Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3407 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/12/2003 12:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this product, but it just didn't work for my skin. I really liked the feel of the cleanser - it made my skin feel very clean. It usually takes a few days, or sometimes a week, for my skin to get used to a new product, so when I started getting dry skin, I figured I would just have to wait it out. Unfortunately, my skin just kept getting worse. Perhaps I am allergic to the benzoyl peroxide - after several days, my skin was quite pink, and sort of puffy. My eyes became puffy and swollen too, and then started to flake. This product obviously works well for some people - just not for me. I will occasionally still use the mask, which does seem to work well.



on 8/11/2003 1:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Wow!! I ordered this last December, and at first, I was discouraged. It was a little drying and I didn't clear up too much. (I had moderate, persistant acne). However, I've been using the system for 8-9 months now, and my skin has never felt so good!

I'm really shocked by the total different in my skin. It's been long time since I've had a blemish now, and my skin is really smooth. I tried to ween myself off the system, (it's pricey!), but I've never been as happy with other products. Proactiv is now my skin staple...I won't go another product for a LONG time! See ya later, zits!!


on 8/9/2003 9:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This did NOTHING for me. In the first 2-3 days, It made my skin better (clearer), but after that it BROKE my skin out. It made my skin TOO dry. The sulfur mask was WAY too drying also. Would not buy again.


on 8/9/2003 6:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wasn't going to add a review, since there were a lot of people saying similar things, but I saw some comments from people who it didn't work for and decided if I could convince even one person to try this out, it would be worth it. That's too bad that some haven't had good results, because this has been a miracle product for me.

I had t-zone acne all throughout my teenage years, which cleared quite a bit during college, but by the time I was 25, I was having heavy breakouts. I would have them along my jawline, under my chin, on the sides of my face... I was told that this was typical of male acne areas, not female (am a 30 yr old female). I would also get pimples on the sides of my nose and in the crease of my chin under my lower lip... I know now that this was from not exfoliating enough.

Using the cleanser as directed makes you exfoliate. It also has some benzoil peroxide in it, so beware... I have ruined many shirts and towels before I figured out a regime that worked. Now I put my hair up with a white towel and wash before I get dressed in the morning, or after I take my clothes off and before I put on my night shirt.

The toner is good. I'll admit that I don't use it all the time, but when I do I get better results. You can see that it pulls off a lot more makeup and dirt that the cleaners leaves behind. It doesn't dry my skin out like all the other astrigents and toners I tried before finding Pro Activ and actually leave it feeling clean and soft.

The key part of the system is the repairing lotion. THIS IS THE PART OF THE SYSTEM THAT CAN'T BE SKIPPED OR REPLACED BY ANOTHER PRODUCT. It is what kills the existing acne and keeps new acne from forming. Whenever I run out, I start breaking out again within 2-3 days and it takes me a week or so to get my complexion back in line after I start using it again, so don't run out. Like I stated before, you must use this part of the system, or it's not going to work. Beware, this product, too, will bleach your clothes, so let it completely dry before you put clothes on. In fact, I have acne on my chest and shoulders, and I even had some t-shirts get ruined because I sweated and it forced the Pro Active to bleach my clothes. So, I only use the repairing lotion at night, when I don't care about my t-shirt nightie (and since you typically don't sweat much at night, it hasn't hurt even my nice pajamas). During the day, I started using Murad body acne spray on my chest and back. It
s wonderful and keeps my acne under control.

Anyway, now I am just plain rambling, but before I go, I just want to say again, if you haven't tried it, please give it a go. I don't think you need it if you only get an occasional pimple... OTC products and regular exfoliation should fix that. But if you have persisent acne, 5-10 pimples and whiteheads all the time, try this. Again, now that I have been using it for a couple of years, sometimes I use other exfoliators (like St. Ives Apricot Scrub, or Murad fruit enzyme mask) or skip the toner all together, but I always use the repairing lotion... this is the key. As a side note, by skin was very red and dry for the first couple of weeks to a month. I had to start off by using it once a day and working up to two. So don't give up after a few times of trying it. And if you stop using it for more than a few days, it's like starting all over again, so don't stop if you get red, just cut back, but keep using it.

This product has truly changed my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2003 2:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using proactiv for over 1 year and have clear skin for the first time in 27 years (I'm 39). My acne was moderate. Everytime I thought my skin was going to clear up, I would get another pimple. If you have this same problem, try this product because it really does works.

I have two tips for new proactiv users:

1) Wash your face for at least 2 minutes (per the directions). This makes a huge difference in how well the product works. I actually use an egg timer and often will wash/exfoliate for a full 3 minutes daily. This proved very important to my success. According to the literature, one of the main causes of acne is the inability for your skin cells to slough off evenly.

2) When I first started to use this I did get some redness and sensitivity. I was determined to have this product work for me (as it was for my sister), so I just applied an over-the-counter cortisone cream and the redness went away very quickly. I had to do this for about a month.

If I run out of product and don't rush out to the mall kiosk to re-purchase, I begin to breakout again.

It took a good 2 months for my skin to be completely clear, but I initially kept using it because it made my skin so soft.

Also I am able to use lots of moisturizers to combat aging without worrying about breakouts.

Best of luck!


on 8/8/2003 12:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really really wanted this to work for me, I had really high hopes for it! But, after using for a month now, I am breaking out worse than ever in my life (knock on wood). I wake up every morning with 2,3 or 4 new zits! I have never had that problem, I used to just have an occasional zit. I was thinking for awhile maybe its my hormones (I'm 20) but after giving it a month.... no way! I can't bear it anymore. I am glad however for the people it worked for! But its a no-go for me.


on 8/8/2003 1:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pro Activ seems to work on certain people but not others. I definitely do not reccommend this product to people who have sensitive skin or are sensitve/allergic to benezoyl peroxide. I had a friend who tried it but her skin became red and irritated.

However, Pro Activ worked well with my skin. I have very oily skin and large pores so I often had breakouts involving whiteheads and large inflammed red pimples. I followed the regimen for about a month and my skin improved dramatically. I still have a few small pimples here and there but only when I'm stressed or about to begin my period. Other than that, Pro Activ has left my skin clear and smooth. Unfortunately I still have scars left from years of breakouts and my skin is very uneven.

I think the product works best if you have light to moderate acne. I don't know about the more serious cases. (e.g. Acutane candidates) But Pro Activ is a lot cheaper than what I paid for prescription drugs and works just as well. I hated taking pills so and antibiotic/topical gel concoction never worked well with me.

If you don't have sensitive skin, give it a try. Good luck!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not kidding when I say that Proactiv has changed my life. I noticed the difference after using it for three days--THREE DAYS! I used to have very acne prone skin, but after using it regularly my face is free of blemishes and my skin tone is more evened out. Try it--it's a miracle product!


on 8/5/2003 3:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A co-worker's skin had totally cleared up after using this and raved about it to me, so I went and bought it from one of those "as seen on TV" stores. I was so excited after purchasing this because I thought the results would be dramatic and noticeable. I really really wanted this product to work. I would actually channel surf to watch the infomercial, and try to convince myself Yes, my skin will look poreless and smooth like a baby's face. The first few times I used this my eyes were itchy and red. I noticed also that it was removing my nailpolish. My acne did start going away, but my blackheads and clogged pores looked the same. I used to get cystic acne before this, and it really made the acne disappear, but my overall skin tone did not look any better, and my skin was very sensitive after using this. It worked well for my co-worker, but I don't think I would ever repurchase this. I haven't been using this for over six months, but my acne is not as bad as it was before. I'm not sure if it's because of the ProActiv or for other reasons entirely.


on 8/3/2003 1:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using the Pro-Activ System for about four months now and the results have been incredible. I never had really bad acne but I've noticed that after a few weeks of using ProActiv, my complexion has become much clearer. My nose is usually filled with blakcheads and now my nose is clear! The only part of my face that won't seem to clear up is my chin: there is always a pimple or two there for some reason. Otherwise, Pro Activ is great and I will probably keep using this for a looooooooong time.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
107 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
286 Reviews
Unblemish
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top