Maybelline • Illegal Length Fiber Extensions- Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.4(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 beautyprincess303 on 8/29/2012 11:56:00 AM more reviews by beautyprincess303

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this mascara for the first time the other day (my cousin had bought one for herself and really liked it so she got one for me to try) and I actually really like it!! My eyelashes looked much longer and much more noticeable! I got loads of compliments from people telling me that my lashes looked really long :D the only problem is that it's hard to get it off :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tink123 on 8/29/2012 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Tink123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This was the worst mascara I have ever used. I could hardly get any of the formula on the wand. It took forever to coat my lashes. I was getting ready for a date & it was so stressful. This cannot possibly have fiber extensions. I am totally unimpressed. Once I finally finished applying, I threw this mascara in the trash. I will totally stick with using my Falsies mascara. What a mistake it was to use this product. Now after reading all the other comments on here, I'm afraid how many lashes I will lose trying to remove this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amy11692 on 8/19/2012 12:54:00 AM more reviews by amy11692

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, so I've been testing out mascaras for awhile now seeing as I have very watery eyes, and this is definitely one of the better ones.

I used this awhile back and I still have a tube of it because I liked it so much. It stayed on pretty well, I only had a little bit of mascara in the fine lines under my eyes at the end of the night. No big deal.

But what I really liked about this mascara was the length it gave my lashes. If I'd do a few layers of the mascara, my lashes were longer than they'd ever been. My mother immediately noticed a difference. It was pretty amazing.

However, after awhile I started using this with another product (lancome xl lash booster) and that's when I had the problem. My lashes started to get in rough shape when I combined the two frequently. I do believe it was the lash booster that was the problem, but just in case I'd keep an eye out for a bit when you first test out this mascara. Also, it could be a bit difficult to wash off, but that, too, may be because of the other product.

So I guess I'm just trying to say be careful.
Once my lashes heal a bit I'm going to test this mascara by itself again to see if there's a problem. But until then I'm going to lay off it. I'd still use it for nights out or the dramatic effect. No need for falsies here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HRenfrewgrl on 7/25/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by HRenfrewgrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG mascara at the moment. When it comes to makeup, the one thing I never splurge on is mascara and always stuck to the low end side when it comes to mascara. Prior to this I was using the Maybelline Volum Express, although it did a good job of voluminzing my lashes, it still left it short. I have short and thin eyelashes and this does a pretty amazing job of lengthening and thickening. Best mascara from the Maybelline line in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 starlightsparkl on 7/22/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by starlightsparkl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I picked up this mascara from Rite Aid for around $6 in the color very black and waterproof of course.
Overall, i like this mascara. After two coats it gives you pretty volumized and lengthened eyelashes. i would suggest layering it with another mascara though or combing your eyelashes out, because it can look a little clumpy.
It is about a 4/5 on the waterproof scale, because the curl drops after swimming or extremely humid weather.
As for the fiber extensions? they do NOT work at all for me. I love the formula but no fibers attached to my eyelashes and when they do very rarely they're just awkward.
I would recommend this mascara but not for the people who want extremely long eyelashes with the fiber extensions. I feel like it volumizes more than lengthens.
I would repurchase but only after trying out other mascaras. I would not recommend to beginners in makeup

EDIT: this mascara dried out in like 2 weeks! I keep my mascara for 3-4 months usually but after 2 weeks i COULD NOT STAND using it. it was dried out and clumpy and there was no reason for it to be like that. Immediatly threw away and would not repurchase because it does not last long and it's not worth repurchasing over and over for the "length"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chasea on 7/9/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by chasea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

this is my go to waterproof mascara! adds length, volume and holds curl. only downside is if you get one of those little fibres in your eye, its kills! also, can sometimes be tricky to remove (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RandomDreamer on 7/7/2012 4:57:00 PM more reviews by RandomDreamer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to mascara; I absolutely LOVE it. The brush is the perfect size to get to the roots of my lashes and it works wonders to lengthen my lashes. It looks completely natural and doesn't clump up. and it doesn't flake or come off throughout the day. It holds a curl very well and people tell me all the time I have beautiful eyelashes, little do they know they're not naturally that way. Without curling or mascara, my eyelashes are short and straight so this mascara gives them a great boost. Lately, I've been using it with the Maybelline Mega Plush Volume Express mascara underneath and I've found that I like it even better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellofrankie on 6/11/2012 9:56:00 PM more reviews by hellofrankie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Strengths: What does this mascara do?
1. Lengthen
2. No transfer
3. Lower lashes
4. Holds curl

Lengthen, lengthen, lengthen. It lengthens and separates, to the point where my feeble lashes actually look like they're hittin my eyelids (no exaggeration). This is my current favourite and has overtaken Maybelline Falsies waterproof which was my previous go-to. If you want volume, you will need to put on at least 2-3 coats. I love big lashes so I'm always at 4 but after that, it clumps. This mascara is also the best for lower lashes. Even if this doesn't work for your upper lashes, I recommend trying it and finishing it up with lower lashes. It separates and defines them better than the 50+ low-high end mascaras I have tried. It also somehow seems to make my eyeliner migrate less by some dark magic, I always had problems before this but no more. Another plus about this mascara is that it does not smudge. No raccoon eyes at all even after 8 hrs at work, 1 hr commute then 2 hours at the gym. At most, there are a few small crumbs (fibers) scattered below but it is very minimal and usually does not occur. Can easily brush those away. It also held my curl all day long, on 15+ days in the summer heat.


Application: it took me awhile to figure this out, but this mascara is best applied in steady strokes. No wiggling or shaking, just apply it smoothly in one motion. If multiple coats, start with one eye and quickly later atop each other before moving onto the other eye.

Weaknesses:
1. Hard to take off
2. Sometimes fibers fall into eyes

It can be difficult to take off. You need a heavy duty makeup remover, this isn't like other fiber mascaras like Kiss me where the tubes come off easily. And you may lose a couple lashes in the process. Usually this would be killer for any mascara but because I love the effect of this so much, I use loreal lash boosting serum (clear bottle, blue cap, ~$10-13) to strengthen my lashes and now I can continue using this without any problems. As for fibers falling into my eyes, rarely happens but since I wear contacts, I'm much more sensitive to this happening. Despite even this, I use this mascara anyway and blink away the annoyances. That's how good this is.

Highly recommended! Give it a try. I love the effect too much such that I'm working with the cons anyways.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MMarieD on 6/6/2012 7:42:00 PM more reviews by MMarieD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really great mascara! My friend tried it out before me and complained that it clumped and weighed down her lashes. I gave in to my urge and bought it; absolutely amazing results on me! I have medium length, straight eyelashes - that definitely need a volume and length boost that HOLDS. This mascara gives me long, lush lashes without that spidery look. After I curl my eyelashes, the curl really holds with this. Length+volume! I love the idea of fiber mascara's, I like to pick out the fibers, I'm just amazed by them haha. This is by far a staple in my makeup drawer. Maybelline, you're wonderful :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VIKI1120 on 6/5/2012 7:45:00 PM more reviews by VIKI1120

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At first I was happy it really gave my llashes length but then I found out it mascara smuges a lot under my eyes and made me became raccoon eyes again... So I am still looking for a mascara that doesn't smudge on me...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products