MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(913 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 itsEmmaTime on 3/23/2012 12:11:00 PM more reviews by itsEmmaTime

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this foundation, I don't love it though!
The coverage is ok, I kind of expected it to cover better though.
The colours run very dark! I have NW20 and I only wear it when I have fake tan on.
It does last well and even though there's and SPF of 10 I haven't had a problem with white cast.
Overall it's a pretty average foundation, it's nothing special but it's not bad, the coverage is fine for day to day and the lasting power is good. But there are definitely better foundations out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellar on 3/20/2012 11:41:00 AM more reviews by stellar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation so much, but unfortunately it's not really working for me. : ( The biggest problem I'm having is that NC15 is too dark. I should have known, since I'd read and heard that the Pro Longwear formula runs a little darker. I can wear NC15 in their other formulas but just barely. This foundation looks right in all indoor lighting and in outdoor lighting in the evenings, which is odd. But sitting here at my desk with natural lighting pouring in from the huge windows to my right, I can see that it's obviously too dark. I asked several people and they all say they don't think it's too dark to wear, but I just don't feel comfortable in it. It's just the strangest thing, I've taken tons of pictures of myself wearing it in various lighting, with and without flash, etc., and it looks perfect in all pictures. But when I look in the mirror, it's clearly off. The second problem I'm having is that my chin area seems to be reacting to it. Every night after I wash my face I see that I have a few tiny red bumps. Not pimples, just the typical bumps I get when I'm having a minor reaction to something. They're always gone by morning. This morning I did have a very tiny zit on the tip of my nose, which must be from this foundation because I never get those - especially not there. It also makes my skin itch a little. Very weird. On me, this gives buildable medium-full buildable coverage and looks SO natural and gorgeous. I absolutely love the finish. It smooths over my pores and fine lines. And it LASTS. The longest I've worn it so far has been 12 hours, and it looked just as good at that point as it did after I first applied. I was amazed. I thought it was going to be my HG foundation, until I realized it was too dark and that my skin was reacting to it. I may try mixing it with my L'Oreal True Match in W1 (the lightest foundation I own) to see how that goes, but if it compromises the lasting power and alters the finish I may have to give EL DW another try. It's a shame because there's so much I love about this foundation! I said that I would repurchase, but that's only if I can find a way to make it work. It might not be worth the hassle. Amazing product, it would just be nice if they made lighter shades. I'll definitely be able to wear it once I get a little color in the coming weeks and months, but I was really looking for something I can wear with my untanned skin. ETA: This stuff is going back. Today when I got home from work I saw that I had two *actual* zits on my chin. No foundation is worth ruining my skin, so I'm not going to mess with trying to make it work. So disappointing. I went and got a sample of EL DW in Bone and I think it might work for me. I've used Linen in the summer before and really liked it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FracturedBroken on 3/18/2012 11:39:00 PM more reviews by FracturedBroken

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I will not be repurchasing this product unless by chance my skin goes back to being oily. This foundation dries out my skin. After a few hours my cheeks and parts of my forehead feel dry and tight. My skin will still feel dry in those areas even after I take off the makeup. After a few days of not using it my skin will go normal for me which is combo with oily t-zone and normal cheeks. It gets cakey very easily and the only way I could apply it and have it look ok was with a damp sponge. I do like the pump. I'm NC35 but in pro longwear I wear NC30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luv4strawberry on 3/18/2012 12:57:00 PM more reviews by luv4strawberry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first Mac purchase, I read tons of reviews and seems you either love Mac or hate it ..... I hate it. This is going to be promptly returned.
I first went to get samples, they matched me as an NW20, buyer beware this foundation does not play well in natural light!! NW20 looks just fine in the deptartment store light wow was i suprised to step outside and see what i can only describe as pink paint on my hand!
I was also given a sample of NC15 so thought what the heck i'd give that a go. Color seemed to match better so i ordered it online as the little samples never seem to be enough for me to really try it out. It's more of a light coverage wouldn't call it medium and had a heck of a time trying to make it a medium coverage with out it looking awfull (not to mention this is a pain to blend).
I have dry skin and within eight hours this made my face a greasy mess. I seriously was able to wipe off all the foundation with a tissue yuck!! i used a primer set it with powder normal routine my skin has never reacted like this to a foundation before. Not only that but now i have four new zits ... lovley ....
I really just don't understand how this has such high reviews i've tried Smashbox's Studio Skin (which i LOVE, no breakouts, easier to blend, better coverage, better color) with no problems besides their lightest shade 1.1 is still a little to dark for me.
I found the NC15 a pretty good match in color but same thing as the NW20 step out in natural light and this foundation looks like a whole different color .........
For $30 it's not worth it back to Revlon CS (which im a 150 buff in just for reference).


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tasjaa on 3/18/2012 10:02:00 AM more reviews by tasjaa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As much as I wanted to like this fdtn, it just didn't work for me. Texture was like glue, very patchy, almost no coverage and it broke me out! :( I loved the idea of this foundation, but it is not for me. Extra lippie for good packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adrianamelie on 3/16/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by adrianamelie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This totally covers up my uneven skin tone. I apply this with a stippling brush all over my face and it stays for the entire day. I love this product! No one can tell I wear foundation until I tell them that I do. I met up with my friends who I haven't seen in 7 months (before I wore foundation) and they met me and told me that 'my complexion improved a lot!' they didn't realize I was wearing foundation! My skin seems so flawless with it (it's not!). However, I have oily skin and I've noticed that after 5-6 hours, my face gets super oily. Just a heads up for the oilies out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShayMarie15 on 3/12/2012 5:40:00 PM more reviews by ShayMarie15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love MAC Pro longwear. Its stays on all day and I only use mineralize skinfinish powder(love it) once after I put my foundation. Will be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xnobzx on 3/11/2012 1:47:00 AM more reviews by xnobzx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this foundation. NW20 is the perfect match for my skin. At first I was VERY skeptical because MAC foundations are typically known to break me out, well not this one. I purchased this a year ago when it first came out and have repurchased it twice since. I have VERY oily skin and this foundation not only stays in place all day it helps control the oil in my skin. It also doesn't transfer....AT ALL! I don't think that this is the best choice for someone with dry skin though.

Some of the negative reviews for this product have been the following:
-"It broke me out"- Well to you I ask how are you removing it? It is a very LONG wearing foundation and requires proper removal. The best way to remove a long wearing foundation is with a cleanse off oil prior to washing your face. I personally have very sensitive break out prone skin and find that it does not break me out when removed properly. Here is my routine to remove it> 1.)Massage MAC Cleanse Off Oil all over dry skin for about a good 60 seconds prior to washing. 2.)Rinse off with water. 3.)Cleanse with my regular cleanser (Kiehl's Ultra Facial Oil Free). 4.)Rinse. 5.)Repeat with regular cleanser and Clarisonic. 6.) Dry face then apply toner. 7.) Moisturize.

-"It looks cakey"- I HATE when people say this about any product because this is usually the users fault. How are you applying it? Here is what I do- 1.)Moisturize face well and allow it to sink in for at least 5 minutes. 2.)Add Makeup Forever Primer in #0 to entire face using Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki. 3.) Use the same brush to apply the foundation, do not clean primer off prior to application. This will help the foundation not absorb into the bristles of the brush and helps it apply much more evenly. 3.) Blot face with non lotion tissue to remove any excess oil left over from the foundation. 4.) Set foundation With Makeup Forever Super Matte Loose powder. 5.) If I have slightly too much coverage at this point I'll use either MAC Fix+(In winter time or dryer climates) or Skindanavia(In summer time or when I know I'll be sweating a lot) setting spray to diffuse the product on my face with a duo fiber brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimmyKub on 3/9/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by KimmyKub

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This foundation is GREAT! Definitely HG for me! This foundation gives great coverage and doesn't cake like Studio Fix did after awhile. This stays on for like 8 hours on me and I have very oily skin. I usually get super oily within an hour but with this foundation and some blot powder to set it I don't even really touch up anymore. My face gets a slight dewiness after about 5 hours but it looks very airbrushed and nothing like an oily mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EvilyKyoko on 3/7/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by EvilyKyoko

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely everything I've ever wanted in a foundation. Starting with the cons though, the warmer colors they have (I'm in NC30) are VERY YELLOW. If you have a neutral ski tone this may be too yellow. Also, this CAN be a bit drying if you have dry skin, but I haven't noticed any flakeyness or anything.
Now for the rave part. This stays on ALL DAY. And i mean it doesn't fade. Not even off of the pores on my nose, which are usually visible by the end of the day. I have no need for touch-ups with this. I don't even set my foundation with powder, and this lasts amazingly on its own.
This is medium to full coverage, but it is nice and buildable over areas you may want to conceal more, so it can double as your concealer.
I absolutely love that the bottle has a pump. It makes it so much easier to put the foundation on my brush.
All in all i love everything about this foundation, considering the cons weren't really problems for me. HG!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products