MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(882 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 m177flores on 1/26/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by m177flores

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is very impressive. I have oily-combination skin. Believe it or not, this foundation stayed put and kept me matte. The long wear of it is comparable to Revlon Colorstay. This didn't break me out, but Studio Fix Fluid did. It makes my face flawless. I love topping it off with MSF Natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skyleyle on 1/22/2012 7:30:00 AM more reviews by skyleyle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this foundation not so long ago and I have to say it's better than the Studio Fix Fluid. Although it doesn't give full coverage, it's very buildable. Its not as heavy as the studio fix fluid so you wont feel cakey in the middle of the day. However, i still have to use concealer to cover up my spots

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Belindaeckard on 1/20/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by Belindaeckard

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised at this product. I've never been a fan of MAC foundations (although I love their other products) but Pro Longwear is fantastic. I was convinced that I would need a NC, but the sales assistant wanted to try NW20 on me. It's a pretty good match, much better than I've even had with any other MAC foundation. It's very natural looking, but buildable enough to cover blemishes. It's been 9 hours, and it's still looking good. A slight bit of shine, but I generally don't use powder over my foundation. I'm from South Africa, and this product is expensive here. It retails for R300.00. It's still worth it though, considering that Estee Lauder Double Wear retails for R380.00. And I prefer this foundation to Double Wear, since Double Wear feels heavy on your skin.

Sorry guys, but three days down the line, and this product has given me a pretty bad breakout that resembles a rash. Will not be re-purchasing again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hanaleia01 on 1/18/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by hanaleia01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Looks good from afar but upclose makes fine lines much more visible. Great staying power but after using it for about a week I broke out terribly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nikkinapalm on 1/18/2012 3:48:00 PM more reviews by nikkinapalm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I could seriously cry. This foundation gave me the worst allergic reaction I have ever experienced :(. (I wish I could upload the picture I took of my face the next morning.) It caused small red bumps all over my face and neck along with a scaly rash and caused my roscea to flare up to an extreme. My face was sore to the touch. The reaction actually lasted on my face for over a week, too. Neaclear products eventually helped heal it but it was living hell working at a makeup counter and having to pretend like my skin was just peachy. I seriously feel like writing into MAC corporate and telling them about what happened, but instead I'll just warn all you sensitive girls to stay away from this product!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eimearsg on 1/15/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by eimearsg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

holy grail holy grail holy grail !!!!!!! i am in love with this product ! it is my go to for evening events! love it ! i have this foundation in two shades nc30 and nw25 , i know weird! there like two totally opposite colour systems WTF?! but seriously they both look great on my skin, i prefer the nc30 way more ! it looks way more natural on me, i just think sometimes it looks a tiny bit yellow and thats why i went and got the nw25, just to warm it up a little! but ive tried the nw25 on its own to and it looks fine! its just a little dark but i love it on days when i want a tanner more bronzed type of look ! plus when i mix them both together its just absolute perfection !

i was super hesitant to try this product because i had already tried s.f.f and i hated it, like i swear i hated every single thing about it! the smell the texture the finish it just sucked!!! i got matched to nw35!!!?!?!?! and it was my first mac foundation so i didnt know any different ! im just about an nw25, probably a true 20 if im honest , so how the hell did they match me to nw35 ? this is why i just straight up do not listen to the mua at mac anymore lol it looked totally riduculous! but honestly it wasnt even the colour it was everything about it i just hated it ! and im in belfast, so i got this at debenhams and there is no return policy for makeup so i couldnt even exchange ! so disappointed ! anyway im way off track here ! pro long wear foundation is the besttttt!!!!!! recommend it to everybody ! even dry skin types because its seriously isnt like totally flat and drying ! the finish is kind of more satin i think ! swear i just love it so much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vittoriak on 1/9/2012 11:56:00 AM more reviews by Vittoriak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I want to like this foundation. Sometimes it works beautifully, makes my skin looking absolutely flawless. It makes you think you've found your perfect foundation! However, when you are on one of those mediocre-skin-days, it just makes your skin look horribly. My dry skin flecks way more apparent and I have oil/combo skin. It was quite unbelievable, actually. It is just one of those foundations that I cannot rely on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megct94 on 1/8/2012 4:27:00 PM more reviews by megct94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic foundation, finally found something pale enough for my skin tone! Have spent FOREVER trying to find something that suited my skin. Bought the "palest" Chanel foundation and it was watery and made me look orange and horrible. Thank god for MAC and their colour range. (My mum was served by a redhead at the MAC counter and asked her what she would wear) This product has great coverage (I suffer from acne and when I use this foundation I only have to use about about 1/3 of the foundation I used in the past to cover my spots and blemishes) Love this foundation, lasts for ages and the packaging is perfect to chuck in your handbag when you're rushed for time in the morning. Love it, it's the perfect colour and coverage, I don't have to blend it away to nothing for it to suit my skin tone, or cover it in powder. Stays for ages on my skin and is perfect for me with my busy life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 drbenzene on 1/5/2012 9:14:00 AM more reviews by drbenzene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE THIS FOUNDATION!!! I recently switched from a mineral foundation, and although I was hesitant to use a liquid again, this product is amazing. It stays on ALL day, which was hard for me to believe even after I tested it for 10 hours. My face looked exactly the same as when I applied it in the morning! It doesn't have a cakey finish and looks very natural. It has a great build-able coverage...I typically want medium coverage and use about 1.5 pumps to achieve this, but it could definitely be built up to full coverage. I'm an NC20 and I top it off with the MAC mineralized skin finish natural in light plus. I found this color a perfect match to my skin tone, thanks to my MAC SA! It also works wonderfully over the MAC studiofinish concealer!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Journey03 on 1/4/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by Journey03

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Announcement: I have FOUND my HG foundation!!! At last!!!!!!!!

I have been through COUNTLESS foundations from high end to low and everywhere in btwn w/ several trips back to the dept store for either an exchange or refund and have still not found the perfect match or consistentcy i liked. I went and returned 4 diff shades of Estee Lauder, 3 shades of Lancome, NARS, DIOR, Sheseido, all kinds of drugstore brands and Chanel with every foundation, the color was just wrong. I have purchased the MAC matchmaster in 4.0 but it was still too dark so I had to mix it w/ MUFE face and body to get the color right, and i am pressed for time in the mornings, so I don't have time to play chemist in my bathroom to get my foundation to look right. I went to the mall today to exchange yet ANOTHER foundation and decided to just get my money back and end the horrible nightmare. I was convinced there was no shade in the entire mall that would match my greek/african american skin w/ yellowish beige undertones. The guy at the customer service counter said to try MAC and see if there was a shade I would like. I felt like telling him off, but decided against it and said 'ok ill give it a go'.

I went to the MAC counter and i remembered I tried several shades in the past (NC37, NC40, NC42 and NC30) that was all wrong and i ended up returning it for some lipstick instead. I reluctantly went in and s/w the SA and told her I was in the market for a new foundation and told her of my delema of color matching and what I already had. I told her I wanted to try out the NC35 this time to see if it would be a better match to my skin. I already had makeup on from that morning so she tried it on my jawline and the color disappeared on my skin. At first i was like, whatever, the lighting here sucks so all the colors seem to "disappear" in this lighting. I said I would go ahead and get it & figured I would be back the next day anyways to return it since I knew it would probably not work--again. I got home early enough that the sun was still out (around noon) and I had excellent natural lighting in my bathroom, so i decided to go ahead and try it out. I held my breath as i shook the bottle and dotted some product on my face. As i blended it w/ my sigma angled kabuki f84 brush,, i was excited to see the color was spot on! It melted into my face and it blended effortlessly in my skin w/ no makeup marks or odd coloring!! I almost shrieked in excitement because i thought 'this CAN'T BE". But it was... it was my true, exact, PERFECT foundation color at last. I have been looked for a very long time for this and I hope they never discontinue this. I keep looking in the mirror to see whether it oxidizes over time or starts to cake up, build up, separate, but so far it still looks great. I am so excited that this nightmare has finally ended and I am left w/ flawless coverage and a perfect match to my face. I set it w/ my MAC's prep + prime setting powder and I am good to go. HOORAY MAC for finally helping me end this horrendus ordeal- MAC rocks!!!!
UPDATE: 03-07-12- unfortunately this became too drying for me so i had no choice but to return it. I DID get the studio sculpt in NC37 that I am loving at the moment :D

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products