Bourjois Volumizer Mascara

3.7

53 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/17/2011 5:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I had high hopes for this mascara after hearing some rave reviews but unfortunately, it didn't live up to the hype for me. I found that although I like the effect of using 'step 1' for separating my lashes and giving them a first coat, 'step 2' deposits FAR too much product on the brush and ends up instantly clumping my lashes even though this product claims to be non clumping!! I like a fair bit of volume on my long lashes so I find 'step 1' to be not enough and have been using a different mascara altogether for the second coat as I really hate 'step 2'...wanted to love it but will definitely not repurchase. However, I have since purchased Bourjois 'Elastic' mascara which I LOVE and have written a review on...



on 12/8/2011 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the WORST mascara I have ever used! The texture of this product is really unusual and dries REALLY fast. And when I say dry... I mean dry. Your lashes will not move at all but not in a good way. They feel like tiny sticks and after applying a generous amount of this mascara I ended up looking like I had about 3 lashes all in all. Adding several coats with this mascara is out of the question as it only makes the end result worse. I guess the "first step" isnt as bad as the second but this mascara is horrible. It was a complete waste of money.


on 12/7/2011 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was looking for a mascara to replace "They're real" of Benefit, which I was quite satisfied of before realizing that it dried out after only two month.
I read several good reviews about Volumizer so decided to go for it.
The first step doesn't do much for me, it slightly gives lenght.
The second step may be quite messy if you don't have a lash comb, or an old mascara wand to comb the huge amount of mascara!
So it's a bit complicated and takes some time to get used to but it's really worth it, my lashes are full of volume, and the mascara stays on all day, it doens't dry, nor smudge.
Update 28/12/11: I added a lippy in the overall rating. Honestly, I don't think I'm going to bother and try to find another mascara ever again. This one is just perfect! I've been using it for a few weeks now and each and every morning I'm just amazed at how long, full and perfectly defined my lashes are. A few people even asked me if I was wearing lash extensions!
I've been really disapointed by high end mascaras, such as Lancome Hypnose Doll eyes, but now I know I can get an amazing result for half the price. I don't really mind if a put loads of product on the second step, I just have to "comb" my lashes with an old wand and it's just perfect.
I LOVE IT!


on 11/30/2011 5:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

If u have short lashes I wud not recommend this. The first step does separate n define the lashes well but it does not add a lot of volume. The second step deposits quite a lot more product, on short lashes, like my lower one, it smudges n smears like crazy. On medium lashes like my upper one, it pumps up the volume really nicely, but I do have to use a comb to further separate the lashes. If u got super long lashes, I can imagine the second step to get really clumpy for u. However, u can wipe some of the product off on a tissue before applying, n get good results from it. Of cos that means some product is wasted. But I really don't think the wastage would be very high with the tissue blotting, so in general I do think that this is a very good mascara for adding volume to lashes.


on 10/24/2011 2:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

OK. My way of using this mascara is rather odd, considering I don't ever use the second step of this mascara - to me, my very long eyelashes look crazy when I apply the second step.
But the FIRST STEP, however, is aaaamazing. SO natural. I use this mascara for everyday-use, and my eyelashes are so long and full when I apply it - the best part is, that it doesn't even look like I'm wearing mascara, so I just look like my lashes are naturally that beautiful.
If you use the first step with your eyelash-curler, no one can ever say aaanything bad about your eyes - it truly is a product worth buying!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product last week, and i cannot stress how good it is, i love this product it gives my lashes a huge lift and no clumps! love love love it :) bit pricier than my usual mascara though!


on 9/5/2011 7:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara when it first came out. I was going to buy MAC Zoom however I was persuaded by the price to buy Volumizer (it costed 6 but now its around 10). No regrets with this product. I naturally have long and curled eyelashes, therefore all mascaras seem to have a good affect on me. But this mascara was easy to use, did volume my eyelashes to false lash effect and had no clumps either. This is a product worth putting money into personally. Will buy it again! :)


on 8/17/2011 12:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Great for a volume lash look without clumping!! Love it


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this mascara!!! the only downside is the price which is usually 13 but i managed to buy it on sale in boots for 8 :) the mascara does exactly what it says, i.e. creates dramatic volume without clumps, smudging or flaking. step one is ideal for a very natural look and step two added amazing volume to my lashes. i even got asked was i wearing false lashes on a night out which is brilliant. all in all i'd definitely purchase this product again and it's worth every penney :)


on 7/28/2011 11:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this mascara (only got a 4 because theres always room for improvement!) but, the reason I love it is because I do the steps the opposite way round. Use step 2 first, it puts loads of product on the lashes. Then use Step 1, and because the brush doesn't have much product on then it separates up the lashes beautifully! Just gotta use it the wrong way round :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
426 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2007 Reviews


Top Rated Bourjois Products

image

Ambre D'Or

28 reviews
Back to Top