Chanel • Les Beiges - Healthy Glow Sheer Powder • Powder

rated 3.4(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Dellti on 11/24/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Dellti

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product! I purchased it in no 40 to use as a bronzer on my very fair skin. It is lovely! I don't mind the fragrance. The brush that comes with the compact is nice, but I prefer my 189 from MAC as it gives a nice light application. I will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 11/18/2013 3:49:00 PM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really really REALLY wanted to love this product since it costs darn too much money. I was originally looking for their perfection lumiere powder compact but the store has been out of my shade for a very long time apparently and a girl at the counter talked me into buying this powder instead. She matched me to No. 10 which is very very sheer upon the application and had just the slightest sheen to it. Not sparkly and not completely matte. Well I would of loved to keep the powder if I have had drier skin, but the shea butter in this powder made me look super duper shiny in the T-zone. The finish of it is very lovely and I think someone with a good skin that is more normal to dry would love it, since it just creates a beautiful glowing effect. Unfortunately on my combo oily skin it just looked horribly greasy after about 2 hours.
Also, in case you were wondering, these Les Beiges powders are somewhat similar in effect to Hourglass's Ambient Powders but they are more on a peachy/bronzing side. No. 10 shade creates EXACTLY the same effect as Hourglass's DIM light (although the Ambient powders do not make me look greasy at all), and the darker shades like No. 20 or No. 30 could be the "matte" versions of the Ambient powder in Radient.
So, the bottom line this product is hit or miss for sure. You may love it or you may hate it, it just all depends on what you are looking for. If you have oily skin - stay away, unless you only apply it on the perimeter of your face. But the problem then would be the price - is it worth to spend that kind of money on a product that you can only wear on certain parts of the face? And if your skin is in good condition that is either dry or normal, then you may like it since it will create a lovely natural glowing effect.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hammurabi on 11/11/2013 6:04:00 AM more reviews by Hammurabi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Like blushes, I also don't need another powder but the packaging is just oh so pretty. So bought myself a 30 (in hope to use it like a bronzer as well, but my skin is actually 20).
Powder smells wonderful, packaging is beautiful, the only thing that confuses me is the silly plastic shield that separates the brush and powder compact. Dear Chanel if you charges so much for a powder, please have a little separate compartment for the brush? the plastic shield is just so cheap.
The brush that comes with it is not too bad at all actually but I still use my own squirrel brushes. The colour is actually so light that even I use on my whole face it still look natural. Smells divine! and the great thing about it is while it does sparkles a little in the pan it is not sparkly at all.
I do like this powder, but it is not an amazing powder. Expensive yes, I got it duty free so I am very happy.
Wont pay stupid Australian prices for that for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GetSmart on 11/5/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by GetSmart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this. It is useless. It is so sheer it's like you're not wearing anything. It doesn't even cover up shine. What is the point? Further, I have used it 3 times and I have a hard film forming on the product that I will have to 'scratch off'. My brushes aren't dirty, it's just from using it on my skin when i have foundation on.

This cost me $90 AUD and it's a total waste of money.

Why are they all so orange, too? The lightest colour was not light enough.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yolp1945 on 11/5/2013 12:58:00 AM more reviews by yolp1945

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After I read other reviews and considered my own experience with this powder, I have come to the conclusion that perhaps this product works for people who don't need to "cover" anything up (acne, fine lines, etc). This product is sheer and will not cover anything. It works it you have relatively smooth skin that is normal to dry.

That said, I love this powder. My skin condition is relatively okay - no acne, no rosacea, no fine lines - and is normal to dry. On weekends when I'm running errands, I apply sunblock, buff this powder on (with Chanel's retractable kabuki that was released with Les Beiges), and run out of the house. It lasts a few good hours before I become shiny. When I work, I brush this on over foundation as setting powder with a powder brush.

As I have normal to dry skin, only a few parts of my face becomes oily in the day. I use blotting paper first, then use the half-moon brush that comes in the package to lightly TAP on the powder. I don't sweep it on with that brush because the powder gets everywhere (once my boyfriend said "there's an entire cloud around your face!").

So that is my experience. I don't think it's too expensive given that you get beautiful packaging and a very finely milled powder. But as always, consider your skin type first before splurging!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 10/12/2013 4:21:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'll preface this review by stating that I took off two lippies for the price tag. There was a promo event at a department store where I live and if it weren't for this, I wouldn't have gotten this powder. At $60 CAD, that's a lot of money for a cosmetic item so I'd recommend purchasing this powder only if you're a big Chanel connoisseur and you're in the mood for a luxurious treat.

How does the powder actually perform?
Pros:
Sheer and lightweight texture
Finely milled and doesn't go on cakey or powdery
Blends well and does give a 'glowy' look but very subtle
Lasts most of the day (depending on your skin type)

Cons:
Expensive
Colour selection is very limited although you can use one of the darker shades as a bronzer (I chose No 20 and I'm a NC30 and this is a wee bit on the light side for me but it will do in the winter)
Rose fragrance which may bother people who are sensitive to scents
Brush that comes with compact is useless (but most of these brushes are)
Doesn't give any real coverage so if you're looking for a powder that gives good coverage, I'd say pass on this one

Re-purchase:
No, as there are other powders out there that are better and less expensive than Les Beiges.


3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ymillie on 10/6/2013 5:24:00 PM more reviews by ymillie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this back in February I think? And I barely use it anymore. I'm pretty disappointed with this product.
First, the good things about it. The packaging is sleek and beautiful and it does give my skin a nice glow without making me look too dark. I use Perfection Lumiere Beige 20 and I purchased the #20 so this powder adds some warmth to my skin when I start to tan a bit in the summer.
I think that's pretty much the only good things.

Although the packaging is nice, the way the brush is kept is very inconvenient. If I have to take the circular cover off every time I use it, I risk scratching or damaging the powder. The brush is also pretty useless, it barely picks up any powder. I have to use a kabuki brush and swirl it a few times before I get enough on.
I'm also not sure what's wrong with the powder. After using it for a couple weeks, I noticed there was a hard shiny film that formed on top. I had to scratch it off before being able to pick up powder where the film was. But when I started to use it again, the hard film started forming again. I thought it was because my brush was dirty, so I made sure to use a separate clean brush each time, but it didn't work.
I took it back for an exchange but the same thing happened to the second powder. Now it pretty much just sits in my drawer and I barely even touch it anymore.
It's very disappointing for a brand like Chanel to have such a bad product. It cost about $55CAD and it doesn't live up to its claims.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Priscilla29 on 9/24/2013 12:32:00 PM more reviews by Priscilla29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i think i wouls buy this powder again because in Holland there is not much choice for the dark skin. the powder is sheer,blends well but somethimes i find it to shiny for my combination skin. If i need to compare it with MAC careblend or MAC minaralize i prefer Chanel. MAC is to pigmented and sometimes turns reddish. im a nc 50 and i bought the 50 from les beiges...after the summer hollidays i bought shade 70 because 60 is to red...... package is beautiful the brush is horrible. i would highly recomend the kabuki brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sentientglittercloud on 9/14/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by sentientglittercloud

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Does not like. It's heavy feeling on the skin like a foundation powder but without coverage. And the milling is not fine enough for less than perfect skin. Sat in literally every line & enlarged every pore.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OfficialMS on 8/30/2013 8:03:00 PM more reviews by OfficialMS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The packing is so beautiful, the beige with the black is so stylish. The powder is a sheer powder that you can build up into layers for more coverage. I'm in the shade "50", don't remember the exact name. I really like that powder. But be careful, because i already dropped it and now the packing is broken. Thank god my powder is still alive.. If it wasn't still alive, I probably would run to the nearest counter to get a new one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Powder products