Chanel • Les Beiges - Healthy Glow Sheer Powder • Powder

rated 3.4(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 GetSmart on 11/5/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by GetSmart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this. It is useless. It is so sheer it's like you're not wearing anything. It doesn't even cover up shine. What is the point? Further, I have used it 3 times and I have a hard film forming on the product that I will have to 'scratch off'. My brushes aren't dirty, it's just from using it on my skin when i have foundation on.

This cost me $90 AUD and it's a total waste of money.

Why are they all so orange, too? The lightest colour was not light enough.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yolp1945 on 11/5/2013 12:58:00 AM more reviews by yolp1945

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After I read other reviews and considered my own experience with this powder, I have come to the conclusion that perhaps this product works for people who don't need to "cover" anything up (acne, fine lines, etc). This product is sheer and will not cover anything. It works it you have relatively smooth skin that is normal to dry.

That said, I love this powder. My skin condition is relatively okay - no acne, no rosacea, no fine lines - and is normal to dry. On weekends when I'm running errands, I apply sunblock, buff this powder on (with Chanel's retractable kabuki that was released with Les Beiges), and run out of the house. It lasts a few good hours before I become shiny. When I work, I brush this on over foundation as setting powder with a powder brush.

As I have normal to dry skin, only a few parts of my face becomes oily in the day. I use blotting paper first, then use the half-moon brush that comes in the package to lightly TAP on the powder. I don't sweep it on with that brush because the powder gets everywhere (once my boyfriend said "there's an entire cloud around your face!").

So that is my experience. I don't think it's too expensive given that you get beautiful packaging and a very finely milled powder. But as always, consider your skin type first before splurging!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 10/12/2013 4:21:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'll preface this review by stating that I took off two lippies for the price tag. There was a promo event at a department store where I live and if it weren't for this, I wouldn't have gotten this powder. At $60 CAD, that's a lot of money for a cosmetic item so I'd recommend purchasing this powder only if you're a big Chanel connoisseur and you're in the mood for a luxurious treat.

How does the powder actually perform?
Pros:
Sheer and lightweight texture
Finely milled and doesn't go on cakey or powdery
Blends well and does give a 'glowy' look but very subtle
Lasts most of the day (depending on your skin type)

Cons:
Expensive
Colour selection is very limited although you can use one of the darker shades as a bronzer (I chose No 20 and I'm a NC30 and this is a wee bit on the light side for me but it will do in the winter)
Rose fragrance which may bother people who are sensitive to scents
Brush that comes with compact is useless (but most of these brushes are)
Doesn't give any real coverage so if you're looking for a powder that gives good coverage, I'd say pass on this one

Re-purchase:
No, as there are other powders out there that are better and less expensive than Les Beiges.


3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ymillie on 10/6/2013 5:24:00 PM more reviews by ymillie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this back in February I think? And I barely use it anymore. I'm pretty disappointed with this product.
First, the good things about it. The packaging is sleek and beautiful and it does give my skin a nice glow without making me look too dark. I use Perfection Lumiere Beige 20 and I purchased the #20 so this powder adds some warmth to my skin when I start to tan a bit in the summer.
I think that's pretty much the only good things.

Although the packaging is nice, the way the brush is kept is very inconvenient. If I have to take the circular cover off every time I use it, I risk scratching or damaging the powder. The brush is also pretty useless, it barely picks up any powder. I have to use a kabuki brush and swirl it a few times before I get enough on.
I'm also not sure what's wrong with the powder. After using it for a couple weeks, I noticed there was a hard shiny film that formed on top. I had to scratch it off before being able to pick up powder where the film was. But when I started to use it again, the hard film started forming again. I thought it was because my brush was dirty, so I made sure to use a separate clean brush each time, but it didn't work.
I took it back for an exchange but the same thing happened to the second powder. Now it pretty much just sits in my drawer and I barely even touch it anymore.
It's very disappointing for a brand like Chanel to have such a bad product. It cost about $55CAD and it doesn't live up to its claims.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Priscilla29 on 9/24/2013 12:32:00 PM more reviews by Priscilla29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i think i wouls buy this powder again because in Holland there is not much choice for the dark skin. the powder is sheer,blends well but somethimes i find it to shiny for my combination skin. If i need to compare it with MAC careblend or MAC minaralize i prefer Chanel. MAC is to pigmented and sometimes turns reddish. im a nc 50 and i bought the 50 from les beiges...after the summer hollidays i bought shade 70 because 60 is to red...... package is beautiful the brush is horrible. i would highly recomend the kabuki brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sentientglittercloud on 9/14/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by sentientglittercloud

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Does not like. It's heavy feeling on the skin like a foundation powder but without coverage. And the milling is not fine enough for less than perfect skin. Sat in literally every line & enlarged every pore.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OfficialMS on 8/30/2013 8:03:00 PM more reviews by OfficialMS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The packing is so beautiful, the beige with the black is so stylish. The powder is a sheer powder that you can build up into layers for more coverage. I'm in the shade "50", don't remember the exact name. I really like that powder. But be careful, because i already dropped it and now the packing is broken. Thank god my powder is still alive.. If it wasn't still alive, I probably would run to the nearest counter to get a new one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzyCutie on 8/18/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up after seeing it mentioned here and advertised as well; I like Chanel but only buy higher prices items for special occasions. This was an early birthday present for myself. I can't really afford $60 for powders on a regular basis.
First of all, it smells lovely, like roses. The packaging is chic as well, and the half moon brush is handy for smaller areas of the face or touch ups. Like most Chanel powders it is finely milled and feels luxurious. I am a MAC NC 25 and found 20 to be flattering; like many others mentioned it is sheer and imparts a subtle glow.
I think that it is similar to MAC MSF or MSFN, both of which I have and therefore wouldn't repurchase this. I will use it up, however. There appears to be a generous amount of product, so while it is pricey it isn't a rip off. I would agree that it is most beneficial to those with little to cover up as it may highlight imperfections.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* funnyblossom on 8/10/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by funnyblossom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Buy only if you are a Chanel affictionado. I got this in #30 from strawberry net - I wear chanel perfection lumiere in B30 (I could easily wear B20 and the powder in #20 - but I was looking for a warmer combo. My bobbi brown shade is 3 or 3.5 , for the record.

I will try to list pros and cons, because I find it difficult to pin down why I am disappointed. So this may be more straightforward:
Pros
excellent packaging, large mirror, brush quality excellent and soft
finely milled powder
perfect balance of shimmer and matte (shimmer is not even the right word.. it more a glow)

Cons
I would never use this as a foundation, so it must be a power. The brush, however soft, is useless for this purpose. You may sweep the powder with it on your cheeks but that is all.
It needs to be buffed in, my best results were achieved with a cheap QVS buffing brush with nylon bristles (the stubby kind) and a buffing motion.
When buffed over a light foundation, placed as a bronzer and not all over powder, it works better for me.

The bottom line is that this is akin to Dior`s nude glow powders - a hybrid bronzer /powder.

I am giving it a few more gos, since the product is of excellent quality and maybe the secret is in the application - as with many products that revolutionize makeup application (touch eclat for example), it may take getting used to.

But so far.. I find it boring and uninspiring.
Update after 1 week: I am buffing it in as a bronzer with my bobbi brown blush brush.. very good, an uplifting bronzing/illuminating look.
Update ..2 weeks: I wear this everyday now.. Lightly buffed over cheekbones, temples and under chin - awesome! Applied with my bobbi brown blush brush as blusher.. even better! Very natural, very flattering.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ElegantStyle on 7/31/2013 10:19:00 PM more reviews by ElegantStyle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this powder for a couple of months now. I live in Canada, so this is available here before the US. The regular makeup artist suggested #20 for me, but I thought it was a tad too dark and she insisted that it is not. I bought it and I first thought it was nice, but at times, it made my face look darker then my neck and it was too obvious. I find that the powder sit on my skin, and I did not see anything amazing for me to get excited about. I thought at first, this is sheer powder and I would apply more heavy on my nose & chin area since I was getting oily, but if you keep reapplying, there is a buildup and I didn't like it. I've used Cle de Peau, La Prairie and the buildup on those is not as bad as this one. I think in this powder, there is some form of sheen that is left on your skin to make it look quite nice, but perhaps since my shade was a bit to dark, I didn't appreciate it as much. As the summer when on, my freckles really came out and #20 was a little bit more appropriate, but I found that the scent was a bit off (not detected when first bought and I can only guess that my skin is warm from the summer heat and the powder doesn't react well) and the powder is just, okay.
I am sorry to disappoint in my review. I've had some American girls PM me to get contact to get this powder for them. I know a lot of people been waiting for this product, but I really can't get all that excited with this one when I had better from other brands that I've mentioned above.
As for the brush, it is so soft! It is in a half moon shape that is stored smartly in the compact. The downside of the packaging is the protective round shield between the brush and the powder is a bit annoying because you have to lift it and put it somewhere to free up your hands to hold the company and use the brush. This brush is so soft, but I have found that the half moon with the side being shorter, you don't use that part as much on application or to pick up on the powder. I can't get over how soft the brush is. Every company should offer a brush like this instead of a sponge applicator. The mirror is large and I liked that.
I won't be repurchasing and in fact, I can't wait to get rid of this powder and most likely won't be finishing it up.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Powder products