Rimmel • Apocalips Lip Lacquer • Lips

rated 3.7(95 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Ashleighd13 on 12/10/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by Ashleighd13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely in love with these they're so glossy and not sticky at all. They last ages too and there's always money off or 3 for 2 at rimmel so they're never very expensive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayci21 on 12/5/2013 7:26:00 AM more reviews by kayci21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in four shades - Solstice, Big Bang, Nude Eclipse and Luna. Overall I like the texture and they're very pigmented. If you tend to get dry lips, you'd probably need a lip balm under this since it'll seep into cracks. It's not drying though. I also don't mind the scent.

Solstice - medium-toned neutral pink. On me it's a MLBB colour. Good for daytime wear.

Big Bang - really really bright red - like, fire engine red. I wouldn't even dare to wear this out at night. Although admittedly I do prefer subtler colours, I do also like a bright lip from time to time but this is waaaaaay too much. I think it'd probably only be suitable if you're a stage performer, or for a photo shoot or a video.

Luna - light coral orange. Doesn't suit me. Would probably look really good on warmer/tanned skin tones though.

Nude Eclipse - standard nude lip colour for fair skin. On the brown side of nude, as opposed to the pink side. I'm not sure about this on me...would probably go well with a smokey eye, but otherwise it kind of washes me out. It's quite matte, so I prefer to put some sheer gold lipgloss on top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SiteNo8 on 12/3/2013 9:27:00 AM more reviews by SiteNo8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I do not like this product. I tried, really I did. I bought Apocalips in the colour Celestial, back in the summer. It looked like a natural pink, but since there was no tester (Walmart, Canada) I knew I was taking my chances.

Because of its opacity, Celestial looks like a plastic pink when applied to the lips. I have pink toned, light skin and on me it looked... odd. No matter, I can always blend it with something else, right?

No. No, no, no. Apocalips is soooo drying! This time of year (early December), I don't have an issue with chapped lips, but every time I wear this, I get dry, flakey lips! Whaaaa?

No thanks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aceboook on 11/29/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by aceboook

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I first got this in Apocaliptic just to try it out cause it just came out at the time. I ended up really liking it and bought Celestial as well and now I wanna get other shades too. It's not a lip gloss, that's for sure. It's true when they say it's a "lip lacquer" because it is soo pigmented and it stays on for ages. It's also really affordable too which is a huge plus for me. I also like the packaging. I reckon it doesn't look cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GingerTaylah on 11/27/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by GingerTaylah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love these. They wear for hours, the only thing I have to be careful about is it transferring to my teeth (somehow it does that even if not overapplied). I've got the shade "Celestial" and it's the perfect "mauvy pink" shade for every day. Definitely one of my favorite drugstore lip products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MouseChi on 11/27/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by MouseChi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I have "BigBang". I like this product. But my lips are very very dry. So I always use some vasaline before I apply it <3 It's cheap. My sis bought it for me in a Rimmel Store in UK
So good !
Rate 4 stars :xxxxxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mizzemmixox on 11/14/2013 5:56:00 AM more reviews by mizzemmixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in the shade Stellar/501. I love love love this lip lacquer. The shade is amazing and so on trend. The staying power is great, however because it's a red shade I do feel like I need to take it off before eating otherwise it goes everywhere. But that's okay it takes 2 seconds to reapply afterwards! Great product, and I want more shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TwiPixie on 10/29/2013 2:26:00 PM more reviews by TwiPixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I own this in Nova and although I do like it, it is not what I expect it.
The color selection put me off a little bit because everything was either too loud or the undertone was wrong for me but finally I picked Nova. I have to be very careful applying it because if I apply too much it just looks neon on my mouth.

My biggest problem with this is that it never seems to fully dry so it can move around a little bit and it does come off if I eat or drink. I do enjoy the color that it's left after I eat or drink or whatever but it kinda defeats the purpose.

I may try another color in the future because I don't think it sucks, but it is no HG either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IzzyLee123 on 10/28/2013 8:21:00 PM more reviews by IzzyLee123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this lippy for my prom because I wanted some fire truck red lips and this product definitely offered the best red colour I could find.
It was very sticky though and I was afraid of it running so I had to set it with a bit of powder before going out. Although I still then spent the night in constant fear of smudging it because if it had spread onto my skin I would not have been able to get it off without remover. The boyfriend was under strict instructions to kiss me on the cheek only that night!
But if you're looking to make a big impact with bold colours this is definitely the best lippy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 10/25/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Overall these are beautiful. Apocalyptic to me really demonstrates how far drugstore makeup has come- it used to be that getting such a stunning, bold, cool magenta lip colour would have to come from a high end brand. It's so wonderful that we can get such intense and unique colours at drugstore prices.

You paint these on your lips, and as others are describing, they go on *incredibly* opaque in one coat. They're quite slick and shiny at first, but then they start to thicken up and set to a more matte finish. I wouldn't say they're drying, but they aren't especially moisturizing either.

I'm seeing a lot of reviews describe these as longwearing, but I have to disagree. They aren't particularly longwearing on me, and transfer easily onto my coffee mug or whatever I happen to be drinking. The worst part of these lipsticks, and the reason I took 1 lippie off my rating, is that these fade off in an uneven, slightly patchy way, which is especially obvious considering how pigmented these shades are. I really dislike a high maintenance lipstick that I feel like I have to babysit to make sure I'm not walking around with 2/3rds of my lips bright magenta.

I would happily recommend these considering how gorgeous the shades are. But be warned with how they wear.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lips products