Neutrogena • Pink Grapefruit Oil-Free Cleansing Wipes • Eye Makeup Remover

rated 2.6(52 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Astera on 6/19/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by Astera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm through my second pack of these. I didn't use them to remove eye makeup. The smell doesn't sting my eyes but I do enjoy the tangy smell of grapefruit! I use them on my neck to help get rid of the excess makeup that may have been left behind when I wash my face in the sink. They are convenient and a good price. I will keep repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kvoight on 6/19/2013 8:22:00 AM more reviews by kvoight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ouch! This product was a mistake. I had originally purchased this product because I usually use the Neutrogena night calming makeup wipes which the store was out of. These grapefruit wipes were right beside them so I picked them up and went home. The minute I put the wipe to my face my eyes began burning. I quickly picked up the package and read that it's not for removing makeup, but actually for wiping the skin. That was my mistake. I proceeded to wipe down my face, but my eyes were still very irritated. After wiping down my face, my skin felt extremely dry and sticky, as if the wipe had left a glossy film over my face. As the day progressed my skin got worse. Not only was my face burning, but it was showing! I looked as though I had sunburn and my face was hot to the touch. I had dry and bumpy patches on my cheeks and down my neck which itched like no other! Using this product was a terrible mistake and I quickly stopped my mom before she used it. I will not be buying this product again. I am in fact returning it to the store, and I will never recommend it to anyone. If you are considering this product, please stop now! It's not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JustDee on 5/9/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by JustDee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the Neutrogena Make Up wipes so when I saw these and they smelled like grapefruit thought okay lets try. Biggest mistake. One they DO NOT smell like grapefruit at all more like a harsh chemical fruit. Burns my eyes and yes i know not to use them near the eyes. You learn by mistakes, Will Not be buying these again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 faithcricket on 5/7/2013 2:48:00 AM more reviews by faithcricket

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased these wipes since my local Target was out of the normal Neutrogena wipes that I always use. I saw they were grapefruit scented and thought it'd be a nice change. Silly me, I didn't realize they meant SUPER CHEMICAL grapefruit!! These are ridiculously strong smelling, not pleasant at all. My bathroom smelled like cheap, strong, alcohol/grapefruit mix for about 10 minutes. These wipes are also way too harsh. They made my skin burn and made my eyes water like crazy. Will definitely NOT repurchase!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 10100101 on 4/30/2013 2:19:00 PM more reviews by 10100101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So I bought these with the intention of using them as makeup removers, without reading the package first. These are not meant to be used around or on the eyes. So it's my fault for not reading the package before buying it. They will burn if you use them on your eyes. And they do have a strong chemical smell at first. But after you've used them, your face smells like grapefruit, which I actually really like. These are a bit harsh for my skin, but I will use them to clean my face while on trips (no need to carry around a bottle of face wash and toner) and for nights when I'm too lazy to wash my face, but probably won't buy these again after I'm done with the package.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 depulsive on 4/28/2013 6:06:00 PM more reviews by depulsive

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

THE GOOD: smelt like grapefruits. Didn't cause further breakouts.

THE BAD: didn't make my face any better. At all. Acne stayed despite use until the wipes were gone. Also, STUNG my eyes so badly. This product is too harsh really, it's a little better if you're able to avoid the eye area.

THE UGLY: would never buy this product again. Waste of money and space.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beckkfo on 4/18/2013 10:28:00 PM more reviews by beckkfo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought these because I love the Neutrogena grapefruit scrub. When I use that product I do not break out AT ALL.

Wipes are more convenient for me to use, so I was thrilled when they came out with the grapefruit wipes. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT.

The smell is so strong they burn my eyes. Even if I avoid my eye area, my eyes water and burn from the fragrance of these. I absolutely do not recommend these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 itsAmybby on 3/22/2013 8:23:00 PM more reviews by itsAmybby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's way too harsh on the skin would not recommend it for anyone with ANY skin type.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pestina18 on 3/22/2013 8:20:00 PM more reviews by Pestina18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Quick highlights: smelly, leaves residue, doesn't really help acne |||||
I have some acne on my upper back because my skin tends to be very oily in that area. I wanted a wipe that I could use quickly in the morning to wipe down my back and remove the oil. I liked that these wipes contain salicylic acid, which helps stop acne, and that they are oil free. These did help me feel less oily, but the clean feeling didn't last long. They leave a bit of a sticky residue that takes a while to dry - I have to wait a minute or two before I put my shirt on. These smell SO strongly, and in my opinion, nothing like grapefruit. It's sort of a chemically smell and it's very powerful. I can't wear perfume after using these wipes because the two smells would be awful together. I wouldn't use these on my face because they're strong and I'd be afraid the fumes would sting my eyes. All of this would be worth it if they helped my acne, but I've gone through a whole pack of wipes without seeing a huge difference. I probably wouldn't buy these again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yoshiii on 3/20/2013 5:00:00 AM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Stings quite harshly and burns. In response to the reviewer who wrote that individuals complaining about burning in the eye area failed to "read directions," the vapor from the formula in these wipes were seriously burning my eyes once I took one out of the package and was *about* to start wiping on my cheek, which is nowhere near my eyes. My face totally felt like it was stinging when I used these wipes, and I do not have sensitive skin at all, so it takes a lot for my skin to react to anything. I don't have sensitive eyes either.

I don't have this product anymore, so I do not know if it has alcohol in it, but it sure felt that way with the amount of stinging.

Pretty disappointing, since I love a lot of other Neutrogena products and used their facial cleansers for over ten years without problems. I have even used the grapefruit cleanser and body wash without any problems, including relating to stinging.

For other comparisons, I found that Aveeno and Simple wipes were much less harsh. Definitely avoid this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Eye Makeup Remover products