MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

3.8

916 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.7% Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Trimethyl Pentaphenyl Trisiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Tribehenin, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Bis-Peg/Ppg-14/14 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Dimethicone, Phenyl Methicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methicone, Tetramethyl Hexaphenyl Tetrasiloxane, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Laureth-7, Hexyl Laurate, Xanthan Gum, Cellulose Gum, Propylene Carbonate, Alumina, Polymethylsilsequioxane, Dimethicone Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Chlorphenesin [ /- Mica, Iron Oxides (C) 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (C) 77891, Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288) [September 17, 2010]


on 3/27/2012 11:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

In general, I do like this foundation but I've found it can be a little bit problematic...
I use NC15, and when it is eventually blended in and set my skin looks pretty much flawless, however I do find it difficult to use. I find it quite thick, and when I use a primer underneath it the finish doesn't quite look right for me... I can't really describe it but it is like it is just sitting on top of my skin and looks a bit like a mask. So I wear it with no primer. I have tried several brushes, sponges, fingers trying to get it to look right and have found a MAC 130 works best. I like it because I like a lot of coverage, it gives that and it is long lasting. I do like this foundation and do think its good - you just need to get the application right based on your own skin and how this foundation looks and feels on it. I don't think I will buy another when my bottle runs out, I'm sure there are foundations out there which give just as good results but are a lot easier to work with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

One of the best foundation to work with, im nc42, i got this online in nc40 by mistake, couldnt bother to send it back, so i just start using it, its too light for me, then i stop using it, i bought MUFE velevt plus in the shade 65 online, then again, made a mistake, bit too dark, couldnt bother to send it back, so one day i just mix the pro long wear and the MUFE together, amazing mixture, last forever and ever, perfect shade, great oil control, then i mix the prolong wear with chanel perfection lumerie, then again, amazing mixture, making the lumerie last nearly twice as long, normally last like seven hrs :( then now the mixture last up to 14hrs! :) and the finish looks so natural, definity got two best thing out of the two, natural looking(chanel) and long lastkng(prolong wear) ! try it guys! Prolong works great with any other foundation i'v tried, of course when u mixed it with others, u have to make it equal part of both and mix them well, i would'v imagine how great it would work alone if i got this a shade darker :) but! I still got it to work just amazing as! Lovin it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2012 8:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is thin to me compared to the Studio fix. It really is not long wearing on my opinion. I have very oily skin and this does not offer full coverage. It looks like I am going to have to shell out money for Estee Lauder or Makeup Forever because this is not cutting it at all!


on 3/23/2012 12:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like this foundation, I don't love it though!
The coverage is ok, I kind of expected it to cover better though.
The colours run very dark! I have NW20 and I only wear it when I have fake tan on.
It does last well and even though there's and SPF of 10 I haven't had a problem with white cast.
Overall it's a pretty average foundation, it's nothing special but it's not bad, the coverage is fine for day to day and the lasting power is good. But there are definitely better foundations out there!


on 3/20/2012 11:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this foundation so much, but unfortunately it's not really working for me. : ( The biggest problem I'm having is that NC15 is too dark. I should have known, since I'd read and heard that the Pro Longwear formula runs a little darker. I can wear NC15 in their other formulas but just barely. This foundation looks right in all indoor lighting and in outdoor lighting in the evenings, which is odd. But sitting here at my desk with natural lighting pouring in from the huge windows to my right, I can see that it's obviously too dark. I asked several people and they all say they don't think it's too dark to wear, but I just don't feel comfortable in it. It's just the strangest thing, I've taken tons of pictures of myself wearing it in various lighting, with and without flash, etc., and it looks perfect in all pictures. But when I look in the mirror, it's clearly off. The second problem I'm having is that my chin area seems to be reacting to it. Every night after I wash my face I see that I have a few tiny red bumps. Not pimples, just the typical bumps I get when I'm having a minor reaction to something. They're always gone by morning. This morning I did have a very tiny zit on the tip of my nose, which must be from this foundation because I never get those - especially not there. It also makes my skin itch a little. Very weird. On me, this gives buildable medium-full buildable coverage and looks SO natural and gorgeous. I absolutely love the finish. It smooths over my pores and fine lines. And it LASTS. The longest I've worn it so far has been 12 hours, and it looked just as good at that point as it did after I first applied. I was amazed. I thought it was going to be my HG foundation, until I realized it was too dark and that my skin was reacting to it. I may try mixing it with my L'Oreal True Match in W1 (the lightest foundation I own) to see how that goes, but if it compromises the lasting power and alters the finish I may have to give EL DW another try. It's a shame because there's so much I love about this foundation! I said that I would repurchase, but that's only if I can find a way to make it work. It might not be worth the hassle. Amazing product, it would just be nice if they made lighter shades. I'll definitely be able to wear it once I get a little color in the coming weeks and months, but I was really looking for something I can wear with my untanned skin. ETA: This stuff is going back. Today when I got home from work I saw that I had two *actual* zits on my chin. No foundation is worth ruining my skin, so I'm not going to mess with trying to make it work. So disappointing. I went and got a sample of EL DW in Bone and I think it might work for me. I've used Linen in the summer before and really liked it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I will not be repurchasing this product unless by chance my skin goes back to being oily. This foundation dries out my skin. After a few hours my cheeks and parts of my forehead feel dry and tight. My skin will still feel dry in those areas even after I take off the makeup. After a few days of not using it my skin will go normal for me which is combo with oily t-zone and normal cheeks. It gets cakey very easily and the only way I could apply it and have it look ok was with a damp sponge. I do like the pump. I'm NC35 but in pro longwear I wear NC30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my first Mac purchase, I read tons of reviews and seems you either love Mac or hate it ..... I hate it. This is going to be promptly returned.
I first went to get samples, they matched me as an NW20, buyer beware this foundation does not play well in natural light!! NW20 looks just fine in the deptartment store light wow was i suprised to step outside and see what i can only describe as pink paint on my hand!
I was also given a sample of NC15 so thought what the heck i'd give that a go. Color seemed to match better so i ordered it online as the little samples never seem to be enough for me to really try it out. It's more of a light coverage wouldn't call it medium and had a heck of a time trying to make it a medium coverage with out it looking awfull (not to mention this is a pain to blend).
I have dry skin and within eight hours this made my face a greasy mess. I seriously was able to wipe off all the foundation with a tissue yuck!! i used a primer set it with powder normal routine my skin has never reacted like this to a foundation before. Not only that but now i have four new zits ... lovley ....
I really just don't understand how this has such high reviews i've tried Smashbox's Studio Skin (which i LOVE, no breakouts, easier to blend, better coverage, better color) with no problems besides their lightest shade 1.1 is still a little to dark for me.
I found the NC15 a pretty good match in color but same thing as the NW20 step out in natural light and this foundation looks like a whole different color .........
For $30 it's not worth it back to Revlon CS (which im a 150 buff in just for reference).


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2012 10:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As much as I wanted to like this fdtn, it just didn't work for me. Texture was like glue, very patchy, almost no coverage and it broke me out! :( I loved the idea of this foundation, but it is not for me. Extra lippie for good packaging.


on 3/16/2012 12:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This totally covers up my uneven skin tone. I apply this with a stippling brush all over my face and it stays for the entire day. I love this product! No one can tell I wear foundation until I tell them that I do. I met up with my friends who I haven't seen in 7 months (before I wore foundation) and they met me and told me that 'my complexion improved a lot!' they didn't realize I was wearing foundation! My skin seems so flawless with it (it's not!). However, I have oily skin and I've noticed that after 5-6 hours, my face gets super oily. Just a heads up for the oilies out there.


on 3/12/2012 5:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love MAC Pro longwear. Its stays on all day and I only use mineralize skinfinish powder(love it) once after I put my foundation. Will be repurchasing.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Acne/Blemish Covering Makeup - Foundation & Concealer Tutorial by Lisa Eldridge



Back to Top