Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2290 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 5/13/2015 2:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I wore this foundation for about a month in a dry climate during the winter. I have dry skin with some sensitivities, and this is one of the few foundations that does not contain the ingredient that ticks my skin off, so I had high hopes!

...that were promptly demolished.

Shade 117 was a decent match for my skin, but within a few hours of wearing it, I noticed it would begin to get a wee bit worse for wear. And eventually, full on grease. This was after experimenting with application methods: fingers only, primer (Laura Mercier Hydrating), no primer, brush, Beautyblender, powder under ("Goss method"), powder over--all a bust and would yield the same results, though the Goss method did hold it off for about a half hour longer.

For the life of me, I couldn't figure out why this was happening. I experimented with other moisturizers (at the time, I was using CeraVe in the tub)--so I tried a few oils and a few other things to no avail. Until I came upon a description on the Sephora website about an added moisturizer in the product, which I suspect is the culprit for this effect. I know several other Reddit users with dry skin on /r/makeupaddiction had similar experiences to this too.

Overall, it didn't work for me and I suspect it may be too moisturizing for oily or combo skin folk, so I'm not particularly sure who this is being marketed towards at this point. This being said, your mileage may vary and you might enjoy it. Here's my take away on it:

Pro:

- No SPF! (no flashback; most foundation doesn't carry enough SPF to give you adequate protection in any case)
- Wide variety of color options available
- No tocopherol
- Did not emphasize dry flakes, even in a cold climate (North Midwest USA) during winter

Con:

- Gives a greasy appearance instead of luminous
- Begins to show wear and tear a few hours in

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the foundation that I'm currently using. A Sephora rep directed me to shade 115 which in natural lighting in front of a mirror, is about the closest match to my skin color that I've gotten from a foundation so far.

What's befuddling to me, and contrary to a number of other reviews here and elsewhere (which tend to sing the praises of this stuff if for no other reason than how well it photographs), is that it looks horrible on me in pictures. Very aging.

It's weird, and I don't necessarily fault the foundation. Could be that I always wear a high SPF sunscreen underneath, could be that I'm just that damn pale, could be that shades that are a slight mismatch (with more of a yellow undertone) are actually more flattering. I dunno. Whatever the reason, I look about 10-15 years older in pictures wearing this vs. going barefaced (where I look mid-20s instead of well, my actual age (38)). Then again, I don't recall experiencing this with other foundations I've tried.

I would also prefer a formula with more staying power as I don't feel this wears quite as well over the course of a day as some other brands I've tried. Rubs off very easily on the collar of my favorite little black jacket ($$$ dry cleaning bill!).

That said, it's easy to apply and blends well and is certainly not a bad product by any means. I have no preference at this point as to whether using a brush or my fingers works better for this they both get the job done. Also, the shade is such a good match for my skin tone that I will at least probably use it as a reference for finding other foundations that might be a formula I like better though I may seek out something a little more yellow to correct for my overly pinkish undertones.

[EDIT 5.17.2015: I recently completely switched up my approach to foundation, and am now using one targeted towards oily/combination skin even though my skin is normal to dry. I think my high SPF sunscreen may be the culprit as it has a sheen that bleeds through the foundation layer and works much better (both in natural lighting and photos) with a mattifying formula that tamps down the shine as opposed to one on the dewy side (MUFE HD, for example). Much happier now with the new approach, but not sure whether or not to revise the number of lippies I've given this one. For now, leaving as is, because of the longevity issues.]

[EDIT 7.05.2015: MUFE is reformulating the HD line for 2015: http://www.thestyleandbeautydoctor.com/2015/06/new-make-up-for-ever-ultra-hd-liquid-ultra-hd-stick-review-swatches-on-dark-skin/. 40 different shades! Will be keeping an eye on this one to see if it lasts longer than the original or otherwise might work better.]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2015 8:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Did not like this foundation at all! I heard so many good things, and I usually like to find a bunch of reviews and videos about products before I purchase them, but this was one of those things that just did not work for me. I gave it a try a few more times but NOPE! it melts of my face even though i apply powder on top, the only plus about this foundation is that its very creamy and goes on dewy which i love! but just doesn't stay on.


on 5/11/2015 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used this foundation for a few weeks and thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. I was telling everyone how beautiful it applied on my skin and it gave me a lovely youthful glow. I have tried a lot of foundations in the past and nothing came close! Unfortunately I started to get pimples, spots, blackheads and whiteheads everywhere!!! My skin started to burn too! 😔 I've stopped using it now and my skin is slowly getting better. I never get spots so it was a it of a shock. Really really disappointed.


on 5/5/2015 5:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been on the search for my HG foundation for a while now, and this is definitely not it. I tried it a while ago but decided to buy it again in case my opinion may have changed. It's honestly just OK- nothing special about it in my opinion. It looks somewhat matte for maybe an hour or two and then turns into a streaky, oily mess. It emphasizes dry spots like no other and the coverage is just not enough for my (pretty light) acne scars and a few blemishes here and there. I've tried to layer it on top of my blemishes and it doesn't cover much. The shade N117 is perfect for me, but that's pretty much the only positive thing about this product. Not worth the $42.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2015 1:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Its pricey at 42$, but it last a good ~4 months even with heavier coverage. The shade N117 matched me perfectly and didn't oxidize at all. The only problem I had was the packaging--you can't see how much you have left so when you run out, its a surprise (and you cant unscrew the top to use up the remainder.) It has build able coverage, so you can either use one layer for a light coverage or a couple (good for covering up acne/scars.) It's a great foundation for acne-prone or combination skin--it doesn't break you out or highlight any dry patches you may have. Now that I've fixed my dry skin issue however, I use a powder foundation. Me and MUFE HD had a good run though, and I recommend it for girls with sensitive skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2015 7:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have give this product a few tries and I'm pretty disappoint with it. After a lot of youtubers recommending this foundation, and claiming it to be full coverage I hope it could cover up my blemishes and redness whilst looking natural. Unfortunately it doesn't look up to my expectation.

This foundation covers up redness pretty well but not as well for acne scars and blemishes. It looks rather cakey on my face, I've tried brushes, fingers and sponges and it still looks foundation sitting on my face. Since it claims that there isn't any SPF in it, I've worn in for my graduation dinner, but for some reason it does not photograph well under flash lights. Though this may be due to the setting powder that I've used.

The worst part of this foundation is it break me out. Every time after using this foundation there will be some huge acne and blemishes on my forehead and chin area, and this does not happen to me with other foundation like the RCMA and Cover FX.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This product is around a 3.5 for me. I wanted a foundation for special events where I would need something that was full coverage and photography friendly. Naturally, I chose this one as its claims matched my needs, and being oil-free, it seemed suitable for my oily skin.

This foundation's redeeming quality is that it looked gorgeous in photography. GORGEOUS. It provided full coverage, concealing blemishes and redness and made my skin look photo-shopped - radiant and flawless. Moreover, the shade 120 Soft Sand matches my skin perfectly.

Off-camera? Different story. This product did not live up to its claims of being "invisible"; it was in fact very cakey (I had to layer the foundation to achieve full coverage, causing this effect). It felt greasy on the skin despite being oil-free and hardly contained my oils for more than two hours. After 3-4 hours, it looked even worse as it had separated.

I'd recommend this product to someone with fairly normal skin, as I've heard that it clings to dry patches. I have not heard of the product separating on anyone else, so it's possible that my bottle was part of a bad batch or something.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 9:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been eyeing this foundation for years. I always heard great things about it and I know a lot of celebrity make up artists use this. I watched tons of YouTube videos of gurus who have never let me down raving about this stuff. So I finally caved in, and I am so disappointed. I first had the sephora SA apply this to my skin with a beauty blender, it clung to every dry patch, however, I attributed the dryness to the hourglass mineral veil primer she applied before the foundation. When I went home and applied it, it clung to my dry patches yet again with no primer underneath. It clung to dry patches I didn't even know I had. And I was VERY well moisturized prior to applying. This is the most disappointing foundation I have tried so far. If you have even slightly dry skin, invest your money into a different foundation


on 5/1/2015 3:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

Last year at my sister's wedding the MA used this on my face.

Now at first I thought it was over-rated but when I looked at the pictures I decided I need to grab a bottle!

The foundation goes on smoothly and is one of the few that looks good in photos for me so it's a keeper.


Pros

- Bottle comes with a pump but I need one and half for proper coverage which I find to be odd.
- It's full coverage so most of the time I don't need a concealer with it.
- I have sensitive skin and this one is very gentle on it so big plus there.
- A subtle satin finish so perfect for that healthy yet expensive look (matte ages, stay with satin!)
- Cooler colours are pretty good, most have them too yellow and I end up needing to mix it to get the right shade for me but here I found the perfect tint for me.


Cons

- It's a bit expensive but the bottle is pretty big so you get your money's worth.
- You NEED a primer with this thing, it doesn't matter how good your skin is, no primer = no foundation after 2 hours. with a primer however it'll last for 8+ hours with me (I take it off after so I'm pretty sure it will last longer if I left it on) I always add a light powder on top of my liquid foundations so not sure if that helps it or not but this is the only one I own that really needs a primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top