Maybelline • Lash Discovery Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.5(778 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 avamarie on 8/28/2005 3:18:00 PM more reviews by avamarie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my favorite mascaras. Great for defining every lash without clumping. A great everyday mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gabygirl on 8/28/2005 4:13:00 AM more reviews by gabygirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I agree that this mascara is definitely underrated because it is wonderful! The little brush does discover each of your smaller lashes and brings them out. If you like a more dramatic, plumper look you probably will be disappointed with this product, but if you prefer a more natural look, an easy to handle brush and better than average lengthening, I'd recommend you try this. Better yet, if you're thinking of buying ANY expensive mascara, try this first, it'll set you back only about $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 8/26/2005 10:16:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been searching for my HG mascara for over a year now, and this one is one of the best out there, IMO. I have tried Revlon Fabulash (stunk), L'Oreal (Full Definition Voluminous, Lash Architect & Panoramic ("yikes" to the latter), several other Maybelline versions, Sonia Kashuk, MAC, Lancome, Estee Lauder, Clinique, Dior, Max Factor, etc., etc... and the list goes on and on! I have spent a FORTUNE on mascara in the past several years, yet still, I find that the most reliable, best performer out there is my Lash Discovery by Maybelline! I am surprised this did not receive higher marks on MUA, becuz I feel it deserves high praise and recognition. My second fave is Estee Lauder's Lash XL, but that is SOOOOOO very expensive for mascara, IMO. Who wants to spend over $20 on a tube of mascara, when Maybelline's Lash Discovery costs so much less... especially when you catch it on sale? Lash Discovery outperforms many of the more expensive mascaras that I have tried, all without the clumps and flakes! The tiny brush doesn't overburden my curled lashes and weigh them down, nor does it leave splotches all over my upper eyelids the way some of those bigger-wanded mascaras do. All this, and it gives me the length and volume that I am looking for from any good mascara. I have repurchased (and plan to again and again), and I highly recommend this. :o)EDIT 2/22/06:Took a few lippies off, I like Maybelline's Full n' Soft much better. Lash Discovery leaves me with raccoon eyes by the end of the day, where Full n' Soft barely smudges, and when it does, it only smudges on my lower lashes. Lash Discovery leaves me with dark rings in my crease (upper lids), and black smudges under my lower lashes by late afternoon. ~NOT GOOD~ I still like LD, but I only use it when I know I won't be out all day and night, becuz it doesn't hold up to the challenge. Full n' Soft has longer wear with less smudging, at least for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Whatsername712 on 8/23/2005 3:51:00 PM more reviews by Whatsername712

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this at a sale, buy any maybelline mascara, get one free. The other I got was Full N Soft, but back to this:
I love the mini wand, because ti does grab all of my lashes, and make my eyes look more open, but what I don't like is the fact that after 2 coats, it starts to clump up. It's a nice mascara if you only use two coats, and it does give you a wide eyed look. I'd probably buy it again just because it grabs all the lashes, I use it with Full N soft, and it looks amazing. This is a nice mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KristiCat on 8/21/2005 11:29:00 PM more reviews by KristiCat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I use this mascara in the waterproof formula, and really like it. I tried this product for the first time last summer after reading a review for it in Allure magazine. I had been using mascaras that cost a lot more than this and thought I'd try it since I could save a little money. Without mascara, my lashes are short, and not so visible, so I like a mascara that can lengthen and thicken. I also want my mascara to look natural, not as though I'm wearing 10 coats of tar. The results that I get with Lash Discovery are just as good, if not better, than pricier mascaras. I believe the smaller, more manageable applicator brush is the key. With the narrower brush, I have more control over the application of the mascara, because there isn't so much mascara on the brush in the first place. I am able to separate my lashes with each stroke and even pick up the tiny lashes at the corners of my eyelids. This mascara lengthens my lashes significantly. It does also thicken them a little, but not too much. If you are looking for a real thickening mascara, Lash Discovery may not be the right choice. For the look that I prefer, it is just right for me. I apply 2 coats for daytime, and 3 coats for night. I also use a good eyelash separator with a metal comb in between each coat. This further helps to separate lashes and prevents clumping. LD mascara also comes off easily with eye make-up remover, and again, I use the waterproof formula. This mascara is easily found at WalMart, Target or grocery and drugstores. Price usually ranges from $5-$7, a very fair price for a very good mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shuli on 8/21/2005 7:48:00 AM more reviews by shuli

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

the small brush makes application much easier! i use it with my maybelline xxl base and it gives me long and volumious lashes! i do apply a few coats to give my lashes the added volume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JemJemz on 8/18/2005 1:06:00 PM more reviews by JemJemz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this mascara. It is perfect for my lower lashes. I use this everyday and it never flakes off. I adore the tiny brush!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jan232 on 8/18/2005 9:20:00 AM more reviews by jan232

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The only thing this mascara is good for is to help you "discover" those tiny lashes, which is nice, if you only plan to use them on your bottom lashes. I tried using it under my regular mascara, but it did not do much for me. I now use it on my bottom lashes in the morning. Not worth the $6

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franticog on 8/16/2005 8:43:00 AM more reviews by franticog

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in the waterproof version for my teenaged daughter. She read about it in Teen Vogue. Before, she always wore clear mascara to avoid looking like she had too much makeup on. LD is a little gem and really brings out her eyes, while still maintaining that 'natural' look that is so important to her (and me). With the easy to handle teenie little brush, it takes minimal effort on her part to apply it and have perfectly darkened lashes. Of course she has youthful, long lashes to start with. I tried it on my 40-year-old self and it didn't give enough volume for me. I need more than this offers but it is perfect for young-ens!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* psychoexgirlfriend on 8/16/2005 1:36:00 AM more reviews by psychoexgirlfriend

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Tiny brush which helps get the small neglected lashes in the corner. It doesn't do so much in the way of lengthening or volumizing. But it's a good mascara to use in addition to your regular masrcara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products