Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(702 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 bellekiwi on 7/9/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by bellekiwi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For my acne-prone and oily skin, this foundation is a no, especially in the summer months.

I originally started using it in the winter, and it was decent. The coverage was moderate - definitely wasn't enough to cover up my red spots and all of my scarring, but it went on smoothly and matched my skin tone well. It would definitely wear off as the day went on, however, and I'm pretty sure it has exacerbated my break-outs.

Now in the summer, it's been turning orange. My face is an oil slick! I'm going to try Cover FX as soon as I can get my hands on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jawbreaker on 7/5/2009 1:05:00 AM more reviews by jawbreaker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This broke me out. The texture also seems quite oily and runny. It also did not wear well throughout the day. A few hours after wearing it, it seemd to fade off in certain spots so my skin became blotchy. Also, I'm a PPP neutral/cool and MAC has me at NC15 and the lightest shade is not quite light enough. Will not repurchase. Clinique Stay True is much better and no breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maddieo87 on 7/1/2009 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Maddieo87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have finally found my HG of all foundations. Finally... after years and years of trial and error. I've always been a Clinique makeup girl. I used to use their skin care range, but after much deliberation I changed to a natural skin care range called Sukin. It's much cheaper, and agrees with my skin a lot more.

Superbalanced is amazing. I have normal to combo skin. I use the shade 'Alabaster'. I used to use Perfectly Real Makeup in shade 02. But, it's winter and I get a bit dry. So, I tried this amazing foundation. The coverage is medium, but looks natural. It's not matte, which I like to steer clear from... because even though I'm 23, matte foundation makes me look older I think. The only thing that is a downside is the packaging. Although I'm not too worried, as I can get just the right amount out with a spatula, or when I shake it up, I just use the lid with my Ecotools foundation brush. The texture is great, it blends easily, and doesn't cake at all. All in all a fantastic product. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now. No break outs. No flaking. No oil build up. No blocked pores. Seriously a great foundation. I'm so glad I found it :D
--------------------
After much consideration, I eventually gave up on this. i've been using it for at least 1-2 years now. Loved it, up until I started to notice that it doesn't match my skin anymore. It's too dark. I bought MAC select spf 15 foundation yesterday, which matches my skin perfectly. NW15. I compared the two, and yeah... clinique... I love you but, we don't fit anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 6/26/2009 12:12:00 AM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

My mother owns this and I would use it for special occasions before I owned any foundation. It gives pretty good coverage (medium), but it didn't keep my super oily skin matte at all! An hour or two after I apply this, my skin feels really greasy and oily and it transfers onto clothes. It also oxidizes on me so I look like an orange mess after a few hours :/ I would not buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eandrews6338 on 6/14/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by eandrews6338

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Probably the best department store foundation I've used, it matches my skin perfectly and I love the moderate coverage it provides.....it is perfect for my combination somewhat dry skin and the natural finish is amazing it seems like whenever I try anything new I always end up going back to this foundation I love it and highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 waysa on 6/9/2009 2:51:00 AM more reviews by waysa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first foundation I've ever used. I was looking for something cheap (under $20) and also a product that is oil-free. Since I have moderate acne and extremely oily skin (within an hour after washing my face, a sheet of oil-blotting paper can be entirely used), I had to ensure that it wouldn't irritate my skin.

PROS
- easy application
- color (ivory) matched my skin very well
- didn't irritate my skin

CONS
- claims to absorb "oil where oil-control is needed", but it was no match for my oily face
- the application doesn't last throughout the day (cause of oily skin, within hours, it looked like everything was melting)
- medium coverage (I have an extremely red/pink face cause of acne scars. It didn't provide enough coverage.)

-----------------------------
For $19.50, its not a bad foundation, but its nowhere near perfection. For $10 more, you can get a foundation that lasts throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmbs001 on 6/7/2009 7:03:00 AM more reviews by lmbs001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best foundation I have ever tried! second time i've bought it so far (I don't use it every day). It goes on easily, esp. when using a foundation brush and makes you look glowing! Coverage is medium, use concealers underneath it if you need particular coverage anywhere else. Packaging is a glass bottle, very sturdy, but when nearly empty it takes a while to get the last bits to pour out. At around 20 it is on the more expensive range of foundations out there, but well worth the price for the quality. Try it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tdollgirl on 6/4/2009 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Tdollgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have good skin - however not after using this product. My skin has broken out very badly around chin and it can only be from using this foundation. Very disappointed! Also I don't like the coverage. What have they put in this stuff?!

I am giving 2 lippies as it does stay on your skin and it's not too expensive compared to other high end brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luckygal79 on 6/2/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by luckygal79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So after horrible experiences with Clinique's Perfectly Real makeup and Superfit, I was stupid enough to try this foundation. Why am I such a glutton for punishment? This stuff is AWFUL for my acne-prone combo skin. As with most of their foundations, it looked great when first applied. Then the usual orange mask happened within an hour. Then the oil slick began. I have never had to blot my t-zone more than twice in a 16 hour day before this foundation. Disgusting. To top it all off, about a month into trying to make this work, I got the biggest cyst on my chin I've ever had in my life. Think quarter sized! I returned this and never ever again will I be tempted by Clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Msjuneday on 5/31/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by Msjuneday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is lovely when my skin is clear. It's silky and gives a nice glow to the skin, but it will NOT cover up acne. My face looks goregeous, except for the spots of acne that it refuses to cover. I don't think I'll be purchasing this product again simply because I rarely have skin clear enough to be confident enough to wear it. The color matching is also tricky many of them are pinky tones that I have no idea who they would match. Also, I tend to get one cystic acne spot at a time as a wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products