Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(357 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 achiasson on 7/17/2003 8:44:00 AM more reviews by achiasson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this a few years ago and wasn't impressed with it despite its rave reviews in every magazine on the newstand. I recently decided to give it another try thinking maybe the formula had improved since the packaging changed, etc. My findings: It's the SAME thin, non-buildable formula. That fact, along with the brush design, makes me look like I have three eyelashes. I will give it credit for its staying power - I had no "browbone dots" from this mascara. Although there would have been only three dots. This may actually be halfway decent if the brush bristles were a little more dense and the formula a bit thicker. Back to my L'oreal Volumonous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PopStar48 on 7/3/2003 8:51:00 PM more reviews by PopStar48

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It really was waterproof. I had a hard time getting it off though with my eye-makeup remover. The mascara stayed on for a long time but after a little while it began to flake and leave small smudges of black under my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 moosejuice on 6/16/2003 1:53:00 PM more reviews by moosejuice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a great waterproof mascara, and this was not it. It went on ok, but if I got it wet, it smudged like crazy. Even humidity bothered it. So I continued on with my waterproof search...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tanmh_88 on 5/13/2003 11:05:00 PM more reviews by tanmh_88

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

when i got it, it's a bit clumpy, but with my new tweezerman ilashcomb, it works really well now. i like it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kariwilson86 on 5/4/2003 8:52:00 PM more reviews by kariwilson86

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product about a month ago, in high anticipation that this mascara would be great, only because I've heard positive comments about it, and have noticed people carrying it around with them. This was a no-go for me. I'll categorize it for you:

PROS: satisfactory pricing, waterproof, no smudging (no raccoon eyes).

CONS: does not seperate lashes, can leave lashes clumpy, makes lashes feel dry and hard, doesn't really seem to volumize the lashes, doesn't seem to condition eyelashes, and when you want to try coating the lashes.....oh boy...lets not go there! However, I did notice that when you "pump" the applicator, it tends to do a bit better job.

There's alot better mascara's out there, they may not be cheaper...but they will be worth your dough. TRY: Cover Girl Multiplying Mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SharonFaerie on 4/14/2003 3:58:00 AM more reviews by SharonFaerie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my all time favorite mascara. I've tried so many and I always come back to this one. A little tip, some mascaras you shouldn't pump, but pump this one twice each time before you use it and it works great. I have to say I don't like the formulation of the non-waterproof though, just the waterproof.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kelsey12 on 4/8/2003 10:20:00 AM more reviews by Kelsey12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OK this stuff is awful I cannot see why so many people like it! i put it on and it fult like glue that clumped my lashes together ewww

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 3/29/2003 7:47:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I like this mascara very much. It lenghtens and thickens my lashes, holds the curl and creates beautiful -looking lashes. I love the fact that the brush isn't too big. It's also easy to apply and doesn't clump. But despite being waterproof it smudges a bit under my eyes after several hours. And I usually put on only one coat of mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ericsbaby on 3/21/2003 10:30:00 AM more reviews by ericsbaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Enough mags, makeup artists, celebrities have reviewed this product and for good reason, it simply works. Great long lashes, no fuss, no fancy packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlitterBitch on 2/8/2003 4:46:00 PM more reviews by GlitterBitch

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely swear by great lash to give me spidery lashes - touted as the make-up artists mascara of choice, it really is good value and a great product. Distinctive pink and green packaging, no nonsense, no gimmicks medium brush and a great consistency mascara that stays put all day.

Where Great Lash succeeds is in being simple. It has no trendy selling points besides its reputation for being the best in the buisness. In comes in a few natural shades, I like dramatic lashes so I use very black and layer on a couple of coats on lashes that have been curled previously. It doesn't flake, it doesn't smudge and many times after a night out I've woken up the following morning still wearing my mascara and the damage hasn't been too bad!

Great Lash doesn't clog but you should still comb your lashes in between coats. The brush is small enough to use on your lower lashes too, and it lasts quite a while because they actually DO fill the genourously sized tube full. Do bear in mind make-up experts suggest changing mascara every 3 months because it gets full of bacteria - and after a while if you're using an old tube of great lash, it will start to flake and your eyes will begin to itch from the use, trust me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products