Clinique Superbalanced Foundation

3.5

717 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Butylene Glycol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Dimethicone, Isotetracosane, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Tocopheryl Acetate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Coconut Acid, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Lecithin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Laureth-7, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Silica, Sodium Chloride, Polyethylene, Alumina, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides Updated: 7/5/2013 New formulation


on 9/25/2009 1:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Thank God I got a sample first. I asked the lady on the counter for some help to math my skin to one shade and she gave Petal. Fine. I've been using this for 3 days now and I'm not even going to risk finishing my whole one week trial for this... It oxidizes like nobody's business!!! Oompa lumpa face within one hour of application, w/ mac's p+p!! Couldn't believe it! It also starts drying up towards the end of the day and looks patchy. Oh, how could I forget, it leaves a really weird chemically smell on me. Like, disgusting smell. Can't wait to get home and get this stuff off my face.



on 9/17/2009 6:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Well this is another of those foundations that gets very mixed reviews, seems to be love or hate!
This is awful on me. My face felt oily within 10 minutes of application on my T zone but my cheeks felt tight and uncomfortable!
It's very runny and messy to apply.
The colour I was matched to is called 'Ivory' but this is NOT Ivory as most sane people would understand it...on me this is ORANGE. This is not a good colour for PPP skin. I'm not sure if the shades are the same between UK/Europe and North America and other countries, but the SA described this shade as 'very fair' for neutral skin tone which sounded perfect for me. It is not.


on 9/11/2009 6:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok so i tend to never wear foundation, or powder esp. in the daytime during the summer because I have oily/combination skin but I'm a firm believer in moisturizer and I find that the combination creates a messy running mess. However, I decided to try this foundation because there are a few things I love from clinique (all about eyes gel, high definition mascara, the toner in the purple bottle) and the zero-gravity face lift which I use at nights esp. after a night of partying, the next morning even if I only get 3 hrs of sleep, the skin on my face is soft, supple, hydrated, and I swear it sucks in my round face and gives me cheekbones (however too heavy for day wear) .... Anyhow, back to the point, Tried it, loved it! it's the best so far... but my search hasn't stopped.


on 9/11/2009 5:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

great foundation.i have oily skin and it controls it well (i do set with powder though).
Does NOT break me out and i have freakishly sensitive skin.

the price is amazing compared to other foundations out there and the quality is just as good as the higher priced ones.

Love it!
i have it in fair 02 and am going today to buy it in alabaster 27 for the winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2009 10:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

After being thoroughly disappointed with the 'even better' makeup which broke me out like crazy I decided to give this a shot. This blends into the skin nicely and does look quite natural. It covers dark circles under my eyes pretty well but is not great for spots which is not a huge problem for me as I usually use a concealer for these areas anyway but of you are looking for your foundation to take care of these then you should probably give this foundation a pass. I would also not recommend this foundation for oily skins as when I used this on my very oily forehead it really did make it a LOT worse in terms of shine and spots - this foundation is somewhat moisturising (much better for drier skin),
Overall, I think this a decent foundation for those not looking for heavy coverage and a natural look but I think that you can get this quality for a much smaller price tag (no7 essential moisture).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2009 3:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Flaky and does not cover acne scars. Its not that buildable and cakes easily.


on 8/23/2009 1:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

THIS IS AWFUL!

I was told over and over again that drug store make-up would never stand up to department store make-up. Boy were these people wrong! A lot of foundations tend to easily cake on my skin. Not only that but I break out easily from make-up too. When I went to the department store to get this I had high hopes that it was going to work. This foundation had no coverage what so ever. Even after the associate applied this, it caked. Even worse, after using this foundation, I broke out in acne all over my face!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2009 11:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this stuff!! It works great with my skin type and covers really well wthout feeling cakey or heavy. It gives me the perfect coverage and covers my acne scars really well. I totally found my HG foundation with this one!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For me, this is a full-coverage foundation. I apply this with a wet sponge to help thin it out. This gives me a flawless, porcelain-doll look. I bought this foundation when I was still modeling a bit on the side. However, it can make me look kindda oily as the day goes on (and I have what people describe as the "normal" skintype).

I no longer use this foundation since it gives a too much of a porcelain-doll look. It makes my face kindda look fake~ It is way too much coverage for an everyday use. Maybe for special occasions. Bonus: It does give a great photo-finish though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2009 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like the foundation, it really does seem to have some balancing effects on my skin)tzone not as oily), which I should definately tell since I live in the desert where its more than 100 degrees every day, plus humid. I just wish it had a little more coverage, and I feel like I have to use twice much more product as it all seems to sink into my skin fairly quickly. I use about two dime sizes, where as with my PF mnineral foundation(liquid) I use a pea size and get much more coverage. I think I am going to try the compact formula and pray that it balances my skin out as good as this one. Otherwise if I wanted light coverage and a natual look (when I dont have so many breakouts) I would like to continue using it for now.


Back to Top