Sally Hansen • Natural Beauty Inspired by Carmindy Your Skin Foundation [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 4.2(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 xcessa on 1/29/2011 4:44:00 PM more reviews by xcessa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first liquid foundation I've used for myself in five years. Normally I'm a devout everydayminerals girl. I have been wanting a liquid because now that I work in a warm environment, EDM just isn't lasting on my face.

I have *very* reactive, rosacean fair skin. Anything with silicones in it makes me break out hard core. I have now worn this foundation for two days with no problems - this amazes me as I had high expectations of this foundation making me look zitty and horrible.

I apply this with a non-latex damp sponge just like Carmindy does on WNTW. It's easy to apply and dries to a powdery finish. You can go over redder areas with second layers and it doesn't cake up. I'm amazed at how perfectly the Ecru Beige matches my skintone. You really can't tell I'm wearing foundation!

I would say this is somewhere around medium coverage, but leaning toward full. It definitely minimizes my freckles. A few more things: I love the pump packaging, I love that it's fragrance free. I love that it doesn't make my face itch. Excellent product. Now I need to try the other things in this line!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SiouxCat on 1/18/2011 12:08:00 AM more reviews by SiouxCat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is okay. I use the Ecru color and do find it a nice match for my fair olive skin in winter (which gets quite pale). It's a versatile pale neutral shade that I can imagine working for many people. Unfortunately, the frosted bottle makes it hard to see what color it actually is....The good thing about the packaging is the pump bottle, which is always nice for hygiene reasons & dispensing the right amount.

This foundation looks nice IF you apply it carefully. It's a little thick & tacky, and it does not blend easily. If your skin is dry/flaky at all (as it can get in winter), it will produce a very bad cakey look. I have to moisturize well before using it. For an oily skinned girl, this is not ideal (yes, sometimes I get that awful oily/flaky combo from my acne meds). However, it does have pretty good coverage if you layer VERY carefully so as to avoid the cakey look.

If you rub it in your fingers before applying, the warmth of your hands thins in a bit so it goes on better. I HAVE to use my fingers; my sephora foundation brush just does not apply it well. It then looks cakey & won't spread with it.

The wear is also just okay. My skin got a bit shiny, but nothing out of the ordinary. It withstood some blotting, but by the end of the day had worn off quite a bit.

All in all, it is too much trouble w/out enough payoff. Plus, if I tan even slightly, the shade will be too light.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scarlette77 on 1/9/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by scarlette77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This really is the best foundation I've used. Over a month, no breakouts or clogged pores. this is good because it contains silicone, which usually is no good for me. I've used them all, LM, Giorgio Armani, Chanel, Pure Minerals. It reminds me of LM cream foundation, but not as thick, which is good because, although I really loved that one, it did end up clogging my pores after daily use. Pure minerals is my second fave for faster application. This covers medium. It covers lighter with a sponge, so you end up using more; therefore I find a makeup brush gives the best finish. It is so nice and smooth. Dewy without being shiny and accentuating flaws. My skin feels like it has foundation on it, but like it. Hides discoloration and mild acne scars very well. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deedrajean on 1/4/2011 3:47:00 AM more reviews by deedrajean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

i got this after reading some reviews and from my derm doc told me to switch my foundations... and GEEZ do i like it!! the color is a tad bit off and there wasn't enough to choose from and i wish it was oil free.... but other than that oh my i like it! it doesn't seem to be making me break out (or anymore than i usually do) so that is a keeper for me :) i will still be keeping an eye on it though to make sure it doesn't start making me break out at all. anywho i have already gotten complimented on my skin after using this. mind you i have MAJOR ance scars and still some acne so it felt real nice hearing my makeup looked a little less "packed on" it just feels a lot more light weight. so all around i give it a 95 out of 100%!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ItsInHisKiss on 11/16/2010 7:34:00 PM more reviews by ItsInHisKiss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best foundation I have ever used, and I can say this with the utmost confidence. I have combination skin, so sometimes my skin is oily and broken out and sometimes it is dry to the point of peeling but clear. I've always struggled with foundation, but this one is wonderful! It doesn't dry my skin out, it doesn't cause breakouts (so far), and it looks very natural and blends well with my fair skin, while hiding what needs to be hidden.

I feel like the pump keeps my skin clean because I am not constantly handling the bottle. The only drawback I find with this foundation is the smell. Dear Lord, it smells horrible upon application, but honestly that is not enough to keep me from using it every day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Terri50 on 10/7/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Terri50

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Hard to find, but worth the search.....LOVE IT! Skin looks glowing : )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Normandy00 on 8/25/2010 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Normandy00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this foundation because i thought it would be a great foundation knowing it was inspired by carmindy and it was sorta healthy for your skin. i tried it for the first time and it feels like water to me and very thin. the worst part it smell disgusting and i was very disappointed. has great packaging, pricey for a drugstore product but horrible texture and smells gross. will never buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 washati on 8/19/2010 7:54:00 AM more reviews by washati

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had nothing but trouble choosing a foundation that matches my skin. Too orange, too pale, too cakey. I tried this after seeing it at CVS and sneaking in the only bottle that has ever performed well, my uber expensive Chanel. I matched it through the bottle and took it home to try. I mixed one pump with my Burt's Bees Carrot Day Creme, mixed in my palms and rubbed on. Immediately I noticed the the perfect match! It rubbed in well and gave medium coverage, enough so that my freckles still showed through. No caking or streaking, and the coverage lasted all day, even through a walk outside at 97 degrees. The best drugstore foundation I have found, and will definitely repurchase when I find it- not all CVSs carry this brand. Give it a try- you will be pleasantly surprised.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* insertcornynamehere on 7/7/2010 7:50:00 PM more reviews by insertcornynamehere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Like the reviewer below, I found this at Dollarama for $2 as well which is a great find. I especially like the pump dispenser which makes it sanitary and just the right amount comes out each time for a sheer layer of foundation over my face. It evens out the redness on my face, but it doesn't do anything to hide scars if that is what you are looking for in a foundation.
The only thing that could make this product better is to add SPF 20-30 in it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeItAReview on 7/7/2010 6:37:00 PM more reviews by MakeItAReview

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this product. i actually saw it recently at my dollerama for about 2 $ what an amazing price. even though the color selection aint that great :| IT IS THE BEST FOUNDATION EVER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Liquid products