LUSH • Ocean Salt • Scrubs

rated 4.0(664 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 orangepillow on 3/28/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by orangepillow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Always been a huge fan of Lush, and turns out many years ago I bought a tub of Ocean Salt being completely taken in by its Margarita-like smell and left it in my mom's house before even using it once! Mom's skin transformed when she was using Ocean Salt, it brought out a certain brightness that was never there before.

So a couple of months ago I picked up my own tub of Ocean Salt, and I just love it! I use it every Thursdays (not more frequently because its definitely very potent) and nearly every weekend people tell me that my skin looks amazing! I have always had combination skin and the oil + dryness combo comes in the way of bright skin. But this product brings out a glow and gives a good spring cleaning after a week's worth of cosmetic use.

I want to address the controversial ingredients because this seems to be the reason for some bad reviews:

1. Salt : You know why Salt-water gargling works wonders for a sore throat? Because Salt dehydrates the bacteria that is causing infection and it "starves" them. It doesn't exactly kill the bacteria but it weakens them. This is exactly what Salt in the scrub does - its naturally abrasive, but also naturally anti-bacterial! No wonder it makes my spots dry up so fast.

2. Vodka : Alcohol has been used for centuries to sanitize - this is also anti-bacterial and works real well paired with the salt. Again, this is perfect if you have oily or combo skin with intermediate to extreme breakouts. Yes it will dry out your skin a bit, but heck that's what moisturizer is for!

3. Blue food coloring : Did you know that Candy, Gummies, Cheetos and all other colorful treats have food coloring in them ? This is the stuff you ingest at least once a week. Yes, it would be nice if Lush did not use synthetic dyes in their products, but if you think about it, you are not ingesting this product. It goes on your face, stays there for 30 seconds and washes off. Seems far safer than eating a pack of M&Ms.

One tip: if you have cystic acne use Lush Fresh Farmacy (which will dry out the cysts) and after that you can use Ocean Salt once a week to maintain. This has been my routine for sometime and it really works. Both products are drying, so use them with a good light moisturizer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AGeron on 3/7/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by AGeron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This product is amazing! I needed a good body scrub and this one just brightens my skin. I didn't really use it on my face because I'm already using a mask that exfoliates and didn't want to over do it. The smell alone sold it for me, it just smells heavenly. I'm a big fan of Lemon based scent and it stayed with me throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lipstickandleather on 3/3/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by lipstickandleather

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

as for the smell, it's amazing. this scrub has a very energizing lime scent and reminds me of a tropical vacation. i bought the smaller container, which didn't last very long. i would go with the bigger one, even though it is expensive.

as for a body scrub, it works pretty well. the only thing i wish though is that it was "grainier", if that makes sense. i like scrubs that really exfoliate, and while this one did a decent job, i feel like there was only so many "chunks" of scrub in there. at the bottom of the pot it was just the cream with barely any salt in it. there are better scrubs out there, but the smell of this one alone just makes me want to buy it again because it's that good

do not use it on your face! too harsh for a face scrub. i prefer let the good times roll.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HelloBrittney on 2/24/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by HelloBrittney

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I think it's very difficult to review LUSH products because despite a product sharing the same ingredients store to store, they are all prepared by different workers and I've never had two pots of this scrub that are the exact same in colour or texture or anything of that sort, though they all have been excellent quality.

Saying that, I may be extremely lucky compared to a lot of other reviewers.

I have sensitive skin, and this is actually the only scrub that helps tone down the oil on my face without being harsh (perhaps the vodka base?). I've only ever had fine salt (no chunks) and a very nice balance of citrus and perfume. Personally, I adore this product. I use it twice a week in the mornings and it makes my skin feel soft, super clean and look glowy.

I do agree with other reviewers though. For something with such basic ingredients, the price is a bit steep, but well worth it in my opinion.

I often have a problem with LUSH pots though, the lids don't always screw on correctly and if I ever keep them in the shower, I manage to get a fair amount of water in them even if they're closed.

Important note: IT SMELLS SO GOOD.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glockgrl on 2/20/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by glockgrl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this last week...i used it once and i broke out...it burns and i am very sorry i wasted my money....definitely not for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ScarletteLawson on 2/19/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by ScarletteLawson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in the little sample pot LUSH provides. I wanted to like this so much ( as with all LUSH products- but they just don't do It for me ) it looked really scrubby so I just used it on my shoulders where I have so mild acne. Thank god I didn't use this on my face !! It was SO scratchy and smelled weird . I used it for about a week and noticed my shoulders had much more acne . Big red inflamed pimples I don't usually get there. Your skin would have to be tough as boots to put this on your face and I wouldn't recommend as body scrub either-another LUSH disapointment

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenfaine on 2/8/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by laurenfaine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really love Ocean Salt. I adore the scent (it smells like a margarita!!) and I love how exfoliating it is. I never used this on my face because it's too harsh of an exfoliant, but used on my body it is perfection. I really like to use it on my legs before shaving. My only complaints are that the salt and citrus can sting if you have any cuts on yours hands or body, and it's really expensive for something I could easily make at home with salt, olive oil and lime juice. It's not something I buy all the time because of the price but it's a nice treat :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jdilan on 2/7/2014 1:57:00 PM more reviews by jdilan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was given a sample during one of my visits at Lush. I am so happy I did not buy this! it has a very harsh texture! If you have sensitive skin, please stay away from this stuff. I would definitely not recommend this to anyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Seaofcity on 2/4/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by Seaofcity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know where all these great reviews for this product are coming from. I can imagine one would like this if they have never used an exfoliator in their life and this was their first one.

This was recommended by the manager at my local lush store for my husband who has very sensitive skin. I don't know what he was thinking, this stuff is harsh. He tried it and said he felt like his face was on fire. So I gave it a go. It's heavily perfumed.. does not feel good on this skin, makes it very warm and feels like it's burning. I came out of the shower and my face was beat red. I'm going to use the rest of this on my legs because it is NOT good for your face. Extremely abrasive and not good for sensitive skin.

Smells good though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 janaoo4 on 2/2/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by janaoo4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

HEY! If you LOVE the feeling of rubbing citric acid, sharp salt chunks, alcohol, and perfume into fresh cuts, then BOY DOES LUSH HAVE A PRODUCT FOR YOU!

This heavily perfumed, and alcohol laced salt scrub includes sea salt chunks that are similar to the appearance of the blue meth crystals from Breaking Bad! Because copious amounts of blue food dye have multiple known health benefits! These massive, and sharp as all hell salt chunks will ripe up your face no matter how gentle you try to be! Doesn't that sound fun? Imagine rubbing glass all over your face, but that glass is made of salt so it stings like all bloody hell while your doing it.

Rubbing salt in fresh wounds not enough for you? Don't you worry, LUSH has got you covered! Included in this product are known irritants such as grapefruit, lime, alcohol, and lots of perfume. Not only do these ingrediants contribute to the stinging pain once they enter the cuts caused by the sharp salt, they also help completely strip your skin of it's protective barrier, and induce further irritation, and inflammation! Because stinging, red, blotchy skin is beautiful!

Your dreams have just become a reality. Realise your dreams of painful, inflammed, dull, dry, flakey skin by using LUSH'S Ocean Salt! You don't even need to have allergies, or sensitive skin to witness these results.

But in all seriousness, do not buy this product. I am seriously angry at myself for letting that pushy sales rep convince me that this was a good idea. I seriously feel like an idiot right now. What a waste of time and money.

Overall rating: 0/5 ( I know 0 isn't an official rating, but I'm making this a thing just for LUSH)

Price: 0/5 (You spend money on this, then have to go and buy a different product afterwards)

Packaging: 0/5 (Somehow the packaging made this worse with time, as it never seemed to seal all the way. The salt crystals clumped together into even bigger, more terrifying clumps.)

EDIT: As a side note, I've noticed that a lot of people here have been saying that they want to use this product because they have sensitive, or dry skin. This product is absolutly unsuitable for either. Salt drys out your skin big time, just think about it. Salt lamps act as dehumidifiers, you cure meat with salt, you dehydrate vegetables with salt, go work with salt and your hands will crack and bleed. Secondly it's full of alcohol which is also very drying and irritating along with the salt. All that paired with all the perfume is this product, it's spells DAMAGE for anyone with healthy skin, never mind if you have dry or damaged skin.

If you want a good scrub that is CHEAP, easy, and you could probably try tonight, try this. Get COLD PRESSED Extra Virgin Olive Oil, and Baking Soda. Sound weird? Trust me, it's amazing. Cold Pressed EVOO won't clog your pores because it's chemical structure is very similar to human sebum (oil). Oil likes oil, so when you scrub with it, it helps remove excess oil on your skin, removes more makeup than soap, and helps break down dirt and oil in clogged pores. Baking soda is amazing as an exfoliator. It helps kill bacteria that cause acne, plus it's super gentle. When mixed with olive oil, the fine particles of the baking soda gently polish away dead skin cells without leaving you raw. The only thing that I can say is that due to baking soda being alkiline (basic) in pH, it can sting a bit if you have an open sore (but at least it won't cause them like the salt in LUSH's scrub). If you do have open sores, lay off the exfoliation for now, but if you must, you can substitue fine brown sugar. After you're done, rinse with warm water, and use a little bit of mild soap to clease any excess oil.

After I used this I couldn't stop touching my face, it was SO SOFT I've never gone back, I only get stress acne around exams now. I find it so sad how over rated LUSH's products are, and how much they charge you to ruin your skin. Save yourself money, and damage to your skin and make you own scrub. Not only will it be infinatly better, but you won't be shelling out all this money for products that will only cause more skin problems.

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Scrubs products