MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(858 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 TerraCotta444 on 12/14/2011 10:12:00 PM more reviews by TerraCotta444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation.I've tried many long wearing foundations like revlon colorstay, dream matte mousse, bobbi brown skin foundation ect. None of them work but this one. it does what it claims to do. I have pretty oily skin so this stuff is like a no brainer for me. It has amazing coverage & I natural finish. it doesnt look cakey or make my skin oily which is perfect. The only problem is that It is a little pricey so I dont wear it everyday for my wallets sake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelydiva on 12/7/2011 10:11:00 PM more reviews by lovelydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great foundation. This one is by far my fave mac foundation. I love the finish smooth and matte kindda soft focus effect. It really is long lasting. It sets so quicky that you need to work quite fast. I'm using NC 40 in this summer time but tiny dark for my skin but it adapts so well. I would recommend this foundation only if you dont have dry skin. I love this foundation so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danyellec on 12/7/2011 5:07:00 PM more reviews by danyellec

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap and was wary of trying it as I loved SFF, but for me it is even better than that! I have very oily skin and this stays put all day, I powder once a day and even after 10 hours of wear it still looks good. It does need working into my skin a bit more than Studio Fix but that is the only reason this didn't get 5 lippies. I apply with my ELF flat top powder brush and set with Prep + Prime finishing powder or ELF HD (whichever is closest). I'm NC30 all year round and it's a great colour match. It has amazing coverage meaning I don't need my Studio Sculpt concealer anymore, but I like to apply Benefit Lemon Aid around my eyes before I apply this as I have dark circles. My HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 12/7/2011 3:37:00 AM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is it. This is my foundation right here. I'm 25 and my first experience with mac was when I was 15 (modelling) It was the make-up artist's preferred choice of make up products and they just made me look like a star every time so I was sold pretty easily.
Well i love that MAC have a very good range of shades for darker skin tones. I'm NC 45 in the summer as I'm more tanned then, then go down to NC42 by the mid winters, sometimes even NC 40.( bi-racial and am like a chameleon).
In the past 10 years I've tried almost all of MAC foundations but have never really been crazy about any of them because I found that none really sat very well with my skin type..They were either to cake-facing for me or would make me shiny, some just sat there on my face like a mask while others never lasted long enough and would leave me looking oily and dirty by a certain time. However, I continuously purchased and repurchased from Mac because the shades were just spot on. I sometimes strayed to Bobbi Brown, make-up-forever and other brands but it was the same issues with them plus the colors were not as favorable to me so I returned to MAC.
I finally gave this a try as I love wearing make up and I love my make up to last. I Bought it in the NC42 and it matches perfectly (for the moment). I found that it doesn't spread as well as other foundations I've tried and I've been trying a few application methods (different brushes, sponges, fingers, etc...) But anyway, I manage to get it on and spread nice and evenly in the end so it's no big deal. It set's really fast but the great thing is that it stay's in place. I have oily skin, I do my make at 7.30 in the morning and get home at 4pm and my face still looks superb by then! not perfect but much better than any other foundation that i've tried. I blot and powder once in the day and I have oily skin so that's a new record for me.
I just love this foundation! I love how it makes my skin look and I love that it lasts. I'm so happy because after 10 years of searching, I have finally found 'the one'!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 galaxystar on 12/6/2011 5:36:00 AM more reviews by galaxystar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation a lot. This is the best Mac foundation i've tried so far. I agree it's hard to blend since it is long wearing foundation. The best to apply this foundation is flat top brush like ELF studio powder brush which spreads foundation so well. Another thing is dont use too much it will cakey for me one pump is enough for my whole face. This does not settle into my pores like studio fix do. Comparing to studio fix, studio fix is more blendable but too thick and heavy on the face. This one is very light on the face and smooth soft focus effect IMO. I would say this is a satin matte foundation. If you have super dry skin,, i wouldnt reccommend this. By far, i'm loving this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AriSatomi on 12/6/2011 2:22:00 AM more reviews by AriSatomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

The first thing I noticed when I applied it onto my skin is that it was really hard to blend, like a lot of other reviewers says here. When it went on, it felt cakey and dry, and when I looked at it in daylight two hours after application, it looked exactly like how it felt: cakey and dry. It also oxidised on me into a pinky orangey darker shade that makes me look like I'm having a fever. I have highly reactive skin that is acne-prone and hyperpigmented from recent breakouts, but I had clear skin (no pimples nor clogs) when I tried this foundation on. My chin and cheek areas are most prone to having clogs and reactive breakouts. At the end of the day, some foundation was left on my face, but not in a good way. I looked as if I had really bad skin! The slight dryness of my skin due to use of retin-a was very pronounced and when I removed my foundation, I found at least 10 more pimples than the morning before I put this on. Note that this was the first time of me trying it!! My skin also looked extremely red and irritated, and it never does when I remove my normal daily foundation, Vichy Dermablend fluid. I threw away the (very full) sample jar right after I saw how my skin reacted to it. Overall this is a very deceiving formulation and I regret being sucked into trying it by its glowing reviews. I should've known better, I hated absolutely every single Mac foundation and concealer they had before they started coming out with newer formulations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eurasianbeauty on 12/2/2011 6:09:00 AM more reviews by eurasianbeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There are things I like about this foundation and there are things I dont like which is why I only use it for distinct purposes.

Pros:
- very long-wearing
- good shade selection
- quite good packaging (even though a glass bottle is not my preferred packaging bec I travel a lot)
- good for oily skins

Cons:
- bec of its long-wearing texture it kind of makes fine lines more visible for me, I dont know exactly what it is but somehow when I apply this foundation to my whole face it makes my skin not look as nice as with other foundations which are not long-wearing

For this reason I only use this foundation for my t-zone when I use my MUFE HD foundation at night since that one tends to slide off that area more easily. Since it does not have a high SPF I can still use it for when I take pictures. So for my purpose it is perfect. For some ppl it might be too much to be using two different foundations but for me it is ok bec I only do that for when I am going out or on special occasions when I take a longer time to get ready anyway. For every day foundation I use Shiseido sun protection liquid foundation which has just the perfect texture plus long wear and SPF! This is what I wanted the MAC PLW to be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 felice on 11/29/2011 6:00:00 PM more reviews by felice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well MAC managed to suck me in again...I bought pro longwear in NC45 a few days ago.

Here are my comments:
The good things: decent color range, pump w/foundation, decent amt. of product, the product claimed to be long lasting.

The bad things: the smell, NC45 is waaay yellow(but the product oxidizes a bit), the product is NOT long wearing, I am a greasy mess and, half of my face has worn off, and I broke out after 3 days!

Im just going to stick with MAC eyeshadow and lipsticks, this was the last time I will wear any of their foundations.

Thumbs down MAC!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nattyd16 on 11/27/2011 12:50:00 AM more reviews by nattyd16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this foundation for it's staying power. I must mention though, that while I have the oiliest skin ever (think oil break through about 20 minutes after application - with setting powder!), I don't want my skin to look completely void of any moisture or dimension when I apply my foundation. That being said, I have yet to encounter a foundation that can accomplish this feat. It seems that in order to remain shine free for a few more minutes, the foundation has to be SUPER matte. This foundation is also really yellow, this happens to work with my skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessiev on 11/24/2011 6:00:00 AM more reviews by jessiev

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best foundation I have found for my combo/oily skin so far. I am a foundation junkie, always looking for my HG. I'm not sure this is it but is certainly the best I have found and I have re-purchased several times.
I am very pale and use this in NC15. It is probably a touch too dark or yellow for me, as I lean neutral but as long as I blend properly it is fine.
I found Pro Longwear to indeed be long-lasting and transfer-resistant (very important to me) and has a nice natural matte finish. Although it sets quickly there is enough time to blend well and it is somewhat buildable.
Overall a very good foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products