Essie • Mademoiselle • Polishes

rated 4.4(382 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 twobluestripes on 11/15/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by twobluestripes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this without trying it in the store (oops) when I was looking for a more opaque pale ballet pink for work. It looked so milky and creamy in the bottle that I just assumed it was an opaque creme. Well, tried it on at home and it was SO sheer, almost clear. But not quite clear enough to prevent streaks on my 3 coat application. I just couldn't seem to get it even.
I only paid $4 at the salon supply for it. I would be very disappointed if I had paid full price. I will continue to search for the pink I want, and meanwhile, I will try this out over white tips as a french manicure, which is also a good option for my work. Perhaps it will go on less streaky when I am not trying so hard to actually make it be a nail "color". But would not repurchase. I was pretty surprised to find the color I was disappointed in had won all these awards!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gerbothree on 10/6/2012 6:12:00 AM more reviews by gerbothree

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This polish is takes a while to dry and really looks best with 3 coats.

The fully cured and dried finish is incredibly durable.

I am still wondering at the popularity of this stealth polish.

If I commit 40 minutes or so to 3 coats should it not look like I applied nail polish?

I am now looking for an opaque shimmery blue pink with lots of pigment.

Suggestions would be appreciated.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lulu94 on 10/3/2012 1:31:00 PM more reviews by lulu94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

If I could only wear one polish the rest of my life, this would be it. I probably wouldn't even be that disappointed. It goes with anything; a sheer, pale pink that's kind of nude on my cool NW15 skin. It takes 3-4 coats to get good color pay off but that's ok because it is not streaky, so if you do two one day and two the next, they'll look fine both days. It's also long-wearing and SUPER shiny, even without a topcoat. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kolwink on 9/27/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For a decade, I owned two nail polishes: a clear by Revlon, and "Blackberry Wine Frost" by Sally Hansen. I rarely used either, because- thanks to my dad- I have genes that give me really small and oddly-shaped nails. Plus I tend to trim them *really* short, to the point where everyone accuses me of biting them, or wonders incredulously how they are not actively bleeding.


The point is, I don't think I have nails which are really worth showcasing. (Although, as yet another tangent, my introduction to MUA came several years ago. I could not find a new bottle of Blackberry Wine Frost ANYWHERE, so in despair I created a MUA account and posted a "help!" message. Later that same day, somebody awesome went out and bought 2 bottles from her local CVS in, like, Cincinnati. She mailed 'em to me straight off and wouldn't accept payment! I did end up sending her a couple bars of Ghirardelli chocolate from SF though. Anyway, that was my first experience with MUA, which is awesome.)


So, to continue my long story. I wear nail polish like once every few months, always the Sally Hansen deep red.


Then one day I started reading about how nail polish formulas have been changing. Essie and OPI seemed to be the most reliable in going "3 free" and ditching dibutyl phthalate, toluene and formaldehyde. That seemed like a great idea, and I decided to switch.


However, I don't like buying things I won't use regularly, so I spent far too much time researching the perfect nail polish. In the end, I stuck to my conservative, unadventurous, follow-the-herd-or-at-least-magazine-editors, "Best of 2011 sez Instyle Magazine!" ways, and bought Mademoiselle.


Yeah, I'm finally getting around to reviewing the actual product in question!


What I am quite pleased with:
- this polish makes my nails look like themselves, only better
- they look rosy and polished and shiny and healthy
- the whole "3 free" thing


This was my first experience with Essie polish, and everything I'd read- good LORD there are a lot of nail blogs out there, people take polish very seriously- prepared me for how runny, thin, and prone to streakiness the formulas were. Yup. Well, I was prepared, but still had some trouble, since I don't really know the best way for putting on polish, apparently. But I eventually figured out that one thin coat seemed to suit my needs.


Since I don't use (or, um, own) base coat or top coat, that could be the reason why the polish started wearing and chipping off within three days. That or the large number of dishes I had to wash after a dinner party. I distinctly remember scrubbing a large pressure cooker with wire mesh- do you think that could have shortened the life of my manicure?


Perhaps. Anyway, I am joining the chorus to say that Mademoiselle is a really nice, subdued, low-key nail polish. Truly the "like your own nails but better" option.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheeky on 9/17/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by cheeky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

this is my second essie nail polish, and i do like it a lot, but it's much lighter than i thought it would be. it definitely does not look like the color of the bottle for whatever reason, still a really pretty nude though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 8/7/2012 3:08:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very sheer, milky baby pink on my nails. I love to wear this when I wanna give my nails a break from color, but I still want my nails to look done. Formula wasn't too liquidy or too goopy, dried pretty quick. Pretty color but I wouldn't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloie9 on 8/5/2012 8:56:00 PM more reviews by chloie9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect transparent milky pink shade for a natural manicure. I have bought OPI Bubble Bath in the past, but I happened to buy this Essie shade just because the shop I happened to be in didn't carry OPI. Very nice color. Works well with my pale/neutral coloring, neither to warm nor too cool a pink shade. Good alternate to Bubble Bath. If you want an opaque milky pink, this is not it. You'd probably have to apply 4 or 5 coats to come anywhere near opaque. This is meant to be transparent for a natural or French manicure. 1 or 2 coats of this is perfect for a natural nail look-my naturally white tips show through and aren't made too pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 8/4/2012 5:38:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is beautiful. Looks very simple & elegant: like naked nails, only cleaner and more groomed. Great for the office or a low-key weekend look.

If you expect an opaque pink, don't get this! I hear Fiji is great if you want no sheerness in your light pink polish. Mademoiselle is sheer (and it's supposed to be).
One coat of this does very little compared to a base coat. But add one more layer and your nails will look ever so slightly lighter, fresher, cleaner and healthier... I love the way it makes my hands look a little tanner than usual. The white tips of your nails will still be visible so it looks like a French manicure. I guess the name was a bit of a giveaway. I've heard Ballet Slippers is similar but pinker and streakier. Mademoiselle looks lighter in the bottle than Ballet Slippers and in my experience it doesn't streak.

I get about a week's wear out of this, as I do with all Essie polishes so far. I do have to stop at 2 coats though, any more and it starts to pile up so you can see the edges coming loose after a few showers, if that makes sense.

I tried a few OPI polishes recently but I definitely prefer the consistency and finish of my favourite Essies :) I love my classics: for now I'm sticking with Mademoiselle, Aperitif, A-list, Bordeaux and Wicked.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChaseSpearing on 7/31/2012 8:08:00 PM more reviews by ChaseSpearing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After being SO disappointed by Essie's 'ballet slipper' I decided to grab a bottle of this at Target. It did after all have an 'editors pick' sticker underneath it :D

And I am OVER THE MOON with this polish. It is a VERY sheer pink that makes your nails look so much healthier and looking less like you hit each one with a hammer. I have a lot of little white specks on my nails and this polish fades them and makes them less noticeable. I do dance and gymnastics so my nails always have those little specs on them.

Be warned however, what you see in the bottle is not what you get on your nails. Like I said before, it is VERY sheer, so if you aren't into that try a more opaque pink from the line :)

I've only been wearing it for around an hour so I can't really say anything for lasting power and chipping but so far I enjoy it quite a bit. FIVE LIPPIES.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chickengifts on 7/29/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by chickengifts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This nailpolish is just plain transparent. I didn't see any pink, white, or just any color at all! I thought this would be a good nailpolish for a french manicure, but really it is colorless :(.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products