MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(888 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Claudineaimee on 2/2/2012 12:47:00 PM more reviews by Claudineaimee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I Love MAC and i dont wanna bash this foundation but this foundation breaks me out so this is going straight to the garbage. First i was excited becaus the tiny bumps on my cheaks dissapeared but then after wearing it for a longer time deep cystic bumps came. Its a medium coverage foundation buildable for fuller coverage. The finish is not matte not dewy and quite nice blends well and doesnt look cakey if you know how to apply a medium to full coverage foundation. Another plus it stays put the whole day so thumbs up for that. The texture is quite thick and if you have large pores or youre acne prone i would stay away from it or try a sample first. It gave me deep cystic bumps on my nose and my hairline and chin. Another thing i do not understand why is there a NC 15 but no NW 15??? MAC??? anyone??...NW20 matches me in summer but is a tad to dark in winter (im a pale blonde). Needles to say i wont buy it again and wont recommend it to friends. If youre not acne prone you might quite enjoy this foundation but if your skin is almost flawless you really dont need a foundation with this much coverage anyway lolz. 1 Lippie off because comedogenic, 1 Lippie off because theres no NW 15

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Halz55 on 1/29/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Halz55

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this foundation! Been using drugstore foundations for awhile now and was satisfied, then decided to go out on a whim and purchase this (since it is kind of expensive, I had always hesitated). I am SO happy with my purchase! This foundation really does stay on all day, keeps my t-zone fairly oil-free, and just makes my skin look great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 101909 on 1/29/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by 101909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

MY HOLY GRAIIIIIIIL !
one pump covers my entire face creating a even skin tone and for days when im just out and about. with two pumps my face is flawless !
it lasts a llllllll day with no blot, and i have an oily t-zone, and it dose not showcase any dry areas.
I have to agree with the person below me, it NEVER oxidizes ! it also never sinks into my pores throughout the day. if i do happen to touch my face, it never rubs off on hands and clothes. i don't see using anything else, i pay about $31.00 after tax, which is painful but its worth it because its everything i expect and last foreverrrrr !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 YellowLantern on 1/28/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by YellowLantern

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Really great medium coverage foundation for oily skin. For once I've found a foundation that looks *better* as the day goes on and mixes with your natural skin oils rather than breaking down, looking patchy and oxidizing. Even on my oily skin this stuff will last until the end of days that's how good the lasting power is with this stuff. Pro longwear is truly transfer resistant too, if I blot (which is something I don't need to do very often anymore) I don't end up with a beige tissue. One of the few foundations that leaves a semi-matte appearance and doesn't even need any powder after it's applied. The one con I have with this foundation is that it is a little thick and it sets quickly so you need to work in sections. So if you're not used to applying thicker foundations it has a bit of a learning curve. Packaging is good with a locking pump mechanism.


The only issue I have with this foundation (and I'm not even sure it's really an issue or not) is that when I went to the MAC counter to try this foundation the sales associate applied this to my face in a swirling motion to my face using a MAC 130 brush and holy jesus I looked photoshopped, I didn't even know it was possible to have foundation this good looking until this experience. However, after bringing the foundation and the 130 brush home with me, despite two months of trying I haven't been able to fully recreate the amazingness of that initial application (my foundation looks good, but not airbrushed). Although I long to recreate that look I still think this foundation looks great, especially in comparison to a bunch of other foundations I've been testing. Applying this with a foundation brush isn't always necessary though, I find that this looks good applied with fingers too (it's best to rub this between your fingers a bit and warm it up, that way it glides over the skin more easily.)


Bottom line: This one has earned its hype.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 1/28/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

After finishing a sample I had gotten I decided to go buy the full size and I love it! I use NC20 and it blends perfectly, lasts all day and I don't get as oily as I do with other foundations. My skin goes from combination to oily and it looked matte til the end of day. I did touch up but only my forehead with my powder or blot sheet. The coverage is medium/full which I love. I set it with BE mineral veil and it looks great. I want to try the concealer next. Overall, I would buy again. Oh I apply it with my beautyblender sponge and it looks flawless!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michellemonkey on 1/28/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by michellemonkey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so I've been through my fair share of foundations. I have odd skin. Sometimes oily, sometimes dry. Sometimes sensitive, sometimes not. Sometimes blemished, sometimes clear. I have some redness at the sides of my nose and around the nose area - this is the part I need the most coverage on and the part that the foundation slides off of most quickly.

I've been using Studio Fix liquid in NC15 for a while. Like the finish and the shade match but I put my makeup on at 7am and I need to it last a good 12 hours (sometimes longer - I'm a drama teacher) and despite setting powder, primer, topping up with Studio Fix powder foundation, it just wasn't staying put long enough.

I've also tried Illamasqua skin base (nice match, no longevity), Bobbi Brown (too greasy), MAC mineral and Bare Minerals (both not enough coverage) so finally bit the bullet and went for Pro Longwear. And..... I think I've found my hg!

I was concerned about some of the talk of I've heard of it breaking people out (I also heard this about Studio Fix but thankfully this never happened to me) and how heavy it was and how quickly it sets. But I find it quite easy to work with. As it's matte it will show up dry bits so make sure you exfoliate regularly and moisturise well before using this one. And it does set quite quickly so I find working on one area of my face at a time helps. I'm using a MAC 190 brush and it works beautifully. I did want a stipple (187) brush but the MUA at my MAC store recommended the 190 because of the texture of the foundation. I kind of paint it on using short strokes with the tip of the brush then blend and pat using the main body of the brush - lovely even finish and no streaks!

The colour match is great for me - the NC15 is perfect (actually a better match than my Studio fix fluid) though it may run a touch darker on some people.

I've not notice any oxidising either, it hold the same colour allllll day for me

The staying power is great. It lasts a good 12-15 hours (thought I do notice a slight fade around about the 11/12 hour mark, but not a huge amount) and I find I don't need to blot or touch up at all. If I am having a super long day then I'll powder at about 12 hours but considering I was having to powder at about 5 hours with other foundations, I think that's a great amount of time!

It seems pretty transfer resistant too which is great. It does finish fairly matte so I pop a light spray of fix+ spray after I've finished my face just to help it settle into the skin, so to speak.

I find it about medium coverage but I find it is buildable, despite some other reviews. Once I've done my whole face, if there are any bits I think could do with more coverage, I lightly pat a teeny bit more over. It feels quite light on the skin too, not too cakey

However, you really do need to make sure you take this off at the end of the day, and thoroughly. It hasn't made me break out at all in the last week I've started wearing it, but I imagine it would if I wasn't thorough with removing and cleansing. I've just started using the double cleanse method (cleansing oil to remove MU then normal face wash/toner/moisturiser after) and I find this to be a great method of removing the foundation. (and believe me, there is still some left even 15 hours laster!)

All in all, a very good buy and will certainly re purchase again

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 m177flores on 1/26/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by m177flores

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is very impressive. I have oily-combination skin. Believe it or not, this foundation stayed put and kept me matte. The long wear of it is comparable to Revlon Colorstay. This didn't break me out, but Studio Fix Fluid did. It makes my face flawless. I love topping it off with MSF Natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skyleyle on 1/22/2012 7:30:00 AM more reviews by skyleyle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this foundation not so long ago and I have to say it's better than the Studio Fix Fluid. Although it doesn't give full coverage, it's very buildable. Its not as heavy as the studio fix fluid so you wont feel cakey in the middle of the day. However, i still have to use concealer to cover up my spots

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Belindaeckard on 1/20/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by Belindaeckard

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised at this product. I've never been a fan of MAC foundations (although I love their other products) but Pro Longwear is fantastic. I was convinced that I would need a NC, but the sales assistant wanted to try NW20 on me. It's a pretty good match, much better than I've even had with any other MAC foundation. It's very natural looking, but buildable enough to cover blemishes. It's been 9 hours, and it's still looking good. A slight bit of shine, but I generally don't use powder over my foundation. I'm from South Africa, and this product is expensive here. It retails for R300.00. It's still worth it though, considering that Estee Lauder Double Wear retails for R380.00. And I prefer this foundation to Double Wear, since Double Wear feels heavy on your skin.

Sorry guys, but three days down the line, and this product has given me a pretty bad breakout that resembles a rash. Will not be re-purchasing again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hanaleia01 on 1/18/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by hanaleia01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Looks good from afar but upclose makes fine lines much more visible. Great staying power but after using it for about a week I broke out terribly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products