MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

932 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 5/28/2012 5:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely adore this !!!! Everything about it from the packaging to the finish and the fact that it takes me like 5 minutes to apply ... and I haven't broken out from it !!! (Advice to those acne prone) make sure u remove it I use mineral oil(baby oil) with a cotton pad and melts the foundation right off !! then follow up with a regular cleanser. For those who don't know mineral is non-comedogenic even my dermatologist said its way safer than makeup remover or wipes wich have irritating ingredients and strip the skin so to you all keep that in mind !!!



on 5/27/2012 4:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS!
I think this is the best foundation I have ever tried in my life. I love the pump and the chic packaging and this foundation will stay on all day long regardless of weather, temprature and time wear. I have oily skin but i feel like this is still too dry for my skin so I have to mix it. I take two pumps of the foundation and mix it with a dime size of my primer. I think this foundation is not very good for dryer skin tones. Although this is pricey I would repurchase it. I recomended this to anyone with oily skin and want a longwearing foundation, hence the name pro longwear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2012 5:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Since my face is darker than my chest, I chose to get this in Nc25. While it doesn't match exactly, it's the closest any foundation I've tried has come to matching my color. That reason, and the fact that I hate to touch up my makeup is the reason I purchased this foundation.
Its finish is very matte...which I suppose it good for oily skin like mine, but I feel that matte finishes make one look older and dull. So I like to mix some Lancome Eclat Miracle in with the foundation and it gives more of a satin or tiny bit of a dewy finish. Its medium coverage that lasts about 6-8 hours before it starts to shift around. Although that could be because I have oily skin, or I mixed in the eclat miracle, or I only used a light dusting of powder, or because I refuse to use a setting spray. -_- Who knows.
A decent foundation. I can't say if it affects my acne prone skin too much because I don't use it everyday. I'd like to try other long wear foundations but this is one that is more affordable. Will purchase again unless I stumble onto something better.


on 5/16/2012 3:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Looks very masky on and also I haven't broken out so bad since I had acne in middle school! My face is covered in bumps from this foundation..the only good things are the lasting power and the pump on the packaging. Sorry MAC, no thanks.


on 5/13/2012 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation seemed right when I bought it, but turned out rather disappointing. I have to say I did some research online before going to the MAC store and was actually kind of predisposed to buy it. Maybe that's why I overlooked the fact that NW15, which for some reason doesn't exist for Pro Longwear, is actually my right colour for most of the year. I got the NW20 because the SA told me it worked and because it seemed to work when applied to my cheeck. But in daylight, when I have a full face on, it just doesn't look right. It probably will during those two months of the year when I am tanned. But for now I lighten the colour by mixing it with my Pro Longwear concealer in NW15. Which makes it even more expensive stuff.
But moving on. The lasting power, one of the reasons I wanted this, is actually quite good. Only on my nose does it gradually disappear during the day, but then again I have allergies so the stuff would have to be like glue in order to keep from transferring into my hankies.
But apart from the colour, the reason why I wouldn't repurchase is actually the finish. It looks pretty natural and soft-focus when viewed in soft light or from some distance. But up close it gives me that heavy makeup look and it emphasizes the irregularities in my skin. Even though I apply it quite lightly and really buff it in. That's obviously NOT what I want.
Another small con is the smell. I has something acidic in it, smelling as if some ingredient in it has gone bad ... Not a dealbreaker for me, but not very pleasant either.
So pro's:
- long lasting
- looks good in pictures
Cons:
- looks far from airbrushed up close
- no NW15!
- bad smell
- pump bottle (always dry clumps at the pump & I imagine it will be hard getting the last bit out)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2012 3:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i tried foundation based on all the amazing raves and reviews i've heard about it. It is a great foundation with pretty amazing lasting power with a natural finish. But i find that it has sort of a greyish cast kind of undertone (for my NC 35 skin) throughout the day, and looks extremely unatural in the sunlight, which is very flattering. However, its a good night time foundation for artificial lighting and photographs quite well which i'll probably just use it for. I would not re-purchase since there are so many better foundations out there that does not have that grey cast.


on 5/9/2012 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Background: NW20/Combo skin (oily t zone, redness, occasional blemish)

I *liked* this foundation but I feel that I can do better for the price. I picked this up after watching some of DulceCandy's Youtube tutorials. It is the longest wearing foundation I've ever used and definitely lasts from morning to night. It's an "I'm wearing makeup" foundation, which I don't mind for going out but I like a more fresh-faced look for the office so I don't use this as my every-day. Like all my liquids, I apply with a damp sponge, then blend/buff with a Sigma F80.

Pros:
-VERY longwearing
-Perfect colour match (NW20)
-Pump
- Great for nighttime wear

Cons:
-Too "makeup-y" to use as an every day for the office
- I know I can find a better value for the same performance. Have yet to try Revlon Colorstay as it's actually pretty pricey ($20ish) in Canada, but will be picking it up on my next visit to USA. If I can't find a dupe with Colorstay, I would repurchase. Will update.


on 5/6/2012 6:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Shade: NC20
Application method: dry makeup sponge
Setting powder: Addiction by Ayako's loose powder compact (Medium) or Prep + Prime pressed powder


Pros:
-colour is more neutral and not as yellow as Studio Fix, so it suited my skin tone very well
-great coverage
-little scent (if any)
-glass bottle (nicer than plastic, I suppose)
-Hasn't broken me out (Mac's MSF Natural breaks me out)
-Lasts throughout a workday

Cons:
-heavy jar for travel (solution: I use a contact lense case and fill that with foundation)
-drying and sometimes makes my face patchy with dry skin/streaky foundation (solution: better moisturising skincare regime)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2012 10:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am just generally not a fan of MAC products as I don't feel they have lived up to the hype when I actually buy and use them. This foundation is reminiscent of Revlon ColorStay (which is about a third the price), but is definitely a big more full-coverage. The problem I've had with this foundation is that it doesn't blend nicely enough in the skin (could it be the SPF? not sure) to make it look "flawless" despite all the different application techniques I've tried. It always looks very "masky" which is NOT a look I aspire to.

I know many people swear by MAC but I just don't find it to be a worthwhile investment, at least with regard to the products I've tried. I prefer more natural products (both in look and in formulation). I doubt I'll go into a MAC store again for any kind of concealer or foundation product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2012 5:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got a sample of this last week. Tried it just to see if it's worth the splurge. Nope! The quality is lesser than Revlon Colorstay foundation. It stinks into my pores and doesn't cover anything. Makes my skin looked worse than without any foundation. I had to wash it off. I don't know about the staying power but I won't find out because it can't stand this foundation. For a $30 foundation, I expected more. I am going to stick with my colorstay foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top