BeneFit Cosmetics • Hello Flawless! • Powder

rated 3.7(363 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Dinahout on 4/11/2009 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Dinahout

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered online and was not really sure about the color at first. I cross-checked different websites to look at the colors, read reviews and board comments, and kind of did it by elimination according to reviewers comparisons. "Honey" ends up to be a decent color match for me; I normally wear BE Golden Medium and MK 302 (during the summer). It's super smooth and fine; makes my skin look smooth, matte and silky, but my freckles still show through. As a test, I used the brush on one side of my face for light coverage and the sponge on the other side. The sponge application covered my dark under eye area and also toned down the redness around my nose. I also had a red blemish which it covered up easily. I like the compact which holds the brush and sponge in the bottom compartment but it's hard to lift if you don't have fingernails.

UPDATE (3/13/2010): This is definitely not a product to wear if you are going to be in photos! Hello Casper! I hardly reach for this unless I'm going to run out of the house and don't care about my makeup. Does not justify the price and I won't purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skizzerkid on 4/7/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by skizzerkid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A once avid reviewer, I haven't felt compelled to review anything in quite a while. I got talked into buying this powder when I went in for Benetint lip balm, it was part of a preorder event at Macy's where they gave you a ton of free products. I sort of figured that I wouldn't use this or like it, but went for the deal anyway because I'm a sucker.

On the contrary. I really, really like this. I am not a fan of liquid foundation, therefore I have gravitated toward mineral makeup and the like. Most days, however, I just wear a little concealer and blot powder. I don't need or like a lot of coverage, just redness around my nose.

This powder is pretty heavy duty, as another reviewer noted. I don't like the included brush or sponge, but I think the packaging is OK otherwise. I use my Ecotools powder brush to apply this VERY lightly. I wear the Never Settle Petal shade - which looks dark in the pan but works for me. It provides decent coverage for my nose and evens out the rest of my skin nicely. BE CAREFUL NOT TO OVERDO IT!! It's so easy. Buffing a little with a kabuki helps this.

I find it very similar to mineral makeup. It's got a matte finish, no sparkle. Do not use if you have dry or flaky skin--this will only exacerbate it. I was first using it after I had returned from visiting my fiance in Canada, and my skin was CHAPPED. I had to forgo this until it healed, but now it is fantastic. I love that it has SPF, and have not had any adverse reactions to it, and I have sensitive skin. Overall, I recommend trying this powder. It is pretty steeply priced, at $34 USD. I've repurchased a few times, and find that it lasts quite a while - about a year for me, with almost-daily usage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissPark on 4/3/2009 2:32:00 PM more reviews by MissPark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Since the weather is warming up, I thought I would try and find a nice powder foundation that would replace my liquid foundations. I just wanted something that was easy and non-time consuming for me in the morning as well. I went to Sephora and saw that this was a new product that was part of the Benefit line. I like several of their products so I thought I would give this a try. I picked it up in the color Never Settle Petal. The color was pretty yellow but it turned out to be ok for my skin. Now ladies...this is a pretty heavy duty powder foundation. Even with a light hand I found that this covered everything. It comes with a sponge and brush applicator which I found interesting. I never came across a foundation that did that before. I do have to complain that the powder goes everywhere when used with a brush, therefore I mainly use the sponge. I also have to gripe about the packaging! Why did they make it so big and clunky?! The cover is cute but the size turns me off. Price is a bit steep, I'll admit, but if it works I'll be willing to pay the price. I found that if you use too much it can look a bit cakey, so go easy on the application. The redness and freckles on my face immediately disappeared! I like this foundation so far!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mle79 on 4/2/2009 10:08:00 PM more reviews by mle79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So the sales lady talked me into getting this "oh- so- new- fantastic- product! just came out!" I recently started wearing the Get Even powder from Benefit and ran out and really liked it BUT she said this Hello Flawless gave more coverage plus it has SPF in it. I tried it. Aaaand didn't like it. Now I know your suppose to give it a week or so to see if you really like it or not. But If i see it doesnt work with me in 24 hrs, thats it. I dont know if it was the SPF in it but it made my makeup icky and cakey. So I exchanged it for my Get Even. I will not repurchase..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 digelt on 4/1/2009 10:32:00 AM more reviews by digelt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am such a BeneFit junkie. Their products fit my personality so well - funky & irreverent. So anytime a new product comes out promising to make me oh-so-beautiful, I can't resist. So naturally when Hello Flawless! came out, I was excited. Particularly since there seemed to be quite a bit more selection in terms of shade than you get with Some Kind-a Gorgeous, Get Even, or any of their concealers. I'm an NC20 in MAC, and the Me Vain? Champagne works pretty well for me.

Anyway, I have acne. And acne scars (dark ones). And a loooot of oil. This foundation is NOT for me. When they say "flawless", they're talking about concealing problems that are apparently not as obvious as mine. I don't know why I keep straying away from Studio Fix, which I need to admit to myself is my HG foundation, but I did and Hello Flawless! just does not measure up. That said, the texture is so light and soft, the color is so even, the packaging is so cute, compact, and convenient. I want to love this product so much, but it just doesn't cut it for me. But I gave it 3 lippies because I'm sure others with less problematic skin will love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oohollyoo on 3/29/2009 4:11:00 PM more reviews by oohollyoo

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

today is day 2 of wearing hello flawless in beige. i know it's too soon but im so eager. so beige is not the exact but the closest match to may nc 35, buttered tan in edm, 040 light natural ochre in shiseido, #5 in laura mercier, sand in prescriptives and st.tropez in nars. i have combination skin thats acne prone. so far no new blemishes. it's a mess to apply with a kabuki or top flat brush bc the powder gets everywhere. a foundation brush is best but the powder seems to sit on top of the my skin and takes a little to melt in. it looks much more flawless w/ a sponge and you can still control the amount of powder applied for a sheer -moderate coverage. my t-zone haven't been oily or needed any blotting even after 6hrs. i normally use mac's blot powder after using any of the powders listed above, but not this one. after applying this powder w/ a sponge or brush you can use a concealer brush and go back on blemishes or on the creases of your nose. lasting power is much better than any foundation powder i've used, yes even LM. no color change. only thing i dont't like is only getting .25oz for the price. there is a small amount of "shine" not like oil grease but the kind you get from mineral makeup. very minimal but still there. i guess thats from the mica. i like this powder but im always hunting for something better. i have money left on my sephora gift card so next up is Korres affinity powder for combo-oily skin! edit: to good to be true! this makes my face shiney and unnatural. : ( it also emphasized flaws.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rebelprince on 3/22/2009 4:28:00 PM more reviews by rebelprince

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So, let me just say that I was looking for something to wear on a daily basis. Being male, I look for something that isn't really noticeable. I love this foundation. I don't use the sponge but I kind of like the little brush. I have the option to clean that and it does sweep the foundation on nicely. I also use this to set my foundation and used either way, it works beautifully. I'm darker in this foundation than I thought, but it doesn't make me look dark at all (I use the color Beige). The packaging is cute, but not entirely practical. I find this product knock the socks off of my old Studio Fix, though. I'd repurchase again and again.
Edit: I hit the pan far too fast on this one. It really should have more product in it.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DivaKat on 3/19/2009 11:02:00 PM more reviews by DivaKat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I just got my Hello Flawless and I adore it!!! The coverage is fantastic and the texture is bliss! I have the type of skin that makeup doesn't like to stick to and I find that my Hello Flawless last extremely well throughout the day. This is the best powder foundation I have tried in a very long time... I will most certainly buy this again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TucsonKat on 3/19/2009 1:56:00 PM more reviews by TucsonKat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT: HATE this product. It is for sure the product that is breaking me out in this little rash. No wearing this ever again. And for the record, my friend Julie bought it the same day and is having the EXACT same problem.

I really like this product. I ended up with the Champagne shade after a test from the girl at Sephora. I had been hunting the product down because I thought it would be perfect for Tucson: sun and hot means you needs SPF and something that you can layer over oily parts of the face without making it feel like concrete.

The coverage is sheer, but does a nice job evening out my complexion and didn't cake around my concealer.

Also, it didn't feel chalky or make my skin go oily on me.

I don't like the compact it came in. My nail slipped and immediately chipped on the recessed opening. Wish it had a little more grippage.

Other than that, though, it's lovely! Now if it was just $10 cheaper I'd be in heaven.

Edit: If I leave this on my face overnight (cuz I'm a lazy girl sometimes) I find it makes me break out in what looks like mini pimples but which I know is actually a rash (Neutrogena Sheer Block gives me the same bumps). Note to self: Get off your butt and wash your face before bedtime!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emmy_nyc on 3/16/2009 6:20:00 PM more reviews by emmy_nyc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing this powder for about two weeks and it is ok. It does cover more than the Get Even powder, but I think the Get Even powder controls oil much better. I don't think I will repurchase the Hello Flawless, instead I will go back to my Get Even powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Powder products