BeneFit Cosmetics • Sun Beam • Highlighters

rated 4.2(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ariel2229 on 11/21/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by ariel2229

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a sephora coral my world kit. This came along with their coralista blush. First off the packaging that they came in was soooooo cute. With sun beam I like the fact that it comes with a brush applicator, I find this works best for me. I like this highlighter it is made more for women of color unlike high beam which can tend to look too harsh or ashy on women of color so I find this product is perfect for me. It is a goldish bronze shimmr very flattering and natural looking, like you are glowing from within in my opinion

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tamedDOLL on 9/21/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by tamedDOLL

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product! If you are looking for a product that will provide a nice, bronze, but settle highlight, this is great. I love how it has a bronze tint to it. Sun beam works well on my medium/yellow skin tone. I love the sun, so this is a new must have year long product for me. Since I use this over bare skin, it doesn't have the best staying power, but this is something easy to re apply, so I don't mind especially because of the result I get. I'm not entirely sure about the $30CDN price tag, but at the same time this bottle will last me a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 8/30/2012 12:04:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great highlighter for WOC, very pretty on my skin. It seems tricky to figure out to apply at first, but heres how I do it. I make 4-6 small dabs of the product in a C shape starting from the middle of my eye, shaping the top of my cheekbone, ending at the end of my eyebrow. Then, i take a flat top brush (currently using ELF's powder brush) and dab/blend until its smooth. The price is pretty steep, I only got mine because I had a 20% off coupon at Ulta and Benefit was doing GWP at the time. I dont know if I will repurchase it, so far it seems to be lasting a long time. Once you figure out how to use it properly, it can be a really nice highlighter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aleena145 on 8/17/2012 7:57:00 AM more reviews by aleena145

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay product, I originally went for it because the High Beam seems to be raved about over almost all boards and this seemed like a good alternative for more tanned skin tones like myself. I'm NC40 and this highlighter looked like it would be a good match when i swabbed it on my hand but putting it on my cheeks is something different. It's so thick and gloopy and no matter how much I blend it into the skin when I look into the mirror a couple hours later I feel like I can see it just sitting on my skin looking very fake. Packaging is the same as the High Beam/Benetint it's not that travel friendly but you do get a lot of product. However it's very expensive and even though you get a lot in it I wouldn't spend my money on something which just appears to sit on the skin. Not a repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sleepymeko on 8/10/2012 2:20:00 PM more reviews by sleepymeko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

To some of the fair skin ladies complaining about the product being gold? Umm, that's its purpose. This product is exclusively for WOC or Caucasian women with very deep toned skin. The gold in the product helps for dark skin to have a "glow". This would probably look very bad on you if you're lesser than a NC 42, I could imagine.

The reason that this product is gold, is because gold works best as a highlighter for WOC. Pale highlighters make our skin look ashy, this product does not. This is an excellent product and I will buy again. I haven't been able to find a decent highlighter since the majority of them cater to Caucasian women.

If you're a WOC, then I highly recommend this product.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 scrowell on 7/5/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by scrowell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While I absolutely love and adore this product for summer, it just isn't worth $26.00. Luckily, I had bought mine when I received a 20% off coupon at Ulta. So I ended up only paying about $20.00 (still cuttin' it close). I do have a medium skin tone, with yellow/olive undertones, and am only able to pull off this product in the summer with a bit of a tan. With that being said I don't recommend this to anyone with a light/fair complexion because it is golden and will show up very obvious if you're using as a cheekbone highlight. Other than that I have only great things to say about this! I won't be repurchasing because honestly, I don't think that I will ever run out of it, so much product! So it may be worth the $26.00 you're forking out. It gives a wonderful golden/tan glow-perfect for summer! I get compliments when wearing this a lot, because it looks like a "glow from within". Originally I was planning on getting high beam, but being that I am olive complected it looked very fake and unnatural. So I love this product! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rebekah1764 on 5/4/2012 11:05:00 PM more reviews by rebekah1764

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

soooo pretty, but seriously 26 bucks? While this product worked beautifully on my skintone I definitely think it is overpriced. I was worried at first that this would be too glittery, but was pleasantly surprised to see that it just had a nice mild bronzy sheen. It is much more of a highlighter than a bronzer so don't expect this to really add much color. The product delivery is very much like its sister, HighBeam. Sunbeam just has a slightly golden undertone while highbeam is more pearly. The packaging is okay- usually with products like these (especially ones that are more expensive) I tend to prefer tubes which are more sanitary and also keep the product fresher longer. Do i think this a must-have? No, but it is nice if you have an extra wad of cash and don't mind shelling out for it. If they ever offer this in a travel/sample size then check it out, I'm just not sure if the full size is worth the price tag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiqueGlitter on 4/26/2012 10:08:00 PM more reviews by AntiqueGlitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

****I am very surprised that nobody has cared to list this product, considering how old it is!***
I'm not impressed with this. I initially purchased this last summer when I got a pretty deep tan (I'm talking NC30 to NC40 kind of tan), and I was looking for a good highlighter that would give me a warm golden "glow." I actually didn't expect this to do anything more than give me a shimmery golden sheen to my cheekbones and browbones.
And oh my jeepers, guess what? It gave me a shimmery golden sheen to my cheekbones and browbones! Big thumbs down to that. *fart sound*
I hoping for that "glow" that so many people get from highlighters, but nope. That never happened.
When I applied it, I applied it with a very light hand, like you should with any Benefit -Beam highlighter (High Beam, Moon Beam, Sun Beam, etc.), and I only used one tiny dot per cheekbone and browbone and gently blended it out with my ring finger. But, honestly, it looked like I let my baby cousin smother it all over me. It looked completely unnatural, fake, and...obvious.
Since the shimmer is very fine, it makes my cheeks look metallic. I'm not sure which is worse: metallic cheeks or shimmery cheeks (I'm not about to decide right now).
Sun Beam is a warm gold with coppery shimmer. Not sure if this would compliment cool skintones.
Nonetheless, it's not a terrible highlighter, but it's not great either.
Now that it's been almost a year since my initial purchase of Sun Beam, my tan has worn off and I'm back to being NC30-35 again. I tried it again just today and it just kind of...blends in with my skintone, therefore the color doesn't show up; only the shimmer shows up.
I'm thinking that Sun Beam would look great on people with warm medium/dark to dark skintones, but probably not those with medium skintones (like mine) or lighter.
The packaging is cute but makes no sense at all. It comes in a fricken nail polish bottle! (Yeah, the twist-on cap, glass bottle, nail polish brush, and even the runny nail polish consistency and all). I mean, seriously? What does Benefit expect us to do?--PAINT our faces like they were our own fingernails? I mean, gosh, the packaging isn't terrible, but it's completely illogical.
Would I repurchase? No.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Highlighters products