MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

943 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 7/11/2012 3:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I am not a MAC enthusiast and Pro Longwear (NC 20) is my first MAC foundation... I have been using it for about 4 months, and I think now it's safe to say that I quite like it for some reasons.

Firstly, it really does what it says.
It lasts quite a few hours longer than every other foundation that I've tried so far. For me that's quite important, because my skin is so oily that usually only 3-4 hours after applying any other foundation the meltdown begins.
This one does stay put, even on hot and humid summer days.
I do have to blot a few times throughout the day, but since it does not provide oil control that's ok by me.. the MAC blot powder works well with this btw!
And I like the smooth finish it gives!
Also, it didn't break me out at all.

But obviously you can't have everything, there are a few things that I don't really like about this foundation:

it sits quite heavy on the skin, and that's a feeling I don't like so much.
And I find it quite annoying that it's quite hard to completely cleanse the skin and even harder to clean the applying tools.
So I only wear it when I have the feeling that I really need it, which would be 2 to 3 times a week.

The lasting power is actually a bit frightening -- once I didn't take it off before bed.. on the next day a fair amount was still on my face, and it didn't even look too bad!
I actually don't really want to know which ingredients make such wonders possible ;-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/4/2012 12:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was really looking forward to trying this, as I'd heard nothing but amazing things about MAC foundation. I ought to have known it was too good to be true. While I was lucky enough to have my skintone matched perfectly by the lovely lady at the MAC counter, it was only after the first appliction that I noticed that lines began appearing below my eyes and on my forehead that I had never noticed before! (And I am a very healthy 21 year old) When I look in the mirror I am disgusted by how wrinkly I look. But to make things even worse, it has actually brought BACK the acne on my chin, which left me with the scars I wanted to hide in the first place. The irony!

I might add, that I was not applying much foundation to my skin, but using a small amount and applying thinly. I also applied using a brush, which I clean regularly. I haven't been troubled by acne for at least 2 years now, and can only assume it's this foundation as I have changed nothing else.
So now I look like a strangely old woman with the acne of a 14 year old boy. Hot.




on 6/29/2012 4:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an "almost" HG foundation. It blends well with a brush, you only need one pump for your entire face, I love the pump, it doesn't oxidize (like studiofix), it lasts a long time (I work 12-16hr shifts), it doesn't make me oily, I don't need powder to set it, and when I wear it people tell me they can't tell I'm wearing makeup. It feels very light on my skin. I get extremely red and it covers that very well but my freckles show through naturally still.
However, it clings to dry patches around my mouth and if I look in the mirror I don't think it looks natural close up. But people don't usually stare at your face from 6 inches away. I felt like it was breaking me out at one point. But all MAC's foundations and powders have done that to me; I get itchy and little breakouts. However, I did read somewhere that you have to be really thorough in cleaning your face with MAC foundations because they are meant for professionals and are heavier than the typical. I tend to just use my face wash and not a makeup remover. Since I started using a clarisonic brush to clean my face, I haven't felt as if mac powders or foundations were breaking me out and the itching is much better.
Anyway, if I can figure out a way to get the dry patches under control this is an amazing , light, and natural foundation.
Edit 7/25/12: solution for dry patches, use a different foundation on the sides of my mouth and chin. I've been using Maybelline liquid dream moose. It's too dewy for me during the summer, but great for the dry patches. It blend surprisingly well into the pro longwear on the rest of my face. Also I like this foundation best and blends well with the Maybelline one if I use the sonia kashuk flat top blending brush. I tried it with the Sigma F82 and I didn't like it as much.
Edit 8/8/13: This is officially my HG foundation. I have changed my skincare regime and with my skin doing better it doesn't cling to dry patches and it hasn't been breaking me out. I love how it looks and how it lasts. It's a beautiful foundation. I like that it's sheerer but still overs super well. I just use a little concealor and its flawless. I love the packaging too. As long as it doesn't start breaking me out, I never need another foundation. I would give it 5 lippies but the stupid thing isn't letting me change it.
Edit: 1/11/14: Breakout city. I guess it's time to give up. makes me sooo sad! I'm using Urban Decay Naked skin foundation now and I really love it.


on 6/24/2012 3:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my second favourite foundation at the moment but its the i have re-bought the most. Its full coverage and gives a really nice finish. The packaging is great and dispenses the product in small amounts to reduce wastage. Im an nw 20 and even when i put fake tan on this foundation seems to blend really well and not leave me looking too pale. Only reason for not giving 5 lippies is because it is quite drying on my skin but all in all the pros definitely outweigh the cons and I just keep buying it!


on 6/22/2012 2:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first MAC foundation and I was very disappointed. I expected it to be amazing like everyone said it was but it wasn't. I have oily skin and the foundation dried it out and made it flaky for some reason, even if I used a moisturizer! I don't think I will buy this again considering I returned it to get my $30 back. The good things about this foundation are the color NC25 matched me perfectly and I love the packaging


on 6/16/2012 5:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i bought this foundation last summer, as i needed a foundation to cover up m spots, whilst controlling my oil on my face, and during the summer everything multiplies by 10.
so i bought this foundation, and it really is what it says! it stayed on my face all day and did a good job of covering all my spots (during summer my skin is so bad.)
the price is inexpensive £20 for a foundation that is as it says it is is total worth it!
so girls and boys, if you have acne prone skin or oily skin, then i definitely recommend this!
however i am on the look out for a new foundation as i am getting bored of mac. Haha.
i am still in search of my HG but still this foundation is excellent and well worth every penny!


on 6/14/2012 8:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this foundation. I have very oily skin that never manages to hold a foundation throughout a long day, but this one definitely succeeds in doing just that. I use a dense flat brush to apply, and the foundation has a medium-buildable coverage. It barely starts fading after 10 hours of wear! The only problem is that it dries quickly and doesn't give me the full, flawless, smooth coverage I'm looking for. Best foundation I've found yet, though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2012 12:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So to be completely honest this is the first MAC foundation that I have ever bought and I am in LOVE with it! I have very oily skin in the summer and I live deep in the south Georgia humidity. So each foundation U have tried is automatically put to the test! I have tried so many foundations to keep my skin at bay and I can't say that many can stand up to this one.
I was really afraid that this product would look too mask like or break me out, but guess what? Neither is true! I apply this with a stippling brush and have to be careful with the moisturizer I'm using or it winter last as long and I will look like there's wet paint on my face. So, all in all when used correctly this product is flawless with more If a natural finish on oily skin and a matte on dry-normal.


on 6/11/2012 3:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This was my first ever MAC purchase and I was so disappointed! I wear shade NC15, the lightest possible, and it was still too dark. I found it really thick and difficult to blend and I'm sure it ended up breaking me out. I liked the level of coverage but it did tend to look too cakey. :( I've worn this about 5 times and haven't touched it since. On a more positive note I have loved all the other MAC products I have tried! :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It looks like a mask.

Unlike Studio Fix Powder + Foundation, Pro Longwear doesn't sit on your fine line and make you look older. However, it looks like a mask. Not exactly a nice look.

It does last forever from morning to night. It gives you medium coverage. You must use concealer for darker area, if you try to use the foundation to cover something, you will end up looking like a crazy woman wearing a kabuki mask.

After 20 minutes of applying makeup, it starts to set and the skin looks creamy and nice until you see your neck, you see the huge difference in texture. You will be trying to wipe off some makeup to make it less like a mask.

It's hard to apply evenly. The liquid doesn't spread well. It takes a lot of time and effort to make it even. Not fun.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top