the other nars lippies i've tried,and such a beautiful color ! francois nars himself said this is naomi campbell's favorite,on tv. the color is buildable and again,not very drying at all. i love this lippie ! a very beautiful red =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghost on 12/8/2005 11:48:00 AM more reviews by ghost

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My own personal favorite red in the NARS collection, this red is slightly darker and more brown than Red Lizard but not near as brown as Cabaret. I find this to be a great expression of "oriental red" and it looks great on olive skinned girls, I remember giving it to an italian friend as a gift and it became her HG color.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DearAlexandra on 11/29/2005 5:37:00 PM more reviews by DearAlexandra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

a stunning, highly pigmented blood red (deep true red with brown undertones) but hell to wear for extended periods--one of the most DRYING lipsticks I've ever worn. I spent a full day with this on (re-applying maybe 10 times), and 3 days later i'm still so chapped that my mouth looks scabby. (ew). i have even developed two small sores on my bottom lip because the chapping got so bad and my skin ripped off. i suggest priming lips a lot before wearing this for extended periods

i also agree with the one reviewer who notes that Nars lipsticks stay good for only about a year. I've had so many of them turn hard, stinky (like a strong crayon scent) and uneven in their application (pulling in some areas and depositing in an uneven way).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamer81 on 10/10/2005 3:06:00 AM more reviews by dreamer81

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This color freaks me out. I freak myself out when i wear this... i have no clue why i bought this, i'm scared enough as it is with "REDDISH" colors, but this is DARK, matte (but creamy) blooooooody red RED :) I must use a lip brush with this, as it is very difficult to apply from the tube and get it to stay within my lip lines. Makes my lips look TINY! Although i'd like to say it's flattering, i can't. Just too MUCH. For reference, i'm an asian nc30 yellow/olive gal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cygentte3 on 9/11/2005 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Cygentte3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

*Perfect* semi-matte red lipstick for those of us with yellow toned skin. It's definitely a red, but it's got enough brown tones mixed into it that it works for warmer toned girls. I'd still definitely consider it a dramatic red, and the browns don't mute it too much, but make it perfect for warmer girls.

Very dramatic if applied straight from the tube, or a bit more subtle if applied with a brush. Definitely classy and sophisticated, and my favorite red. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aero21 on 3/29/2005 11:45:00 AM more reviews by aero21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

wonderful. nars lipsticks look similar to how it is in the tube and dont change into weird orangy or brown colors. very wearable red, but beware that it is a little on the darker dramatic side unless you blot well. would definately repurchase, looks good for formals or cocktail parties.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products