Neutrogena • Fresh Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(765 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SarahKatie on 4/14/2009 5:30:00 PM more reviews by SarahKatie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This cleanser is very gentle so it is good for everyday use. I rub it in with a face sponge for about a minute and then rinse off with water. It cleans wonderfully and takes off all face makeup. I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 simplyviki on 4/10/2009 8:56:00 PM more reviews by simplyviki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I don't expect much from my cleansers, really... I just want them to clean my face and do no harm. This fits the bill. I like that it foams, that's a comforting feature to me (I know foam doesn't mean it's cleansing, but it still makes me feel better), I find the scent to be mild and not offensive, and it removes a surprising amount of makeup. I still prefer to use a separate makeup remover though, because I usually wash my face too quickly to get all the makeup off (it takes a good minute of rubbing to get rid of all the makeup), and I'm always paranoid of miniscule amounts of makeup remaining and aging me (darn makeup rep warning me as an adolescent that makeup left on overnight ages your skin a week every time you do it). I like that it doesn't have any scrubbing agents, so it is mild enough to use if I'm experiencing sensitivity to something or having a breakout. I have added aspirin to it when I want a nice scrub. Worth it to me. I plan to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babygirl218 on 4/8/2009 6:47:00 PM more reviews by babygirl218

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i like this cleanser alot:) it's not harsh like some other cleansers it's supper gentle! this doesn't dry my face out and cleans it pretty good. it removes my eyemakeup really well too!


buuutttt

this iS NOT MENT TO TREAT ACNE! it's just a basic cleanser and makeup remover.

the people that have been reviewing this && saying that this isn't helping their acne is because it has NO iNGRiDiANTS for treating acne... look for products that have sulfer and salicylic acid. which are ment to treat acne.

update: i still used this, i think i've gone through like 4 bottles or something about to go on my 5th one:) i love this stuff.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenpm78 on 3/26/2009 2:25:00 PM more reviews by jenpm78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A very good, basic cleanser. Non-irritating and removes all of my make-up. A winner. My only complaint is that in the few years that I've used this, I will ocassionally get a pump that is defective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elle81 on 3/18/2009 10:02:00 PM more reviews by elle81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

this is the second time I purchased this, it does have a kinda dish soapy smell but it removes make up really well
the pump is easy to use, its a creamy cleanser that foams up
does not dry out my skin and leave it tight at all and I have very dry skin and the price is great

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wiccawonder on 3/18/2009 6:16:00 PM more reviews by wiccawonder

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product does a great job of cleaning off makeup but it left my skin skin super dry and tight. So once I finish this I won't be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brookiecookie73 on 3/18/2009 12:03:00 PM more reviews by brookiecookie73

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product so much! It doesnt work miracles, but it does what it says. I wear heavy waterproof eyeliner and this takes that and all my other makeup off completely, which saves a lot of time.
I got this as a sample from my derm and, because it didnt cause any further breakouts and kept my skin less oily, i kept going back to it.

The scent is a kind of lemony dish soap smell, but its not as strong as dish soap. Its a little off-putting at first, but not bad.

I've been buying this for a little over a year now. I'll try another cleanser now and then, but never one that works as well as this.

Definitely recommended. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mstracy on 3/16/2009 1:19:00 PM more reviews by mstracy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Gah. This smells like Pine-Sol. I got a small sample tube of this attached to some other Neutrogena product. The lemon smell is so awful... Blech. It cleaned my face well, removed makeup. The stench is so awful, I won't use this again. Glad I got a sample and didn't buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladylove88 on 3/11/2009 1:22:00 PM more reviews by ladylove88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this cleanser! I dont wear too much make-up so it really does get all my make-up off. I have sensitive/dry skin and this product was great on my skin. The smell is nice and not overwhelming. I would buy this product agian for sure. The only thing is, I really was expecting foam, but its just liquid soap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TigerLILYx on 3/11/2009 1:42:00 AM more reviews by TigerLILYx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had previously posted that this is an amazing cleanser full of very gentle yet effective cleansing agents and none of the unnecessary ingredients, making this an excellent choice for sensitive and slightly oily skin types who wear make-up. During first week of use, this cleanser got rid of all the flakes and tightness I had on my face, and I was so thankful I had finally found my HG cleanser.


*UPDATE* this is now week 2, and a combination of this cleanser and an avobenzone sunscreen had induced a ridiculous eczema outbreak on my face. I've stopped using the sunscreen since 3 days ago, yet I continued using this cleanser and the flakes on my face had gotten worse than ever -- it's almost like nonstop peeling.


So the moral of the lesson is: while I still maintain that, judging by the ingredient list of this cleanser, it is one of the best foaming cleansers around (i.e. cleans swiftly and rinses clean easily without compromising your skin's barrier with harsh surfactants), it is though not a good cleanser to keep using if your sensitive skin is irritated by something or is suffering an outbreak of dermatitis. It probably will be a good idea to stay off surfactants altogether when your skin is acting up; for this and the upcoming week I'm going to try to recover by cleansing with a mixture of grapeseed oil, castor oil and aloe vera gel and a warm washcloth.


Side note: if you find that this cleanser doesn't *clean* enough and you still feel that traces of dirt and make-up are left on your face after cleansing, try using a gentle oil-based make-up remover prior to washing your face to dissolve long wearing and stubborn make-up (or you can use a cleansing lotion), wipe everything off with a warm washcloth or cotton pads, then wash your face as usual. This will ensure that everything is cleaned off your face whether or not you use a toner after or not, and will still be more gentle and effective than using a "harsh facial cleanser".


Ingredients: Water, Glycerin (humectant; draws moisture to skin), Lauryl Glucoside (mild detergent/cleansing agent derived from coconut oil & sugar), Decyl Glucoside (mild detergent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (surfactant/foaming agent derived from coconut oil), Cocamide DEA (mild surfactant/foaming agent; MAY be carcinogenic - linked to causing cancer), Glycereth-7 (emolient), Ammonium Laureth Sulfate (gentle cleansing agent derived from coconut), Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate (foaming agent/anionic surfactant - may be irritating; may be carcinogenic if contaminated with nitrosamines), Glycol Stearate (emolient), PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate (mild surfactant/cleansing agent), Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin (releases formaldehyde), Citric Acid (PH adjuster), Fragrance (slight lemony scent).

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products