Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(90 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/16/2013 4:19:00 AM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty surprised by the bad reviews for this foundation. I rarely wear foundation but i always go for this or my HG foundation -NARS sheer glow. I don't find this cakey and almost EVERYTHING makes me look caket because I battle big pores and my forehead and cheeks and nose and ugh, everything is always a cakey mess! But this is the perfect thickness and it makes my skin look halfway decent! I use it with the shine free primer but not the powder. Pretty good though imo. I would repurchase. BUT I will admit the shine free is gimicky because its false. I still get slick around my nose. But powder solves that easily enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BMtz on 7/16/2013 2:33:00 AM more reviews by BMtz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Waste of money. Bought this in natural beige & the color was perfect but it just looked cakey & felt wierdy grainy on my skin because of the rice protein complex. My skin is very oily and this did help the shine but I noticed I started to break out so I've stopped using this and don't plan on repurchasing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MapleBlossom2 on 6/17/2013 11:09:00 PM more reviews by MapleBlossom2

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the color of this in the bottle! I am NC30 and bought this in Natural Beige. It seemed like one of the best matches ever, along with Maybelline FitMe 220 and Maybelline SuperStay in Classic Beige. However, like those two, it is unimpressive on the face. When putting it on, I feel tiny powdery granules in the foundation. Weird. You can't see them, but you can feel them. The coverage of this is okay, but it wears off quickly and does not control shine. Very disappointing because the shade was so promising.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thegirlwiththeredpurse on 6/10/2013 11:50:00 PM more reviews by thegirlwiththeredpurse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is horrid. It's cakey and makes my skin look worse than it does without makeup! It's really thick and hard to get out of the bottle. Once it comes out, there's these little grainy bits in it that I assume are the so called "rice proteins." It's super hard to get a nice, even layer on your skin. It cakes like there's no tomorrow. It doesn't control shine. I bought this because my t-zone gets very shiny during the day and I wanted some control. This did NOT help. I spent $15 on this terrible foundation and it just sits there on my vanity, unused.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glendyy99 on 6/8/2013 3:27:00 AM more reviews by glendyy99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After using this foundation once I vowed to myself to come here and write a review so no one will be fooled into buying this foundation. First of all, it is quite expensive for a drugstore foundation. But I was willing to try it because it promised "shine control", having oily skin that was attractive to me and I bought in high hopes. The color I picked was just the slightest bit light for me but it was the closest match. It applies nicely and leaves your skin with a satiny finish, covered pretty well too. I was happy with the result and set off about my day. By THE FIRST HOUR.. I went into a bathroom and saw the most horrific sight. SHINE EVERYWHERE..But NO foundation to be found. The worst part were two orange smiles lines around my mouth were the foundation had crept in and oxidized. I am NINETEEN. I do not have wrinkles and have never seen that happen to my face with any foundation. I was horrified and felt uncomfortable the whole rest of my outing. This foundation does not do what it's supposed to do. Garbage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sroupas on 5/27/2013 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Sroupas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

The packaging was sleek- but no pump. It was hard to get the product out of the bottle because it was so thick. And yes, it has a grainy texture because it's made with rice protein complex. Rice protein controls shine. I got the color fresh beige- it's almost a perfect match! It might be perfect when I get tanner this summer... I have a golden olive tone. It's a medium to full coverage foundation and I put it on my hand then apply with a kabuki brush. The finish is flawless! I set it with the matching powder. I've been wearing it for a few hours now and it controlled my shine pretty good. My nose needs a touch up though :( For the price- it was $11 at Walmart. I would've gotten covergirls clean oil control foundation because it was half the price, but they had no colors that matched me! So I gave this a go and am glad I did. Ill post another review when I use it in the steaming hot weather at GS camp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yadei on 5/18/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by yadei

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i liked this foundation because it does help with my oily/combination skin. it does control shine for 8 hours but after that you do get oily and i blot after that. it doesn't feel heavy at all and it does look like natural skin. only thing that i didn't like about it is that it transfers very easily to clothes and it does comes off. also it is hard to get out of the jar and its very thick foundation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/9/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

What i like about this foundation:
-inexpensive
-did not break me out
-absorbs well onto skin

what i dislike about this foundation:
-does not match my skin color exactly
-prefer mineral over liquid
-does not cover acne scars
-not long lasting
-made my face shiny

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loveover0 on 5/9/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by loveover0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This foundation would be a decent foundation if it wasn't marketed to those with oily skin.

Pros:
- nice dewy finish (when applied with a flat top bush)
- covers light to medium acne and scars
- feels light

Cons:
- NOT FOR OILY SKIN
- high shine within 2 hours
- transfers easily
- gritty texture (but can be avoided when applied with brush)
- you have to use a lot of product for a good coverage
- pretty pricey for a drugstore product ($13) that you have to use a lot of to work
- terrible packaging

I like it enough to try to finish the bottle but not enough to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 5/4/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

If you have near perfect skin and just need to correct your skin tone, this product may be suitable for you. This product has less coverage than a typical BB cream or tinted moisturizer. I wanted something that feels light and will help with shine control in the summer. I ended up having to put multiple layers on with concealer, which defeated the whole purpose. My skin isn't bad, just a little bit of flaws here and there, so I was surprise when the foundation didn't cover any of my imperfections. I applied it onto one side of my face and the only difference is the skin tone, but all the spots were still visible.
The packaging is unsuitable for the foundation. This liquid foundation is thick, so you have to shake the bottle upside down to get it out of the bottle.
The texture is grainy, it feels almost as if you're scrubbing your skin.
I really don't think anyone should buy this product. There are much better products at better price that can give you better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products