MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(884 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chinadoll13 on 1/28/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by chinadoll13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

After finishing a sample I had gotten I decided to go buy the full size and I love it! I use NC20 and it blends perfectly, lasts all day and I don't get as oily as I do with other foundations. My skin goes from combination to oily and it looked matte til the end of day. I did touch up but only my forehead with my powder or blot sheet. The coverage is medium/full which I love. I set it with BE mineral veil and it looks great. I want to try the concealer next. Overall, I would buy again. Oh I apply it with my beautyblender sponge and it looks flawless!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michellemonkey on 1/28/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by michellemonkey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so I've been through my fair share of foundations. I have odd skin. Sometimes oily, sometimes dry. Sometimes sensitive, sometimes not. Sometimes blemished, sometimes clear. I have some redness at the sides of my nose and around the nose area - this is the part I need the most coverage on and the part that the foundation slides off of most quickly.

I've been using Studio Fix liquid in NC15 for a while. Like the finish and the shade match but I put my makeup on at 7am and I need to it last a good 12 hours (sometimes longer - I'm a drama teacher) and despite setting powder, primer, topping up with Studio Fix powder foundation, it just wasn't staying put long enough.

I've also tried Illamasqua skin base (nice match, no longevity), Bobbi Brown (too greasy), MAC mineral and Bare Minerals (both not enough coverage) so finally bit the bullet and went for Pro Longwear. And..... I think I've found my hg!

I was concerned about some of the talk of I've heard of it breaking people out (I also heard this about Studio Fix but thankfully this never happened to me) and how heavy it was and how quickly it sets. But I find it quite easy to work with. As it's matte it will show up dry bits so make sure you exfoliate regularly and moisturise well before using this one. And it does set quite quickly so I find working on one area of my face at a time helps. I'm using a MAC 190 brush and it works beautifully. I did want a stipple (187) brush but the MUA at my MAC store recommended the 190 because of the texture of the foundation. I kind of paint it on using short strokes with the tip of the brush then blend and pat using the main body of the brush - lovely even finish and no streaks!

The colour match is great for me - the NC15 is perfect (actually a better match than my Studio fix fluid) though it may run a touch darker on some people.

I've not notice any oxidising either, it hold the same colour allllll day for me

The staying power is great. It lasts a good 12-15 hours (thought I do notice a slight fade around about the 11/12 hour mark, but not a huge amount) and I find I don't need to blot or touch up at all. If I am having a super long day then I'll powder at about 12 hours but considering I was having to powder at about 5 hours with other foundations, I think that's a great amount of time!

It seems pretty transfer resistant too which is great. It does finish fairly matte so I pop a light spray of fix+ spray after I've finished my face just to help it settle into the skin, so to speak.

I find it about medium coverage but I find it is buildable, despite some other reviews. Once I've done my whole face, if there are any bits I think could do with more coverage, I lightly pat a teeny bit more over. It feels quite light on the skin too, not too cakey

However, you really do need to make sure you take this off at the end of the day, and thoroughly. It hasn't made me break out at all in the last week I've started wearing it, but I imagine it would if I wasn't thorough with removing and cleansing. I've just started using the double cleanse method (cleansing oil to remove MU then normal face wash/toner/moisturiser after) and I find this to be a great method of removing the foundation. (and believe me, there is still some left even 15 hours laster!)

All in all, a very good buy and will certainly re purchase again

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 m177flores on 1/26/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by m177flores

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is very impressive. I have oily-combination skin. Believe it or not, this foundation stayed put and kept me matte. The long wear of it is comparable to Revlon Colorstay. This didn't break me out, but Studio Fix Fluid did. It makes my face flawless. I love topping it off with MSF Natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skyleyle on 1/22/2012 7:30:00 AM more reviews by skyleyle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this foundation not so long ago and I have to say it's better than the Studio Fix Fluid. Although it doesn't give full coverage, it's very buildable. Its not as heavy as the studio fix fluid so you wont feel cakey in the middle of the day. However, i still have to use concealer to cover up my spots

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Belindaeckard on 1/20/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by Belindaeckard

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised at this product. I've never been a fan of MAC foundations (although I love their other products) but Pro Longwear is fantastic. I was convinced that I would need a NC, but the sales assistant wanted to try NW20 on me. It's a pretty good match, much better than I've even had with any other MAC foundation. It's very natural looking, but buildable enough to cover blemishes. It's been 9 hours, and it's still looking good. A slight bit of shine, but I generally don't use powder over my foundation. I'm from South Africa, and this product is expensive here. It retails for R300.00. It's still worth it though, considering that Estee Lauder Double Wear retails for R380.00. And I prefer this foundation to Double Wear, since Double Wear feels heavy on your skin.

Sorry guys, but three days down the line, and this product has given me a pretty bad breakout that resembles a rash. Will not be re-purchasing again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hanaleia01 on 1/18/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by hanaleia01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Looks good from afar but upclose makes fine lines much more visible. Great staying power but after using it for about a week I broke out terribly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nikkinapalm on 1/18/2012 3:48:00 PM more reviews by nikkinapalm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I could seriously cry. This foundation gave me the worst allergic reaction I have ever experienced :(. (I wish I could upload the picture I took of my face the next morning.) It caused small red bumps all over my face and neck along with a scaly rash and caused my roscea to flare up to an extreme. My face was sore to the touch. The reaction actually lasted on my face for over a week, too. Neaclear products eventually helped heal it but it was living hell working at a makeup counter and having to pretend like my skin was just peachy. I seriously feel like writing into MAC corporate and telling them about what happened, but instead I'll just warn all you sensitive girls to stay away from this product!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eimearsg on 1/15/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by eimearsg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

holy grail holy grail holy grail !!!!!!! i am in love with this product ! it is my go to for evening events! love it ! i have this foundation in two shades nc30 and nw25 , i know weird! there like two totally opposite colour systems WTF?! but seriously they both look great on my skin, i prefer the nc30 way more ! it looks way more natural on me, i just think sometimes it looks a tiny bit yellow and thats why i went and got the nw25, just to warm it up a little! but ive tried the nw25 on its own to and it looks fine! its just a little dark but i love it on days when i want a tanner more bronzed type of look ! plus when i mix them both together its just absolute perfection !

i was super hesitant to try this product because i had already tried s.f.f and i hated it, like i swear i hated every single thing about it! the smell the texture the finish it just sucked!!! i got matched to nw35!!!?!?!?! and it was my first mac foundation so i didnt know any different ! im just about an nw25, probably a true 20 if im honest , so how the hell did they match me to nw35 ? this is why i just straight up do not listen to the mua at mac anymore lol it looked totally riduculous! but honestly it wasnt even the colour it was everything about it i just hated it ! and im in belfast, so i got this at debenhams and there is no return policy for makeup so i couldnt even exchange ! so disappointed ! anyway im way off track here ! pro long wear foundation is the besttttt!!!!!! recommend it to everybody ! even dry skin types because its seriously isnt like totally flat and drying ! the finish is kind of more satin i think ! swear i just love it so much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vittoriak on 1/9/2012 11:56:00 AM more reviews by Vittoriak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I want to like this foundation. Sometimes it works beautifully, makes my skin looking absolutely flawless. It makes you think you've found your perfect foundation! However, when you are on one of those mediocre-skin-days, it just makes your skin look horribly. My dry skin flecks way more apparent and I have oil/combo skin. It was quite unbelievable, actually. It is just one of those foundations that I cannot rely on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megct94 on 1/8/2012 4:27:00 PM more reviews by megct94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic foundation, finally found something pale enough for my skin tone! Have spent FOREVER trying to find something that suited my skin. Bought the "palest" Chanel foundation and it was watery and made me look orange and horrible. Thank god for MAC and their colour range. (My mum was served by a redhead at the MAC counter and asked her what she would wear) This product has great coverage (I suffer from acne and when I use this foundation I only have to use about about 1/3 of the foundation I used in the past to cover my spots and blemishes) Love this foundation, lasts for ages and the packaging is perfect to chuck in your handbag when you're rushed for time in the morning. Love it, it's the perfect colour and coverage, I don't have to blend it away to nothing for it to suit my skin tone, or cover it in powder. Stays for ages on my skin and is perfect for me with my busy life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products