Rimmel • Apocalips Lip Lacquer • Lips

rated 3.8(92 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aceboook on 11/29/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by aceboook

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I first got this in Apocaliptic just to try it out cause it just came out at the time. I ended up really liking it and bought Celestial as well and now I wanna get other shades too. It's not a lip gloss, that's for sure. It's true when they say it's a "lip lacquer" because it is soo pigmented and it stays on for ages. It's also really affordable too which is a huge plus for me. I also like the packaging. I reckon it doesn't look cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GingerTaylah on 11/27/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by GingerTaylah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love these. They wear for hours, the only thing I have to be careful about is it transferring to my teeth (somehow it does that even if not overapplied). I've got the shade "Celestial" and it's the perfect "mauvy pink" shade for every day. Definitely one of my favorite drugstore lip products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MouseChi on 11/27/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by MouseChi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I have "BigBang". I like this product. But my lips are very very dry. So I always use some vasaline before I apply it <3 It's cheap. My sis bought it for me in a Rimmel Store in UK
So good !
Rate 4 stars :xxxxxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mizzemmixox on 11/14/2013 5:56:00 AM more reviews by mizzemmixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in the shade Stellar/501. I love love love this lip lacquer. The shade is amazing and so on trend. The staying power is great, however because it's a red shade I do feel like I need to take it off before eating otherwise it goes everywhere. But that's okay it takes 2 seconds to reapply afterwards! Great product, and I want more shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TwiPixie on 10/29/2013 2:26:00 PM more reviews by TwiPixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I own this in Nova and although I do like it, it is not what I expect it.
The color selection put me off a little bit because everything was either too loud or the undertone was wrong for me but finally I picked Nova. I have to be very careful applying it because if I apply too much it just looks neon on my mouth.

My biggest problem with this is that it never seems to fully dry so it can move around a little bit and it does come off if I eat or drink. I do enjoy the color that it's left after I eat or drink or whatever but it kinda defeats the purpose.

I may try another color in the future because I don't think it sucks, but it is no HG either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IzzyLee123 on 10/28/2013 8:21:00 PM more reviews by IzzyLee123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this lippy for my prom because I wanted some fire truck red lips and this product definitely offered the best red colour I could find.
It was very sticky though and I was afraid of it running so I had to set it with a bit of powder before going out. Although I still then spent the night in constant fear of smudging it because if it had spread onto my skin I would not have been able to get it off without remover. The boyfriend was under strict instructions to kiss me on the cheek only that night!
But if you're looking to make a big impact with bold colours this is definitely the best lippy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 10/25/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Overall these are beautiful. Apocalyptic to me really demonstrates how far drugstore makeup has come- it used to be that getting such a stunning, bold, cool magenta lip colour would have to come from a high end brand. It's so wonderful that we can get such intense and unique colours at drugstore prices.

You paint these on your lips, and as others are describing, they go on *incredibly* opaque in one coat. They're quite slick and shiny at first, but then they start to thicken up and set to a more matte finish. I wouldn't say they're drying, but they aren't especially moisturizing either.

I'm seeing a lot of reviews describe these as longwearing, but I have to disagree. They aren't particularly longwearing on me, and transfer easily onto my coffee mug or whatever I happen to be drinking. The worst part of these lipsticks, and the reason I took 1 lippie off my rating, is that these fade off in an uneven, slightly patchy way, which is especially obvious considering how pigmented these shades are. I really dislike a high maintenance lipstick that I feel like I have to babysit to make sure I'm not walking around with 2/3rds of my lips bright magenta.

I would happily recommend these considering how gorgeous the shades are. But be warned with how they wear.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MetteH470 on 10/17/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by MetteH470

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first I think it was too shiny, but I after you let I dry a little, it's actually a little Matt, and I love it! The colors are pigmented, and that's of cores a bonus, and the color stays all day. The packaging; it's so unique and gorgeous, I like that on the top it's kinda like a diamond shape, and on the bottom it's like ombré. I will defiantly buy this again, and I recommend it! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Helenna100 on 10/12/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Helenna100

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm not sure if I would repurchase this again. For one the scent is a killer, at first I wasn't bothered but after awhile it got to me, it never goes away, when I first apply it it looks terrible (you have to let it sit) after a bit it looks nice but if you rub your lips together it looks funky..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellesp23 on 10/6/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by ellesp23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I was a bit hesitant in buying these due to the growing amount of lip products I already have but decided to give it a go. These seemed similar to the Wet 'n Wild liquid lipstick/creme product that came out some time ago except those were quite drying and flaky looking, even more so on me as I have very dry lips and suffer from eczema around the mouth sometimes.
I find that these are the complete opposite: creamy, pigmented, easy to apply, and they fade nicely (don't fade in a patchy or noticeable way). These are also quite affordable with a price range between $4-5 USD and i've only seen them at Walgreens here in the States. If you haven't stumbled across these at your local Walgreens (mine was sold out for weeks before I could actually pick some of these up!), I'd suggest trying out the NYX Extreme Lip Creams. They're VERY comparable except the feel of the NYX lip creams are a tad "thicker", has more of a thick glossy feel without the glue-like-stickiness to it if that makes any sense.

The Apocalips (Show Off Lip Lacquers) have more of a smoother and drier (but not dryING) finish to them. Overall, they last about 4-5 hours on my lips and on me, they tend to leave a bit of color on the lips after fading off. I don't have much time in my day to touch up so these are a bit of a "no-brainer", just slap it on your lips and you're good to go.
The shade range is great; from bold to natural. I tend to go for the more natural/everyday shades. I'm an NC42 and I have these products in Nova (blue-toned pink) and Celestial, a more toned down neutral pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lips products