Clinique • Superbalanced Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(699 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 6/26/2009 12:12:00 AM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

My mother owns this and I would use it for special occasions before I owned any foundation. It gives pretty good coverage (medium), but it didn't keep my super oily skin matte at all! An hour or two after I apply this, my skin feels really greasy and oily and it transfers onto clothes. It also oxidizes on me so I look like an orange mess after a few hours :/ I would not buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eandrews6338 on 6/14/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by eandrews6338

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Probably the best department store foundation I've used, it matches my skin perfectly and I love the moderate coverage it provides.....it is perfect for my combination somewhat dry skin and the natural finish is amazing it seems like whenever I try anything new I always end up going back to this foundation I love it and highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 waysa on 6/9/2009 2:51:00 AM more reviews by waysa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first foundation I've ever used. I was looking for something cheap (under $20) and also a product that is oil-free. Since I have moderate acne and extremely oily skin (within an hour after washing my face, a sheet of oil-blotting paper can be entirely used), I had to ensure that it wouldn't irritate my skin.

PROS
- easy application
- color (ivory) matched my skin very well
- didn't irritate my skin

CONS
- claims to absorb "oil where oil-control is needed", but it was no match for my oily face
- the application doesn't last throughout the day (cause of oily skin, within hours, it looked like everything was melting)
- medium coverage (I have an extremely red/pink face cause of acne scars. It didn't provide enough coverage.)

-----------------------------
For $19.50, its not a bad foundation, but its nowhere near perfection. For $10 more, you can get a foundation that lasts throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmbs001 on 6/7/2009 7:03:00 AM more reviews by lmbs001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best foundation I have ever tried! second time i've bought it so far (I don't use it every day). It goes on easily, esp. when using a foundation brush and makes you look glowing! Coverage is medium, use concealers underneath it if you need particular coverage anywhere else. Packaging is a glass bottle, very sturdy, but when nearly empty it takes a while to get the last bits to pour out. At around 20 it is on the more expensive range of foundations out there, but well worth the price for the quality. Try it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tdollgirl on 6/4/2009 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Tdollgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have good skin - however not after using this product. My skin has broken out very badly around chin and it can only be from using this foundation. Very disappointed! Also I don't like the coverage. What have they put in this stuff?!

I am giving 2 lippies as it does stay on your skin and it's not too expensive compared to other high end brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luckygal79 on 6/2/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by luckygal79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So after horrible experiences with Clinique's Perfectly Real makeup and Superfit, I was stupid enough to try this foundation. Why am I such a glutton for punishment? This stuff is AWFUL for my acne-prone combo skin. As with most of their foundations, it looked great when first applied. Then the usual orange mask happened within an hour. Then the oil slick began. I have never had to blot my t-zone more than twice in a 16 hour day before this foundation. Disgusting. To top it all off, about a month into trying to make this work, I got the biggest cyst on my chin I've ever had in my life. Think quarter sized! I returned this and never ever again will I be tempted by Clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Msjuneday on 5/31/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by Msjuneday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is lovely when my skin is clear. It's silky and gives a nice glow to the skin, but it will NOT cover up acne. My face looks goregeous, except for the spots of acne that it refuses to cover. I don't think I'll be purchasing this product again simply because I rarely have skin clear enough to be confident enough to wear it. The color matching is also tricky many of them are pinky tones that I have no idea who they would match. Also, I tend to get one cystic acne spot at a time as a wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DeeanaAlexsia on 5/30/2009 1:30:00 PM more reviews by DeeanaAlexsia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a moderate coverage, oil-free foundation. It's not heavy at all, which I love, but it gives decent coverage. Leaves my face glowing and smooth looking. The only downside I find is that after a long day, it seems to disappear from my cheeks. It could be that I touch my face a lot, but I recommend using it with face primer if you know you need it to last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dtzybrunette on 5/30/2009 12:17:00 AM more reviews by dtzybrunette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So, even though I absolutely love my Lancome foundation, I found out that a girl whose skin always looks amazing uses this and Mac's MSFN. So of course, I went out and bought it in Petal, which the SA said would be the best match.
My skin: Very pale, big pores, combination (can be flaky yet oily), redness/acne issues

I tried this foundation 3 or 4 times. Every time, I was absolutely frightened at how pink it made my face look. Seriously, it looked like I'd put light blush all over my face, and it was a completely different color from the rest of me. I don't know if it was just because I'm so pale that the strong pink undertones show through so much or what. If you are like NW 15-20 avoid this like the plague.

My second issue with this foundation is how sheer it is. It is very, very sheer. I have a few red marks and even with concealer this just did not do the job. If you don't need much coverage this might work for you.

Third issue is that it settled into the large pores of my cheeks, what I most want to cover, making them look even more obvious.

Fourthly, the packaging sucks. It does not have any kind of nozzle or distributor, and it has thin bottleneck making it very hard to get to the foundation. You either have to reach your finger in there (gross and not a good idea for acne-prones) or bang it onto the back of your hand until enough comes out. Not fun when you are late to class.

Fifth, it absolutely hated my Mac 187 brush. They just were not friends. I had to pick little black hairs out of the makeup on my face, which I definitely don't have to do with my Lancome.

In conclusion, this foundation just really made me look terrible and I hate it. One day I wore it and went shopping with my sister. I caught a glimpse of my face in the mirror and said "I really am not liking this new foundation." My sister replied, "Oh, THAT's why you look so bad!" ...Ya. Will not repurchase.

But I won't give it a one because I guess it wasn't a TOTAL trainwreck. There were times when I thought it looked nice. Plus, I think this foundation might really work well for some people who don't have my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 guanacaxlatina on 5/23/2009 3:46:00 AM more reviews by guanacaxlatina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

the application is gorgous!! feels like silk and the foundation will melt into ur skin and match ur skin perfectly.. HOWEVER, the lady at the counter got my a shade heaps darker for me.. im usually MAC NC42/44 in studio fluid fix *im yellow/golden undertone* and she got me in at golden, which is the second darkest shade?? like noooo when it was in the store it looked blended, when i got home i was like wtf???

overall my skin is combination/oily.. it did nothing for my skin at the end of the day, still oily as hell.. maybe ill try superfit or stay true next time.. or even try this one out again in my shade this time..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products