Rimmel • Apocalips Lip Lacquer • Lips

rated 3.8(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Helenna100 on 10/12/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Helenna100

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm not sure if I would repurchase this again. For one the scent is a killer, at first I wasn't bothered but after awhile it got to me, it never goes away, when I first apply it it looks terrible (you have to let it sit) after a bit it looks nice but if you rub your lips together it looks funky..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellesp23 on 10/6/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by ellesp23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I was a bit hesitant in buying these due to the growing amount of lip products I already have but decided to give it a go. These seemed similar to the Wet 'n Wild liquid lipstick/creme product that came out some time ago except those were quite drying and flaky looking, even more so on me as I have very dry lips and suffer from eczema around the mouth sometimes.
I find that these are the complete opposite: creamy, pigmented, easy to apply, and they fade nicely (don't fade in a patchy or noticeable way). These are also quite affordable with a price range between $4-5 USD and i've only seen them at Walgreens here in the States. If you haven't stumbled across these at your local Walgreens (mine was sold out for weeks before I could actually pick some of these up!), I'd suggest trying out the NYX Extreme Lip Creams. They're VERY comparable except the feel of the NYX lip creams are a tad "thicker", has more of a thick glossy feel without the glue-like-stickiness to it if that makes any sense.

The Apocalips (Show Off Lip Lacquers) have more of a smoother and drier (but not dryING) finish to them. Overall, they last about 4-5 hours on my lips and on me, they tend to leave a bit of color on the lips after fading off. I don't have much time in my day to touch up so these are a bit of a "no-brainer", just slap it on your lips and you're good to go.
The shade range is great; from bold to natural. I tend to go for the more natural/everyday shades. I'm an NC42 and I have these products in Nova (blue-toned pink) and Celestial, a more toned down neutral pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kafee on 10/4/2013 8:29:00 AM more reviews by kafee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

When I first purchased this product it was great! I really liked how pigment it was and there were a good range of shades. I got the shade Celestial, then shades Stellar and Solstice a few days after. At first it didn't bug me because the colours were great, but then I got tired to applying it over and over again every time I eat or drink. This thing transfers like crazy! I still do use it if I'm just going out for a few hours or a casual outing, but not for an all day event.
PROS:
- the scent
- the applicator
- very pigmented
- packaging is appealing/unique
CONS
- no staying power
- transfers to anything

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FlawlessLeopard on 9/27/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by FlawlessLeopard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product, and Rimmel lipsticks/Products in general. I was expecting it to be cakey or flakey but this product is neither! The color is exactly what it seems like in the tube and a little goes a long way. I have bought both Nova and Apocoliptic and both leave my lips feeling smooth and provide an excellent color. If you want some shine you can put some clear on top although I did find I had to reapply it more when doing so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miaverevis on 9/27/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by miaverevis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly when I first bought it I was preparing myself to be a little disappointed.. but I felt quite the opposite after trying it! Very impressive! Amazing colour range, something for everyone! It applies very smoothly and equally, a tiny bit messy but with a lip brush it sorts fine. Once you give it a few minutes it dries nicely without drying out your lips, it almost locks in moisture so your lips feel nice. The packaging is gorgeous and won't leak in your handbag. I almost wish there was a bigger tube.. Appropriate for any event and very useful. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 drzoidbergrox on 9/18/2013 8:06:00 AM more reviews by drzoidbergrox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I originally bought this on ASOS for around 7$ (which I thought was a pretty good price at the time) as this product was out in the UK long before it was out in Australia. I was desperate to get my hands on it as pretty much every Youtube Beauty Guru on the planet was raving about this product. I bought the colour "Big Bang" and my god it is a gorgeous colour. Such a classic, vintage, Marilyn Monroe-esque sort of shade. Imagine my disapointment when I realised the colour was the only good quality about this product.
First of all, this sort of brush applicator with these sort of opaque lip colours is a big no-no. It is so hard to apply precisely, it's unbelievable. Maybe with the more nude shades it wouldn't be a big deal, but with this bright red, it was. Also, if you make a mistake and go out of your lip line, work quickly, because this stuff stains.
Now to mention the quality I most dislike about this product... It gets on my teeth. No lip product ever leaves stains on my teeth!
If you want me to talk about the lasting power of this product, I wouldn't know, because I would never ever wear this out of the house due to it getting on my teeth every time I speak. So annoying!
Oh, one last thing, the smell. It might smell good to some people but for me personally, this is the most disgusting smelling product I've come across in a long time.
But, maybe that just me. As I said at the start of this review, this product has been truely raved about for months now but I definitely do not see the appeal behind it. Will not repurchase, that's guaranteed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lipstickjunkie4 on 9/17/2013 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Lipstickjunkie4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipgloss! I have it in the color Stellar. I pair it with lipstick and find it to be a beautiful color. I especially love to pair it over my limecrime babette lipstick! it conforms it to a more beautiful, wearable color for me. The babette comes out too pale on my lips.. this color does rub off easily on its own but paired over a lipstick, it lasts a good while! Will definitely repurchase in other colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 paralleluniverse on 9/17/2013 9:31:00 AM more reviews by paralleluniverse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I fell for the marketing and hype around a Rimmel lip product yet again and I'm still sorely disappointed.
Rimmel gets full marks for the packaging - it's sexy, pretty and unique. The colour is at the bottom and the scent is yummy. The pigmentation is excellent - full opacity with one swipe. The doe foot applicator was a nice thought but unfortunately it distributes far too much product. I have this in Celestial, a natural mauve pink - absolutely adore this colour! It really flatters my yellow undertones well. Now here's the bad things.

The staying power is subpar, coming off immediately when my lips have contact with food, even though I blot and reapply twice. It also settles into my lip lines even though I apply a balm over the top and it makes my lips feel extremely parched and dry after an hour in air-conditioned environments - it makes me feel very uncomfortable. Moreover, it also forms flakes at the corners of my mouth and it's rather unpleasant. I also find for me, it often goes outside my thick lips, making them even fatter that usual, and it seems like it never sets even if I apply one coat and leave it to dry for ages!

So incredibly frustrating. Sadly this is not a dream to wear and I won't be repurchasing again. Just goes to show that not all every hyped product delivers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lirong on 9/11/2013 8:16:00 PM more reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Those are so highly pigmented and staying power is impressive too! Like a nail polish only for your lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deviationize on 9/8/2013 1:45:00 PM more reviews by Deviationize

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a huge lip product fan, and this stuff is just fantastic! I really wanted to try the Apocalips when I first saw them in stores, but they're a bit on the pricier side (around $10 where I live). So I picked the colour "Aurora" up when it was on sale and it really lives up to the hype! It's incredibly pigmented and stays forever on my lips. The only downside for me is that my lips feel a bit dry after a few hours, but applying a moisturising balm fixes that.

Other than the pigmentation, the packaging is also quite nice. There's a small hole in the applicator that holds product, which makes it so that you don't have to keep dipping the wand back into the container. I also love the design of the packaging, it's very edgy and unique.

I will definitely be going out to buy some of the nude shades, as "Aurora" is more of a special occasion colour. Great product overall!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lips products