Revlon • Colorsilk • Hair Color

rated 3.9(692 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bollimk on 8/5/2009 8:24:00 PM more reviews by bollimk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Naturally I have dirty blonde hair. It looks ok but its just bland. So a couple years ago I decided to "funk it up" and make it a BRIGHT blonde (03 Sun blonde). And it looked wonderful! The first couple days the color is a little intense but after that it fades to a natural tone and stays that way for weeks. My hair feels and looks awesome after I use it too. And all that for like $3!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 selinajustine on 8/5/2009 1:22:00 PM more reviews by selinajustine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This hair color is NOT for everyone. I read a bunch of reviews and have tried it many times, and it seems that about 85-90% of people are satisfied. If your hair isn't healthy, this dye won't really do anything for you except ruin your hair.
As for me, it works great. My natural hair color is kind of a mousy brown, and I hate it. I have olive-y skin, so I like to dye my hair a deep, dark chocolate brown. The color I use is #30- Dark Brown. It's my favorite box dye so far, because it will actually look like the color on the box. No unpredictable-ness here. So as for dying darker, this product is an A+.
I've done several lightenings with Revlon ColorSilk, not on my hair, but on others [and on hair extensions] and they don't hold very well. Revlon tends to use very mild chemicals in their dye that don't lighten very well. It won't completely ruin your hair color- it probably just won't do anything at all.
Overall, this product is great, but only for dying your hair darker. The dirt cheap price makes it an unknown treasure. The conditioner is amazing and smells like gardenia. This product will actually make your hair softer and smoother than it was before the dye. It's rare to find a product this cheap that actually works!
Happy hair-dying, ladies!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie35 on 7/30/2009 12:24:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After many years of trying different brands/products and spending hundreds in the salon, I am sold on Revlon Colorsilk! And, not only is it dirt cheap (imagine stocking up after an irresistible sale lol), but it has given me the exact color as shown on the box. I have found that to be a rarity among other drugstore brands. The color is natural and the conditioner included is wonderful. I will continue to repurchase!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elliemaebug123 on 7/20/2009 6:53:00 PM more reviews by elliemaebug123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My mum used this stuff and she looked great. It makes your hair so smooth and it looks so fresh and natural. People always ask her what shampoos she uses. It is really great I would recommend this to anybody!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yayitsanne on 7/20/2009 4:09:00 AM more reviews by yayitsanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can hardly believe that for such an inexpensive product (and by inexpensive I mean dirt cheap) I can get the same results as I get in a salon paying, well, 60 times the price. I would never be brave enough to do highlights or go lighter on my own, but for all-over color this is amazing! My hair has actually held the color longer with this than when I got it done at a salon. It was super easy for me, as a first timer, to color my hair and it didn't seem to dry my hair out or anything. Since my hair is pretty long, I bought two boxes just in case, but I only needed to use one. Will definitely use again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LVaccare on 7/17/2009 5:25:00 PM more reviews by LVaccare

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I used ColorSilk #70, Medium Ash Blonde, over previously colored dark blonde / strawberry blonde hair (with 1/2 inch of regrowth / roots; my natural color is medium / dark brown with red undertones). I had first purchased #60 Dark Ash Blonde, based on the color representation on the box...I am so glad I also picked up the Medium Ash Blonde. I conducted separate strand tests using each of the colors, and chose to go with the Medium. (As others have posted, these colors tend to turn out darker than expected, and the strand tests confirmed that fact.) I'm generally pleased with the color results - my hair is now a light brown / dark blonde with some lighter blonde "shimmers", but the best part is that there are no traces of orange, copper, or any other brassy remnants of my natural red undertones. My hair is soft and shiny, and it looks so natural! (All for $3 a box - it hardly seems possible!)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jse23 on 7/10/2009 1:03:00 PM more reviews by jse23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this based on the great reviews and cheap price. This was the first time I had ever dyed my hair at home. I have dark brown hair, and I used Medium Golden Brown. My hair came out nice; this added alot of red, but did not change the actual lightness of my hair- it was still dark brown. Plus I didn't see any golden tones, it was definately red tones. However, my hair was still in great condition and I got a ton of compliments, so overall not bad. I'm going to try Natural Instincts next though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mary04au on 7/8/2009 4:35:00 PM more reviews by mary04au

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this. Excellent product and price, easily available everywhere, and on sale at least once a month for $2. a box.

I have struggled finding a nice ash brown, finally found it in MEDIUM BROWN 41. No weird purple or green undertones. I don't leave it on very long since I want a light ash brown color. I've had the best luck with this brand of all of the permanent haircolors I've tried - I don't know if "no ammonia" has anything to do with it, I assume so. My hair does feel healthier after I've used it. Rinsing out with water is very easy - I'm not tempted to shampoo it out which I admit I've done w/other products.

I'm not trying to cover greys but am trying to achieve the look of my hair at about age 9 - light brown w/natural lighter highlights. I "bleach" my crown and bangs and hair in front of my ears w/REVLON FROST AND GLOW (the one w/the very light blonde model on the box), leaving the rest of my hair (dark brown) alone (I put it in a ponytail and cover it with plastic wrap). I don't like the extreme blonde of Frost and Glow, so I use a hair color brush to paint Colorsilk onto the bleached hair and leave it on very briefly to achieve a light brown or caramel color. I do the lower layers first and work my way up. I hope using these two products achieves a somewhat realistic ,sun-kissed look of softly blended colors. I will try to post a picture soon.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1950sblonde on 6/30/2009 12:07:00 PM more reviews by 1950sblonde

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. When I used to use box color I looked around and didn't know what to use at first. Then I saw this and the price. I was a bit amazed and thought that it was probably shit so my mom dyed her hair first and it came out amazingly! I wanted to go from my blond hair to an auburn color. So I bought 2 boxes and colored it. After I finished everything and dryed my hair it was the perfect shade and didn't mess my hair up at all. I don't use box color anymore because I'm afraid my hair will fall out or something. My stylist told me I had the best hair he had seen in years, and I want to keep it that way so I go to the salon to color my hair.

If i would ever go back to box colors I would defiantly use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gamegrl on 6/24/2009 1:44:00 PM more reviews by gamegrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Over the last 11 years I've dyed my hair with just about every product out there--including going to several salons. I have the unfortunate combination of full, BLACK eyebrows, and naturally dirty blonde hair, which gets a lot of snide comments. A neutral dark brown has been my color of choice, since it looks the most natural with my eyebrows and works well with my skin tone. It also turns out that I'm one of those rare people who can go into a salon and still have my hair color fade in four weeks, so I stopped paying for that pretty quickly, which meant dying it at home.

About 7 months ago I first used the Colorsilk #30 Dark Brown (which is warmer than neutral, but not warm) and have been absolutely amazed by it. Yes, the color did fade about half a shade in the first week, but then it stopped fading completely. Absolutely gorgeous, shimmery hair! Something to warn everyone about: this color looks like it will come out purple until you wash and completely dry--then it is clearly brown, not at all purple. Yeah, I was terrified at first, but don't cry until your hair is dry! This color has a ton of dimension, and came through with a very natural look.

Two hair color tips I've learned over the years 1)The wash before you color you should use a good clarifying shampoo and NOT use conditioner or any other styling products. These can coat the hair unevenly and cause 'blotchy' color. 2)When you go to rinse the dye out you are supposed to NOT shampoo, only condition. Leave the conditioner in for two min like it says and rinse, then repeat with your normal color-safe conditioner until the conditioner is running almost clear, this way you don't get a unrealistically dark look at your hair the first time, and you don't ruin anything by leaving traces of dye behind (your pillow cases are thanking me right now).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products