Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3386 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MegE on 11/21/2002 7:44:00 PM more reviews by MegE

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this daily for a few years with good results. It took around 6 months for my skin to be perfectly clear. The cleanser is actually more of a scrub, which has benzoyl peroxide. The toner is soothing, and smells good. It has glycolic acid to help exfoliate. The bp lotion is mild and hydrates the skin and has a nice, fresh scent.After a few years though, the products just didn't work for me anymore. I became sensitive to them(I'd get red, itchy). Although, I can use Sage's bp, just not Proactiv's. I think these products are worth a try if you're struggling with breakouts, to at least see how your skin responds. But, I would NOT rec. this for sensitive skin at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugar_n_spice on 11/7/2002 9:47:00 AM more reviews by sugar_n_spice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Violet    

I absolutely luv it!!!!! Saved me from those horrible acnes...n it's surprisingly cheap. My skin cleared up within few mths and since then i can't live w/o it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gothic_barbie on 11/6/2002 10:44:00 PM more reviews by gothic_barbie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i thought it was fantastic. despite the fact that my face was relatively clear, i could still tell the difference as it wiped off all the past scars and the zits. however, it made my skin a bit dry after use. the price is also a bit too expensive. for girls with combination skin like mine, i suggest using it once a week with the refining mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rian on 10/25/2002 11:06:00 PM more reviews by rian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Even thinking of this product is enough to make me depressed. I had just a few zits on my face before proactiv. Initially it seemed like it was working. Then the trend reversed and at the end of two months there were hardly any areas on my face where I didn't have acne. The acne is gone now, but its left behind enough reminders of my foolish decision to try proactiv. Every time I see the infomercial its enough to make me sad and angry at the same time. Its not worth taking a risk with Proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 x0xHillaryx0x on 10/20/2002 12:48:00 PM more reviews by x0xHillaryx0x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this stuff. I've had a problem with acne for most of my teen years, and my dad bought me this stuff when I was 16, and it cleared my face RIGHT up. i still use it, but not as much, because i can go without it now a lot without my face breaking out :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Naiad on 10/15/2002 9:50:00 AM more reviews by Naiad

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm giving this 5 lipsticks if only because when I turned 23 and my skin went from a lifetime of being flawless to being so out of control that my mother called up to order the ProActiv for me... it actually worked and "saved" my face. Now, I've been a cosmetic fiend my whole life and I think my skin morphing into a demon incarnation of itself was purely hormonal. Still, the ProActiv was able to work and work well. Yet, after a few months it didn't seem to have the same effect and dried my face quite badly. At that point I incorporated additional products back into my regime and would trade off with the ProActiv, sort of weaning myself off over the next few years. I still get items once and awhile through swapping and its nice to know I have it on hand... ready to rescue my face if ever my skin should mutiny again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michkal on 10/8/2002 6:10:00 PM more reviews by michkal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about 3 weeks now, and I do see an improvement. My skin is not perfect, but it is better. I also find that my breakouts clear up faster than when I am not on it. I like this more than any prescription stuff i have used because it doesn't dry my skin out. It is worth a try if your acne isn't responding to other meds. I also use the oil free spf, which I love.*********** EDIT: It has now been about two months, and I love this system. My skin has never looked better, and it is so smooth. I even get compliments now, which would have never happened before proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NickiML on 9/29/2002 10:49:00 AM more reviews by NickiML

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using ProActiv for two and a half months and, so far, I am sold! My skin definitely looks better (one of my brothers even commented). I almost quit using the products after a week because my skin was so dry. Instead of giving up, I changed my routine. I started using more moisturizer and began using the products once per day. Plus, I use smaller amounts of everything.

I have tried Proactiv a couple of times in the past but my face always looked red. Now, my face looks pretty even (if I could just get rid of all the scarring) and feels smooth. I still break out, but not nearly as bad as before. I don't get the big breakouts in clusters (usually around my chin) that I used to get before.

This system may make your skin very dry, so start slowly. I have normal skin and it's a bit dry since I've been using Proactiv.

I recommend anyone who suffers from acne to try Proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyland on 9/13/2002 8:39:00 AM more reviews by candyland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff was quite harsh on my not-so-sensitive oily skin although I did see some improvement right away. I sent them back after one week of use since my face end up itchy every where.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 grnfaerie on 9/6/2002 2:42:00 AM more reviews by grnfaerie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily, acne prone skin and feel like I've tried everything to clear it up. I was surprised that within the first month of trying this my skin did improve. After about four or five months though, all my same old skin problems returned. I think this is a great product for people with mild to moderate acne. My biggest gripe with this is I had a horrible experience with the company. They automatically send you products every other month or so and I didn't go through them that fast. I had to send some back and I NEVER got reimbursed, even after repeatedly calling customer service. First it was lost in the mail, etc. Watch out for these people. I won't order from them again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products