Rimmel • Apocalips Lip Lacquer • Lips

rated 3.7(105 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Rahila520d on 2/9/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by Rahila520d

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am IN LOVE with this lip lacquer. I have the shades Lune, which is a pinky nude colour and I have Big Bang, which is a really sharp red. Both colours are fab! The Big Bang last for ages and is almost like a lip stain, it really does last all day without drying out your lips, a little touch up might be needed as it will transfer onto anything you put your lips on but the stain of the colour will remain on your lips all day. Luna on the other hand doesn't stain the lips as Big Bang does but is a gorgeous nude colour and the lasting power is OK. I would definately repurchase and I would like to try the other colours in the range.

Pros
- Good range of colours
- Good for dry lips, goes on super smooth
- At 4.99 you cant go wrong

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahps on 2/2/2014 2:09:00 AM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Although I'd heard great things about these lipsticks, I'm really not a fan. I have Phenomenon (technically nude but unnaturally light) and Stargazer (a golden shimmery colour) and neither of them really knocked my socks off. I don't like the smell and I don't like that they feel really heavy.
In terms of colour payoff, they're pretty good. I can't put on more than a few tiny dabs without getting a ridiculous amount of colour, but they are longwearing.
Continuing my search for the perfect lipstick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mayl1ng on 1/23/2014 2:52:00 AM more reviews by Mayl1ng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am so in love with this product!
At first I thought it was going to be another overrated lip product that I would add to my bucket of other lip products on my bedroom floor but I was happily mistaken.
My local supermarket was having a sale on this product so I thought "might as well" and dropped it into my basket.
And oh my gosh I love it!
As other reviewers have mentioned, the lacquer goes on shiny but then dries to a creamier consistency. It is very opaque and the design of the applicator allows more product to be picked up so little more than one swipe of the wand is necessary.
The first one I got was in the shade "Celestial" and is a mauve-ish pink that can be worn pretty much everyday. The other shade I have is "Apocaliptic", a super bright fuchsia that looks gorgeous for a good 3 hours with no reapplication.

I definitely recommend this to anyone, even if they have a huge lip product collection, because you NEED to have this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivienvanessa on 1/22/2014 3:57:00 AM more reviews by vivienvanessa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful lip lacquer. Gives off amazing colour payoff, highly pigmented - exactly, if not more pigmented than a lipstick (a little goes a long way), smooth and glossy but not too sticky nor tacky on the lips. I love the packaging with the diamond cut at the top and the applicator has lovely soft bristles. Depending on the colour you can wear it during the day or night. These last all day long - they stay on and don't fade off unlike a lot of lipsticks I've used. Very hydrating and even softens my lips in the long run.

Pros:
- Very, very pigmented. Amazing colour!
- Hydrating and softening
- Great consistency, smooth and glossy but not at all sticky
- Bristles on applicator are soft and easy to apply
- Love the packaging

Cons:
- Can be too bright so apply only the tiniest bit
- Pricey for a drugstore product ($17 AUD)

Note: These are called "show off" in the USA

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annoasis on 1/20/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by annoasis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So because I've enjoyed NYX lip creams in the past, I decided to try the Rimmel lip lacquers, I bought mine in Stellar. It's a beautiful, bold colour and I really like it! If drinking, it will fade but the there will still be quite a colour base on your lips, so you'll just need to re-apply. The colour is opaque with a matte finish. It's a bit drying so I would recommend first applying a lip balm to moisturize the lips. With time, this will seep into the cracks of your lips, but not much more so than a lipstick, I find even with a moisturizing lipstick, it still tends to settle into my lip lines...I would highly recommend this product, at least try it. They offer a nice variety of bold colours, great for a night out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* morphinization on 1/20/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by morphinization

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this liquid lipstick. I have it in Luna (light peachy color leaning towards orange imo); nude eclipse (light nude leaning towards brown rather than pink on me, but if applied lightly it is absolutely gorgeous, truly one of the best nudes on my neutral skin tone). I also have the color phenomenon (light pink nude) as I live in Europe and it is also a favorite (just double the price!). Truly great consistency and longevity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayelem on 1/18/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by kayelem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have the colour Big Bang. I applied this after lining and filling my lips with Annabelle lip liner in Flame. I thought it would be a gloss but it is a very rich, very intense red. It feels very nice on my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupandMiranda on 12/30/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by MakeupandMiranda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great formula. Not sticky or thick, nor gloppy. Love the applicator; it works very well with the product. Colour selection is mostly spring colours (or they were at my local drugstore) which isn't bad, but maybe a few deeper reds or plums could be added to the collection. These lip lacquers have great lasting power (5 hours aprox.) and dry with a lovely finish. I payed about 9 dollars for mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbioniclegs on 12/23/2013 10:54:00 AM more reviews by missbioniclegs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely texture, not too gloopy, feels moisturising and lasts quite well; about 3-4 hours. Also to me the shade Galaxy is a bit of a dupe for MAC lipstick: Plumful if you sheer it out a bit! Have a look for yourself :)

Will buy again, nice shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 florencesophieallen on 12/12/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by florencesophieallen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like these, but to be honest the colour selection is a little odd. A lot of orangey and nudes going on, if you want it more red type colours then this selection is not for you. The colours just seem a little weird and all over the place. The one proper red colour is Big Bang which is nice.

The pigmentation is great though, and they stay a long time. It starts very off very shiny on application but then fades yet the colour still stays which is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lips products