MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

925 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 5/6/2012 6:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Shade: NC20
Application method: dry makeup sponge
Setting powder: Addiction by Ayako's loose powder compact (Medium) or Prep + Prime pressed powder


Pros:
-colour is more neutral and not as yellow as Studio Fix, so it suited my skin tone very well
-great coverage
-little scent (if any)
-glass bottle (nicer than plastic, I suppose)
-Hasn't broken me out (Mac's MSF Natural breaks me out)
-Lasts throughout a workday

Cons:
-heavy jar for travel (solution: I use a contact lense case and fill that with foundation)
-drying and sometimes makes my face patchy with dry skin/streaky foundation (solution: better moisturising skincare regime)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/25/2012 10:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am just generally not a fan of MAC products as I don't feel they have lived up to the hype when I actually buy and use them. This foundation is reminiscent of Revlon ColorStay (which is about a third the price), but is definitely a big more full-coverage. The problem I've had with this foundation is that it doesn't blend nicely enough in the skin (could it be the SPF? not sure) to make it look "flawless" despite all the different application techniques I've tried. It always looks very "masky" which is NOT a look I aspire to.

I know many people swear by MAC but I just don't find it to be a worthwhile investment, at least with regard to the products I've tried. I prefer more natural products (both in look and in formulation). I doubt I'll go into a MAC store again for any kind of concealer or foundation product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2012 5:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got a sample of this last week. Tried it just to see if it's worth the splurge. Nope! The quality is lesser than Revlon Colorstay foundation. It stinks into my pores and doesn't cover anything. Makes my skin looked worse than without any foundation. I had to wash it off. I don't know about the staying power but I won't find out because it can't stand this foundation. For a $30 foundation, I expected more. I am going to stick with my colorstay foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2012 4:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have a very oily and sensitive skin, with dry patches. This foundation oxidises within minutes of being put, dries to a very matte unnatural finish and wears off in patches (T zone). It gets darker as the day goes by, emphasises dry patches. Very difficult to put on, works only with a beauty blender for me (tried all sorts of brushes) or with hands, but you have to work very fast as it dries quickly. Overall, not impressed. I will stick to my ELDW and diorskin forever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2012 1:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Was really surprised how much I like this foundation. It's like a light version of double wear. It would be drying for dry skin, but great for my combination skin in the summer. Runs dark. I am usually NC30 but actually got NC15.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When I got a replacement Mac Powerpoint eyeliner yesterday the MUA suggested a new blush for me -- Mineralize in Warm Soul. Love it! I was so happy I thought maybe I'd try their long-wear foundation to replace mine. I've used Dior Forever forever, but thought maybe I could do better...

Hah! When I got home and looked at my face in my 7X mirror, the Mac foundation was in tracks all over my face. The next day, I tried to carefully apply it myself. Same experience.

If you want flawless, long-wearing foundation, go for the Dior Forever Fusion Wear. It's amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2012 1:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay coverage, okay lasting power.

Just okay, NC colors are too orangey. What just cause you're warm toned means you're an oompa loompa?

Next.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2012 5:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Errggggghhh.

I usually always complain that foundations never last all day or '24 hours' as they say they do, although this did stay all day. It stayed all day but didn't look as freshly applied as it did when I first put it on (obviously this is understandable).
I purchased this in NC25 because I had been previously matched in NC30 and found this too dark. NC25 matched my tone, it just had a HORRIBLE orange sort of tinge to it.
It's also very thick so it tents to bring out the pores around and on the nose. It made my nose area very cakey.
I would not wear this out of choice although I would wear it if i had to. If I could get my money back I would...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a love hate relationship with this product. First, it doesn't last long on my skin at all and i use a primer and it still doesn't last. Second it drys quickly you have to really blend it in. Third, less is more the less you wear the better it looks it can look cakey if you use to much. The good thing about this product is the coverage it makes you look flawless but you can tell when you have it on. it doesnt look natural to me but i love the coverage i have decided to only wear this on special occasions if i'm going out and want to look made up.


on 3/27/2012 11:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

In general, I do like this foundation but I've found it can be a little bit problematic...
I use NC15, and when it is eventually blended in and set my skin looks pretty much flawless, however I do find it difficult to use. I find it quite thick, and when I use a primer underneath it the finish doesn't quite look right for me... I can't really describe it but it is like it is just sitting on top of my skin and looks a bit like a mask. So I wear it with no primer. I have tried several brushes, sponges, fingers trying to get it to look right and have found a MAC 130 works best. I like it because I like a lot of coverage, it gives that and it is long lasting. I do like this foundation and do think its good - you just need to get the application right based on your own skin and how this foundation looks and feels on it. I don't think I will buy another when my bottle runs out, I'm sure there are foundations out there which give just as good results but are a lot easier to work with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Back to Top