Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(353 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kariwilson86 on 5/4/2003 8:52:00 PM more reviews by kariwilson86

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product about a month ago, in high anticipation that this mascara would be great, only because I've heard positive comments about it, and have noticed people carrying it around with them. This was a no-go for me. I'll categorize it for you:

PROS: satisfactory pricing, waterproof, no smudging (no raccoon eyes).

CONS: does not seperate lashes, can leave lashes clumpy, makes lashes feel dry and hard, doesn't really seem to volumize the lashes, doesn't seem to condition eyelashes, and when you want to try coating the lashes.....oh boy...lets not go there! However, I did notice that when you "pump" the applicator, it tends to do a bit better job.

There's alot better mascara's out there, they may not be cheaper...but they will be worth your dough. TRY: Cover Girl Multiplying Mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SharonFaerie on 4/14/2003 3:58:00 AM more reviews by SharonFaerie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my all time favorite mascara. I've tried so many and I always come back to this one. A little tip, some mascaras you shouldn't pump, but pump this one twice each time before you use it and it works great. I have to say I don't like the formulation of the non-waterproof though, just the waterproof.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kelsey12 on 4/8/2003 10:20:00 AM more reviews by Kelsey12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OK this stuff is awful I cannot see why so many people like it! i put it on and it fult like glue that clumped my lashes together ewww

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 3/29/2003 7:47:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I like this mascara very much. It lenghtens and thickens my lashes, holds the curl and creates beautiful -looking lashes. I love the fact that the brush isn't too big. It's also easy to apply and doesn't clump. But despite being waterproof it smudges a bit under my eyes after several hours. And I usually put on only one coat of mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ericsbaby on 3/21/2003 10:30:00 AM more reviews by ericsbaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Enough mags, makeup artists, celebrities have reviewed this product and for good reason, it simply works. Great long lashes, no fuss, no fancy packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlitterBitch on 2/8/2003 4:46:00 PM more reviews by GlitterBitch

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely swear by great lash to give me spidery lashes - touted as the make-up artists mascara of choice, it really is good value and a great product. Distinctive pink and green packaging, no nonsense, no gimmicks medium brush and a great consistency mascara that stays put all day.

Where Great Lash succeeds is in being simple. It has no trendy selling points besides its reputation for being the best in the buisness. In comes in a few natural shades, I like dramatic lashes so I use very black and layer on a couple of coats on lashes that have been curled previously. It doesn't flake, it doesn't smudge and many times after a night out I've woken up the following morning still wearing my mascara and the damage hasn't been too bad!

Great Lash doesn't clog but you should still comb your lashes in between coats. The brush is small enough to use on your lower lashes too, and it lasts quite a while because they actually DO fill the genourously sized tube full. Do bear in mind make-up experts suggest changing mascara every 3 months because it gets full of bacteria - and after a while if you're using an old tube of great lash, it will start to flake and your eyes will begin to itch from the use, trust me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MtnBikeGrl on 1/2/2003 2:07:00 AM more reviews by MtnBikeGrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mascara, quite frankly, because I didn't know any better. I was just trying to find the "right" products, and this one definitely isn't one of them! I put it on and it clumped right away, and it looked really dark and fake on me (I'm going for the whole "natural" look when I put on makeup, which is getting harder and harder to do!!). However, it is really waterproof, which makes it hard to take off. Also, it smudged big-time. I was wearing it one day, took a nap, and when I woke up, found it was not only all over my eyes but on my pillowcase as well! Thumbs-down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angel_in_Training on 12/25/2002 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Angel_in_Training

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara ia smazing for a low end product. Its this consistency, allows you to apply as much as you desire without clumping, and it really does seperate the lashes. Does not give a dramatic effect, so great for everyday use. The waterproof variety really does stay on all day. Have used this product for years, and will continue to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cosmeticqueen on 10/19/2002 11:32:00 PM more reviews by Cosmeticqueen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Its great for a water proof mascara. (although instead of "running" off in the water..it slowly "flakes" off.) But I like it. Although, I have to say that it doesn't lengthen and separate lashes like some mascaras do. But I've heard continual raves about how lengthening this stuff is..but it didn't quite lengthen and separate for me like I thought it might. But I probably will buy another one when I run out of my current Great Lash WaterProof mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CrZyGrrrL479 on 10/18/2002 5:58:00 PM more reviews by CrZyGrrrL479

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is what I use now. I do like the waterproof because it is a little bit thicker than the original. This mascara doesn't budge and stays on forever but I did have a problem with it flaking. One thing I really loved about this product is that after I've curled my stick-straight lashes and apply this it holds the curl exceptionally well. That way I don't have to curl my lashes over and over again, apply more mascara, recurl lashes...etc--->major clumps! I find that mascara goes on thicker when I've had it for a while but to speed up that process I "pump" the mascara. The magazines say this is a no-no (bacteria) but I haven't had any problems...whatever works for me, right? hehe I wear 2-3 coats of this which makes it so hard to take off. Also my lashes are really stiff when I wear this. I have a coupon for Maybelline mascara and think I'll try Illegal Lengths...so I'll have that updated soon.
Update: I'm really impressed with the Illegal Lengths and will be using this instead of the Great Wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products