Revlon Colorsilk

4.0

713 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 10/23/2009 4:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So I have the case of uneven hair color...
During the summer, my hair reacts with the sun and I get these crazy highlights in red, orange, and almost blonde colors! Everyone likes it BUT me... I just want my consistent dark brown hair color all through out.

The solution? Revlon ColorSilk in Dark Brown!!! Oh my goodness. This did not dry out my hair, my hair was super soft, and it was a beautiful even color! I cannot be more happy about this dye.

It's dirt cheap too! I got it for 2.99 at Walgreens! :D Don't let the price fool you.. it's lovely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/22/2009 3:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So I decided on a whim to color my hair from my natural dark brown hair to black after about 2 years since my last dye job. Luckily I read the reviews here first before committing to a brand. I bought 2 boxes because my hair is long. I realized that I could have just used one box because my hair may be long but it is very fine and thin so only one box was needed for the coverage I needed. The end results are FANTASTIC! I loved that it didn't stink nor make a mess. I did get some on my skin but luckily I put vaseline around my hair line so it wiped away quickly. Waited about 30 minutes before I washed it out. Note to others who hate the ketchup packet conditioner: CUT IT OPEN BEFORE SHOWERING! Takes 2 seconds versus 5 minutes of struggling to open it with wet hands! I do admit the gloves were a bit tacky and got dye in places where it's supposed to be protected but oh well, the dye came off the next day. All in all, this is just awesome! The price you can buy atleast 4 boxes under $10. I got a ton of compliments and I have to admit I do feel like a vixen now! Thanks, MUA for making my decision a good one!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2009 11:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this on a whim, because I had not dyed my hair in a few years and was getting bored with the color of it. I bought #32 which is a dark brown with red, and I am in love! The color is totally perfect, beautiful and vibrant. I haven't washed it yet, so we will see how it holds up, but for $3 you cant go wrong!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2009 4:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Literaly this hair dye works better then going to the salon for me, everyone thinks it's awful cuase it's cheap, but I won't use anything else! The results are fantastic! I got this on sale and with a coupon for $1.50. I had very highlighted hair, not platinum blonde but a very light blonde with some dark blonde low lights. Getting it a brown would have cost probably around two hundred dollars at a salon. I bought this in Dark Soft Brown and my hair came out the most gorgeous shade of dark brown! Naturally of course it comes out much darker at first, but it's faded and hasn't turned any red or orangey colors, it's still a very rich brown and the highlights from before all blend in perfectly. I may red dye this week in rich medium brown just to darken it a bit more and becuase I missed a few spots underneath, but trust me this is the best hair dye there is!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is very inexpensive but don't be scared off because of the low price. I honestly feel that this is the best drugstore haircolor I have ever used. The color is rich. It covered my grays and my hair didn't feel dried out and ruined afterwards.


on 9/20/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've colored my hair for about 25 years. My natural color is medium auburn but with all the gray I have at this point, red hair color dyes do not look natural on me.

I switched a year back to medium golden brown and tried L'Oreal, Garnier Nutrisse and others. By far, this is my favorite medium golden brown. I put it only on the roots because my ends tend to grab color and get dark. It blends amazingly well.

I did not get an uneven result and it's shiny and the color lasts. I was using Revlon High Dimensions but they discontinued it. This is cheaper and works just as well. For $2.97 at Walmart, I am amazed. I've also had my hair professionally colored for about $60 and the results are not all that different.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2009 3:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this color.

About 8 years ago, I started dying my graying hair. First, I tried Feria, which left my hair dry, brittle, and dead. Then I tried Clairol Hydrience, which was pretty good, and I alternated it w/L'Oreal's Excellence, which was also pretty good -- I got whichever one was on sale.

Then my budget went bust, and I had to really watch what I spent. Colorsilk was less than $3 a box, and I figured "what the heck." Glad I did. I liked it even better than the Clairol or Excellence. Covers the gray, lasts, and leaves my hair soft. I used to use light brown (I have medium brown hair, with about 20% gray, mostly in front), but now that I'm getting older, I've found that dark blond works better for me.


on 9/15/2009 7:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I love love love this hair dye. I have naturally caramel colored hair but I buy natural blue black dye and, this is the only dye I use. I use it because it's a great product, it doesn't ruin my hair and the price is GREAT! I get it at target for about $2-3. I plan on changing my hair color to something lighter in a few month and after I go through the lifting of black I will use this dye to color my hair the next color I want.


on 9/13/2009 12:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I picked up this hair color when it was on sale at Walgreens for $2. I got the ultra light ash blond color. I have been coloring my hair at home for over 10 years, and have never had such a bad result. I naturally have dark ash blond hair which easily lightens in the sun. I followed the directions and left this on for the 45 minutes. I was shocked when I dried my hair and realized that the color only took on my top layers and crown. The hair underneath (which I did color) did not take any of the color. I was left with hot roots, light blond hair on top and my natural color underneath--not a pretty sight. I am hesitant to try other colors in this line.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I use it in medium auburn and red colors have a tendency to fade quickly. I am able to use it on my roots only every other month (all over on the other months) and my hair looks the same all the time. It does fade slightly on the ends, but I feel that is because I made the mistake of straying from this brand - I ALWAYS come back to this. no ammonia and the conditioner it comes with is good. I would pay hgh dollar for this if they charged it, but they don't and that is great! You can almost always find it at walmart in a two pack for less that $5. You just can't beat this hair color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top