Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3347 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ambr on 3/20/2003 4:49:00 PM more reviews by ambr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I will never use anything else. Ever. I've had acne for 18 years and nothing ever kept break-outs at bay. I used Neutrogena products, Retin-A, benzamyacin, several different oral antibiotics, alpha-hydroxy everything, Clinique skincare, different birth control pills....nothing works for me like ProActiv. I've been using it for the past four years and I've not once been disappointed with the product. And I love how it makes my face feel so soft!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 catgoddess on 3/18/2003 7:57:00 PM more reviews by catgoddess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a pretty decent product. I'm 14 years old and I suffer with little bumps with no color on my forhead. Proactiv has helped decently although to help it along I use prescribed 10% benzoyl peroxide and I'm on antibiotics. My skin is very oily so it doesn't dry it out. My skin is almost always clear and smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ECMac25 on 3/16/2003 2:51:00 PM more reviews by ECMac25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I first started using ProActiv in high school after having severe cystic pimples erupt on my forehead and chin. Continued using the system all through college and then all of a sudden the year I get back home, it stopped working out as well. Maybe my skin condition is changing somewhat - although, I still suffer from breakouts and need medicated products, ProActiv is much too drying for my skin now. Anyhow, while I was using it, my favorite product in the regimen is the Repairing Lotion - the third step in the system. This felt soothing and moisturizing for something with benzoyl peroxide, and a littlel went a long way. I found I would run out of the cleanser and toner but still have plenty of the lotion left over after two months. The cleanser is nice, but it does have scrubbing grains built in - nowadays, I don't respond to heavy daily exfoliation - makes the pimples worse. The toner could be omitted in the regimen. It doesn't really do anything special from what I remember. I recommend ProActiv for teens and adults who have extremely oily or blemished skin, or for those people who've tried strong medicated products given by their dermatologists that don't seem to be working. Also, this may work better for those who live in very humid or warm climates....might not be as drying in that type of environment. Additionally, it's important to wear sunscreen when using ProActiv because the benzoyl peroxide makes the skin more sensitive to UVA/UVB rays. Anyhow, I give this four lipsticks overall because of the relief it gave me during the time I had more severe breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jessicasrx on 3/15/2003 10:04:00 PM more reviews by Jessicasrx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this product line for over 1 year... I would not say it has completely cured my acne. My acne was moderate pimples with no cystic acne since I was a teenager. I am not a member of their "club," and I order their products as I need them. I find I need to order the cleanser more often than anything else. I do not use thier repairing lotion because it is weaker than the drugstore on-the-spot medications. WHAT I HAVE NOTICED ABOUT THE CLEANSER IS THAT IT IS NOT ALWAYS EFFECTIVE. It seems like sometimes one bottle is more effective or less effective than the previous... When I get a good bottle, I get great results. But when I start with a new bottle and my face gets worse, the results are until I trash the bottle. I just wonder if this is why the system seems to work for some and not for others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizdj1 on 3/15/2003 12:10:00 PM more reviews by lizdj1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product really does a great job on my cousin's skin. It has helped clear up her skin. As for me, it didn't help my skin at all.
The cleanser dried up my skin. The toner stung and irritated my face causing a bumpy redness to my cheeks which lasted for days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilstone on 3/12/2003 9:21:00 PM more reviews by lilstone

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my all time skin saver. I went from very bumpy skin to completely clear skin in about a month. If you have acne and have not tried proactiv it is definitely worth a shot. When I was 17 I had constant acne on my forehead and on my chin. The lotion seems to dry them up, while the cleanser and toner help remove the dead skin left over from the dried up pimples. This stuff is so great.**Update** I have gone back to proactiv after a endless cycle of buying skincare and my skin is almost clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jovinni on 3/12/2003 8:59:00 AM more reviews by jovinni

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am really glad I gave this system a try. I used it a long time ago when I was breaking out and it worked wonderfully. I don't know why I ever stopped using it. Anyway, after over a month of using this system I have seen dramatic results in my skin. My breakouts are clearing up and going away. Not an easy feat! Very happy and will continue to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bluenermal on 3/11/2003 10:41:00 PM more reviews by bluenermal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered this bc my friend with perfect skin uses it and i was sick of the horrible horomonal breakouts i'd get around my mouth once a month. when it arrived i was hesitant to start it since spring break was coming up- i heard it was slightly irritating the first week or two and caused red skin. but i started it anyway. i'm soo glad i did! it has only been 2 weeks and my skin hasn't been like this since 7th grade! (before i started breaking out) it truely reduces the amount of oil production, prevents blemishes, and gives your skin a rosy glow! i used the cleanser only once a day to once every other day, but i use the tonor and lotion twice daily unless my skin starts to feel mildy irritated and then i skip a dose of the lotion. the bottles the products are in are cheap-looking, but it doesn't matter compared to the stuff that's inside!!:) UPDATE: i still like the toner and lotion but the cleanser is irritating and takes a huge glob to feel like it's actually cleaning your skin. my skin is oilier again, but overall the products have improved my skin tone and clarity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cubanaqt on 3/3/2003 7:11:00 PM more reviews by cubanaqt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Skin type: acne-prone, sensitive, combo. I used this line for some time a few years ago. It seems that it is very hit or miss, some people love it while others hate it. For me, the 3-step plan didn't do much to reduce my breakouts. But as a gift I got the mask, which I really liked. It didn't make me red and it helped reduce my breakouts. I guess it is something everyone should try at least once. I was on that automatic mailing where I would receive the products every three months. When I decided to try something new, I ended up with way more stuff than I needed and gave it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coley on 3/3/2003 3:37:00 PM more reviews by coley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I recently purchased the full-size kit after using the trial size. I really like it and I guess I'm one of the lucky ones. I only use it at night because I did experience some dryness when I used it twice a day so I just used it at night without any problems or dryness. I am very happy with proactiv so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products