Revlon Colorsilk

4.0

711 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 10/4/2009 11:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this on a whim, because I had not dyed my hair in a few years and was getting bored with the color of it. I bought #32 which is a dark brown with red, and I am in love! The color is totally perfect, beautiful and vibrant. I haven't washed it yet, so we will see how it holds up, but for $3 you cant go wrong!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/29/2009 4:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Literaly this hair dye works better then going to the salon for me, everyone thinks it's awful cuase it's cheap, but I won't use anything else! The results are fantastic! I got this on sale and with a coupon for $1.50. I had very highlighted hair, not platinum blonde but a very light blonde with some dark blonde low lights. Getting it a brown would have cost probably around two hundred dollars at a salon. I bought this in Dark Soft Brown and my hair came out the most gorgeous shade of dark brown! Naturally of course it comes out much darker at first, but it's faded and hasn't turned any red or orangey colors, it's still a very rich brown and the highlights from before all blend in perfectly. I may red dye this week in rich medium brown just to darken it a bit more and becuase I missed a few spots underneath, but trust me this is the best hair dye there is!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is very inexpensive but don't be scared off because of the low price. I honestly feel that this is the best drugstore haircolor I have ever used. The color is rich. It covered my grays and my hair didn't feel dried out and ruined afterwards.


on 9/20/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've colored my hair for about 25 years. My natural color is medium auburn but with all the gray I have at this point, red hair color dyes do not look natural on me.

I switched a year back to medium golden brown and tried L'Oreal, Garnier Nutrisse and others. By far, this is my favorite medium golden brown. I put it only on the roots because my ends tend to grab color and get dark. It blends amazingly well.

I did not get an uneven result and it's shiny and the color lasts. I was using Revlon High Dimensions but they discontinued it. This is cheaper and works just as well. For $2.97 at Walmart, I am amazed. I've also had my hair professionally colored for about $60 and the results are not all that different.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2009 3:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this color.

About 8 years ago, I started dying my graying hair. First, I tried Feria, which left my hair dry, brittle, and dead. Then I tried Clairol Hydrience, which was pretty good, and I alternated it w/L'Oreal's Excellence, which was also pretty good -- I got whichever one was on sale.

Then my budget went bust, and I had to really watch what I spent. Colorsilk was less than $3 a box, and I figured "what the heck." Glad I did. I liked it even better than the Clairol or Excellence. Covers the gray, lasts, and leaves my hair soft. I used to use light brown (I have medium brown hair, with about 20% gray, mostly in front), but now that I'm getting older, I've found that dark blond works better for me.


on 9/15/2009 7:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I love love love this hair dye. I have naturally caramel colored hair but I buy natural blue black dye and, this is the only dye I use. I use it because it's a great product, it doesn't ruin my hair and the price is GREAT! I get it at target for about $2-3. I plan on changing my hair color to something lighter in a few month and after I go through the lifting of black I will use this dye to color my hair the next color I want.


on 9/13/2009 12:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I picked up this hair color when it was on sale at Walgreens for $2. I got the ultra light ash blond color. I have been coloring my hair at home for over 10 years, and have never had such a bad result. I naturally have dark ash blond hair which easily lightens in the sun. I followed the directions and left this on for the 45 minutes. I was shocked when I dried my hair and realized that the color only took on my top layers and crown. The hair underneath (which I did color) did not take any of the color. I was left with hot roots, light blond hair on top and my natural color underneath--not a pretty sight. I am hesitant to try other colors in this line.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I use it in medium auburn and red colors have a tendency to fade quickly. I am able to use it on my roots only every other month (all over on the other months) and my hair looks the same all the time. It does fade slightly on the ends, but I feel that is because I made the mistake of straying from this brand - I ALWAYS come back to this. no ammonia and the conditioner it comes with is good. I would pay hgh dollar for this if they charged it, but they don't and that is great! You can almost always find it at walmart in a two pack for less that $5. You just can't beat this hair color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/8/2009 6:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I signed up with MU just so I could review this hair color! I was using L'Oreal in Dark Brown, but it continually faded out after a week or two, even with good color protecting shampoos. I have always avoided Revlon Colorsilk because it's not expensive, so I didn't think it would work as well. I was so wrong!

I purchased the Colorsilk in Dark Brown just for the heck of it. I applied it to hair that had not been washed in 2 days, that had been washed with a clairfying shampoo to loosen up all the dirt and conditioner that might be lingering. I applied this for 30 min, beginning with the roots first since I have stubborn greys at the roots and temples.

I was a wee bit concerned seeing my hair turn an inky black color while the dye sat on it. There was no heavy chemical smell. My scalp did not burn.

When time to rinse, I first rinsed the color out thoroughly, gave my hair a tiny shampoo without a scrub to help get excess dye off my hair. I have a problem with this and find that a gentle wash helps greatly. I was not pleased to find that the conditioner was in a packet, but after putting it on my hair and letting it sit for 10 minutes, I was absolutely thrilled at how soft my hair felt. Combing my wet tangly hair was a breeze with this stuff too.

I let my hair air dry. Once dry, it was very soft and healthy looking. Not at all dried out and fried. And the color? I was really surprised by the rich deep brown I acheived from a cheap box dye. It wasn't all just one flat color either. It had some nice dark and brown tones in it. Not a red hue in sight. No hot roots either. Nice even color.

On day 3, my hair is looking beautiful and it's very soft after it's first wash. This is a nice dark chocolate hair color.

Sure, it's all packaged in a cheapy box with thin gloves, but the color is great.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2009 5:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product was so-so. The color turned out ok but not quite as different from my natural color as I had hoped. I had gotten the strawberry blond color and was not really pleased, putting it over my medium brown natural color. Needless to say, I won't be buying it again. I'm gad it was so cheap so no loss.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
373 Reviews
Colorsilk
711 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Revlon Colorsilk by Denim Vixen



Back to Top