Rimmel • Apocalips Lip Lacquer • Lips

rated 3.7(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bphearts on 3/6/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by bphearts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After all the hype I saw over on youtube I decided to give these a try. I purchased two in Starglazer and Nude Eclipse. At first I was put off by the smell but very content with the application and color payoff. Within half an hour both of these will be gone. It didn't set, instead it just sat there like a gloss yet glosses last much longer than this did.

Starglazer left glitter and sparkles all over my lips and mouth area within an hour while Nude Eclipse just completely disappeared. I was hoping this would be a good liquid lipstick but I'm not sure what this is or what it's trying to be. Maybe the other colors are better but after my experience with these nude shades I am not willing to spend the time and money in finding out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 etternax on 3/1/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by etternax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love these for the colours and formula. Some lighter colours are not very opaque and require two coats but the finish and formula are good. Very moisturising and dry to a moisturising lipstick finish, not matte. I have several colours of these but my favourites are Celestial which is a very natural pink (worn in the photo above), Apocalyptic which is a vibrant fuchsia, and Big Bang which is a very nice bright red. Smell good, not very strong, and last for 3-4 hours without reapplying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PeonyRed on 2/27/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by PeonyRed

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product though. THE TASTE. IT'S HORRIBLE.
I'm not kidding. I swiped this on my lips, and besides the color Luna looking straight up orange on me, I could feel the perfume-like, artificial smell in the back of my throat. Now, maybe I'm very sensitive, but I simply can't stand it. The packaging is gorgeous, the British name is awesome (I don't know why they changed it for us Americans - I'm vaguely offended), and the shade selection is nice. The color pay off is nice, and it sits on my lips well. BUT GOD THAT SMELL. I've noticed many of these lip lacquer/liquid lipstick products have similar smells. and I can't understand why. This smell translates as a horrible taste that actually makes my throat feel dry. Maybe that's an allergy? Either way, I've read many reviews that claimed the same aversion to varying degrees, so I might just be an extreme case. That being said, I simply can not recommend these. At all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EllieJean28 on 2/20/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by EllieJean28

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

If you are in love with makeup and beauty there is no doubt that you have heard of this amazing new lip product from Rimmel and you are probably sick of hearing about it but I am going to do a review even though it's a bit late. My friend Jasmine (Popprincessjaz on youtube) recommended this to me actually and I'm so glad she did :)

I absoloute love the packaging on this product. It has quite a simple and standard bottle, it's black at the top and the colour fades out to clear at the bottom so that you can see the colour of the product. But I love the lid! It's kind of a gemstone and plain black, I really don't know a better way to describe it. It just gives the bottle that 'something' that people look for when looking for a new lipgloss.




The weirdest part of this product is definitely the smell. It has a foul smell but luckily it only lasts a little while. People have different ideas if what it could smell like i.e. Boiled sweets, warm rhubarb crumble, heated metal and I think that if you mix all these, that would be the smell. It's really not very nice, although some people claim to like it.

I think that there are 8 different colours and they are all very highly pigmented (this is probably the best part of the product) the shades which are paler (the nudes) aren't quite as pigmented though. The brighter colours however are sooo pigmented and stay for hours! Their also don't stain your lips like a lot of lip products do which is a huge plus!


I find that these lip lacquers DO have excellent durability! Obviously, if you eat, the colour wears and comes off, which is to be expected with drugstore, but you only have to reapply it once. They really do last a very long time!

They have excellent application techniques as well! It's a basic applicator but it has a dip in the middle which holds the product so that you don't have to keep dipping it into the bottle to get more. It does require a little technique to apply as it doesn't go on smooth and even straight away. Something really good is that it definitely isn't sticky at all and feels nice on your lips, soft.




I would give this product a 3 1/2 out of 5 as it has a few downfalls like the smell but overall, it's very good. I will definitely be buying some again as they really are wonderful! I really do recommend them!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rahila520d on 2/9/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by Rahila520d

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am IN LOVE with this lip lacquer. I have the shades Lune, which is a pinky nude colour and I have Big Bang, which is a really sharp red. Both colours are fab! The Big Bang last for ages and is almost like a lip stain, it really does last all day without drying out your lips, a little touch up might be needed as it will transfer onto anything you put your lips on but the stain of the colour will remain on your lips all day. Luna on the other hand doesn't stain the lips as Big Bang does but is a gorgeous nude colour and the lasting power is OK. I would definately repurchase and I would like to try the other colours in the range.

Pros
- Good range of colours
- Good for dry lips, goes on super smooth
- At 4.99 you cant go wrong

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahps on 2/2/2014 2:09:00 AM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Although I'd heard great things about these lipsticks, I'm really not a fan. I have Phenomenon (technically nude but unnaturally light) and Stargazer (a golden shimmery colour) and neither of them really knocked my socks off. I don't like the smell and I don't like that they feel really heavy.
In terms of colour payoff, they're pretty good. I can't put on more than a few tiny dabs without getting a ridiculous amount of colour, but they are longwearing.
Continuing my search for the perfect lipstick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mayl1ng on 1/23/2014 2:52:00 AM more reviews by Mayl1ng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am so in love with this product!
At first I thought it was going to be another overrated lip product that I would add to my bucket of other lip products on my bedroom floor but I was happily mistaken.
My local supermarket was having a sale on this product so I thought "might as well" and dropped it into my basket.
And oh my gosh I love it!
As other reviewers have mentioned, the lacquer goes on shiny but then dries to a creamier consistency. It is very opaque and the design of the applicator allows more product to be picked up so little more than one swipe of the wand is necessary.
The first one I got was in the shade "Celestial" and is a mauve-ish pink that can be worn pretty much everyday. The other shade I have is "Apocaliptic", a super bright fuchsia that looks gorgeous for a good 3 hours with no reapplication.

I definitely recommend this to anyone, even if they have a huge lip product collection, because you NEED to have this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivienvanessa on 1/22/2014 3:57:00 AM more reviews by vivienvanessa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful lip lacquer. Gives off amazing colour payoff, highly pigmented - exactly, if not more pigmented than a lipstick (a little goes a long way), smooth and glossy but not too sticky nor tacky on the lips. I love the packaging with the diamond cut at the top and the applicator has lovely soft bristles. Depending on the colour you can wear it during the day or night. These last all day long - they stay on and don't fade off unlike a lot of lipsticks I've used. Very hydrating and even softens my lips in the long run.

Pros:
- Very, very pigmented. Amazing colour!
- Hydrating and softening
- Great consistency, smooth and glossy but not at all sticky
- Bristles on applicator are soft and easy to apply
- Love the packaging

Cons:
- Can be too bright so apply only the tiniest bit
- Pricey for a drugstore product ($17 AUD)

Note: These are called "show off" in the USA

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annoasis on 1/20/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by annoasis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So because I've enjoyed NYX lip creams in the past, I decided to try the Rimmel lip lacquers, I bought mine in Stellar. It's a beautiful, bold colour and I really like it! If drinking, it will fade but the there will still be quite a colour base on your lips, so you'll just need to re-apply. The colour is opaque with a matte finish. It's a bit drying so I would recommend first applying a lip balm to moisturize the lips. With time, this will seep into the cracks of your lips, but not much more so than a lipstick, I find even with a moisturizing lipstick, it still tends to settle into my lip lines...I would highly recommend this product, at least try it. They offer a nice variety of bold colours, great for a night out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* morphinization on 1/20/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by morphinization

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this liquid lipstick. I have it in Luna (light peachy color leaning towards orange imo); nude eclipse (light nude leaning towards brown rather than pink on me, but if applied lightly it is absolutely gorgeous, truly one of the best nudes on my neutral skin tone). I also have the color phenomenon (light pink nude) as I live in Europe and it is also a favorite (just double the price!). Truly great consistency and longevity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lips products