MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

937 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 6/14/2012 8:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this foundation. I have very oily skin that never manages to hold a foundation throughout a long day, but this one definitely succeeds in doing just that. I use a dense flat brush to apply, and the foundation has a medium-buildable coverage. It barely starts fading after 10 hours of wear! The only problem is that it dries quickly and doesn't give me the full, flawless, smooth coverage I'm looking for. Best foundation I've found yet, though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/12/2012 12:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So to be completely honest this is the first MAC foundation that I have ever bought and I am in LOVE with it! I have very oily skin in the summer and I live deep in the south Georgia humidity. So each foundation U have tried is automatically put to the test! I have tried so many foundations to keep my skin at bay and I can't say that many can stand up to this one.
I was really afraid that this product would look too mask like or break me out, but guess what? Neither is true! I apply this with a stippling brush and have to be careful with the moisturizer I'm using or it winter last as long and I will look like there's wet paint on my face. So, all in all when used correctly this product is flawless with more If a natural finish on oily skin and a matte on dry-normal.


on 6/11/2012 3:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This was my first ever MAC purchase and I was so disappointed! I wear shade NC15, the lightest possible, and it was still too dark. I found it really thick and difficult to blend and I'm sure it ended up breaking me out. I liked the level of coverage but it did tend to look too cakey. :( I've worn this about 5 times and haven't touched it since. On a more positive note I have loved all the other MAC products I have tried! :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It looks like a mask.

Unlike Studio Fix Powder + Foundation, Pro Longwear doesn't sit on your fine line and make you look older. However, it looks like a mask. Not exactly a nice look.

It does last forever from morning to night. It gives you medium coverage. You must use concealer for darker area, if you try to use the foundation to cover something, you will end up looking like a crazy woman wearing a kabuki mask.

After 20 minutes of applying makeup, it starts to set and the skin looks creamy and nice until you see your neck, you see the huge difference in texture. You will be trying to wipe off some makeup to make it less like a mask.

It's hard to apply evenly. The liquid doesn't spread well. It takes a lot of time and effort to make it even. Not fun.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2012 6:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

When I went to the MAC store the make up artist picked out NW20 for me - because I have pink undertones apparently? Anyway, NW20 was too dark for my pale skin and in this foundation there is no NW15 which is silly in my opinion when there is in other foundations. So I ended up getting NC15. It looks okay on my skin, not a perfect match, but reasonably close.

The coverage is medium-high and the quality of the foundation is really nice, goes on smoothly and looks good on skin. I'd say the finish is semi-matte. So it looks nice and natural without being too shiny/dewy.

This foundation lasted quite well, I have very oily skin and it did its job, though not anywhere near the 15 hours it promises but a lot better than other foundations such as Colorstay.

The glass bottle is really nice and I appreciate the pump a lot! It cost about £22.50 so it's quite pricey.

Unfortunately I did like this foundation a lot, but I've only worn it twice because it breaks me out so bad in my T-zone, I will be covered in spots and redness. I found this odd because this has never happened to me before with make-up, I don't have sensitive skin at all! After wearing it twice and seeing that it broke me out I gave up on it, until last night when i tried it on again, I put it on my left cheek because I get redness and wanted to see the coverage, and on my forehead and between my eyebrows where the breakouts caused were. I thought it looked really nice and would consider wearing it tomorrow, I then removed it immediately. I woke up today with a huge spot between my eyebrows. I imagine this is not a coincidence. It's such a shame too! I'll have to give it one lippy.

This is the first MAC product I've ever bought. I will buy another foundation to try, but not this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2012 5:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely adore this !!!! Everything about it from the packaging to the finish and the fact that it takes me like 5 minutes to apply ... and I haven't broken out from it !!! (Advice to those acne prone) make sure u remove it I use mineral oil(baby oil) with a cotton pad and melts the foundation right off !! then follow up with a regular cleanser. For those who don't know mineral is non-comedogenic even my dermatologist said its way safer than makeup remover or wipes wich have irritating ingredients and strip the skin so to you all keep that in mind !!!


on 5/27/2012 4:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS!
I think this is the best foundation I have ever tried in my life. I love the pump and the chic packaging and this foundation will stay on all day long regardless of weather, temprature and time wear. I have oily skin but i feel like this is still too dry for my skin so I have to mix it. I take two pumps of the foundation and mix it with a dime size of my primer. I think this foundation is not very good for dryer skin tones. Although this is pricey I would repurchase it. I recomended this to anyone with oily skin and want a longwearing foundation, hence the name pro longwear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2012 5:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Since my face is darker than my chest, I chose to get this in Nc25. While it doesn't match exactly, it's the closest any foundation I've tried has come to matching my color. That reason, and the fact that I hate to touch up my makeup is the reason I purchased this foundation.
Its finish is very matte...which I suppose it good for oily skin like mine, but I feel that matte finishes make one look older and dull. So I like to mix some Lancome Eclat Miracle in with the foundation and it gives more of a satin or tiny bit of a dewy finish. Its medium coverage that lasts about 6-8 hours before it starts to shift around. Although that could be because I have oily skin, or I mixed in the eclat miracle, or I only used a light dusting of powder, or because I refuse to use a setting spray. -_- Who knows.
A decent foundation. I can't say if it affects my acne prone skin too much because I don't use it everyday. I'd like to try other long wear foundations but this is one that is more affordable. Will purchase again unless I stumble onto something better.


on 5/16/2012 3:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Looks very masky on and also I haven't broken out so bad since I had acne in middle school! My face is covered in bumps from this foundation..the only good things are the lasting power and the pump on the packaging. Sorry MAC, no thanks.


on 5/13/2012 10:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This foundation seemed right when I bought it, but turned out rather disappointing. I have to say I did some research online before going to the MAC store and was actually kind of predisposed to buy it. Maybe that's why I overlooked the fact that NW15, which for some reason doesn't exist for Pro Longwear, is actually my right colour for most of the year. I got the NW20 because the SA told me it worked and because it seemed to work when applied to my cheeck. But in daylight, when I have a full face on, it just doesn't look right. It probably will during those two months of the year when I am tanned. But for now I lighten the colour by mixing it with my Pro Longwear concealer in NW15. Which makes it even more expensive stuff.
But moving on. The lasting power, one of the reasons I wanted this, is actually quite good. Only on my nose does it gradually disappear during the day, but then again I have allergies so the stuff would have to be like glue in order to keep from transferring into my hankies.
But apart from the colour, the reason why I wouldn't repurchase is actually the finish. It looks pretty natural and soft-focus when viewed in soft light or from some distance. But up close it gives me that heavy makeup look and it emphasizes the irregularities in my skin. Even though I apply it quite lightly and really buff it in. That's obviously NOT what I want.
Another small con is the smell. I has something acidic in it, smelling as if some ingredient in it has gone bad ... Not a dealbreaker for me, but not very pleasant either.
So pro's:
- long lasting
- looks good in pictures
Cons:
- looks far from airbrushed up close
- no NW15!
- bad smell
- pump bottle (always dry clumps at the pump & I imagine it will be hard getting the last bit out)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top