Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(706 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 8/3/2009 9:24:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So I am a longtime fan of Clinique's Almost Makeup...however now that it's summer and I have a tan, the darkest shade was not dark enough, and it seemed a bit too greasy. So I went to the nearest Clinique counter and asked the SA for a sheer foundation that would help control oil, and she mathced me to Superbalanced in "Sand". I have to give her props, not only do I love this makeup, the shade is spot on for my very golden summer tanned skin! I am one of those gals with odd combo skin, super oily t-zone yet flaky at the same time, so finding a foundation that suits that skin type is tricky. This stuff is sheer, natural looking, and does seem to balance out my skin. I am super oily so I set it with Clinique's Stay Matte powder in Golden. Of course I still have to blot and powder my tzone throughout the day, but that will be the case with any foundation I use. It's a dream to apply, and I think my new fave! I love Clinique!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DidgeridooYourNails on 7/21/2009 1:20:00 PM more reviews by DidgeridooYourNails

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation seems to melt into your skin and the color blends naturally with your own seemlessly. Would have given it five lippies if not for the fact that this is only amazing in winter and fall. During the summer months I got a very oily T-zone even with primer underneath and it felt a bit too heavy. But I would definitly buy this again as a winter foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sam1e on 7/16/2009 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Sam1e

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I used this product for 3yrs solid, but it just wasnt a good coverage for me as id say its only light to medium and didnt cover my pinkness as im fair, also doesnt cover blemishes very well at all. i possibly would buy this again for summer possibly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chicvintage on 7/13/2009 11:37:00 AM more reviews by chicvintage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite winter foundation! But I've found that it's just not able to stand up to my extremely oily T-zone in the summer. But for the colder/less humid months, this is amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bellekiwi on 7/9/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by bellekiwi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For my acne-prone and oily skin, this foundation is a no, especially in the summer months.

I originally started using it in the winter, and it was decent. The coverage was moderate - definitely wasn't enough to cover up my red spots and all of my scarring, but it went on smoothly and matched my skin tone well. It would definitely wear off as the day went on, however, and I'm pretty sure it has exacerbated my break-outs.

Now in the summer, it's been turning orange. My face is an oil slick! I'm going to try Cover FX as soon as I can get my hands on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jawbreaker on 7/5/2009 1:05:00 AM more reviews by jawbreaker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This broke me out. The texture also seems quite oily and runny. It also did not wear well throughout the day. A few hours after wearing it, it seemd to fade off in certain spots so my skin became blotchy. Also, I'm a PPP neutral/cool and MAC has me at NC15 and the lightest shade is not quite light enough. Will not repurchase. Clinique Stay True is much better and no breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maddieo87 on 7/1/2009 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Maddieo87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have finally found my HG of all foundations. Finally... after years and years of trial and error. I've always been a Clinique makeup girl. I used to use their skin care range, but after much deliberation I changed to a natural skin care range called Sukin. It's much cheaper, and agrees with my skin a lot more.

Superbalanced is amazing. I have normal to combo skin. I use the shade 'Alabaster'. I used to use Perfectly Real Makeup in shade 02. But, it's winter and I get a bit dry. So, I tried this amazing foundation. The coverage is medium, but looks natural. It's not matte, which I like to steer clear from... because even though I'm 23, matte foundation makes me look older I think. The only thing that is a downside is the packaging. Although I'm not too worried, as I can get just the right amount out with a spatula, or when I shake it up, I just use the lid with my Ecotools foundation brush. The texture is great, it blends easily, and doesn't cake at all. All in all a fantastic product. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now. No break outs. No flaking. No oil build up. No blocked pores. Seriously a great foundation. I'm so glad I found it :D
--------------------
After much consideration, I eventually gave up on this. i've been using it for at least 1-2 years now. Loved it, up until I started to notice that it doesn't match my skin anymore. It's too dark. I bought MAC select spf 15 foundation yesterday, which matches my skin perfectly. NW15. I compared the two, and yeah... clinique... I love you but, we don't fit anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 6/26/2009 12:12:00 AM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

My mother owns this and I would use it for special occasions before I owned any foundation. It gives pretty good coverage (medium), but it didn't keep my super oily skin matte at all! An hour or two after I apply this, my skin feels really greasy and oily and it transfers onto clothes. It also oxidizes on me so I look like an orange mess after a few hours :/ I would not buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eandrews6338 on 6/14/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by eandrews6338

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Probably the best department store foundation I've used, it matches my skin perfectly and I love the moderate coverage it provides.....it is perfect for my combination somewhat dry skin and the natural finish is amazing it seems like whenever I try anything new I always end up going back to this foundation I love it and highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 waysa on 6/9/2009 2:51:00 AM more reviews by waysa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first foundation I've ever used. I was looking for something cheap (under $20) and also a product that is oil-free. Since I have moderate acne and extremely oily skin (within an hour after washing my face, a sheet of oil-blotting paper can be entirely used), I had to ensure that it wouldn't irritate my skin.

PROS
- easy application
- color (ivory) matched my skin very well
- didn't irritate my skin

CONS
- claims to absorb "oil where oil-control is needed", but it was no match for my oily face
- the application doesn't last throughout the day (cause of oily skin, within hours, it looked like everything was melting)
- medium coverage (I have an extremely red/pink face cause of acne scars. It didn't provide enough coverage.)

-----------------------------
For $19.50, its not a bad foundation, but its nowhere near perfection. For $10 more, you can get a foundation that lasts throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products