Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Cleanser

3.7

781 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water Purified, Glycerin, Lauryl Glucoside, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamide DEA, Glycereth 7, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate, Glycol Stearate, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, Fragrance


on 6/13/2009 11:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my HG cleanser for a while. It's affordable and does the job. The other cleansers I've tried have dried out my skin and this does the opposite. It leaves my skin feeling fresh and soft!



on 6/7/2009 9:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this cleaner for everyday use. Its not harsh and does a good job removing make up and mascara. It comes out of the pump bottle as a liquid hand wash like texture and lathers up nicely. Doesn't have a stong scent and doesn't leave my skin feeling dry and tight after cleansing. Very good for its price and does a pretty good job overall. Comes in large pump bottle which has lasted me a few (4-5) months...I think and I am finally close to finishing it.


on 6/6/2009 4:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown


Length of use: 3-4 years


My skin: acne-prone (5-6 active lesions at any given time); lightly oil in T zone and upper cheeks but normal in lower cheeks; sensitive to selected ingredients in several products (results in redness, bumps, and extra pimples).


My needs: a cleanser that is (1) gentle and non-stripping on neither my lightly oily bits nor my normal ones; (2) quickly emuslfiying (does not require tons of manual lathering); (3) removes makeup and sunscreen; (3) DOES NOT BREAK ME OUT.


Better than: (1) Purpose liquid cleanser, because Purpose is more water-like, with less emulsification power, and thus does not effectively remove makeup or sunscreen. (2) the generic U.S. drugstore brand versions e.g. CVS's, which is much more highly perfumed and not as rich in consistency.

Perfect for: (1) hand-washers; (2) Clarisonic users; (3) oil-based double-cleansing routines; (4) makeup and sunscreen removal.



FULL REVIEW



This Holy Grail has met all of my requirements for several years, and I will continue to use it. For the past 5-6 years, I have not attempted any skincare other than sunscreen, and Neutrogena FFC has been my morning hand-wash in the shower. It lathers like a dream (especially if you use like I recommend, below), but not in a detergent-y, harsh fashion (sometimes lather is our enemy, but not here).


I'm now trying to get back into the battle against acne and the careful care of skin. I have used this with my new Clarisonic brush for the past month (see below), and it works the best of any cleanser I've tried with that machine. I also have started (past 2 weeks) doing a double-cleanse by massaging my face with oil (grapeseed) to remove makeup and sunscreen; wiping down with a warm wet cloth; and then following w/ this cleanser.


RECOMMENDATION: I recommend that you wet your hands, put a drop of this on your palms, and rub your palms together to create an emulsification. Then, apply the lathered mixture to your face and gently rub in circles. Perfection. You can also do the same thing to remove makeup;after an oil makeup remover; or with a Clarisonic.

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2009 1:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow, this facial wash actually surprised me. This is the 1st facial wash I purchased from a drug store and I didn't expect much from it at all. I was amazed how well it took my makeup off including my eye makeup and didn't leave my face feeling super tight. The only thing that I noticed about this cleanser vs. department store ones is that I have to use much more product to wash my face. I will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2009 6:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i have only used this cleanser for a week and i must say it has greatly cleared my skin from the horrible acne breakout. It hasnt broken me out yet as my skin is super sensitive to chemicals. am just praying that it will make my skin better....its 6 weeks now and am still LOVING THIS! HG cleanser for real!


on 5/26/2009 6:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

after paying crazy-high prices for other cleansers I tried this and love it. To me it performs like Cetaphil should. Looks and feels like Cetaphil but the Fresh Foaming Cleanser cleans perfectly and actually makes my skin feel clean, soft, and not dried out. very happy that it is affordable....perfect.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2009 7:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Makes my skin super soft after use. The only complaint is the horrible fragrance. But if you can get past that, this is definitely a winner. I use it twice a day and my skin is clear.


on 5/17/2009 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I REALLY love this cleaner. It definitely removes my make-up from my face, but not my eye make up. It's gentle and doesn't dry out my sensitive acne-prone skin. It also gets pretty foamy, as its name implies, which is nice. My only complaint is that it has fragrance added. The extra gentle cleanser has no fragrance, but definitely does not work as well for make up removal. I have had some difficultly locating this product in my area for some reason so be on the look out.


on 5/8/2009 9:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Favorite cleanser and I won't use anything else. I have acne prone skin and this cleanser removes EVERYTHING which helps keep my skin clear! Every last trace of foundation and eye makeup comes off with this cleanser and my skin never feels dried out.

It sells between $6-8 dollars at drugstores and at Ulta.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2009 9:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Very gentle but thorough cleanser. Great to take off makeup and get skin really clean. This doesn't irritate my combo acne prone skin and is really gentle with my Tazorac routine. Love it!!


Back to Top