BeneFit Cosmetics Hello Flawless!

3.7

379 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

octinoxate 5.94%, titanium dioxide 1.70%, oxybenzone 2%. OTHERS: triethoxycaprylylsilane, silica, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, polyethylene, talc, lauroyl lysine, phenoxyethanol, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, aluminum dimyrisate, bht, disodium stearoyl glutamate, sodium dehydroacetate, methicone, polymethyl methacrylate, isononyl isononanoate, alumina. ( /- bismuth oxychloride, mica, titanium dioxide, carmine, iron oxides.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love it, but unfortunately that didn't happen. I had seen it on Sephora's website and then I saw it at Macy's and decided to buy it. I was super excited to try it, but when I did, it seems as nothing more than an average powder. I have acne scarring and the SA promised that this would do the trick in covering up. (Clinique Almost Powder does so well, but I wanted a change!). It did not. I applied it with the sponge first to places where I need full coverage and then I used the brush. It looked really cakey on, but I was in a hurry so I left it and blotted as best I could. When I got a chance to look in the mirror I saw that it was already disappearing! and by the end of the day it was an even worse cakey mess than when I had started. I'm sticking to my Clinique powder until I find something else that works.



on 5/21/2009 12:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall, itís pretty good product. The only negative thing I have to say about this is like any other power/foundation products, be careful about over loading this product on. I found that using the sponge on spots that only needs coverage and even it out with face brush was the best way to keep fresh look without looking cakey. The most surprising thing about this product was the color perfectly matched my skin tone (Iím using ďNever Settle PetalĒ). Iíll definitely buy this product again unless someone else comes out with another amazing product.


on 5/20/2009 6:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love, love, LOVE this product! I don't usually buy from benefit because it's pretty expensive, but I recieved this as a gift so I was more than welcome. I was using drug store powers before (the maybelline matte powder) but it didn't quite cut it for me. A make up artist from benefit put this on for me, and boy was I impressed. I bought it and took it home to experiment. The thing that impressed me the most was the AMAZING coverage! It is so well pigmented, and using it with the sponge gives me the greatest coverage I've ever had. The brush gives me a nice sheer, natural looking finish. I have heavy dark circles, so I use this under my eyes. I just apply it with a wide eye shadow brush and it goes on light but covers everything!
Just try to avoid using the sponge under your eyes.. because that's when it starts looking cakey and creases form :T

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2009 8:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Love this product. The color range is small but seems to almost fit everyones skin tone. If you are using the brush it comes with you DON'T use the tip of the brush as it will just blow the powder around everywhere, but you use the side of the brush. My only gripe about this product is the price per gram is more expensive then Christian Dior and Chanel. Benefit needs to give more product then 7 Grams for 34 dollars. Thats like a bad joke.

Btw I have acne too and it doesn't seem to make me breakout at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2009 2:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My relationship with HF started out great, but I noticed an increase in clogged pores 4-5 days after starting to wear it. Despite religious exfoliation and clarisonic, after 2 weeks of wearing it I am breaking out like crazy, especially on cheeks and near hairlines. It looked nice on, but not enough to put up with the breakouts.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2009 6:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder a few days ago and I have mixed feelings about it... I bought it in Shell and the colour matches nicely. It wears easily and smoothly with both brush and sponge, it covers nicely, it's great in the morning when I need to rush out! But... is this meant to be long-lasting? If I wear it with light moisturising it shows dry lines on the side of my face when I go into sunlight. I put more moisture cream before putting it on and it doesn't last long. It becomes shiny after only few hours. It covers in a perfect way for first 2 hours than it morphs to a slick pore-showing layer. It becomes paler and I wear it with Beneift which also looks perfect for first 2 hours.
After 2 hours my face looks like I got a fever (well, worse) or like a baroque dame with extra-pale skin colour and red-pink stained cheeks. Hello Flawless contains Oxybenzone!
I got some breakouts I didn't have before close to hair lines (?!?). It also has a very weird smell! It smells fresh in the beginning and I'm sure it's not gone bad, but after a while on skin it has a strange oily smell. It smells like sunflowers oil and it makes me gag. Too bad! Once I matched a perfect shade and silky texture... These products are sooo expensive, but I don't think they beat Dior, Chanel, Lancome and the alikes. I will go on for a while and see what I can do with these products. There is no return for wrong cosmetics in Italy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2009 4:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Awesome powder from Benefit. My shade is the honey one. It controlled oil very well but it doesn't look cakey and piled on. Looked very natural and pretty. Most of benefits products are too novelty for me sometime but this one is a winner.


on 5/9/2009 1:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

My skin tone is nc15 and I use Ďshellí.






I have tried many forms of powder foundations, from drugstore to higher end & while I really liked most of them, the colour match, coverage & lasting power of BeneFitís HELLO FLAWLESS outdoes them all. In fact Iíve now thrown everything out, and I rarely reach for liquid or mousse foundation any more either.




The (pressed) powder seems to melt seamlessly into your skin & the coverage is very even. Itís easy to blend & build up for a light/medium natural looking natural coverage, the finished look seems to have a slight glow to it. Like I mentioned above; the colour match is great. HELLO FLAWLESS feels so lightweight; I forget Iím wearing any make up.


I do have very dry and sensitive skin, but Iíve not experienced any dry patches or caking, Iíve also not experienced that tightness and itchy feeling, which a lot of other products have given me.




The compact itself is perfect for my handbag. The tray the powder id housed in lifts up to reveal a brush and sponge. The brush is great for a lighter dusting of powder, while the sponge is great for the occasional spot.






The only thing about HELLO FLAWLESS that hasnít impressed me is the £24.50 price tag. For me the results will justify the price. But, yeah, ouch.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2009 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Chanel foundations exclusively for about three years now but when I ran out of foundation I decided I wanted to try something new. I tried Estee Lauder, and Makeup Forever but they just didn't look quite right on my Indian Skin. I was at the Lancome Counter waiting on a SA when the BeneFit SA asked if I wanted to see anything from their line. I had never used BeneFit before but Hazelnut in this foundation was a great match. It made my skin look flawless. I had left my boyfriend in the morning to do errands and met back up with him shortly after I had bought this makeup. WHen he saw me in the parking lot despite the rain that was pouring done he said "WOW your look so beautiful" and that my friends was worth the $30 + dollars! I have only tried applying with a sponge and the application was amazing. Will update when I try the brush

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2009 5:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have to confess that tthe only reason I bought this is because of the reviews. I didn't actually need a new foundation. But the grass is always greener...

I've been using Laura Mercier TM for a long time because I hate chalky, cakey, thick, matte, powdery looking foundations. And powder foundations never look entirely sheer to me. I used to be strictly a powder foundation type of girl too until I discovered TM's. But applying TM is an uncomfortable hassle in California heat once summertime rolls around. I often go without any sort of face makeup but need it for work to look put together.

"Me, Vain?" Champagne is a perfect match for my fair, cool toned skin. I don't like heavy coverage so I opted to try the little brush that was included. If worst came to worst I could fall back on my trusty foundation brush. But surprise surprise the little brush got the job done. I had read how using a brush to apply can cause the power bits to fly everywhere and get "dusty" so I was careful to sweep the brush in one motion across the powder and with only one side of the brush. Barely any powder dust that way--Victory!

The brush gives me the exact amount of sheer, natural looking coverage. Makes me feel like my skin is actually showing but still covers enough. I agree with everyone who said this is so light and silky. It doesn't break me out or irritate at all (and my skin freaks out with so many things).

I don't reapply throughout the day at all so I don't mind the slightly clunky packaging, I think it's pretty cute. This lasts all day without wearing off (fyi, I have combo skin). I'll rebuy in a heartbeat!

UPDATE: Ultimately this ended up breaking me out after about two weeks of use. I love everything about it, so it's such a shame! I'm going to have to find something else to replace it.


Back to Top