Clean & Clear • Oil-Free Dual Action Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.7(822 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mggimcg on 1/22/2010 1:07:00 PM more reviews by mggimcg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh...I really wanted to like this product...but I braced myself upon buying it to not get my hopes up about finding a new moisturizer for such a cheap price. I'm glad I did. This is an oil free moisturizer with 0.5% salicylic acid, on paper it sounds great, on skin...not so much. The first day I used this I really, really liked it. I've experimented with a lot of moisturizers, some better than others, and I was hoping this could be my new, cheap, HG. Unfortunately, something in this is a little too harsh. I wouldn't describe my skin as overly sensitive, or acne prone, just normal, pale skin with the occasional blemish. I wanted to use this as a preventative in order to keep any tiny imperfections away. Instead, after repeated uses this moisturizer caused me to develop small, but noticeable red, burn like marks underneath my mouth, and beside my nose. Basically it just looked very irritated and it hurt too. It went away after I applied some Polysporin (great for the occasional blemish too, by the way!)and had a good nights sleep, but I don't think I'll be re-using this product anytime soon. Maybe for a spot treatment? Although I think I'd rather just do an Aspirin mask and get a higher dosage of salicylic acid instead of the 0.5%...which I'm not sure is enough to actually accomplish anything! Anyway, if you have normal, not really acne prone, or oily skin...I probably wouldn't recommend this to you. I think that moisturizer is probably the one beauty product where it's okay to splurge a little because you have to wear your skin for the rest of your life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ulaxoxo on 1/17/2010 7:31:00 PM more reviews by ulaxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product but only for the summer. My face feels so soft and invigorated and the scent is absolutely refreshing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missprisspink on 1/17/2010 5:42:00 PM more reviews by missprisspink

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a decent product. However, I recommend this for summer(it lightly moisturizes, and for winter you need a heavier one). This has a cooling sensation and It goes on very nicely. But it doesn't help very dry spots; its basically for daily moisturizing for oily/combo skin. If you have dry skin this might dry it out more since it has 0.5% salicylic acid. I use this under my makeup or my Pro Activ moisturizer. You don't need to pack it on, it might dry your skin out even more. As I said this is just for light coverage, so try Nivea or something for winter or if you have very sensitive/dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tarapickholtz on 1/15/2010 12:50:00 AM more reviews by tarapickholtz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Although it isn't a complete miracle for me, I can't live without it! After a while, I stopped using this product to switch to anti-aging products (I'm in my 20's, so just more of a preventative) and yikes, my skin broke out pretty bad. I didn't realize how much this stuff was helping until I stopped!

I definitely have combination skin. This product helps smooth and moisturize my face, without being too heavy a product. I use it all over. It helps the problem areas with light to moderate acne clear up. It doesn't clear my skin 100%, so I still need to use spot treatments as needed, but boy it sure does help! It also helps control oil. If you have any dry areas of your face, I'd suggest using something more moisturizing in those spots. I use another moisturizer around my mouth and eyes.

I like that the bottle's cap can be turned to lock it in place. This really helps when traveling! I wish my C&C fash wash had the same, because it pumped and leaked all over the place in a bag once. This product is a pretty good price too, around $5-6, and lasts a decent amount of time.

If you have combination skin that breaks out easily, this is likely a good product to look into! I have the type of skin that will break out with an OIL FREE moisturizer, even though it shouldn't! The salicylic acid in this one really, really helps! My skin can be sensitive too (I get itchy spots and redness quite easily from allergies), but it isn't bothered by this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* careypiper on 1/14/2010 3:54:00 PM more reviews by careypiper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If you suffer from hormonal breakouts this won't help to prevent them. I purchased it to go along with Ponds Deep Cleaner & Make-up Remover knowing that the cleaner is heavy and I didn't want to go overboard with moisturizer. I hoped this light formula would help with the added protection but it did not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaelovesmac on 1/14/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by jaelovesmac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I seriously cannot live without this product. I've used this for probably alittle over 4 years. I love how it has a cooling effect on my skin, and how it moisturizes. I have never seen this help my acne though, but its okay. I run though this pretty quickly because i use two pumps day and night. I wish it lasted longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tommie2013 on 1/12/2010 11:04:00 PM more reviews by tommie2013

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product obviously for my face to see if it would help with my breakouts. Unfortunately my face did not get any better with it, so I stopped using it. The reason I rate it 5 lippies is because I have also been struggling with chest acne. :( I wanted to use up my old acne products so I decided why not just use them on my chest. I started putting this moisturizer on my chest and shoulders after my daily shower, and what do you know? My acne cleared up! I was completely surprised that it cleared up my chest acne and not my face, but I'm just really happy I finally found something that worked. I will repurchase for sole purpose of using on my chest. lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HardToConcentrate on 1/11/2010 7:29:00 PM more reviews by HardToConcentrate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely LOVE this moisturizer. I'd been using it for about 3 years straight, and then one day I ran out and I couldn't find it (AHH!) so I bought some Garnier stuff that was just ok. Then, recently, I got some VERY severe dry patches around my chin (think, flaking if I smiled or moved the skin, and very rough feeling) and the Garnier wasn't helping at all. In fact, it burned when I put it on. Well, I went out to buy some makeup remover and lo and behold, my beloved dual action moisturizer was back on the shelves!!! I didn't even look at the price, just bought it and started putting it on my dry patches immediately. Two days later, they are 80% healed, and I can tell they will be fine in another day or two. That, plus my skin not being as oily or sticky feeling as it did with the Garnier has convinced me even more that I was before. I will never, ever switch from this moisturizer, and I'll probably die if they discontinue it!! 5 stars!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lk1119 on 1/11/2010 2:12:00 AM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this moisturizer after trying a different moisturizer from Clean & Clear prior! I was on a quest to find a good affordable moisturizer to apply on my face before applying on make-up due to my very dry skin. Overall it isn't the best moisturizer, but it'll do. It doesn't really prevent break outs or anything, but it does have a cooling effect. And It does moisturize my face also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beachscene on 12/31/2009 11:25:00 PM more reviews by beachscene

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started off my quest to find the perfect moisturizer with this one. To say the least, I didn't like it though I really wanted to. With it's promise to treat pimples AND prevent them, it had a lot to live up to. I found that for the first week of using this moisturizer, it actually worked and left my skin feeling fresh and hydrated. The next week, however, it started to burn upon application and actually left a rash on the entire right side of my face! When I stopped using it, the rash disappeared, so I just chucked the product altogether. At least I can say I gave it a try. The smell is nice, however, but my sensitive skin just can't handle whatever chemical ingredient they've got inside the moisturizer to treat the pimples. Not recommended for sensitive skin, but it does work well for my sister who has combination skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clean & Clear products

More Moisturizers products