Revlon Colorsilk


717 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $


on 11/9/2009 12:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Having seen so many recommendations from MUA... and thinking of changing hair color for the first time in my life, I went to local drugstore and got this in Dark Brown for 5 bucks.

I did the Strand Test, and the color didnt seem to be visible after I left it on for 25 minutes. Coz of its claim to give me chocolate brown hair, I used them all to color my hair anyway...and left the color on my hair for a whole hour. (I have natural black hair, so I think the color would have to sit on my hair longer as I didnt bleach them?)

Uh... my hair's kinda smoother...but my friends didnt see visible brown color in my hair =( Well I saw brown hair under fluorescent light through... So I just dunno if I was successful or fail in my 1st time hair coloring.

I think I would give its Dark Auburn a shot next time.

on 11/3/2009 4:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Naturally I have light auburn hair that turns into a very unflattering strawberry blonde color when it gets sunbleached, since I also have really fair skin that makes me look sort of albino-ish so I like to dye my hair in colors close to my natural one but a tad darker. I've done this since I was about 12 so by now I've tried pretty much every red/auburn color that is out there, and I still haven't found the perfect shade until I tried this. I found this on sale for about 5 dollars, I got it in dark auburn. I seriously went home and tried it, then rushed back before the store closed and bought like 10 boxes more - enough to dye my hair for about 6 months.

I LOVE IT! It's the most natural, best looking color I have ever tried. It looks about the same as it does when I dye my hair at the salon, even better actually. It was 5 dollars, it's ammonia-free and doesn't smell as bad as most other colors, the conditioner that came with it was awesome and left my hair extremely soft and shiny - I can't say enough good things about it. The only downside to it was that my head burned like hell for 25 minutes, BUT when I saw the result it was totally worth it. No one would ever guess that I dyed my hair, it looks that natural.

Next time I'm gonna try it in medium auburn. :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 10/27/2009 7:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I normally use Wella colors or other more professional stuff from Sally's to get my naturally dark brown hair to my signature light auburn/dark strawberry blonde color. I couldn't get to a Sally's though, so I picked up this ColorSilk in Strawberry Blonde, hoping and praying it would work to lighten my hair about four shades at the roots. Well by god, after 45 minutes on the hair, it did! Granted natural pigment will lift much more in the roots where it's warmer, but I was really impressed! It matches the rest of my hair perfectly, and got rid of the gray at my temples way better than other color has. It's very natural looking and vibrant, and I'm very excited that it only cost me $3.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 10/27/2009 5:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Oh my word do i hate this hair color product! I'm kinda a maniac when it comes to dying my hair. I love to change my hair color. I'm naturally a blonde, but most often color my hair dark. It looks better on me. I went thru a period that I needed to conserve extra spending money and just buy what was needed. Well, when you have dark hair and blonde roots start to grow it, i call it NEEDED! haha. So i thought, well i'll try this out because it's much cheaper. Ok, it's cheap for a reason! The dark color stained my scalp horribly, and in chunks so i ended up looking like i had some bald spots for about a week. Everytime i washed my hair the shampoo lather would be purple. And not just a purple hue, PURPLE! like i hadnt washed the color product out of my hair and this went on for months!!! Washing my hair every day to every other day with purple coming out of my hair. And it didnt make my hair look as healthy as many other dyes can. So if you are cutting back and not going to a salon, at least spend 7 bucks on Clairol! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 10/23/2009 4:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So I have the case of uneven hair color...
During the summer, my hair reacts with the sun and I get these crazy highlights in red, orange, and almost blonde colors! Everyone likes it BUT me... I just want my consistent dark brown hair color all through out.

The solution? Revlon ColorSilk in Dark Brown!!! Oh my goodness. This did not dry out my hair, my hair was super soft, and it was a beautiful even color! I cannot be more happy about this dye.

It's dirt cheap too! I got it for 2.99 at Walgreens! :D Don't let the price fool you.. it's lovely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 10/22/2009 3:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So I decided on a whim to color my hair from my natural dark brown hair to black after about 2 years since my last dye job. Luckily I read the reviews here first before committing to a brand. I bought 2 boxes because my hair is long. I realized that I could have just used one box because my hair may be long but it is very fine and thin so only one box was needed for the coverage I needed. The end results are FANTASTIC! I loved that it didn't stink nor make a mess. I did get some on my skin but luckily I put vaseline around my hair line so it wiped away quickly. Waited about 30 minutes before I washed it out. Note to others who hate the ketchup packet conditioner: CUT IT OPEN BEFORE SHOWERING! Takes 2 seconds versus 5 minutes of struggling to open it with wet hands! I do admit the gloves were a bit tacky and got dye in places where it's supposed to be protected but oh well, the dye came off the next day. All in all, this is just awesome! The price you can buy atleast 4 boxes under $10. I got a ton of compliments and I have to admit I do feel like a vixen now! Thanks, MUA for making my decision a good one!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 10/4/2009 11:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this on a whim, because I had not dyed my hair in a few years and was getting bored with the color of it. I bought #32 which is a dark brown with red, and I am in love! The color is totally perfect, beautiful and vibrant. I haven't washed it yet, so we will see how it holds up, but for $3 you cant go wrong!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/29/2009 4:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Literaly this hair dye works better then going to the salon for me, everyone thinks it's awful cuase it's cheap, but I won't use anything else! The results are fantastic! I got this on sale and with a coupon for $1.50. I had very highlighted hair, not platinum blonde but a very light blonde with some dark blonde low lights. Getting it a brown would have cost probably around two hundred dollars at a salon. I bought this in Dark Soft Brown and my hair came out the most gorgeous shade of dark brown! Naturally of course it comes out much darker at first, but it's faded and hasn't turned any red or orangey colors, it's still a very rich brown and the highlights from before all blend in perfectly. I may red dye this week in rich medium brown just to darken it a bit more and becuase I missed a few spots underneath, but trust me this is the best hair dye there is!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 9/23/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is very inexpensive but don't be scared off because of the low price. I honestly feel that this is the best drugstore haircolor I have ever used. The color is rich. It covered my grays and my hair didn't feel dried out and ruined afterwards.

on 9/20/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've colored my hair for about 25 years. My natural color is medium auburn but with all the gray I have at this point, red hair color dyes do not look natural on me.

I switched a year back to medium golden brown and tried L'Oreal, Garnier Nutrisse and others. By far, this is my favorite medium golden brown. I put it only on the roots because my ends tend to grab color and get dark. It blends amazingly well.

I did not get an uneven result and it's shiny and the color lasts. I was using Revlon High Dimensions but they discontinued it. This is cheaper and works just as well. For $2.97 at Walmart, I am amazed. I've also had my hair professionally colored for about $60 and the results are not all that different.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Revlon Colorsilk by Denim Vixen

Back to Top