Rimmel • Apocalips Lip Lacquer • Lips

rated 3.7(101 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 annoasis on 1/20/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by annoasis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So because I've enjoyed NYX lip creams in the past, I decided to try the Rimmel lip lacquers, I bought mine in Stellar. It's a beautiful, bold colour and I really like it! If drinking, it will fade but the there will still be quite a colour base on your lips, so you'll just need to re-apply. The colour is opaque with a matte finish. It's a bit drying so I would recommend first applying a lip balm to moisturize the lips. With time, this will seep into the cracks of your lips, but not much more so than a lipstick, I find even with a moisturizing lipstick, it still tends to settle into my lip lines...I would highly recommend this product, at least try it. They offer a nice variety of bold colours, great for a night out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* morphinization on 1/20/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by morphinization

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this liquid lipstick. I have it in Luna (light peachy color leaning towards orange imo); nude eclipse (light nude leaning towards brown rather than pink on me, but if applied lightly it is absolutely gorgeous, truly one of the best nudes on my neutral skin tone). I also have the color phenomenon (light pink nude) as I live in Europe and it is also a favorite (just double the price!). Truly great consistency and longevity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayelem on 1/18/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by kayelem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have the colour Big Bang. I applied this after lining and filling my lips with Annabelle lip liner in Flame. I thought it would be a gloss but it is a very rich, very intense red. It feels very nice on my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupandMiranda on 12/30/2013 2:39:00 PM more reviews by MakeupandMiranda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great formula. Not sticky or thick, nor gloppy. Love the applicator; it works very well with the product. Colour selection is mostly spring colours (or they were at my local drugstore) which isn't bad, but maybe a few deeper reds or plums could be added to the collection. These lip lacquers have great lasting power (5 hours aprox.) and dry with a lovely finish. I payed about 9 dollars for mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbioniclegs on 12/23/2013 10:54:00 AM more reviews by missbioniclegs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely texture, not too gloopy, feels moisturising and lasts quite well; about 3-4 hours. Also to me the shade Galaxy is a bit of a dupe for MAC lipstick: Plumful if you sheer it out a bit! Have a look for yourself :)

Will buy again, nice shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 florencesophieallen on 12/12/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by florencesophieallen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like these, but to be honest the colour selection is a little odd. A lot of orangey and nudes going on, if you want it more red type colours then this selection is not for you. The colours just seem a little weird and all over the place. The one proper red colour is Big Bang which is nice.

The pigmentation is great though, and they stay a long time. It starts very off very shiny on application but then fades yet the colour still stays which is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashleighd13 on 12/10/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by Ashleighd13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely in love with these they're so glossy and not sticky at all. They last ages too and there's always money off or 3 for 2 at rimmel so they're never very expensive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayci21 on 12/5/2013 7:26:00 AM more reviews by kayci21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in four shades - Solstice, Big Bang, Nude Eclipse and Luna. Overall I like the texture and they're very pigmented. If you tend to get dry lips, you'd probably need a lip balm under this since it'll seep into cracks. It's not drying though. I also don't mind the scent.

Solstice - medium-toned neutral pink. On me it's a MLBB colour. Good for daytime wear.

Big Bang - really really bright red - like, fire engine red. I wouldn't even dare to wear this out at night. Although admittedly I do prefer subtler colours, I do also like a bright lip from time to time but this is waaaaaay too much. I think it'd probably only be suitable if you're a stage performer, or for a photo shoot or a video.

Luna - light coral orange. Doesn't suit me. Would probably look really good on warmer/tanned skin tones though.

Nude Eclipse - standard nude lip colour for fair skin. On the brown side of nude, as opposed to the pink side. I'm not sure about this on me...would probably go well with a smokey eye, but otherwise it kind of washes me out. It's quite matte, so I prefer to put some sheer gold lipgloss on top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SiteNo8 on 12/3/2013 9:27:00 AM more reviews by SiteNo8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I do not like this product. I tried, really I did. I bought Apocalips in the colour Celestial, back in the summer. It looked like a natural pink, but since there was no tester (Walmart, Canada) I knew I was taking my chances.

Because of its opacity, Celestial looks like a plastic pink when applied to the lips. I have pink toned, light skin and on me it looked... odd. No matter, I can always blend it with something else, right?

No. No, no, no. Apocalips is soooo drying! This time of year (early December), I don't have an issue with chapped lips, but every time I wear this, I get dry, flakey lips! Whaaaa?

No thanks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aceboook on 11/29/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by aceboook

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I first got this in Apocaliptic just to try it out cause it just came out at the time. I ended up really liking it and bought Celestial as well and now I wanna get other shades too. It's not a lip gloss, that's for sure. It's true when they say it's a "lip lacquer" because it is soo pigmented and it stays on for ages. It's also really affordable too which is a huge plus for me. I also like the packaging. I reckon it doesn't look cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lips products