MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(906 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xnobzx on 3/11/2012 1:47:00 AM more reviews by xnobzx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this foundation. NW20 is the perfect match for my skin. At first I was VERY skeptical because MAC foundations are typically known to break me out, well not this one. I purchased this a year ago when it first came out and have repurchased it twice since. I have VERY oily skin and this foundation not only stays in place all day it helps control the oil in my skin. It also doesn't transfer....AT ALL! I don't think that this is the best choice for someone with dry skin though.

Some of the negative reviews for this product have been the following:
-"It broke me out"- Well to you I ask how are you removing it? It is a very LONG wearing foundation and requires proper removal. The best way to remove a long wearing foundation is with a cleanse off oil prior to washing your face. I personally have very sensitive break out prone skin and find that it does not break me out when removed properly. Here is my routine to remove it> 1.)Massage MAC Cleanse Off Oil all over dry skin for about a good 60 seconds prior to washing. 2.)Rinse off with water. 3.)Cleanse with my regular cleanser (Kiehl's Ultra Facial Oil Free). 4.)Rinse. 5.)Repeat with regular cleanser and Clarisonic. 6.) Dry face then apply toner. 7.) Moisturize.

-"It looks cakey"- I HATE when people say this about any product because this is usually the users fault. How are you applying it? Here is what I do- 1.)Moisturize face well and allow it to sink in for at least 5 minutes. 2.)Add Makeup Forever Primer in #0 to entire face using Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki. 3.) Use the same brush to apply the foundation, do not clean primer off prior to application. This will help the foundation not absorb into the bristles of the brush and helps it apply much more evenly. 3.) Blot face with non lotion tissue to remove any excess oil left over from the foundation. 4.) Set foundation With Makeup Forever Super Matte Loose powder. 5.) If I have slightly too much coverage at this point I'll use either MAC Fix+(In winter time or dryer climates) or Skindanavia(In summer time or when I know I'll be sweating a lot) setting spray to diffuse the product on my face with a duo fiber brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimmyKub on 3/9/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by KimmyKub

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This foundation is GREAT! Definitely HG for me! This foundation gives great coverage and doesn't cake like Studio Fix did after awhile. This stays on for like 8 hours on me and I have very oily skin. I usually get super oily within an hour but with this foundation and some blot powder to set it I don't even really touch up anymore. My face gets a slight dewiness after about 5 hours but it looks very airbrushed and nothing like an oily mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EvilyKyoko on 3/7/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by EvilyKyoko

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely everything I've ever wanted in a foundation. Starting with the cons though, the warmer colors they have (I'm in NC30) are VERY YELLOW. If you have a neutral ski tone this may be too yellow. Also, this CAN be a bit drying if you have dry skin, but I haven't noticed any flakeyness or anything.
Now for the rave part. This stays on ALL DAY. And i mean it doesn't fade. Not even off of the pores on my nose, which are usually visible by the end of the day. I have no need for touch-ups with this. I don't even set my foundation with powder, and this lasts amazingly on its own.
This is medium to full coverage, but it is nice and buildable over areas you may want to conceal more, so it can double as your concealer.
I absolutely love that the bottle has a pump. It makes it so much easier to put the foundation on my brush.
All in all i love everything about this foundation, considering the cons weren't really problems for me. HG!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nikkiphaaant on 3/7/2012 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Nikkiphaaant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Not as much coverage as I would like but stays on all day! controls oiliess and doesnt change colors! MY HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sabrinalovesmakeup on 3/5/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by sabrinalovesmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very nice foundation! Coverage is great and it feels like skin!It photographs well! Pretty good color selection. I give it four lippies instead of five because it broke me out and I've never broken out from any foundation before!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilblue10 on 3/5/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by lilblue10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So I'm still a little bit unsure of how I feel about this foundation.
First the color is a little off but that's my fault and it's manageable. The coverage is medium, definitely not full. Even though I need full coverage,this can be easily fixed with some concealer.If you tend to have dry skin STAY AWAY it emphasizes any dry patches you have, luckily my skin isn't that dry so I just need to put on a good moisturizer.
But the great thing about this foundation is that it really is long wearing.My T-zone normally gets oily after 3-4 hours and I have to blot but when I wear this foundation I can go without 7-8 without blotting !!
The reason I'm not sure about this foundation is the finish and the effect it gives to my skin.It's really obvious when I'm wearing it and tends to look a bit cakey.
So my endless quest for the perfect foundation continues !

Update 03/17 : I've been comparing Revlon Colorstay and this one, and I can honestly say that Pro longwear has nothing over CS. It's still a good foundation and I will use it up but I won't repurchase as the Revlon one is very similar but has more coverage and is cheaper

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CatMondragon on 3/2/2012 5:40:00 PM more reviews by CatMondragon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very Pleased with this foundation :]
Currently using NC25, I have light skin with yellow undertone.

My Skin: Very Oily, Acne prone, and has some light acne scaring on the sides.

Prior to trying this foundation i was using Estee Lauder double wear, which is really good foundation but not alot of availability for shades. MAC longwear has been completely amazing. . . my color match fits perfectly (have always loved MAC colors) . . it has an integrated pump!!.. also the foundation keeps my oil under control while not over drying my skin. The texture is creamy & drys fast on the skin, so I suggest using a stippling brush for better application. I finish off with MAC studio fix fluid powder to set my makeup . . .
Compared to Studio Fix Liquid foundation, Longwear doesnít offers as much matte coverage as studio . . but it wont melt off your face like Stuio Fix . . . For anyone who struggles with oil control like me, i highly recommend this foundation!! Price is not too bad, $32 with tax. . another plus, it didnít make me break out :]

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dottori on 3/1/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by dottori

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Currently I'm using this in NC15 instead of NC20 which the SA matched me up with. I found that the NC20 was too yellow for my asian skin so I returned it for the NC15 which was a bit more neutral and a better fit for my skin. I prefer the "brighter complexion" look so I always try to match the foundation to the color of my neck which is a shade lighter than my face. My skin is combination with dry itchy skin around the periphery and oily on my nose and apples of my cheek. With this product on, I can tell that its more suited towards oily skin as it was drying. Dry patches on my skin were noticeable but not as bad as other foundations I've sampled. I make sure to moisturize and exfoliate to keep flakiness at bay. It doesn't glide over your face that's for sure and it tends to dry up fast. Its pretty matte, non-luminous, and contain no nano-sparkles. I like this product for the color but wish for a more moisturizing or luminous finish foundation. I think I will try designer brand foundations next...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iluvsushi on 2/28/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by iluvsushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my current everyday/my go-to foundation. I prefer this to their StudioFix Fluid which did not last long on my oily skin. What I like about Pro Longwear is that it does last longer. I usually apply the foundation around 6am and after a long day at work or if I've made plans afterwards the staying power of this foundation is excellent. The longest I've worn this foundation was between 8-15hrs, however after 12/13hrs the foundation doesn't look "freshly applied" as it was in the beginning but still no trace of fading. If you have oily skin, I would highly recommend this product providing you set your foundation with loose powder. For me, the price is expensive mainly because I have to purchase 2 shades to get the right match for my skintone (for ref, I'm between NC40-42). As much as I like the creamy formula, you would have to work quicker at blending the foundation as it will dry fast so work in different sections of your face. I've noticed that this foundation does oxidize (more on oily skin). It's not the best at controlling my oily t-zone but the foundation still stays in place! Overall, I'd rate this a 4. Hope this helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aishteru85 on 2/25/2012 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Aishteru85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Hhhmmm, after hearing such great review. I had to try this. For reference my HG foundation is ELDW in Tawny and 2nd HG would be Revlon Colorstay in 330 mixed with 310. I got this in NC35. Disappointed. I should never have strayed...Sigh~~ such a huge waste of money. This cost around USD 42.00 in my country and the worst bit about it is that we dont have return policy for make up. Sigh~~~~~....I have super oily face, and the only two foundations that last long enough are ELDW and CS.

Wear: This lasts up to maybe 8 hrs and it started separating from my face after just 7 hours wear. (I live in a hot and humid weather and I sweat a tonnes)

Color: NC35 was a pretty good match for my skin, but towards the end of the day it oxidizes and left me looking dark and dirty.

Application: This applies well, great blend-ability and doesnt dry too quickly i find this applies just as well with hands or with stippling brush and the texture is slightly thicker than ELDW but not as heavy as CS.

Feel: It doesnt feel heavy and felt quite light weight. But doesnt control oil all that well, my face is a grease ball by mid day. Doesnt leave a whitish casts in photos though.

Coverage: This gives medium to full coverage. It builds nicely too and doesnt leave me cakey no matter how much i build it. So this does not cake as much as the CS. This also did not leave my pores looking larger neither did it make it invisible. The formula did not break me out.

All in all this is a mediocre foundation in its class, I would definitely be going back to my ELDW...why did i stray? i got bored..i wanted to try something new and now i know better. Would I buy again? No...simply because I can get 2 Revlon colorstay for the price and Rev CS performs wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy bettterrr

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products