BeneFit Cosmetics Sun Beam

4.1

41 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Caprylic/Capric/Succinic Triglyceride, Pentylene Glycol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Mica, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Dimethicone, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Dimethicone Peg-7 Phosphate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Phenoxyethanol, Steareth-21, Squalane, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), Butylene Glycol, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Steareth-2, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polysorbate 60, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Sodium Hydroxide.


on 1/17/2013 3:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought a small sample of this from Sephora and I have to say it's beautiful. I am going to buy the full size when I'm done. It gives the most subtle glow to your face and that's what I like about it. You can use a generous amount on your cheekbones and you look like you had 10 hours of sleep. Absolutely gorgeous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

hated the pink one have to say that I really love this it isn't as stark against my skin.I also find this one much better texture wise non-greasy and won't displace any makeup underneath.Got the mini and the tons of product, this won't run out for a while.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Sun Beam is one of Benefit's newer products, released earlier this year. This product is described as a "golden bronze highlighter to give you a natural sunkissed radiance. Dot and blend over makeup on cheek and brow bones for a bronzed glow that compliments all skin tones. It's liquid sunshine in a bottle!". Whoa there Benefit, lets not make silly claims here. I got a tiny 2.5ml sample of Sun Beam in Benefit's Sexy Little Stowaways value kit. The full size bottle contains 13ml (.45fl oz) retails for $26, giving my little sample a value of around $5. Benefit does not test on animals, but doesn't consider themselves "cruelty free", you can read more about that in their FAQ. Sun Beam was made in France. Benefit products are available at the brand's website, free standing Benefit boutiques, Benefit counters in select department stores, Sephora, and Ulta.
My mini bottle of Sun Beam is pretty different from the full size version. This little tube kinda looks like a mini lip gloss. The tube is an opaque bronzy gold shade that's just about the same color as the actual product. The name of the product is written vertically on the front of the tube, along with Benefit's logo. A small amount of product information can be found on the back of the tube. Twisting off the black cap will reveal a small, stiff brush applicator that's super saturated in product. This brush is only for dotting the product onto your face, do not attempt to use it to blend the product out, that's what fingers are for.
Sun Beam is a bronzey gold, creamy, liquid highlighter. I believe that Sun Beam is the liquid version of Watts Up?. Sun Beam is actually quite thin, blending easily and evenly into the skin. This highlight is on the shimmery side and seems opaque if you make a quick swatch of it, but once blended out Sun Beam becomes quite sheer, but still retails some golden warmth. When I initially swatched Sun Beam I thought it would be way too much for my very pale complexion. It was so shimmery, so bronzey, something that would look stunning on tan skin, but not me, I'm too pink and fair. Boy was I wrong. I applied Sun Beam to the cheekbones - just four dots, compared to the eight dots I use when I apply High Beam. I blended this highlighter out and wow...this is by far the most realistic, natural, complimentary highlight ever! Sun Beam warms my face up in the way a bronzer would, but without imparting as much color. The golden glow is still there, but its no where near as strong as it shows up in a swatch. The glowy golden sheen really gives the effect of being out in the sun without actually going outside, which is great for attic dwellers like myself.
Benefit's Sun Beam has quickly become my new favorite liquid highlighter. I much prefer it over it's sister High Beam. I find that the warm golden effect is so beautiful and flattering. I wish I had a larger sample size, I feel like I'm going to finish this tiny tube up so quickly. I won't splurge on the nearly $30 full size, but I'll snatch up another sample size as soon as I can in another Benefit value kit. Try Sun Beam some time, don't like it's bronzey hue intimidate you, the effect is so subtle and pretty. I don't know why Sun Beam doesn't get more buzz, it seems universally flattering. Definitely a new favorite from Benefit.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2012 9:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a sephora coral my world kit. This came along with their coralista blush. First off the packaging that they came in was soooooo cute. With sun beam I like the fact that it comes with a brush applicator, I find this works best for me. I like this highlighter it is made more for women of color unlike high beam which can tend to look too harsh or ashy on women of color so I find this product is perfect for me. It is a goldish bronze shimmr very flattering and natural looking, like you are glowing from within in my opinion

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2012 10:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product! If you are looking for a product that will provide a nice, bronze, but settle highlight, this is great. I love how it has a bronze tint to it. Sun beam works well on my medium/yellow skin tone. I love the sun, so this is a new must have year long product for me. Since I use this over bare skin, it doesn't have the best staying power, but this is something easy to re apply, so I don't mind especially because of the result I get. I'm not entirely sure about the $30CDN price tag, but at the same time this bottle will last me a long time.


on 8/30/2012 12:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great highlighter for WOC, very pretty on my skin. It seems tricky to figure out to apply at first, but heres how I do it. I make 4-6 small dabs of the product in a C shape starting from the middle of my eye, shaping the top of my cheekbone, ending at the end of my eyebrow. Then, i take a flat top brush (currently using ELF's powder brush) and dab/blend until its smooth. The price is pretty steep, I only got mine because I had a 20% off coupon at Ulta and Benefit was doing GWP at the time. I dont know if I will repurchase it, so far it seems to be lasting a long time. Once you figure out how to use it properly, it can be a really nice highlighter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2012 7:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an okay product, I originally went for it because the High Beam seems to be raved about over almost all boards and this seemed like a good alternative for more tanned skin tones like myself. I'm NC40 and this highlighter looked like it would be a good match when i swabbed it on my hand but putting it on my cheeks is something different. It's so thick and gloopy and no matter how much I blend it into the skin when I look into the mirror a couple hours later I feel like I can see it just sitting on my skin looking very fake. Packaging is the same as the High Beam/Benetint it's not that travel friendly but you do get a lot of product. However it's very expensive and even though you get a lot in it I wouldn't spend my money on something which just appears to sit on the skin. Not a repurchase.


on 8/10/2012 2:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

To some of the fair skin ladies complaining about the product being gold? Umm, that's its purpose. This product is exclusively for WOC or Caucasian women with very deep toned skin. The gold in the product helps for dark skin to have a "glow". This would probably look very bad on you if you're lesser than a NC 42, I could imagine.

The reason that this product is gold, is because gold works best as a highlighter for WOC. Pale highlighters make our skin look ashy, this product does not. This is an excellent product and I will buy again. I haven't been able to find a decent highlighter since the majority of them cater to Caucasian women.

If you're a WOC, then I highly recommend this product.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2012 11:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

While I absolutely love and adore this product for summer, it just isn't worth $26.00. Luckily, I had bought mine when I received a 20% off coupon at Ulta. So I ended up only paying about $20.00 (still cuttin' it close). I do have a medium skin tone, with yellow/olive undertones, and am only able to pull off this product in the summer with a bit of a tan. With that being said I don't recommend this to anyone with a light/fair complexion because it is golden and will show up very obvious if you're using as a cheekbone highlight. Other than that I have only great things to say about this! I won't be repurchasing because honestly, I don't think that I will ever run out of it, so much product! So it may be worth the $26.00 you're forking out. It gives a wonderful golden/tan glow-perfect for summer! I get compliments when wearing this a lot, because it looks like a "glow from within". Originally I was planning on getting high beam, but being that I am olive complected it looked very fake and unnatural. So I love this product! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2012 11:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

soooo pretty, but seriously 26 bucks? While this product worked beautifully on my skintone I definitely think it is overpriced. I was worried at first that this would be too glittery, but was pleasantly surprised to see that it just had a nice mild bronzy sheen. It is much more of a highlighter than a bronzer so don't expect this to really add much color. The product delivery is very much like its sister, HighBeam. Sunbeam just has a slightly golden undertone while highbeam is more pearly. The packaging is okay- usually with products like these (especially ones that are more expensive) I tend to prefer tubes which are more sanitary and also keep the product fresher longer. Do i think this a must-have? No, but it is nice if you have an extra wad of cash and don't mind shelling out for it. If they ever offer this in a travel/sample size then check it out, I'm just not sure if the full size is worth the price tag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated BeneFit Cosmetics Products

image

Rockateur

84 reviews
image

NEW BrowZings

71 reviews
image

Dallas

539 reviews
image

Coralista

661 reviews
image

Hervana

100 reviews
Back to Top