Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 3.9(688 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yayitsanne on 7/20/2009 4:09:00 AM more reviews by yayitsanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can hardly believe that for such an inexpensive product (and by inexpensive I mean dirt cheap) I can get the same results as I get in a salon paying, well, 60 times the price. I would never be brave enough to do highlights or go lighter on my own, but for all-over color this is amazing! My hair has actually held the color longer with this than when I got it done at a salon. It was super easy for me, as a first timer, to color my hair and it didn't seem to dry my hair out or anything. Since my hair is pretty long, I bought two boxes just in case, but I only needed to use one. Will definitely use again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LVaccare on 7/17/2009 5:25:00 PM more reviews by LVaccare

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I used ColorSilk #70, Medium Ash Blonde, over previously colored dark blonde / strawberry blonde hair (with 1/2 inch of regrowth / roots; my natural color is medium / dark brown with red undertones). I had first purchased #60 Dark Ash Blonde, based on the color representation on the box...I am so glad I also picked up the Medium Ash Blonde. I conducted separate strand tests using each of the colors, and chose to go with the Medium. (As others have posted, these colors tend to turn out darker than expected, and the strand tests confirmed that fact.) I'm generally pleased with the color results - my hair is now a light brown / dark blonde with some lighter blonde "shimmers", but the best part is that there are no traces of orange, copper, or any other brassy remnants of my natural red undertones. My hair is soft and shiny, and it looks so natural! (All for $3 a box - it hardly seems possible!)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jse23 on 7/10/2009 1:03:00 PM more reviews by jse23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this based on the great reviews and cheap price. This was the first time I had ever dyed my hair at home. I have dark brown hair, and I used Medium Golden Brown. My hair came out nice; this added alot of red, but did not change the actual lightness of my hair- it was still dark brown. Plus I didn't see any golden tones, it was definately red tones. However, my hair was still in great condition and I got a ton of compliments, so overall not bad. I'm going to try Natural Instincts next though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mary04au on 7/8/2009 4:35:00 PM more reviews by mary04au

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this. Excellent product and price, easily available everywhere, and on sale at least once a month for $2. a box.

I have struggled finding a nice ash brown, finally found it in MEDIUM BROWN 41. No weird purple or green undertones. I don't leave it on very long since I want a light ash brown color. I've had the best luck with this brand of all of the permanent haircolors I've tried - I don't know if "no ammonia" has anything to do with it, I assume so. My hair does feel healthier after I've used it. Rinsing out with water is very easy - I'm not tempted to shampoo it out which I admit I've done w/other products.

I'm not trying to cover greys but am trying to achieve the look of my hair at about age 9 - light brown w/natural lighter highlights. I "bleach" my crown and bangs and hair in front of my ears w/REVLON FROST AND GLOW (the one w/the very light blonde model on the box), leaving the rest of my hair (dark brown) alone (I put it in a ponytail and cover it with plastic wrap). I don't like the extreme blonde of Frost and Glow, so I use a hair color brush to paint Colorsilk onto the bleached hair and leave it on very briefly to achieve a light brown or caramel color. I do the lower layers first and work my way up. I hope using these two products achieves a somewhat realistic ,sun-kissed look of softly blended colors. I will try to post a picture soon.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1950sblonde on 6/30/2009 12:07:00 PM more reviews by 1950sblonde

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. When I used to use box color I looked around and didn't know what to use at first. Then I saw this and the price. I was a bit amazed and thought that it was probably shit so my mom dyed her hair first and it came out amazingly! I wanted to go from my blond hair to an auburn color. So I bought 2 boxes and colored it. After I finished everything and dryed my hair it was the perfect shade and didn't mess my hair up at all. I don't use box color anymore because I'm afraid my hair will fall out or something. My stylist told me I had the best hair he had seen in years, and I want to keep it that way so I go to the salon to color my hair.

If i would ever go back to box colors I would defiantly use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gamegrl on 6/24/2009 1:44:00 PM more reviews by gamegrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Over the last 11 years I've dyed my hair with just about every product out there--including going to several salons. I have the unfortunate combination of full, BLACK eyebrows, and naturally dirty blonde hair, which gets a lot of snide comments. A neutral dark brown has been my color of choice, since it looks the most natural with my eyebrows and works well with my skin tone. It also turns out that I'm one of those rare people who can go into a salon and still have my hair color fade in four weeks, so I stopped paying for that pretty quickly, which meant dying it at home.

About 7 months ago I first used the Colorsilk #30 Dark Brown (which is warmer than neutral, but not warm) and have been absolutely amazed by it. Yes, the color did fade about half a shade in the first week, but then it stopped fading completely. Absolutely gorgeous, shimmery hair! Something to warn everyone about: this color looks like it will come out purple until you wash and completely dry--then it is clearly brown, not at all purple. Yeah, I was terrified at first, but don't cry until your hair is dry! This color has a ton of dimension, and came through with a very natural look.

Two hair color tips I've learned over the years 1)The wash before you color you should use a good clarifying shampoo and NOT use conditioner or any other styling products. These can coat the hair unevenly and cause 'blotchy' color. 2)When you go to rinse the dye out you are supposed to NOT shampoo, only condition. Leave the conditioner in for two min like it says and rinse, then repeat with your normal color-safe conditioner until the conditioner is running almost clear, this way you don't get a unrealistically dark look at your hair the first time, and you don't ruin anything by leaving traces of dye behind (your pillow cases are thanking me right now).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetkandi87 on 6/23/2009 1:30:00 AM more reviews by sweetkandi87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this hair dye! I get it in 80 Light Ash Blonde, and Ive bought it 3 times in a row so far! I love it, its so cheap, and the color is so pretty! My hair is naturally a light brown, so the first time I used it, I worried it would turn my hair a tinge of orange, but no....It looks like a natural blonde color, and I will keep buying this until Im bored with the color. lol

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pepsichick127 on 6/15/2009 1:28:00 AM more reviews by pepsichick127

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best hair dye hands down! I had a horrible experience with black hair dye and it did not come out no matter what I did. I naturally have brown/black hair but decided to have blackest black hair 2 years ago. And I've been dying my hair black ever since! But I was getting tired of it so I wanted to go lighter.

I know black hair dye doesn't come out unless you bleach it, but I didn't want to put my hair through that torture. So I grabbed a box of colorsilk in Light Golden Brown and it did the trick! My hair wasn't so dark and dramatic. The color was a more brownish black color. Well I actually cheated a bit and removed some of the color by using Color Oops at Walgreens and my hair turned reddish orange and I just dyed over it the same day. I've been using this same hair color 3 times already (once every 4 months) and now my hair is the same color as the box. I LOVE this color and my hair always feels so silky smooth and it's in better condition after every dye job. I've noticed that my color fades to a lighter tinge after a few weeks. It looks like I have natural golden brown highlights which is a bonus!

Go out and grab a box for yourself! Sometimes you can find BOGOs at drugstores. I usually stock up because this is the only dye I will ever use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 okrockon on 5/28/2009 1:25:00 AM more reviews by okrockon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used ultra light ash blonde (05) on pre-bleached hair at an orange/dark yellow stage. My actual color is medium/dark brown, who knows I haven't seen it in years. :) I read some good reviews here, so I went for it because the orange was not cutting it and I had no money for expensive dye that does the same thing as a cheap one.
I did not do a strand test, I just went for it, like a true warrior.
I was anticipating the lunch lady gloves and was not disappointed. They got the job done, it was all very straightforward and for the price it was good.
The smell was a little yucky, but man not nearly as miserable as the ammonia-stankonia of so many other brands, so it was okay.
I put it on my hair... my hair was already kinda straw-like, shoulder length; it sucked up the dye like crazy but one box did the job. It was a little dry, not as much slip as other brands but it did what it had to do.
I waited 45 minutes like it said to for that shade, nothing really happened. Waited an hour... meh. Put a garbage bag on, blasted it with heat, and finally it got up to yellow with pale yellow highlights (I had existing highlights) at an hour and ten minutes. So that was a little bit of a con, you might have a similar experience and if I had time I would have done a strand test.
When I rinsed it was slimy, so I assumed the worst with massive breakage... and yes, there was a little damage but honestly, having had 40 vol bleach disasters in the past as a goth-girl teen, this was nothing. Not nearly as much damage as I anticipated, then I used the conditioner and it was sufficient. I had to run to class and I noticed in the bathroom that a few strands had broken off, but for a whole head of hair it was totally okay. Tonight I used a deep conditioner and it feels a lot better.
Overall? For less than three bucks, this stuff was pretty cool. It left my hair a medium yellow with pale yellow highlights that could have been a lot more brassy and can be fixed with shimmerlights... yes, damaged, but not as bad as I imagined from something this cheap, and looks a hell of a lot better than the bright brassy orange hair I was rocking yesterday. :)
To compare, I tried Perfect 10 in a similar shade before this and it did a whole lot of nothing for over twice the price. So, it's worth a shot!
Go get it girls. <3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rinstarangel on 5/26/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by rinstarangel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For the money you spend on this, it's a great hair color. I've been using this for a while and have recommended it to everyone. It tends to fade quickly but the initial color is great. However, I will no longer be using this, as I've moved on to more natural hair color (henna).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products