Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(696 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Tdollgirl on 6/4/2009 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Tdollgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have good skin - however not after using this product. My skin has broken out very badly around chin and it can only be from using this foundation. Very disappointed! Also I don't like the coverage. What have they put in this stuff?!

I am giving 2 lippies as it does stay on your skin and it's not too expensive compared to other high end brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luckygal79 on 6/2/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by luckygal79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So after horrible experiences with Clinique's Perfectly Real makeup and Superfit, I was stupid enough to try this foundation. Why am I such a glutton for punishment? This stuff is AWFUL for my acne-prone combo skin. As with most of their foundations, it looked great when first applied. Then the usual orange mask happened within an hour. Then the oil slick began. I have never had to blot my t-zone more than twice in a 16 hour day before this foundation. Disgusting. To top it all off, about a month into trying to make this work, I got the biggest cyst on my chin I've ever had in my life. Think quarter sized! I returned this and never ever again will I be tempted by Clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Msjuneday on 5/31/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by Msjuneday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is lovely when my skin is clear. It's silky and gives a nice glow to the skin, but it will NOT cover up acne. My face looks goregeous, except for the spots of acne that it refuses to cover. I don't think I'll be purchasing this product again simply because I rarely have skin clear enough to be confident enough to wear it. The color matching is also tricky many of them are pinky tones that I have no idea who they would match. Also, I tend to get one cystic acne spot at a time as a wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DeeanaAlexsia on 5/30/2009 1:30:00 PM more reviews by DeeanaAlexsia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a moderate coverage, oil-free foundation. It's not heavy at all, which I love, but it gives decent coverage. Leaves my face glowing and smooth looking. The only downside I find is that after a long day, it seems to disappear from my cheeks. It could be that I touch my face a lot, but I recommend using it with face primer if you know you need it to last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dtzybrunette on 5/30/2009 12:17:00 AM more reviews by dtzybrunette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So, even though I absolutely love my Lancome foundation, I found out that a girl whose skin always looks amazing uses this and Mac's MSFN. So of course, I went out and bought it in Petal, which the SA said would be the best match.
My skin: Very pale, big pores, combination (can be flaky yet oily), redness/acne issues

I tried this foundation 3 or 4 times. Every time, I was absolutely frightened at how pink it made my face look. Seriously, it looked like I'd put light blush all over my face, and it was a completely different color from the rest of me. I don't know if it was just because I'm so pale that the strong pink undertones show through so much or what. If you are like NW 15-20 avoid this like the plague.

My second issue with this foundation is how sheer it is. It is very, very sheer. I have a few red marks and even with concealer this just did not do the job. If you don't need much coverage this might work for you.

Third issue is that it settled into the large pores of my cheeks, what I most want to cover, making them look even more obvious.

Fourthly, the packaging sucks. It does not have any kind of nozzle or distributor, and it has thin bottleneck making it very hard to get to the foundation. You either have to reach your finger in there (gross and not a good idea for acne-prones) or bang it onto the back of your hand until enough comes out. Not fun when you are late to class.

Fifth, it absolutely hated my Mac 187 brush. They just were not friends. I had to pick little black hairs out of the makeup on my face, which I definitely don't have to do with my Lancome.

In conclusion, this foundation just really made me look terrible and I hate it. One day I wore it and went shopping with my sister. I caught a glimpse of my face in the mirror and said "I really am not liking this new foundation." My sister replied, "Oh, THAT's why you look so bad!" ...Ya. Will not repurchase.

But I won't give it a one because I guess it wasn't a TOTAL trainwreck. There were times when I thought it looked nice. Plus, I think this foundation might really work well for some people who don't have my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 guanacaxlatina on 5/23/2009 3:46:00 AM more reviews by guanacaxlatina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

the application is gorgous!! feels like silk and the foundation will melt into ur skin and match ur skin perfectly.. HOWEVER, the lady at the counter got my a shade heaps darker for me.. im usually MAC NC42/44 in studio fluid fix *im yellow/golden undertone* and she got me in at golden, which is the second darkest shade?? like noooo when it was in the store it looked blended, when i got home i was like wtf???

overall my skin is combination/oily.. it did nothing for my skin at the end of the day, still oily as hell.. maybe ill try superfit or stay true next time.. or even try this one out again in my shade this time..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aloha_bua on 5/20/2009 10:16:00 AM more reviews by aloha_bua

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I dont understand why this product doesn't have high lippies. I give it 5 bcos it has a medium coverage which give me a natural look. My face look flawless but not fake or caky. Only small thing that annoying me is Sodium Chloride in its ingredient. I did some research that it could clog pore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SkekTek on 5/19/2009 5:59:00 PM more reviews by SkekTek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product, it's been a staple in my makeup bag for years. I have very pale, normal/dry skin that is sensitive and I find this product great as it still lets my skin breath. It gives a natural light coverage so it's not for people that like a heavier foundation. I think it has some light reflecting particles because my skin really glows when I use it. If you're looking for a natural, lightweight foundation I'd definitely grab a sample.

A lot of people seem to be having trouble with it breaking them out, but my sensitive skin has never had a problem with it. Maybe it is better for dry skin? I find it slightly moisterising so this might be the case. Definitely talk to a Clinique SA about it before forking out to make sure it's right for your skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LuvsMakeup82 on 5/16/2009 5:42:00 PM more reviews by LuvsMakeup82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Granted I've only used this once, but it looked natural, and wasn't too dry or cakey, nor is it too creamy. I use it over a primer and use my Maybelline dream matte powder over my T-zone in case there's any shine. My complaint is that it hardly offers any coverage, so I still have to use concealer to cover acne scars, and it can be a little hard to spread. The other thing is I have broken out from it, which will always deduct a lippie since that is a huge deal to me...I will try it again later to see if anything changes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 violetkat22 on 5/15/2009 6:14:00 PM more reviews by violetkat22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

For the price, the amount of liquid is alright, could be worse. I hate the packaging though. It is a cute little bottle, but I hate having to pour a small amt of product out each day because then I never get the same amount twice. A pump would benefit this product greatly.

I mix it with the clinique moisturizing gel, which is why I won't buy this product again. Also, I have oily skin and I want to try other products to see if they wear better through the day. I'm just going to get tinted moisturizer from now on, it's not worth the money to use up both products every day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products