MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(894 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 PinkGrapefruit14 on 2/10/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by PinkGrapefruit14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I found that the NC45 in this foundation was too light for me so beware of that if you're going from SFF to Longwear. In general I don't like longwearing foundations because they tend to clog my pores, but I tried this anyway. Again, the color match was lighter than expected; other than that, I didn't like the finish--too matte and unnatural looking (My skin tends to get oily, but still I don't like super matte foundations because I want my skin to look alive!). It wasn't too difficult to get off so that was a plus for me. Overall, though, I would not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Melinalove on 2/10/2012 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Melinalove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay so I wanted to wait a while and test this foundation out before writing a review. I don't really like MAC foundations, and prefer MUFE foundations. But after hearing all the hype I decided it wouldn't hurt to try it. My first impression of it was the color was perfect (NC42), but that was the only good thing about it. I have EXTREMELY oily skin, and this just made me super oily! I don't think it was the foundations fault, it was probably my primer (Cover FX) since it had a tendency of making most my foundations look oily. But I found this foundation to be VERY thick with little coverage. For a foundation that is that heavy, I excepted it to do some heavy duty covering but it just was little-medium coverage (which I don't mind). It felt heavy on my face, however was not transparent at all. I don't usually use a setting powder, but with this foundation I was forced to use my MUFE dou mat powder. After apply my powder over this my foundation looked FLAWLESS!!! It was amazing, but I give most the credits to my MUFE dou mat powder which I can not live with out. The only way I could apply this foundation was spraying my brush with Mac fix +, which helped the application of the foundation to be really easy. Anyways this foundation reminds me of the Relvon Color Stay, but with better quality. I wouldn't buy it ever again, nor recommended it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KNGU on 2/8/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by KNGU

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AWFUL! good coverage but very drying, cakey, and tight-feeling. It exaggerates my acne bumps. It does, however, last all day but I think the Mac Studio Fix Fluid lasts just as long without all the negatives of the Pro-Longwear! Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AudreyNgo on 2/8/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by AudreyNgo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

A effective foundation for my very oily and acne skin. Although Pro Longwear SPF 10 covered medium, but it greatly control oil. As a result, my acne is prevented a bit. I follow by M.A.C Blot Powder Pressed and have only little oily in T-zone after whole day. The weather I' living is high wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hgpt2 on 2/6/2012 12:53:00 AM more reviews by hgpt2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 8/12: This product doesn't suit my skin any longer. I have discontinued using it because it makes my skin super duper oily and I break out a lot. My break outs have significantly reduced since I stopped using this product.

I was starting to really hate MAC foundations until I tried on this one! Since my skin is oily, any foundation oxidizes on me (except covergirl, but they don't have my shade!). So I bought the NC30 and exchanged it for an NC25 to match my skin tone once it turned dark. I am not over impressed with this product, it does a pretty good job at covering my acne blemishes and scarring. But other than that, it is oily (even though they claim its oil free) and if I wear it for a really long time like 10 hours or more, my face ends up being an oil slick! But no other brand has my color (in my budget!) so I'll use this until I find another HG!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bbybreanna on 2/5/2012 3:24:00 PM more reviews by bbybreanna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

love the packaging, its very sleek with a pump so its more sanitary and less messy. i decided to purchase this foundation because i liked the pump it came with, i was running out of my favorite estee lauder double wear, and wanted to try my first mac foundation.

the product is thick, but not too thick where its so heavy on your face. it actually doesnt feel heavy compared to double wear.

the main things i look for a liquid foundation is medium-full coverage, lasts all day, and oil free. pro longwear took nine, and yes i did count, pumps to cover my whole face! i dont like buildable coverage because that takes too long for me. i have mild acne but mostly scars and this took way too much time and product to cover it. the nine pumps didnt even give me the high coverage i want. that was an automatic disappoitment. i also dont want to use concealer + liquid foundation because it takes too much time and feels heavy, since i do set with powder.

the last thing is when i set with powder (lancome transulence -HG) the foundation darkened, it was way too YELLOW by itself but with powder it was just too dark.

i got matched to nc30 at the counter and it looked fine. but department store lights are very tricky. will definitley be returning this, and gonna repurchase estee lauder double wear.

this has no smell, its not too thick & heavy, and is a good natural light-medium coverage foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 littlecrush on 2/4/2012 10:41:00 AM more reviews by littlecrush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Idk if it's the foundation or if the MUA matched me wrong at the store,but this looked horrible when I got home.I'm thinking that she may have matched me wrong.I hate those little lit mirrors in MAC.The spot she tried it on looked like a perfect match.I got home,it was yellow and ugly.I was highly upset.I'm going to exchange it and see if I can get a better match.Or just get Studio Fix.I REALLY wanted to love this and own it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Claudineaimee on 2/2/2012 12:47:00 PM more reviews by Claudineaimee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I Love MAC and i dont wanna bash this foundation but this foundation breaks me out so this is going straight to the garbage. First i was excited becaus the tiny bumps on my cheaks dissapeared but then after wearing it for a longer time deep cystic bumps came. Its a medium coverage foundation buildable for fuller coverage. The finish is not matte not dewy and quite nice blends well and doesnt look cakey if you know how to apply a medium to full coverage foundation. Another plus it stays put the whole day so thumbs up for that. The texture is quite thick and if you have large pores or youre acne prone i would stay away from it or try a sample first. It gave me deep cystic bumps on my nose and my hairline and chin. Another thing i do not understand why is there a NC 15 but no NW 15??? MAC??? anyone??...NW20 matches me in summer but is a tad to dark in winter (im a pale blonde). Needles to say i wont buy it again and wont recommend it to friends. If youre not acne prone you might quite enjoy this foundation but if your skin is almost flawless you really dont need a foundation with this much coverage anyway lolz. 1 Lippie off because comedogenic, 1 Lippie off because theres no NW 15

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Halz55 on 1/29/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Halz55

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this foundation! Been using drugstore foundations for awhile now and was satisfied, then decided to go out on a whim and purchase this (since it is kind of expensive, I had always hesitated). I am SO happy with my purchase! This foundation really does stay on all day, keeps my t-zone fairly oil-free, and just makes my skin look great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 101909 on 1/29/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by 101909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

MY HOLY GRAIIIIIIIL !
one pump covers my entire face creating a even skin tone and for days when im just out and about. with two pumps my face is flawless !
it lasts a llllllll day with no blot, and i have an oily t-zone, and it dose not showcase any dry areas.
I have to agree with the person below me, it NEVER oxidizes ! it also never sinks into my pores throughout the day. if i do happen to touch my face, it never rubs off on hands and clothes. i don't see using anything else, i pay about $31.00 after tax, which is painful but its worth it because its everything i expect and last foreverrrrr !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products