Mary Kay concealer

4.1

249 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water , Isononyl Isononanoate , Cyclopentasiloxane , Sorbitan Isostearate , Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone , Lauroyl Lysine , PTFE , Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate , Propylene Glycol , Cetyl Dimethicone , Hexyl Laurate , Sodium Chloride , Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Hydroxypropyl Polysiloxane , Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil , Beeswax , Nylon-12 , Tocopheryl Acetate , Diazolidinyl Urea , Retinyl Palmitate , Methylparaben , Propylparaben , Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract , Lecithin , Cyclohexasiloxane , Titanium Dioxide , Talc , Iron Oxides , Zinc Oxide May Contain Ingredients Ultramarines


on 1/30/2012 4:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought this product after i read loads of reviews. i didnt want to waste money again because of impulsive shopping lol. anyway, i love this concealer because of it's packaging. very hygienic and i can control the amount i want to use. i wish it was transparent though. if you want to apply concealer under your eyes, it should be a shade lighter than your skintone (well at least for me). i bought ivory 1 which i thought is a shade lighter then my skintone. it was lighter than i expected so i got bummed out. (ill get beige next time urgh).

despite the slight tone error, it did cover my pimple scars. the trick is to PAT the product on the blemish and just soften the edges so it'll look blended.

i tried this and asked my bf if he could see my pimple scar under my nose, he said "what scar?". LOL. so for me that proves that this concealer works really well. staying power is ok. it's very humid here in the Philippines so it's not exactly good weather for make up. hehe.

one more thing, if you have a BULGING POINTY humongous zit, i suggest you dont put concealer on it. it'll emphasize the zit and it will look crusty. you can put green primer to counter the redness and put a sheer liq foundation on it. it will still be visible but at least it'll look better than nothing on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/14/2012 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It says great things about this product that I've been buying it for several years now, even though you can't buy Mary Kay here in the UK. I get mine online from US websites and pay that little extra for shipping.

I use the shade light ivory. What i love most about this concealer is that it provides full/heavy coverage. If you have pretty clear skin then you won't need this product! But if you have acne scars, redness and blotchy-ness like me, then this is great. The shade isn't a perfect match for my skin tone - light ivory is really quite yellow. However, I mix the concealer in with my foundation so this isn't too much of a problem.

Overall, excellent concealer.


on 12/25/2011 7:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm not impressed by this product at all. The ivory 1 shade is way too yellow for my pale, cool-toned skin, but it doesn't really matter, because, unlike many other reviewers, I find this concealer to be quite sheer, and it doesn't cover well. I much prefer Lancome Effacernes or Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer, even though they are much more expensive.
Ingredients: Water, Isononyl Isononanoate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Sorbitan Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Lauroyl Lysine PTFE, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Propylene Glycol, Cetyl Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Sodium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Hydroxypropyl Polysiloxane, Sesame Seed Oil, Beeswax, Nylon-12, Tocopheryl Acetate, Diazolidinyl Urea, Retinyl Palmitate, Methylparaben Propylparaben, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Lecithin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Titanium Dioxide, Talc, Iron Oxides, Zinc Oxide. May Contain: Ultramarines.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2011 12:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

it does not conceal most of my acne marks. im not impressed..


on 7/29/2011 8:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff covers really great. I have oily acne prone sensitive skin. I use this over my foundation if I need extra coverage. Beige matches my skin perfectly. I like this or physicians formula rx in the tube in natural light under my foundation also. Both cover great. I think pf is a little creamier though to blend in my skin. I use mk with a concealer brush over foundation.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This was my very first concealer. I got it in the shade Bronze I and I was quite happy with it for a while. The shade suited me perfectly but within an hour or so, it would start to run on me. I eventually combatted this by dabbing the area with some translucent powder to hold the concealer in place. But then after a month the concealer in the bottle started to get clumpy and oily. Not only that but when I didn't want to have to use powder to set it (coming from the gym for example), the thing would start to crease up on me! So, while I love the color, I would not be buying this because the formulation itself didn't work for me.


on 7/20/2011 6:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm slightly obsessed with under eye concealers and I'm always trying new products in hopes of finding even better coverage and performance. My obsession is fueled with constant new products emerging onto the market, advances in make-up technology and ingredients, and uncovering brands I've never tried before. Personally I have never tried any Mary Kay products before, but became interested after reading some great reviews on MUA and that this product made Paula Begoun's "Best Products" list.

I purchased both Ivory 1 and Ivory 2 off of eBay as I didn't want the hassle of connecting with a consultant and really wasn't 100% sure which shade would work for my MAC NC15 complexion. The biggest difference between the two shades are Ivory 1 has a stronger yellow undertone and the Ivory 2 has a soft pink undertone. Both are really pigmented, quite viscous, have a smooth texture and blend nicely into the skin. Delivers great coverage under the eyes, but can be drying and easily cakes if too much product is used. I find this dries really quickly and I don't require any setting powder due to the matte finish. I have found this does last all day on my skin without fading or need for touch ups. In terms of which shade I use under the eyes, I find that depends on a few factors, including what foundation and/or tinted moisturizer I'm wearing, how bad and dark my under eye circles are that day, and if I'm wearing a corrector (I love Bobbi Brown's corrector in porcelain peach). After I have applied my chosen foundation and/or tinted moisturizer and/or under eye corrector I take a good look to see what is left to conceal. If my under eye circles are leaning towards purple then I choose Ivory 1, if my circles that particular day are leaning more to the blue side then I go with Ivory 2.

Overall I'm pretty impressed and happy with the results of this inexpensive, but effective concealer. Especially impressed that Mary Kay would offer two ivory shades with opposite undertones.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2011 12:35:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Grey

As a concealer, Mary Kay's signature tube-style formula does nothing for me. The lightest shade is too yellow for my fair, rosy skin, and I find that it cakes up even when applied with a brush. That being said, when I use it as an eyeshadow primer or an under/around the eye concealer, I love it. My shadow/liner does not migrate down my face when I use this on my eyelid and around my eye, and while the formula is creamy, it doesn't make my eyeshadows ashy or matte.


on 3/3/2011 5:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this concealer, this is my everyday concealer. It gives natural light to medium coverage. I have the color bronze 2 and that is very similar to nw45 select cover up, I would actually compare this concealer to that just the mac gets more coverage. This is recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2011 7:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Looking at the other reviews, I'm not sure if I'm reviewing the right concealer. This is just a generic concealer from MK. It doesn't say anything specific on it. I got this from my sister for X-mas and have since thrown this in a drawer. Yes it conceals but it's too dark for my skin color. Not only that but it doesn't conceal much. If you have acne or very slight under eye circles you'll be fine. I don't. I do need more coverage than just this and I'm still on the search.




Top Rated Mary Kay Products

image

Satin Hands

185 reviews
Back to Top