BeneFit Cosmetics • Hello Flawless! • Powder

rated 3.7(368 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dascha on 4/25/2009 9:09:00 AM more reviews by dascha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After returning my Diorskin compact because it made my skin feel greasy/weird at the end of the day, I decided to try this. I got it in the Petal, which looked suitably yellow, although a bit dark for me. I was skeptical about this, but when I buffed it on, the color blended damned near seamlessly into my skin. I had some reddish, peely spots on one cheek and this covered them very well. I wore this makeup to my anniversary dinner and in the bathroom my face did, indeed, look "flawless." The real test, for me, will be how it wears during a full day at work, but so far, so good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boogiedisease on 4/24/2009 7:13:00 PM more reviews by boogiedisease

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I didn't think I'd like this (generally, I've found most BeneFit products to be... crap). However, I must say, I'm liking this a LOT more than my HG powder foundation by Dior.

It applies in a snap (I like using the enclosed sponge, as the brush does nothing for me). It applies smoothly, and conceals any redness or blemishes, without looking cakey.

This powder foundation still looks great, several hours after application. This is what impresses me. Since I've started using sunscreen religiously (I admit, I didn't in the past), my makeup always ends up looking cakey and separated on my face. I don't get that with this! It also feels like I'm wearing nothing on my face, which I LOVE!

I use Honey and it's a perfect match.

I've only been using it for a couple of days, but my skin lets me know IMMEDIATELY if something doesn't agree with it. No issues (breakouts, clogs, irritation) thus far.

Best of all, it's a bit cheaper than my Diorskin powder, so I'll be saving a bit of money! It also seems like I need less of this than the Dior.

Will buy again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meghan1988 on 4/23/2009 12:24:00 PM more reviews by meghan1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this product recently and basically I can't rave about it enough, my skin is so oily and i used to have acne so i need special moisturizers and it takes me so long to even find a foundation that keeps my skin matte (I have been using Clinique Superfit foundation which is also good)! The saleswoman, who was so sweet, put it on half of my face to show me what the prodcut did and OH MY GOSH i was amazed at how flawless my skin was i instantly loved it! It is so much easier than putting foundation on then powder, which isn't a hassle until you use this product and realize how quickly you could get ready in the mornings!! I have only had it for a week and I am constantly getting compliments on my skin and how flawless it is and the best thing is it lasts, even when your body temperature goes up the product stays matte on my face... last words i love this product!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paletangirl on 4/23/2009 4:05:00 AM more reviews by paletangirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is a little weird, but I am leaning more toward really liking it...especially in the performance department. I long ago stopped using the "enclosed" sponges and applicators in products, so the first time I used this product I applied it with a kabuki brush, like I would use for other powder foundations. NOT good. Too cakey/powdery looking and it didn't even improve with a spritz (I normally set studio fix with a couple spritzes). It also oddly collected around dry spots on my skin. The next time I used the enclosed the sponge for a full face application (I am currently in the middle of a particularly bad run of my "adult onset female acne" so I lean toward wanting more coverage). To my surprise, this application method was really smooth, and seemed to blend in almost entirely. I would say the coverage of this product is moderate to full... as others have said pretty similar to studiofix. Once over the entire face totally evened out most of my skin woes in a reasonably believable way, good finish. If you have any serious pigmentation issues from active or very recent blemishes, you may find you need to dot on a little spot concealer... I didn't find layering this product to cover these spots particularly great. But for less terrible skin than mine, an once over would be sufficient. I can understand some reviewers comments about dryness of the product. Its sort of a specific comparison, but its texture/dryness reminds me of the Smashbox pressed powder (that were discontinued about a year ago). After wearing this for a few days in a row for 12 hour shifts, I found it held up pretty great. I did find that I wanted to blot this product about 6 hours into the day, but only that once and did not require touching up. Pretty impressive oil control and staying power. I typically look like a blotchy melted acne mess by the end of my shift (grr) but this was much much better.
As for color, I got this in "petal". I ordered it online (no stores close) so was apprehensive as petal sounds pink, but the color selector on the Benefit website was pretty helpful, and the color representation was pretty accurate as well. Petal is a yellow to neutral light shade. I would normally wear N4 studiofix (maybe NC25 depth). Sometimes without any blush/bronzer or eyemakeup on this end up looking flat/too pale, but really I think it matches near perfectly which is damn near impossible for me most of the time.
Now all that remains is to see if my skin freaks out more than normal from this product, I will update if these seems to be a problem.
I noticed no one has listed ingredients, and I couldn't get a list anywhere online, so here it is for those of you who are curious.
ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: octinoxate 5.94%, titanium dioxide 1.70%, oxybenzone 2%. OTHERS: triethoxycaprylylsilane, silica, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, polyethylene, talc, lauroyl lysine, phenoxyethanol, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, aluminum dimyrisate, bht, disodium stearoyl glutamate, sodium dehydroacetate, methicone, polymethyl methacrylate, isononyl isononanoate, alumina. (+/- bismuth oxychloride, mica, titanium dioxide, carmine, iron oxides.

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debrsl on 4/22/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome product! I put it on with the sponge, and it completely covered the redness in my skin. My skin is dry, and it doesn't look dry either, unlike many other powder/mineral foundations I've tried. It makes my skin look smooth. I'm NW20 and got it in Petal. It doesn't look too warm; just knocks out the red.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wellymacky on 4/22/2009 12:13:00 PM more reviews by wellymacky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in Champagne colour which was matched to me. i hate liquid foundations and don't have much luck with mineral powders due to lack of coverage and staying power!

I tried this and fell in love with the coverage and natural colour everything i've been looking for

" Forward 2 hours"

I felt like i'd been sunburnt on my face, my skin felt dry and tight like i'd over sunned myself all day. i began to rub E45 cream in at first just around my hairline and nose ( where the sting was more prominent)

after i washed this product off my face felt so dry ( which isn't normal for oily skin) I cleansed, tonned and moisturised as normal but still my face was left so dry and stinging for 2 hours after. I reapplied more moisturiser which didn't have any affect. I then slapped on E45 cream which helped a little.

I'd never buy this product again i think I may have had a reaction to the ingredients though!

Be warned my symptoms didn't start until 2 hours after applying this product both times so don't be fooled whilst having it put on by a SA.

If it doesn't sting your skin and dry it out it's a fab product.

I'm truely sad it didn't work for me. if anyone knows of a similar product that stops shiny faces but doesn't over dry or sting let me know x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tyleka on 4/22/2009 10:06:00 AM more reviews by tyleka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

There's not much I can add here that other already haven't. It gives great coverage, better than StudioFix, and also doesn't give me flakies like StudioFix does. I love the coverage and look so much, that I'm willing to overlook the packaging and the greedy little amount of product Benefit gives you for the price. My only beef is the SPF- it has a obnoxious smell (granted, it has faded over the month I've had the compact), but it also does not photograph well. It made me look... doughy, for lack of a better word. Kinda of disappointing, because it does make you look flawless like you would want to look for pictures.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ESMorin on 4/22/2009 9:51:00 AM more reviews by ESMorin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This powder really brightens my face, and blends well. I like the color a lot, and it is silky smooth. However, I agree with the reviewer that said it "sheds". I think that may be the nature of the talc. But it annoys me because that is product lost. The price is steep, and the package is deceptively shallow. There is soooo little powder actually in there. I don't use it every day, have had it for less than a month, and already I am seeing the aluminum bottom peek through. The packaging is also unnecessarily large and clunky, to accommodate the brush and sponge (both of which I threw away), which totally turns me off. Its too bad, because this powder has nice coverage, but I won't waste the money again. EDIT: We had a freak hotspell in New England this past week, and when my face got a little sweaty, this stuff clumped up and kind of "floated" on my face. I now have one of the worst bruised pimples I've ever had in the middle of my cheek. Now it is set in stone that I will never buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yenners123 on 4/21/2009 12:11:00 PM more reviews by yenners123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe how good the coverage is on this product. I can layer on as much or as little as I need and it looks natural and stays on. Despite being a powder it isn't drying. I'm very pleased with this product and would defnitely buy it again.

My only complaint is that I don't like the packaging, and the brush that comes with the product is pretty rubbish. But then, I find that all the brushes that come with Benefit products are pretty poor.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 abusleb on 4/21/2009 2:27:00 AM more reviews by abusleb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really loved this product because it was a great match to my skin (petal) and gave great coverage...But when I started using it, my skin started to act weird. I got all these lines and patches of dryness, my skin looked VERY dry (even after moisturizing it twice), and I started breaking out in areas that were clear before I started using this product...I used it for a month, hoping the pimples would go away but they didn't. I even tried using it with a primer but nothing changed. My skin was no longer silky, it became so tough and rough like leather! :(
I really wanted this powder to work out but I returned it . Not worth keeping since it was so expensive...
UPDATE: I saw some photos of myself when I was wearing the powder and realized it doesn't photograph very well, so I guess it really was not worth it. I am so over it! :)



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Powder products