Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 3.9(677 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 tempescape on 5/20/2009 1:55:00 AM more reviews by tempescape

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

The darker colors are better than the lighter ones. I use jet black (10) and it makes my hair soft anf feels great. Today though I thought I'd try and dye my hair ash blonde and the color only took a little and my hair felt a little dry afterwards..............

1 YEAR UPDATE
A week after trying ot dye my hair ash blonde it started breaking badly and I had to give up trying to save it and cut it all off. NEVER again. I now use just the black on my hair and my hair loves it. Stay away from the other light tones.............

NEW UPDATE
Well, my hair was so badly over processed I decided to shave my head and start all over again. It's now about half a cm long and I dyed it with color 43 Medium Golden Brown after having it bleached blonde (with another make) for a month. The color came out exactly like cinnamon and my hair feels in the same normal condition that it was before I dyed it. I don;t use the tiny packet of conditioner ever so I can;t say how that makes my hair feel...............

The thing I like about this is that the price stays the same. While other brands are like $9 this one has consistently stayed at $4 for the past year and they have such a huge variety of shade. I use this over the African American brands which tend to be a lot harsher...........

Sept 2011 Update. I cut all of my hair off since the last review and am keeping a cropped bleached blonde look. I discovered that when you get to the 3-5th or so stage of trying to dye your hair from black to blonde (I go through 5 stages, mid brown, dark orange, neon orange, pss neon yellow, light yeloow then white) you can actually use any ash blonde shade dye to take away the brassiness, that way you don;t have to spend something like $15 on a bottle of Shimmer Lights blue shampoo. Colorsilk has gone down to $2.99 in my area which is amazing. I put color 73 Champagne Blonde in for about 15 minutes and it gets rid of the brassyness.

January 2012: Today I tried Dark Ash Blonde. It comes out like an ashy light brown. Looks great.I never use the conditioner in the box. Instead I use my reserves of the old CON green top bottle of shampoo and conditioner. I really like how this hair dye takes to my 4b/c hair really quickly. In about 15 minutes it's done. I still notice though that this colour still didn't take to some of the white hairs I have around my hairline. I still love the shade though. I can cover the white hairs with a little bit of my brown foundation.

FEB 2012: Tried Dark Ash Blond again. The color didn't come out like the girl on the front of the box, instead it comes out like the 2 darker colors of the 3 on the back of the box. It definitely has no brass. No orange or yellow tones. Very ash colored and natural looking. It suits my tootsie roll skin color perfectly as I have yellow undertones. Please note that this will not cover grey hair.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erijica on 5/17/2009 9:36:00 PM more reviews by erijica

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is my new favorite hair color! (Not that I had one before... but whatever. lol) The first time I tried this, in 2001 (I think), I HATED IT. Sooo much. It made my hair dry, tangly and the color was way off. Since then I've tried pretty much every other d/s hair color out there and they all fade so fast. Then I tried professional hair color at the salon, but it's too dang expensive for me and that faded quickly as well. I decided to try Colorsilk again since there are quite a few good reviews. :) I bought Dark Brown for two dollars and some change. I applied, waited, rinsed, conditioned, rinsed some more and took a look at my head. I almost cried. It looked blue!! But once I dried my hair, it was a very beautiful dark brown. I fell in love. And I'm still in love four weeks later. It has faded, but not nearly as much as any other hair color I've tried. It's still a beautiful dark brown. I'm glad I decided to try this again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Becks14 on 5/13/2009 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Becks14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I think Revlon Colorsilk is really just for those of us who get bored with their haircolor easily and want to do something a little different but don't want to pay a lot of $$ to try something new. I use Colorsilk to dye roots only and I have had good results with mixing a couple different shades together. And at $3 a box, you can afford to change it back if you don't like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MiaGator on 5/12/2009 8:43:00 PM more reviews by MiaGator

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far my fave drugstore haircolor, and I've tried tons. I have colored my hair every color from honey blonde to dark brown and in between and am now on my current - dark auburn. I have about 90% gray at the crown, and this covers it 100%. Not sure why others are having issues. I super-saturate it, and I let it develop for 35 full minutes.

My hair is very fine and prone to breakage and drying, but I keep it in good condition, so my hair is in good condition after I color as well. My mom owns a salon, and I've had everything on this head, from Wella to Redken to Goldwell, and I love Revlon Colorsilk the best. It's less damaging to my hair than salon permanent color used with 20-volume developer, and it doesn't reek and make my scalp itch like Garnier Nutrisse.

Some tips - your hair should be in good condition before you attempt any chemical process, whether it is perming, coloring, highlighting, etc. If it's not, either get it there or cut it off (if it's too far gone). Hair that's too porous will absorb too much color. Hair that's wrapped while processing may overprocess due to your body heat and yield uneven results. Hair that's of uneven porosity due to chemical highlighting may also yield spotty hair color results. The color you see on the box isn't what you should buy if you want that color. You wouldn't put a coat of white paint over red and expect it to be white - it's always going to be somewhere in between - hence the color key on the outside of the box.

Have been using this for about 8 years with lots of success. My auburns don't fade into brassy oranges. My natural highlights come through, so the hair color isn't one-dimensional. Love this product.

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ThisGirl0 on 5/12/2009 5:30:00 PM more reviews by ThisGirl0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was a fool and fell for the price like almost everyone else. At the time when I used this color in my hair it cost about $2.60 (don't know how much it costs now). I bought it in bulk because I had really long, extra thick hair and I needed to use about 3 boxes to cover my hair really well. All other dyes typically cost around $10 so I figured, why not use the cheap stuff when I can buy 3 boxes for the same price!?!
BIG mistake. I used this color for about a year. It is a permanent dye but it tended to fade on my hair. I would have to redye my whole head every couple of months because it faded significantly.

I don't remember which shade I used, but it doesn't really matter because they're all the same. My hair looked and behaved perfectly fine for a long time, but about a year into using this dye I finally started to see the damage. It was horrible and devastating. I had hair half way down my back that started to break off in chunks; split ends were uncontrollable. Cutting off the damage didn't do anything because after less than a week my hair accumulated even more damage than before. The worst of all is that it became so porous that it would absorb everything and the color would turn REALLY dark (much darker than it was supposed to look), but in about a month or less it would fade to this nasty gingery color that was completely unnatural and downright embarrassing.

Needless to say I tried EVERYTHING I could to save my hair; from expensive salon brand shampoos and "treatments," to hot oils and deep conditioners, but nothing worked. I was stupid enough to throw hundreds of dollars away on products that are supposed to "repair damage." There is no such product... none of them were worth it. In the end I had to cut off about 5 inches of my hair. Devastating. It took FOREVER to grow it back out and a lot of money for me to learn never to use this hair dye, or any other box dye for that matter.
My hair is extra thick and resistant; even though I bleach it now I still don't even experience 5% of the damage that I experienced with this hair dye. If my hair can handle bleach without any problems but not this dye, that says a lot about the quality.

This stuff is garbage. If you really must use it, than use it ONLY to touch up the roots and never on the whole hair shaft (repeatedly), but chances are you will have to redye because it fades significantly.
Take my advice and stay away from this dye or you will definitely learn your lesson the hard way like I did...eventually.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aswest on 5/12/2009 4:54:00 PM more reviews by aswest

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have medium to dark brown hair with auburn undertones and very little gray, with the exception of my part. Well, I decided to try Revlon Colorsilk Haircolor in medium brown. The color was too dark for my preference and the color faded quickly. So, I went a shade down to light brown. It turned my hair the oddest shade of light orange! It's really noticeable in the sunlight. I don't know what to do about it! I've read that, in order to counteract red undertones or to prevent your hair from turning orange, purchase an ash hair colo. Can someone please tell me if that will help? I'm desperate and I don't want to have to go to a salon and pay what they charge! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thenifellinlove on 5/5/2009 12:55:00 AM more reviews by thenifellinlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this is the only dye i use because it's cheap and it works. i mean, for $3 this is a steal!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 theinconspicuous on 5/1/2009 9:35:00 AM more reviews by theinconspicuous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

There was a sale at the drugstore back when my hair was red. I couldn't afford to dye it at the salon anymore, as i'd become a freshman in college and needed all the money i could. So i thought 'eh, i'll give it a shot.'

WOW. That was the worst thing i'd EVER thought to do. This dye completely damaged my hair. AND it came out brassy orange colored. NOT a gorgeous, beautiful, natural red. I was appauled, and rather disappointed. I wasn't expecting amazing color with the cheapness, but after some reviews i'd read i had hoped it would at least come out decent.

nope. not even. I lost a good chunk of my hair to damage and my hair became frizzy. Not fun. If i hadn't gotten it fixed it a salon, i would probably still have that issue today.

oh, and ps. natural instincts works wonders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luckyangelou on 4/20/2009 12:06:00 AM more reviews by luckyangelou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

So this color is cheap, smells pretty decent, and doesn't damage my hair. However, the red range does tend to fade pretty quickly. I used the Strawberry Blonde, and nearly all the gorgeous red tones faded within a week, to leave me with a nice golden blonde shade. However, I really wanted the red tones to linger longer! So I tried the Copper, hoping for more red, and the same thing happened. The red stayed for about 2 weeks, but eventually left me with the same golden blonde. I have not found a nice lasting permanent strawberry blonde shade, though. I know the red color molecules are the largest and don't penetrate the hair cuticle as well as other colors, so this may not be a function of ColorSilk color, but rather the shade I desire. I do like this color and will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kayben on 4/19/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by kayben

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'm 40 years old and 40% gray on the crown of my head. My natural color is a medium brown that pulls red. My natural texture is thin and coarse. That's the background.

I bought the color #51 Light Brown and I love the result. I applied it five weeks ago and the color has only very slightly faded. I left it on for 45 minutes because my gray is resistant. Those gray streaks now are a light ambery golden brown that looks natural in all kinds of lighting--from fluorescent to full sunlight. The color didn't dry my hair out. The conditioner was fine but poorly packaged and that's where I dock a point. The sandwich baggie gloves aren't a problem for me. Very happy with this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products