Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3362 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 AstRo_Girl on 5/5/2003 4:43:00 PM more reviews by AstRo_Girl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am the biggest sucker for infomercials! I bought it the first time, it didn't do much and my skin felt really dry...my acne didn't leave. Then watching the infomercial I thought maybe I wasn't using it right so I ordered it again. The moisturizer made my skin so dry, that I had flakes all over my face (Not pretty), the cleanser wasn't to bad and left my face clean but my skin was so dry and my acne didn't leave. Huge waste of money, especially in Canada, I think it might have been 90 dollars Can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eulac on 4/30/2003 12:33:00 AM more reviews by eulac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Before I got married I wanted to have great skin for that special day so I started looking for something to take care of my acne. I tried a few skin care regimes and found that Pro Activ's actually got rid of my acne almost completely. At first I used the whole system as recommended and found that it actually dried out my skin so I cut back to once a day. Then my family noticed that my face was a different color than the rest of my skin so I cut back to just the cleanser and only when I need it. This stuff is a miracle, but it's strong stuff! Whenever I start breaking out again I go back to the whole procedure and I clear up within days. I would recommend it to anyone with acne prone skin. Just work out the best procedure for yourself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 exotic_embrace03 on 4/26/2003 2:28:00 PM more reviews by exotic_embrace03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

4 words; I-DIDN'T-LIKE-IT. It irritated my skin, especially the toner! I've used it for 2 months and didn't see any improvement. The results were just horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 469112 on 4/23/2003 10:55:00 PM more reviews by 469112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pro-Active gives me back my confidence!! I have been suffered from acne problem for about 6 years from now. I don't have serious problem but there are always acne and breakouts on my face and especially around my mouth between the nose area. I saw the ad. from Pro-active about 2 years ago, but owing to the fact that it can only be ordered online or by phone, I think it is kinda insecure and so, I didn't order it. So, I try to seek helps from Chinese herbal medicine and my family doctor. However, the small acne keeps on coming out. Finally, I think I should try Pro Active and after I have been used it for 2 weeks, I see dramatic result. Acnes has disappeared and my skin never look better. My co-workers notice the difference on my skin and asked what skin care did I use! I used to put on concelars to hide the acne but I don't need it anymore. That's why I said that I am not a foundation person in my review on Estee Lauder's Enlighten foundation. Now, I have been using Pro Active for 6 months and it still working well on my skin. I will recommand this to those who have suffered from acne since their teenage and is in their early 20s now. For those who are in their late 10s, Pro Active will still work on your but it may takes longer to see the result. In addition, you will feel a little bit dry when you use the product in the first week, but it will become better after that. Also, I am using Pro Active Lotion together with Lancome Impactive and a SPF moisturizer and they works well together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kitsap on 4/20/2003 8:44:00 PM more reviews by kitsap

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A lot of hype and a waste of money ... did nothing to improve my skin and I had difficulty getting them to stop sending me additional unwanted kits. The toner wasn't bad but I found Paula's Choice 2% BHA FAR superior .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kaalexa on 4/17/2003 2:40:00 PM more reviews by Kaalexa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty much same results as Murad. Did not imporve or worsen my breakouts. Gave it a shot until I finished the product. The only product that I liked from this line was the mask. I like the way it makes my skin feel so I still use it on occassion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 malhotra on 4/14/2003 12:22:00 AM more reviews by malhotra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Before buying pro activ, I looked through their ingredients. It seems the only active ingredient is benzoyl peroxide. May be, it's combination of other ingredients that makes it work better-so I just ordered it. It took 2 wks to arrive, In the mean time I started using 10% benzoyl peroxide and my acne started drying out and I wasn't getting any new breakouts. But, my face was drying out a lot, nothing a good moisturizer and lots of water couldn't help.
Now I have been using proactive for a week. I still feel the need for 10% benzyol peroxide, for spot treatment. And, I also use moisturizing cream (lubriderm) at night. This seem to help the dryness.
I think people who benefit from the use of benzoyl would benefit from pro activ (so why pay more-may be just to try out something new once in a while. For me since I have it I'll try it for the next two months with my own dose of 10% benzy bam bam!).
Also, a few years back when I had the same acne problem, salicylic acid seemed to work better. I think it just depends on the condition of your skin. So if you are having problems try both these at different times to see what works. Hope this helps.
The good thing about pro activ it seems is that it gives a complete package so your are not concerned about which cleanser? which toner? and what cream?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sookitty on 4/13/2003 1:28:00 PM more reviews by sookitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Gave me tons of scars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chickilashortee on 4/5/2003 1:05:00 PM more reviews by Chickilashortee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have only used this for 5 days and I am really liking it so far. MY skin has never been this clear. I broke out constantly, I was never free without a zit. My face was blotchy and red and scarred. Now my skin is clearer but still scarred but I see a little fading.

First couple of days, I saw no improvements, it actually made it worse. I got like 7 whiteheads popping out on the seventh day and I resisted and did not pick. After the 4 day, I washed regularly like it said and they are now gone. I think Proactiv just helps bring them up quicker so it can diminish them. I still have about two more still there but I know they will go away.

I think this will work for most people if they continue using it. I was almost going to give up because I saw no improvements but I think in about a couple weeks, at this pace, my face will be nice and clear.

**UPDATE** My skin has stopped improving. This stuff really doesn't work after a while... I change my 5 lipsticks to 4

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 djsmallfry on 4/4/2003 9:28:00 PM more reviews by djsmallfry

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this so much, i used it about 2 years ago and the problem was totally cured, then about 1 year later or so, they came back! So i began using it again, i don't know why I stopped, but after only 3 days, all of my breakouts have gone down in size and redness. The cost is a little more, but it is totally worth it, compared to all you would spend on other medicationsk, over-the-counter items, or more makeup to cover it. Good Luck Ladies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products