Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 4.0(699 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eq2008 on 8/22/2009 12:21:00 PM more reviews by eq2008

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Garnier and L'oreal to dye my hair brown for the longest time and my hair feels dead and dry. I didn't know any better until I found this. It's half the price( only $4) and it leaves my hair soft and silky after coloring!!! I love coloring my hair brown because black hair makes me look tired (in my opinion), but I hate the damaging effect of after coloring....not anymore with Revlon colorsilk. I will be using this from now on........Thanks revlon!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CitrusFlower on 8/21/2009 5:59:00 AM more reviews by CitrusFlower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing! I've been dyeing my hair with harsh products which made my hair look absolutely dead, even my friends would make fun of me because of that. I've decided to give me hair a break and dye it back to my natural color which is black. My friend had dyed her black before and it looks absolutely fake like she had a wig on, I was afaraid that would be my outcome so I bought soft black and the results were amazing. It looks natural like I have never dyed my hair before and it my hair feels amazing soft and silky. Which is amazing because it did what it's suppose to, it made my hair even better then it was before. If I knew this product would be this great I would of dyed it a whole lot more and tried a lot of color but I guess I'll just stick to my current color.
It's also very cheap so it won't hurt to try, it's definitely more worth it then those other brands that cost alot more. Depending on where you live it should be around $3-$5

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mommytomy3sons on 8/16/2009 11:08:00 AM more reviews by mommytomy3sons

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Okay, so the gloves suck but other than that, this stuff is awesome. Works great, doesn't make my hair feel fried, doesn't stink too terribly and it's dirt cheap! $2.97 at Walmart! You can't beat that in these economic times! Will definitely use from now on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssherices on 8/16/2009 10:28:00 AM more reviews by ssherices

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just colored my hair with the dark auburn....its is STUNNING! I love it so much....Its like a really dark cherry then in the sun its the prettiest shade of dark red. I love that it is cheap and ammonia free......this is a keeper!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candyxmandie on 8/14/2009 5:48:00 PM more reviews by candyxmandie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I love this hair dye! It has lasted longer than any store bought hair dye I've ever used. My last use was about 2 weeks ago and it hasn't faded in the slightest. The conditioner makes my hair very soft and it really does make my hair softer. For only about 3 dollars, this is a major steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 8/14/2009 2:22:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, I have dark ash blonde/light ash brown hair, that pulls extremely brassy when I try to lighten to blonde. I have tried NiceNEasy, Colour Experte, Garnier Nutrisse, Preference, and Excellence, and none came even close to giving me the ultra pale blonde results that Colorsilks "Ultra Light Ash Blonde" gives me. This stuff is incredible, it even lifts better than the proffessional high lift colors I've tried from Sally's! I leave it on an hour and put a plastic shower cap over my hair because heat will help color lift better. End results are gorgeous, super bright/light, shiny blonde hair! I am in love, and am about to go out now and stock up! UPDATE: Just used this again, it's so amazing! I still can't believe I finally found a haircolor that gives me such ultra pale results...and at this price too! In love with this!!!! UPDATE2: I have never gotten so many compliments on my haircolor, everyone that knows me has told me this is the best color I've ever had, and I've had pretty much all of them! Even men have complimented me on my nearly platinum shade. God, I'm in love!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmyDbaby on 8/8/2009 7:04:00 PM more reviews by AmyDbaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I too was such a snob and thought only the very best home hair coloring brands were good enough for me. At least I was certain that anything this cheap would ruin my hair. I was so wrong! This stuff is great! I stock up when it's BOGO or on sale for $2. $2 for hair color that's fabulous??! How can that be? I don't know but its true. I've used several shades from blondes to auburns and they have all been excellent. If you color your hair at home you must give this brand a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bollimk on 8/5/2009 8:24:00 PM more reviews by bollimk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Naturally I have dirty blonde hair. It looks ok but its just bland. So a couple years ago I decided to "funk it up" and make it a BRIGHT blonde (03 Sun blonde). And it looked wonderful! The first couple days the color is a little intense but after that it fades to a natural tone and stays that way for weeks. My hair feels and looks awesome after I use it too. And all that for like $3!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 selinajustine on 8/5/2009 1:22:00 PM more reviews by selinajustine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This hair color is NOT for everyone. I read a bunch of reviews and have tried it many times, and it seems that about 85-90% of people are satisfied. If your hair isn't healthy, this dye won't really do anything for you except ruin your hair.
As for me, it works great. My natural hair color is kind of a mousy brown, and I hate it. I have olive-y skin, so I like to dye my hair a deep, dark chocolate brown. The color I use is #30- Dark Brown. It's my favorite box dye so far, because it will actually look like the color on the box. No unpredictable-ness here. So as for dying darker, this product is an A+.
I've done several lightenings with Revlon ColorSilk, not on my hair, but on others [and on hair extensions] and they don't hold very well. Revlon tends to use very mild chemicals in their dye that don't lighten very well. It won't completely ruin your hair color- it probably just won't do anything at all.
Overall, this product is great, but only for dying your hair darker. The dirt cheap price makes it an unknown treasure. The conditioner is amazing and smells like gardenia. This product will actually make your hair softer and smoother than it was before the dye. It's rare to find a product this cheap that actually works!
Happy hair-dying, ladies!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie35 on 7/30/2009 12:24:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After many years of trying different brands/products and spending hundreds in the salon, I am sold on Revlon Colorsilk! And, not only is it dirt cheap (imagine stocking up after an irresistible sale lol), but it has given me the exact color as shown on the box. I have found that to be a rarity among other drugstore brands. The color is natural and the conditioner included is wonderful. I will continue to repurchase!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products