Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3412 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not so sure about this product. It works really well and I haven't been breaking out nearly as much. But, now my skin is SUPER dry! I have been using CDLM at night and it helps a little bit. I think I might stick to using this once every other day. It does work though! UPDATE: I can no longer use this stuff. Way too drying for my sensitive skin. I will keep using the ProActiv Oil-Free Moisturizer though!



on 8/24/2003 8:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It is the only product I can find that properly exfoliates the dry skin on my face while also moisturizing. Everything is very gentle. It works very well if you have combination skin where you feel like you are always battling with dry skin while at the same time breaking out.


on 8/23/2003 12:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

this product worked very well in the beginning, but its effect seem to fade and I've been breaking out horribly around my chin and jawline. the price isn't all that bad, but I've cancelled my membership.


on 8/21/2003 2:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

hmmm....i don't have much to say about this one, except i kept using it and my face progressively worsened. i don't think this suitable for sensitive-dry types. have a few kits still in the box that i will sell discounted. if interested contact me.


on 8/18/2003 10:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have only been using ProActiv for a week now, so I'm kind of scared to speak too soon (LoL). I really have noticed an improvement in the overall texture of my skin since I started using this product. However, I have a problem with the cleanser. That stuff was a bit too grainy for me, and it really didn't seem to lather at all. (Maybe it wouldn't have felt so harsh if it did lather), but anyway... the toner and the repair lotion alone seem to be doing the trick. I actually don't have severe acne. I just get the occasional pimple here and there along my jawline, and sometimes around my cheeks. After using the toner and repair lotion for a few nights, the pimples I had in those spots dried up and went away. My makeup looks so much better now that my skin has improved. I also have to say that I am not crazy about the fact that this product contains fragrance. Some people's skin is very sensitive to fragranced skin care products, and I always prefer to use products that don't contain fragrance. Oh, I have also heard that for some people - if they try using this every single day, their skin starts to get used to it and it is no longer effective. I guess the best thing to do if you notice that happening is to stop once your skin clears up from the zits, and resume use if you see them returning.


on 8/12/2003 12:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this product, but it just didn't work for my skin. I really liked the feel of the cleanser - it made my skin feel very clean. It usually takes a few days, or sometimes a week, for my skin to get used to a new product, so when I started getting dry skin, I figured I would just have to wait it out. Unfortunately, my skin just kept getting worse. Perhaps I am allergic to the benzoyl peroxide - after several days, my skin was quite pink, and sort of puffy. My eyes became puffy and swollen too, and then started to flake. This product obviously works well for some people - just not for me. I will occasionally still use the mask, which does seem to work well.


on 8/11/2003 1:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Wow!! I ordered this last December, and at first, I was discouraged. It was a little drying and I didn't clear up too much. (I had moderate, persistant acne). However, I've been using the system for 8-9 months now, and my skin has never felt so good!

I'm really shocked by the total different in my skin. It's been long time since I've had a blemish now, and my skin is really smooth. I tried to ween myself off the system, (it's pricey!), but I've never been as happy with other products. Proactiv is now my skin staple...I won't go another product for a LONG time! See ya later, zits!!


on 8/9/2003 9:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This did NOTHING for me. In the first 2-3 days, It made my skin better (clearer), but after that it BROKE my skin out. It made my skin TOO dry. The sulfur mask was WAY too drying also. Would not buy again.


on 8/9/2003 6:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wasn't going to add a review, since there were a lot of people saying similar things, but I saw some comments from people who it didn't work for and decided if I could convince even one person to try this out, it would be worth it. That's too bad that some haven't had good results, because this has been a miracle product for me.

I had t-zone acne all throughout my teenage years, which cleared quite a bit during college, but by the time I was 25, I was having heavy breakouts. I would have them along my jawline, under my chin, on the sides of my face... I was told that this was typical of male acne areas, not female (am a 30 yr old female). I would also get pimples on the sides of my nose and in the crease of my chin under my lower lip... I know now that this was from not exfoliating enough.

Using the cleanser as directed makes you exfoliate. It also has some benzoil peroxide in it, so beware... I have ruined many shirts and towels before I figured out a regime that worked. Now I put my hair up with a white towel and wash before I get dressed in the morning, or after I take my clothes off and before I put on my night shirt.

The toner is good. I'll admit that I don't use it all the time, but when I do I get better results. You can see that it pulls off a lot more makeup and dirt that the cleaners leaves behind. It doesn't dry my skin out like all the other astrigents and toners I tried before finding Pro Activ and actually leave it feeling clean and soft.

The key part of the system is the repairing lotion. THIS IS THE PART OF THE SYSTEM THAT CAN'T BE SKIPPED OR REPLACED BY ANOTHER PRODUCT. It is what kills the existing acne and keeps new acne from forming. Whenever I run out, I start breaking out again within 2-3 days and it takes me a week or so to get my complexion back in line after I start using it again, so don't run out. Like I stated before, you must use this part of the system, or it's not going to work. Beware, this product, too, will bleach your clothes, so let it completely dry before you put clothes on. In fact, I have acne on my chest and shoulders, and I even had some t-shirts get ruined because I sweated and it forced the Pro Active to bleach my clothes. So, I only use the repairing lotion at night, when I don't care about my t-shirt nightie (and since you typically don't sweat much at night, it hasn't hurt even my nice pajamas). During the day, I started using Murad body acne spray on my chest and back. It
s wonderful and keeps my acne under control.

Anyway, now I am just plain rambling, but before I go, I just want to say again, if you haven't tried it, please give it a go. I don't think you need it if you only get an occasional pimple... OTC products and regular exfoliation should fix that. But if you have persisent acne, 5-10 pimples and whiteheads all the time, try this. Again, now that I have been using it for a couple of years, sometimes I use other exfoliators (like St. Ives Apricot Scrub, or Murad fruit enzyme mask) or skip the toner all together, but I always use the repairing lotion... this is the key. As a side note, by skin was very red and dry for the first couple of weeks to a month. I had to start off by using it once a day and working up to two. So don't give up after a few times of trying it. And if you stop using it for more than a few days, it's like starting all over again, so don't stop if you get red, just cut back, but keep using it.

This product has truly changed my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2003 2:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using proactiv for over 1 year and have clear skin for the first time in 27 years (I'm 39). My acne was moderate. Everytime I thought my skin was going to clear up, I would get another pimple. If you have this same problem, try this product because it really does works.

I have two tips for new proactiv users:

1) Wash your face for at least 2 minutes (per the directions). This makes a huge difference in how well the product works. I actually use an egg timer and often will wash/exfoliate for a full 3 minutes daily. This proved very important to my success. According to the literature, one of the main causes of acne is the inability for your skin cells to slough off evenly.

2) When I first started to use this I did get some redness and sensitivity. I was determined to have this product work for me (as it was for my sister), so I just applied an over-the-counter cortisone cream and the redness went away very quickly. I had to do this for about a month.

If I run out of product and don't rush out to the mall kiosk to re-purchase, I begin to breakout again.

It took a good 2 months for my skin to be completely clear, but I initially kept using it because it made my skin so soft.

Also I am able to use lots of moisturizers to combat aging without worrying about breakouts.

Best of luck!


Popular Face Skincare Products


Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
109 Reviews
Soothing Gel
Soothing Gel
16 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
287 Reviews
Back to Top