Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3381 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Naiad on 10/15/2002 9:50:00 AM more reviews by Naiad

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm giving this 5 lipsticks if only because when I turned 23 and my skin went from a lifetime of being flawless to being so out of control that my mother called up to order the ProActiv for me... it actually worked and "saved" my face. Now, I've been a cosmetic fiend my whole life and I think my skin morphing into a demon incarnation of itself was purely hormonal. Still, the ProActiv was able to work and work well. Yet, after a few months it didn't seem to have the same effect and dried my face quite badly. At that point I incorporated additional products back into my regime and would trade off with the ProActiv, sort of weaning myself off over the next few years. I still get items once and awhile through swapping and its nice to know I have it on hand... ready to rescue my face if ever my skin should mutiny again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michkal on 10/8/2002 6:10:00 PM more reviews by michkal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about 3 weeks now, and I do see an improvement. My skin is not perfect, but it is better. I also find that my breakouts clear up faster than when I am not on it. I like this more than any prescription stuff i have used because it doesn't dry my skin out. It is worth a try if your acne isn't responding to other meds. I also use the oil free spf, which I love.*********** EDIT: It has now been about two months, and I love this system. My skin has never looked better, and it is so smooth. I even get compliments now, which would have never happened before proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NickiML on 9/29/2002 10:49:00 AM more reviews by NickiML

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using ProActiv for two and a half months and, so far, I am sold! My skin definitely looks better (one of my brothers even commented). I almost quit using the products after a week because my skin was so dry. Instead of giving up, I changed my routine. I started using more moisturizer and began using the products once per day. Plus, I use smaller amounts of everything.

I have tried Proactiv a couple of times in the past but my face always looked red. Now, my face looks pretty even (if I could just get rid of all the scarring) and feels smooth. I still break out, but not nearly as bad as before. I don't get the big breakouts in clusters (usually around my chin) that I used to get before.

This system may make your skin very dry, so start slowly. I have normal skin and it's a bit dry since I've been using Proactiv.

I recommend anyone who suffers from acne to try Proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyland on 9/13/2002 8:39:00 AM more reviews by candyland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff was quite harsh on my not-so-sensitive oily skin although I did see some improvement right away. I sent them back after one week of use since my face end up itchy every where.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 grnfaerie on 9/6/2002 2:42:00 AM more reviews by grnfaerie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily, acne prone skin and feel like I've tried everything to clear it up. I was surprised that within the first month of trying this my skin did improve. After about four or five months though, all my same old skin problems returned. I think this is a great product for people with mild to moderate acne. My biggest gripe with this is I had a horrible experience with the company. They automatically send you products every other month or so and I didn't go through them that fast. I had to send some back and I NEVER got reimbursed, even after repeatedly calling customer service. First it was lost in the mail, etc. Watch out for these people. I won't order from them again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beryy615 on 9/5/2002 3:45:00 AM more reviews by beryy615

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think I was possessed when I made that call to order this product. Its traumatic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bmom76 on 8/28/2002 10:47:00 PM more reviews by bmom76

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this 3 step program for over 5 years now. It's a staple because it works beautifully! I'll continue to use Pro Activ as long as it's around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ysatis830 on 8/25/2002 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Ysatis830

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I was despairing of ever getting rid of my acne having been turned down for trying Accutane, and I saw the ad for ProActiv somewhere, and I called and ordered a kit. This is still the best product I have used for dealing with acne. I have learned that the harsher chemicals in other products were aggravating my skin and making my acne worse. These products are gentle and unfragranced . If you join the little club plan, you save some money on these and the other products they sell. My only complaint is the packaging which is sort of reminiscent of the 80's, and hard to manage when your hands are wet and slippery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sprite21 on 8/12/2002 1:37:00 AM more reviews by sprite21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I started using this product in college when I had really bad acne. It slowly but surely started to clear things up. I have oily skin with dry surface and usually I'm sensitive to everything, but proactiv wasn't too harsh for my skin at all. Maybe because I only used tiny amounts of each bottle? Afterall, it's supposed to last 2 months, so that means, if you're running out, you're probably using too much! My bottles generally last me 3 or 4 months! A couple of years ago, I stopped using it even though it was working because it didn't completely clear up my skin (and I'm searching for perfect skin!) I would still get occasional bumps. After going through a slew of other products, including Murad (which broke me out like CRAZY), I've come back to try it again now. I'm currently using Proactiv and my face feels very soft and smooth. But it's still not 100% zit free. I think it's really helping to unclog my pores though because there's a lot less of the little white bumps. Overall, this is a good product to try. Just be sure to use small amounts and to start slow (i.e. only use once a day first). Also, if you wear makeup, use makeup remover first because I find the cleanser doesn't do a good job with that (although the toner seems to get out everything).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BenefitBabe on 8/10/2002 3:12:00 AM more reviews by BenefitBabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

To try this out, a bought a travel size from a very sweet swapper, and I was amazed about how this product worked, but then again I do not have acne (knock on wood) just the occasional blemishs, this did tend to try out my skin some in the 2ed week but that was no bother, (BTW I have normal skin) it looks like this travel size will last me over a month, and I will definantly be repurchasing.UPDATE: this stopped working for some reason and found that stridex day & night does a much better job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products