BeneFit Cosmetics • Hello Flawless! • Powder

rated 3.7(360 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 4/30/2009 5:42:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to confess that tthe only reason I bought this is because of the reviews. I didn't actually need a new foundation. But the grass is always greener...

I've been using Laura Mercier TM for a long time because I hate chalky, cakey, thick, matte, powdery looking foundations. And powder foundations never look entirely sheer to me. I used to be strictly a powder foundation type of girl too until I discovered TM's. But applying TM is an uncomfortable hassle in California heat once summertime rolls around. I often go without any sort of face makeup but need it for work to look put together.

"Me, Vain?" Champagne is a perfect match for my fair, cool toned skin. I don't like heavy coverage so I opted to try the little brush that was included. If worst came to worst I could fall back on my trusty foundation brush. But surprise surprise the little brush got the job done. I had read how using a brush to apply can cause the power bits to fly everywhere and get "dusty" so I was careful to sweep the brush in one motion across the powder and with only one side of the brush. Barely any powder dust that way--Victory!

The brush gives me the exact amount of sheer, natural looking coverage. Makes me feel like my skin is actually showing but still covers enough. I agree with everyone who said this is so light and silky. It doesn't break me out or irritate at all (and my skin freaks out with so many things).

I don't reapply throughout the day at all so I don't mind the slightly clunky packaging, I think it's pretty cute. This lasts all day without wearing off (fyi, I have combo skin). I'll rebuy in a heartbeat!

UPDATE: Ultimately this ended up breaking me out after about two weeks of use. I love everything about it, so it's such a shame! I'm going to have to find something else to replace it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mztina on 4/26/2009 6:53:00 PM more reviews by mztina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This has amazing oil control! I went to a concert and never had to retouch for 12 hours. :) It gives me a nice matte finish without highlighting my pores or my fine lines. The powder matches my Asian skin really well too, I have the "Champagne" one. The powder is also finely milled, so it can get messy. I also love how buildable the product is, since you can use a brush for a sheer coverage or the sponge for heavier coverage. However that's where all the pros end for me.
cons:
The price is EXPENSIVE, I'm actually surprised I caved in and bought it.
Also the packaging sucks! It is waaay too bulky to carry around. Thank goodness I don't have to retouch often.
There is VERY LITTLE product too. The bulkyness of the packaging fools one to thinking that there's a lot. Also if you use a brush, it's pretty wasteful since the powder is soo soft. But I find that using a foundation brush instead of a powder brush gives the same coverage without all the fallout.
I would definitely repurchase if my college budget would allow it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dascha on 4/25/2009 9:09:00 AM more reviews by dascha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After returning my Diorskin compact because it made my skin feel greasy/weird at the end of the day, I decided to try this. I got it in the Petal, which looked suitably yellow, although a bit dark for me. I was skeptical about this, but when I buffed it on, the color blended damned near seamlessly into my skin. I had some reddish, peely spots on one cheek and this covered them very well. I wore this makeup to my anniversary dinner and in the bathroom my face did, indeed, look "flawless." The real test, for me, will be how it wears during a full day at work, but so far, so good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boogiedisease on 4/24/2009 7:13:00 PM more reviews by boogiedisease

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I didn't think I'd like this (generally, I've found most BeneFit products to be... crap). However, I must say, I'm liking this a LOT more than my HG powder foundation by Dior.

It applies in a snap (I like using the enclosed sponge, as the brush does nothing for me). It applies smoothly, and conceals any redness or blemishes, without looking cakey.

This powder foundation still looks great, several hours after application. This is what impresses me. Since I've started using sunscreen religiously (I admit, I didn't in the past), my makeup always ends up looking cakey and separated on my face. I don't get that with this! It also feels like I'm wearing nothing on my face, which I LOVE!

I use Honey and it's a perfect match.

I've only been using it for a couple of days, but my skin lets me know IMMEDIATELY if something doesn't agree with it. No issues (breakouts, clogs, irritation) thus far.

Best of all, it's a bit cheaper than my Diorskin powder, so I'll be saving a bit of money! It also seems like I need less of this than the Dior.

Will buy again!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meghan1988 on 4/23/2009 12:24:00 PM more reviews by meghan1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this product recently and basically I can't rave about it enough, my skin is so oily and i used to have acne so i need special moisturizers and it takes me so long to even find a foundation that keeps my skin matte (I have been using Clinique Superfit foundation which is also good)! The saleswoman, who was so sweet, put it on half of my face to show me what the prodcut did and OH MY GOSH i was amazed at how flawless my skin was i instantly loved it! It is so much easier than putting foundation on then powder, which isn't a hassle until you use this product and realize how quickly you could get ready in the mornings!! I have only had it for a week and I am constantly getting compliments on my skin and how flawless it is and the best thing is it lasts, even when your body temperature goes up the product stays matte on my face... last words i love this product!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paletangirl on 4/23/2009 4:05:00 AM more reviews by paletangirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is a little weird, but I am leaning more toward really liking it...especially in the performance department. I long ago stopped using the "enclosed" sponges and applicators in products, so the first time I used this product I applied it with a kabuki brush, like I would use for other powder foundations. NOT good. Too cakey/powdery looking and it didn't even improve with a spritz (I normally set studio fix with a couple spritzes). It also oddly collected around dry spots on my skin. The next time I used the enclosed the sponge for a full face application (I am currently in the middle of a particularly bad run of my "adult onset female acne" so I lean toward wanting more coverage). To my surprise, this application method was really smooth, and seemed to blend in almost entirely. I would say the coverage of this product is moderate to full... as others have said pretty similar to studiofix. Once over the entire face totally evened out most of my skin woes in a reasonably believable way, good finish. If you have any serious pigmentation issues from active or very recent blemishes, you may find you need to dot on a little spot concealer... I didn't find layering this product to cover these spots particularly great. But for less terrible skin than mine, an once over would be sufficient. I can understand some reviewers comments about dryness of the product. Its sort of a specific comparison, but its texture/dryness reminds me of the Smashbox pressed powder (that were discontinued about a year ago). After wearing this for a few days in a row for 12 hour shifts, I found it held up pretty great. I did find that I wanted to blot this product about 6 hours into the day, but only that once and did not require touching up. Pretty impressive oil control and staying power. I typically look like a blotchy melted acne mess by the end of my shift (grr) but this was much much better.
As for color, I got this in "petal". I ordered it online (no stores close) so was apprehensive as petal sounds pink, but the color selector on the Benefit website was pretty helpful, and the color representation was pretty accurate as well. Petal is a yellow to neutral light shade. I would normally wear N4 studiofix (maybe NC25 depth). Sometimes without any blush/bronzer or eyemakeup on this end up looking flat/too pale, but really I think it matches near perfectly which is damn near impossible for me most of the time.
Now all that remains is to see if my skin freaks out more than normal from this product, I will update if these seems to be a problem.
I noticed no one has listed ingredients, and I couldn't get a list anywhere online, so here it is for those of you who are curious.
ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: octinoxate 5.94%, titanium dioxide 1.70%, oxybenzone 2%. OTHERS: triethoxycaprylylsilane, silica, nylon-12, phenyl trimethicone, polyethylene, talc, lauroyl lysine, phenoxyethanol, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, aluminum dimyrisate, bht, disodium stearoyl glutamate, sodium dehydroacetate, methicone, polymethyl methacrylate, isononyl isononanoate, alumina. (+/- bismuth oxychloride, mica, titanium dioxide, carmine, iron oxides.

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debrsl on 4/22/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome product! I put it on with the sponge, and it completely covered the redness in my skin. My skin is dry, and it doesn't look dry either, unlike many other powder/mineral foundations I've tried. It makes my skin look smooth. I'm NW20 and got it in Petal. It doesn't look too warm; just knocks out the red.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wellymacky on 4/22/2009 12:13:00 PM more reviews by wellymacky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in Champagne colour which was matched to me. i hate liquid foundations and don't have much luck with mineral powders due to lack of coverage and staying power!

I tried this and fell in love with the coverage and natural colour everything i've been looking for

" Forward 2 hours"

I felt like i'd been sunburnt on my face, my skin felt dry and tight like i'd over sunned myself all day. i began to rub E45 cream in at first just around my hairline and nose ( where the sting was more prominent)

after i washed this product off my face felt so dry ( which isn't normal for oily skin) I cleansed, tonned and moisturised as normal but still my face was left so dry and stinging for 2 hours after. I reapplied more moisturiser which didn't have any affect. I then slapped on E45 cream which helped a little.

I'd never buy this product again i think I may have had a reaction to the ingredients though!

Be warned my symptoms didn't start until 2 hours after applying this product both times so don't be fooled whilst having it put on by a SA.

If it doesn't sting your skin and dry it out it's a fab product.

I'm truely sad it didn't work for me. if anyone knows of a similar product that stops shiny faces but doesn't over dry or sting let me know x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tyleka on 4/22/2009 10:06:00 AM more reviews by tyleka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

There's not much I can add here that other already haven't. It gives great coverage, better than StudioFix, and also doesn't give me flakies like StudioFix does. I love the coverage and look so much, that I'm willing to overlook the packaging and the greedy little amount of product Benefit gives you for the price. My only beef is the SPF- it has a obnoxious smell (granted, it has faded over the month I've had the compact), but it also does not photograph well. It made me look... doughy, for lack of a better word. Kinda of disappointing, because it does make you look flawless like you would want to look for pictures.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ESMorin on 4/22/2009 9:51:00 AM more reviews by ESMorin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This powder really brightens my face, and blends well. I like the color a lot, and it is silky smooth. However, I agree with the reviewer that said it "sheds". I think that may be the nature of the talc. But it annoys me because that is product lost. The price is steep, and the package is deceptively shallow. There is soooo little powder actually in there. I don't use it every day, have had it for less than a month, and already I am seeing the aluminum bottom peek through. The packaging is also unnecessarily large and clunky, to accommodate the brush and sponge (both of which I threw away), which totally turns me off. Its too bad, because this powder has nice coverage, but I won't waste the money again. EDIT: We had a freak hotspell in New England this past week, and when my face got a little sweaty, this stuff clumped up and kind of "floated" on my face. I now have one of the worst bruised pimples I've ever had in the middle of my cheek. Now it is set in stone that I will never buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Powder products