Revlon Colorsilk

4.0

704 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I use it in medium auburn and red colors have a tendency to fade quickly. I am able to use it on my roots only every other month (all over on the other months) and my hair looks the same all the time. It does fade slightly on the ends, but I feel that is because I made the mistake of straying from this brand - I ALWAYS come back to this. no ammonia and the conditioner it comes with is good. I would pay hgh dollar for this if they charged it, but they don't and that is great! You can almost always find it at walmart in a two pack for less that $5. You just can't beat this hair color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/8/2009 6:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I signed up with MU just so I could review this hair color! I was using L'Oreal in Dark Brown, but it continually faded out after a week or two, even with good color protecting shampoos. I have always avoided Revlon Colorsilk because it's not expensive, so I didn't think it would work as well. I was so wrong!

I purchased the Colorsilk in Dark Brown just for the heck of it. I applied it to hair that had not been washed in 2 days, that had been washed with a clairfying shampoo to loosen up all the dirt and conditioner that might be lingering. I applied this for 30 min, beginning with the roots first since I have stubborn greys at the roots and temples.

I was a wee bit concerned seeing my hair turn an inky black color while the dye sat on it. There was no heavy chemical smell. My scalp did not burn.

When time to rinse, I first rinsed the color out thoroughly, gave my hair a tiny shampoo without a scrub to help get excess dye off my hair. I have a problem with this and find that a gentle wash helps greatly. I was not pleased to find that the conditioner was in a packet, but after putting it on my hair and letting it sit for 10 minutes, I was absolutely thrilled at how soft my hair felt. Combing my wet tangly hair was a breeze with this stuff too.

I let my hair air dry. Once dry, it was very soft and healthy looking. Not at all dried out and fried. And the color? I was really surprised by the rich deep brown I acheived from a cheap box dye. It wasn't all just one flat color either. It had some nice dark and brown tones in it. Not a red hue in sight. No hot roots either. Nice even color.

On day 3, my hair is looking beautiful and it's very soft after it's first wash. This is a nice dark chocolate hair color.

Sure, it's all packaged in a cheapy box with thin gloves, but the color is great.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2009 5:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product was so-so. The color turned out ok but not quite as different from my natural color as I had hoped. I had gotten the strawberry blond color and was not really pleased, putting it over my medium brown natural color. Needless to say, I won't be buying it again. I'm gad it was so cheap so no loss.


on 8/31/2009 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this color in #48, burgundy. the color was really bright and really fake looking. Ok, I know, burgundy is not going to be a natural-looking color, but this was SUPER fake looking. Also, my hair felt limp, lank, weighed down, and gross for days, even after washing it a couple of times. The color was really cheap, like $4 at Walgreens, and it was easy to use, and I don't think it damaged my hair at all. I think this brand is just not for fine-haired people and this particular shade is only for those who want something slightly more adult than Manic-Panic.


on 8/26/2009 4:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

It's definitely the best for the price, hands down!!! Also, they have the most vibrant blueish black shade on the market (for a drugstore brand), that's all I want and it doesn't leave my hair "fried" like others do. Great!


on 8/22/2009 12:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Garnier and L'oreal to dye my hair brown for the longest time and my hair feels dead and dry. I didn't know any better until I found this. It's half the price( only $4) and it leaves my hair soft and silky after coloring!!! I love coloring my hair brown because black hair makes me look tired (in my opinion), but I hate the damaging effect of after coloring....not anymore with Revlon colorsilk. I will be using this from now on........Thanks revlon!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2009 5:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is amazing! I've been dyeing my hair with harsh products which made my hair look absolutely dead, even my friends would make fun of me because of that. I've decided to give me hair a break and dye it back to my natural color which is black. My friend had dyed her black before and it looks absolutely fake like she had a wig on, I was afaraid that would be my outcome so I bought soft black and the results were amazing. It looks natural like I have never dyed my hair before and it my hair feels amazing soft and silky. Which is amazing because it did what it's suppose to, it made my hair even better then it was before. If I knew this product would be this great I would of dyed it a whole lot more and tried a lot of color but I guess I'll just stick to my current color.
It's also very cheap so it won't hurt to try, it's definitely more worth it then those other brands that cost alot more. Depending on where you live it should be around $3-$5

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Okay, so the gloves suck but other than that, this stuff is awesome. Works great, doesn't make my hair feel fried, doesn't stink too terribly and it's dirt cheap! $2.97 at Walmart! You can't beat that in these economic times! Will definitely use from now on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2009 10:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just colored my hair with the dark auburn....its is STUNNING! I love it so much....Its like a really dark cherry then in the sun its the prettiest shade of dark red. I love that it is cheap and ammonia free......this is a keeper!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2009 5:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this hair dye! It has lasted longer than any store bought hair dye I've ever used. My last use was about 2 weeks ago and it hasn't faded in the slightest. The conditioner makes my hair very soft and it really does make my hair softer. For only about 3 dollars, this is a major steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
352 Reviews
Colorsilk
704 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Revlon Colorsilk by Denim Vixen



Back to Top