Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Cleanser

3.7

787 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water Purified, Glycerin, Lauryl Glucoside, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamide DEA, Glycereth 7, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate, Glycol Stearate, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, Fragrance


on 7/13/2009 9:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice cleanser--comes out as a thick creamy white liquid and lathers up pretty nicely. I like the thick creamy feeling and the bubbles, as opposed to other thin, watery cleansers. It usually doesn't leave my skin feeling dry or tight and seems to wash away makeup, dirt, etc. pretty well. I've never used to remove my eye makeup though, but apparently many other reviewers here have, so I guess it works well there too--I'm just not comfortable with the idea of rubbing a cleanser into my eye. This is a pretty good cleanser, but there's nothing spectacular about it, so I WOULD buy it again, but only after switching around with other cleansers. (In general, I'm not very picky about cleansers and I don't have sensitive skin or anything, so I tend to switch around cleansers a lot.)



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser so much! I'm seriously thinking of not trying any other cleansing products, but alas I'm young and slowly becoming a beauty sleuth and there are oh so many products...Makeup Alley, I blame thee for this! Anyway, this is a mild cleanser from Neutrogena. It doesn't bubble as much as other products, which is just fine with me because then my eyes don't hurt. It still bubbles people, don't need to panic. Just not laundry detergent-type bubbling. It removes makeup and mascara so easily. It feels very luxurious, with a scent that reminds me of the rain. The cleanser itself is a smooth, silvery-white liquid.


It doesn't dry my skin out. Rather my skin feels clean and refreshed. Almost as if it was vacuum cleaned. It leaves it feeling very soft and plumpy. I don't use any fancy products like Clarisonic ( and Congrats to those who can afford it), but I use it with a skin brush and sometimes an electronic toothbrush (which I buy for like $3 at Big Lots!). Or a washcloth. It's great on it own right though. Following this cleanser i moisturize with Olay Anti Aging renewal lotion and once a week, usually on Wednesday because its the middle of the week, I follow it with Olive Oil.


Me love the pump. I don't know why i just love the effectiveness of it. Sometimes if I'm feeling decorative and don't want the bottle I get a hand wash bottle w/pump (mine's glass) and fill it with the product, just so the bathroom looks chic. I do this with mouthwash too and use crystal wine glass bottles. Just a tip for anybody who wants to make their bathroom more boudoir.



This product is great for people who don't wear a ton of makeup, as this cleanser doesn't feel heavy duty and probably not meant to cleanse off war paint. It probably could I don't know. It also seems great for people with sensitive or dry skin, as it is not irritating. Dry skin probably. Combo I'm not so sure, as your needs tend to be more specific. I've used this on days that I've been so sick my face and skin hurt like hell and it has never failed me. I'm a skincare junkie and this product is godsend. I just found the meaning of the HG in here because so many people use it. I wouldn't call it that. I would call it my "if you could take a 50 things with you to a deserted Island product". It's great. It's cheap, which is the best part. I mean, yes more expensive products tend to entice us and all, but if you can get the same thing for cheap, you can use the extra money to buy or save up for some jewelry or whatever. Enjoy.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2009 11:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I do not understand why this product gets so many great reviews as a cleanser. You ladies must all have clarisonics or use something other than your hands if this is removing your makeup as it is advertised to do. I used this tonight and had to lather and rinse twice before I removed my makeup completely. Then my skin was so dry that it looked taught. What a waste of money. This surely strips the skin's natural lipid barrier.


on 6/29/2009 11:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have extremely oily skin, and this stuff was way too harsh even for me. It's the most irritating, drying thing I've ever used other than soap. Yes, it takes off makeup, but makes my skin extremely dry and irritated. Would not recommend. I don't have particularly sensitive skin either.


on 6/29/2009 8:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ROCKS. I love this cleanser, I use it every day and every night. It doesn't strip my skin and leave it feeling like the sahara desert! Kicks butt and removing makeup and heavy mascara. It's a liquid, and you can tell it doesn't come out like foam because it has the same dispenser as the other 50 cleansers that arent "foaming". big deal. it still gets super bubbly and feels great! This is always in my shower :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2009 3:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I've used up a bottle of this, and while it didn't do anything bad to my skin (break out, dry out, etc), it also didn't really do anything good for my skin.

I would prefer it to be foamy after you press it out of the pump (part of the reason I purchased it), but it comes out just like a liquidy/soapy cleanser.
I don't know if it's normal, but mine also had a really terrible smell. Like chemicals and mold or something. LOL... Really not very nice.

edit: Oh but I did love how it takes off make off as well. It wasn't great for waterproof mascara, but for the rest of my makeup it was super convenient.


on 6/23/2009 4:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this cleanser...This cleanser TRULY washes away all my conclear and make up. It makes my face feel steep clean.... It works so well for my acne prone, and oily skin type...gets rid of all the dirt, mascara, conclear and makeup. PERFECT.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2009 11:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my HG cleanser for a while. It's affordable and does the job. The other cleansers I've tried have dried out my skin and this does the opposite. It leaves my skin feeling fresh and soft!


on 6/7/2009 9:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this cleaner for everyday use. Its not harsh and does a good job removing make up and mascara. It comes out of the pump bottle as a liquid hand wash like texture and lathers up nicely. Doesn't have a stong scent and doesn't leave my skin feeling dry and tight after cleansing. Very good for its price and does a pretty good job overall. Comes in large pump bottle which has lasted me a few (4-5) months...I think and I am finally close to finishing it.


on 6/6/2009 4:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown


Length of use: 3-4 years


My skin: acne-prone (5-6 active lesions at any given time); lightly oil in T zone and upper cheeks but normal in lower cheeks; sensitive to selected ingredients in several products (results in redness, bumps, and extra pimples).


My needs: a cleanser that is (1) gentle and non-stripping on neither my lightly oily bits nor my normal ones; (2) quickly emuslfiying (does not require tons of manual lathering); (3) removes makeup and sunscreen; (3) DOES NOT BREAK ME OUT.


Better than: (1) Purpose liquid cleanser, because Purpose is more water-like, with less emulsification power, and thus does not effectively remove makeup or sunscreen. (2) the generic U.S. drugstore brand versions e.g. CVS's, which is much more highly perfumed and not as rich in consistency.

Perfect for: (1) hand-washers; (2) Clarisonic users; (3) oil-based double-cleansing routines; (4) makeup and sunscreen removal.



FULL REVIEW



This Holy Grail has met all of my requirements for several years, and I will continue to use it. For the past 5-6 years, I have not attempted any skincare other than sunscreen, and Neutrogena FFC has been my morning hand-wash in the shower. It lathers like a dream (especially if you use like I recommend, below), but not in a detergent-y, harsh fashion (sometimes lather is our enemy, but not here).


I'm now trying to get back into the battle against acne and the careful care of skin. I have used this with my new Clarisonic brush for the past month (see below), and it works the best of any cleanser I've tried with that machine. I also have started (past 2 weeks) doing a double-cleanse by massaging my face with oil (grapeseed) to remove makeup and sunscreen; wiping down with a warm wet cloth; and then following w/ this cleanser.


RECOMMENDATION: I recommend that you wet your hands, put a drop of this on your palms, and rub your palms together to create an emulsification. Then, apply the lathered mixture to your face and gently rub in circles. Perfection. You can also do the same thing to remove makeup;after an oil makeup remover; or with a Clarisonic.

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top