Revlon • Nearly Naked Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.5(449 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Sonia19 on 1/31/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by Sonia19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have used and loved Colrstay for many, many years. CS was there for me throughout my years of acne, and then for the post-acne marks. It's here for me now with fairly clear skin. Then WHY did I stray?? I guess I was enticed by the name, "Nearly Naked". I thought, "Wow, this is going to be light and melt into my face and be awesome!" Uh, no. First off, CS color range is much more reasonable as they have cool tones and warm tones. For reference, I am NC40-42, Golden Caramel in CS and 200 Warm Beige in Nearly Naked. This fdnt. range seems to be much more catered to neutral/cool tones so maybe that was the main thing wrong with this for me, the color. Second, it has SPF 20 which is great but it leaves this terrible white cast on your face; I cringe thinking how it would look in flash photography. I mean, come on, True Match has SPF and the white cast is not like this at all.
Overall, this foundation just seems to sit on top of my skin. It evens out my skin tone but I still have to use concealer, which I usually don't have to with my CS. Will not be repurchasing and I wish I could return this. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soeth23x on 1/31/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by soeth23x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! It's great on my drier skin, stays on all day! It gives the skin a very nice glowy finish but it is not shiny at all! The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a pump and it does get messy. :( It's a great quality foundation for the price. I was impressed! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 oohlalaT on 1/30/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by oohlalaT

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My shade: Toast (MAC NC 43/44)
I live in Southern California, where it's still warm and relatively dry - even in winter.

Honestly, I don't know what compelled me to even try this out. Probably just tired and wanting to switch things up. I typically wear Revlon Colorstay Combo/Oily, but I don't like how flat/ultra-matte it makes my skin look. I have combination skin which is normal/dry on my cheeks, but my T-zone is out of control with the oil. I typically have to blot the center of my face 2-3 times in a 12-hour period.


Coverage:
Compared to Colorstay, Nearly Naked is a thinner formula that is surprisingly medium coverage. Not light building to medium. Solid medium. I have hyperpigmentation on my cheeks and I amazed to see that there was significant coverage with just one layer. I did still need to apply concealer to the darker spots, but the red spots were pretty much covered. For the record, I applied with a MAC 187 duo-fiber/stipling brush.


Finish:
You would think that Nearly Naked would provide a light, dewy finish, but honestly I would describe it as more of a semi-dewy, satin finish that, upon application, does mimic freshly moisturized bare skin - which is something I like because to me it looks most natural. However, I noticed on my cheeks that within an hour, once it's had time to set, it becomes more dull and oddly powder-like even though I did not set it with powder. I only set my T-zone with MAC Blot Powder where I get oily. Speaking of which, in my T-zone the foundation became more oily than usual within 5 hours.


Color:
If I had one qualm with Revlon, it would definitely be the poor variety of shades provided, especially for women darker than medium coloring and with warm undertones. Unfortunately, Nearly Naked seems to be consistent with that as well. I would say that from what I've seen the shades between Colorstay and Nearly Naked seem to run true. I also wear Toast in Colorstay, and am equally dissatisfied with the pink/orange undertone in Nearly Naked. To make matters worse, I did notice extreme oxidization with Nearly Naked which progressed along with the day. I'm used to a bit of oxidation as my skin is kind of oily, but I caught a glimpse in a mirror and was pretty mortified at how orange I was.


Wear:
I found that this stayed fairly well on my cheeks, but pretty much disappeared from my nose and forehead by midday when the oil really came through. I would like to point out that I don't typically wear traditional primers (they tend to cause breakouts for me), but I did use Milk of Magnesia to prime and Urban Decay De-Slick setting spray before and after application.


Packaging:
Tsk. Tsk. Revlon for the same undesirable glass bottle packaging sans pump. Yes, you need to pour out just like with Colorstay. Wasteful and unsanitary, indeed.


Price:
I purchased this at CVS for 9.99. Standard 30 ml of product.


Miscellaneous:
This foundation does have an SPF of 20. Which is nice for some people. I, personally, don't care for it as I prefer to use my own choice of spf, and am more concerned with it causing extra unwanted oilness and white cast/photo flashback.

Also, I've been experimenting with this foundation over the past week and a half, and I can't say that it has caused me any more breakouts. I always have 2-3 blemishes and this hasn't helped or hurt the condition of my skin.


Conclusion: I feel like this could be a great foundation for those with Normal/Dry skin types and Cool/Neutral skin tones. For Combination/Oily skin I just don't feel like it's worth the trouble of the blotting necessary to make this look decent. I will still rate this foundation a 3 because I don't think it's fair due to the fact that I don't believe this was necessarily targeted toward my particular skin type. But definitely negative for the color selection and the packaging. That said, I might continue to experiment with the bottle I have, but will not repurchase in the future.


Still Not Ready To Give Up On This?:
I tried something out today which made me like this a lot better. I first applied a thin layer of Colorstay all over my face with a wedge sponge, sprayed with UD De-Slick, and let that set. I then applied a thin layer of Nearly Naked with the wedge sponge over the Colorstay and sprayed again with UD. I have to say I liked the result a lot more. It gave me the longevity and oil-control of Colorstay with the more natural, less dry look of Nearly Naked. I've been wearing this for going on 14 hours now and it still looks pretty decent, and I noticed only the faintest amount of oxidation. I think the Colorstay acted as a nice base/barrier for the Nearly Naked. So if you're still trying to make this work for your oily skin, try this method out for a day and see how you like it.

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashmiaka on 1/30/2013 6:39:00 PM more reviews by ashmiaka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have normal-dry skin, am NC20-25, and generally have a clear face with some redness on my cheeks. i bought this in 130 shell.

130 shell seems to be a decent color match, though not exact. the coverage on me is pretty inconsistent... i find it to be light-medium coverage on my cheeks (not quite covering the redness in my cheeks), but medium-full coverage everywhere else on my face easily evening out my skintone. however, i do struggle with it near my undereye area where the foundation makes it look a little unnatural. also, for some reason, it seems to accentuate the pores around my nose but doesn't quite cover the tip of my nose fully.

the foundation is quite liquidy and spread easily enough on my face. i don't need much at all for a full face (maybe dime-quarter size). i found that using my fingers provide the most natural look (i've also tried using it with the sigma F80 andRT expert face brush). once applied, the foundation has a slight tacky / sticky feel to it but it doesn't feel heavy. it does, however, require a setting powder before applying blush and/or bronzer. there is also a slight dough / flour scent to the foundation which i don't like but doesn't really bother me either. it seems to wear fairly well and is matte. when i wear this, i do look like i have makeup on, but it doesn't look heavy or mask-like. my biggest problem with this foundation is that i have a sneaking suspicion that it causes me to break out a little, seeing as every time i wear this foundation a new zit pops up somewhere on my face. that is a dealbreaker for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kd67373 on 1/30/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by kd67373

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I am a foundation junkie, as most are on this website, and I really like this foundation. Not the best, but im still on the search for the best. I wanted a foundation that looked natural but actually provided coverage, so something more than a bb cream. This foundation is it. It is pretty matte which is good for people with oily skin. i usually have it one from around 6:30 in the morning to 9 at night (law school life) and it looks fine. i have to powder it, but only once, and I could actually get by without powdering probably. it actually stays better than my old foundation, chanel matte lumiere. I had no problems with the color matching. it looks darker in the bottle than it is in real life. I wear shade 130.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ichigo6420 on 1/30/2013 1:33:00 AM more reviews by ichigo6420

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing, i loved the finished it was perfectly matte, ( a bit too matte for my taste, i like a slight glow), price was reasonable, in Canada at shoppers it said it was originally $15.., but it was on sale for $10, my only concerns was that the shade i had purchased (Vanilla) was a mite bit light, and it took three layers to get decent coverage. On the third I the nearly naked with revlon colorstay in Toast which is about 2 shades two dark.

The coverage was okay I have acne scars, and I already had some light concealer, you could barely see the acne scars and pimples peeking through

The finish combined was amazing. Personally, I hated hated the revlon colorstay and was immensely disapointed (it sells for $20 here in Canada!) the finish was unatural, cakey and if felt and smelt like a bunch of horribly toxic chemicals. But with the slightly too sheer and light nearly naked it was the perfect combo.

I loved it. I finished with a few taps of baby oil (don't laugh, it's affordable and actually works ! hehe) and it was slightly dewy, natural looking, like my skin but better!

I"m really glad I found this, too too glad, I was going to go out and buy a high end foundation from Sephora, like benefit oxygen or nars sheer glow or something like that, this saved me $35 dollars! Will definitely repurchase, maybe in a darker shade.. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 1/29/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

I purchased this in "Ivory" before reading any reviews. After reading the reviews, I was a little nervous, since practically every PPP review scorns "Ivory" for being "pink x 1000" and "Vanilla" the next shade up, which is usually yellow in the Revlon line, as being a better alternative.
Well, I disagree. This is a great match for NW10-15, probably more NW10. While it only provides light to medium coverage, this is a great foundation to try if you are limited to a drugstore and have very fair skin. Most fair skin drugstore foundations make the "Cover Girl" mistake and are so pink they lose the pale quality because there is so much pigment. This foundation, however, is fair enough and not as pigmented as other foundations, and would be a great one to try if you need a foundation to mix into another to lighten it (this is seriously pale!) or if you can't wear most pale foundations because they swing either too pink or too yellow. This is definitely cool-toned, but it's not PINK. It's PALE. Kudos to Revlon, this will be one of my winter foundations in rotation, especially with the broad spectrum spf20. I also recommend this because when you wear a foundation this pale, having any more foundation on your face than is absolutely necessary gives you "mask face." Thankfully, this comes in a sheer formula. If you have acne scarring, you will need to spot conceal some, but the coverage is actually not that bad for a "light coverage" foundation.
It didn't break me out, and it lasted pretty long without turning into an oily mess or fading off my face in patches, as many drugstore foundations do.
Only con really is that the packaging sucks, you have to dump the bottle over and the neck is narrow. A pump would have been nice to include.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 1/29/2013 9:27:00 PM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect for a day that you want a light make up look! I use this with a bronzer and a blush and voila! When i just want a more natural look! It goes well on the application,it last fairly long with the powder,the finish is natural! love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taylortracey on 1/29/2013 11:46:00 AM more reviews by taylortracey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Best foundation ever! I thought buying the expensive brands meant better quality but this is the first foundaion that I actually love. I have the shade 130 Shell, after wearing it for eight hours a coworker asked about why I looked bright? It doesn't have the "you have foundation on" look. It doesn't emphasize lines or crepiness. I would have given it a 5, it it had a pump.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trinity32 on 1/29/2013 10:58:00 AM more reviews by trinity32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say that I have only written 1 other review and I've been a member of this site for 6 years. This foundation is excellent. I am not just 'acne-prone' I HAVE ACTIVE SPOTS....this covers them enough. If you need a full coverage foundation DONT BUY SOMETHING CALLED NEARLY NAKED!!!!!!!!!!!!

This foundation lasts all day on my oily skin. Its not a matte finish really but not overly 'dewy' either. The color match is excellent. I use the Real Techniques duo-fiber foundation brush to apply the foundation that I pour out of the bottle onto the back of my hand. I have layered this up to 3 times so far with NO CAKEYNESS. The initial layer is enough but I'm OCD about acne showing so I layer more.

This does have a sunscreen but I use a separate one anyway. This is one of the best foundations I have ever used....this is vs. high end and drug store. I was/am a huge fan of Revlon Colorstay both liquid and whipped, but I don't always need that much coverage.

I'm NC35 and use medium beige 180 (I think the number is 180). I also tried warm beige but it was a bit too dark for me. I don't ever really use primer so I can not speak to how this would work over any. This foundation does NOT feel like a mask at all.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Foundations products