Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3402 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/8/2003 12:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really really wanted this to work for me, I had really high hopes for it! But, after using for a month now, I am breaking out worse than ever in my life (knock on wood). I wake up every morning with 2,3 or 4 new zits! I have never had that problem, I used to just have an occasional zit. I was thinking for awhile maybe its my hormones (I'm 20) but after giving it a month.... no way! I can't bear it anymore. I am glad however for the people it worked for! But its a no-go for me.



on 8/8/2003 1:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pro Activ seems to work on certain people but not others. I definitely do not reccommend this product to people who have sensitive skin or are sensitve/allergic to benezoyl peroxide. I had a friend who tried it but her skin became red and irritated.

However, Pro Activ worked well with my skin. I have very oily skin and large pores so I often had breakouts involving whiteheads and large inflammed red pimples. I followed the regimen for about a month and my skin improved dramatically. I still have a few small pimples here and there but only when I'm stressed or about to begin my period. Other than that, Pro Activ has left my skin clear and smooth. Unfortunately I still have scars left from years of breakouts and my skin is very uneven.

I think the product works best if you have light to moderate acne. I don't know about the more serious cases. (e.g. Acutane candidates) But Pro Activ is a lot cheaper than what I paid for prescription drugs and works just as well. I hated taking pills so and antibiotic/topical gel concoction never worked well with me.

If you don't have sensitive skin, give it a try. Good luck!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not kidding when I say that Proactiv has changed my life. I noticed the difference after using it for three days--THREE DAYS! I used to have very acne prone skin, but after using it regularly my face is free of blemishes and my skin tone is more evened out. Try it--it's a miracle product!


on 8/5/2003 3:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A co-worker's skin had totally cleared up after using this and raved about it to me, so I went and bought it from one of those "as seen on TV" stores. I was so excited after purchasing this because I thought the results would be dramatic and noticeable. I really really wanted this product to work. I would actually channel surf to watch the infomercial, and try to convince myself Yes, my skin will look poreless and smooth like a baby's face. The first few times I used this my eyes were itchy and red. I noticed also that it was removing my nailpolish. My acne did start going away, but my blackheads and clogged pores looked the same. I used to get cystic acne before this, and it really made the acne disappear, but my overall skin tone did not look any better, and my skin was very sensitive after using this. It worked well for my co-worker, but I don't think I would ever repurchase this. I haven't been using this for over six months, but my acne is not as bad as it was before. I'm not sure if it's because of the ProActiv or for other reasons entirely.


on 8/3/2003 1:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using the Pro-Activ System for about four months now and the results have been incredible. I never had really bad acne but I've noticed that after a few weeks of using ProActiv, my complexion has become much clearer. My nose is usually filled with blakcheads and now my nose is clear! The only part of my face that won't seem to clear up is my chin: there is always a pimple or two there for some reason. Otherwise, Pro Activ is great and I will probably keep using this for a looooooooong time.


on 8/1/2003 8:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using the 3 step system for about three months now. Initially I found that my acne was clearing up rapidly, especially when I did the 3 step routine three times a day. The products do dry out your skin, however, and once in a while my whole face peels for about a day. One thing I noticed about Pro Activ that I dislike is that it seems to promote scarring rather than improve it. This may be more of an issue with darker skinned people. Pro Activ has done nothing to improve my scars, and the pimples I get now tend to scar more severly than they did before I was using the system. I really like the cleanser, but don't care much for the toner and lotion. The cleanser has a pleasant scent and the lotion is neutral, but the toner has an unpleasant scent.
Skin gets used to the product after a month or so. Skin doesn't get as dry and there seems to be an overall reduction in the number of pimples. Must be used in conjunction with the sulphur Refining Mask to see improvement.
Update: I've identified the cleanser as being the source of the increased scarring. Scrubbing every day tends to spread the bacteria that causes acne. On the other hand, the toner provides the hydration that the other Pro Activ products strip from your skin. After using the system for about 4-5 months, I've cancelled my membership. The company has hopeless customer service representatives; many times they did not send or took a long time to send the products I asked for. All in all I think the system is okay if used once a day instead of twice a day. The sulphur mask is the best product in the system and is a truly effective night time spot treatment.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The 3-step actually works, I've seen. I especially like the repairing lotion- it takes a little time but its does work. Try it.


on 7/29/2003 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for a year now. I noticed the most dramatic results within the first three months. I seriously believe that my face is beginning to tolerate the 2.5% BP dosage and therefore the return of some blemishes. What I'm most inconvenienced by, however, is the mail order process and the product arriving on your doorstep every 8 weeks. Very inconvenient. I am now buying DDF from Sephora. The products are formulated for acne and have different BP dosages, from 2.5% to 10%. The products also contain glycolic acid which is a wonderful exfoliant.


on 7/26/2003 1:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

okay, ive only been using this for a day but i woke up, and i have this red swollen itchy spot above my right eye. its pretty ugly. and the rest of my face seems kinda swollen and a bit red in places. whether im allergic to this stuff, i dunno. but i guess ill keep at it to try to build a tolerance, so ill update later!UPDATE:I only use this at nitetime, and its working great! my skin is really clearing up i just have like 2 zits left! yay!2nd Update: I broke out in a disgusting cluster of 4 zits and clogged pores on my cheeks. I stopped using this and switched to cetaphil+toner and my skins really clearing up now


on 7/25/2003 10:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I can't believe this is rated so lowly! It has been so great for my friends and I. I tried antibiotics and just about everything else short of accutane, but nothing worked. I always had clear skin but began to breakout at age 25 (just when I thought my skin was home-free!). This is the only thing that works. Even if I only use the cleanser once a day as maintenance, it makes a big difference. You can call the company and have the products delivered at what ever length you need--I don't use all of the 3-step products every day, so I only have it delivered about every 4 months. Give it a try.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1301 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
285 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
107 Reviews
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top