Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3397 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/1/2003 8:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using the 3 step system for about three months now. Initially I found that my acne was clearing up rapidly, especially when I did the 3 step routine three times a day. The products do dry out your skin, however, and once in a while my whole face peels for about a day. One thing I noticed about Pro Activ that I dislike is that it seems to promote scarring rather than improve it. This may be more of an issue with darker skinned people. Pro Activ has done nothing to improve my scars, and the pimples I get now tend to scar more severly than they did before I was using the system. I really like the cleanser, but don't care much for the toner and lotion. The cleanser has a pleasant scent and the lotion is neutral, but the toner has an unpleasant scent.
Skin gets used to the product after a month or so. Skin doesn't get as dry and there seems to be an overall reduction in the number of pimples. Must be used in conjunction with the sulphur Refining Mask to see improvement.
Update: I've identified the cleanser as being the source of the increased scarring. Scrubbing every day tends to spread the bacteria that causes acne. On the other hand, the toner provides the hydration that the other Pro Activ products strip from your skin. After using the system for about 4-5 months, I've cancelled my membership. The company has hopeless customer service representatives; many times they did not send or took a long time to send the products I asked for. All in all I think the system is okay if used once a day instead of twice a day. The sulphur mask is the best product in the system and is a truly effective night time spot treatment.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The 3-step actually works, I've seen. I especially like the repairing lotion- it takes a little time but its does work. Try it.


on 7/29/2003 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for a year now. I noticed the most dramatic results within the first three months. I seriously believe that my face is beginning to tolerate the 2.5% BP dosage and therefore the return of some blemishes. What I'm most inconvenienced by, however, is the mail order process and the product arriving on your doorstep every 8 weeks. Very inconvenient. I am now buying DDF from Sephora. The products are formulated for acne and have different BP dosages, from 2.5% to 10%. The products also contain glycolic acid which is a wonderful exfoliant.


on 7/26/2003 1:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

okay, ive only been using this for a day but i woke up, and i have this red swollen itchy spot above my right eye. its pretty ugly. and the rest of my face seems kinda swollen and a bit red in places. whether im allergic to this stuff, i dunno. but i guess ill keep at it to try to build a tolerance, so ill update later!UPDATE:I only use this at nitetime, and its working great! my skin is really clearing up i just have like 2 zits left! yay!2nd Update: I broke out in a disgusting cluster of 4 zits and clogged pores on my cheeks. I stopped using this and switched to cetaphil+toner and my skins really clearing up now


on 7/25/2003 10:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I can't believe this is rated so lowly! It has been so great for my friends and I. I tried antibiotics and just about everything else short of accutane, but nothing worked. I always had clear skin but began to breakout at age 25 (just when I thought my skin was home-free!). This is the only thing that works. Even if I only use the cleanser once a day as maintenance, it makes a big difference. You can call the company and have the products delivered at what ever length you need--I don't use all of the 3-step products every day, so I only have it delivered about every 4 months. Give it a try.


on 7/25/2003 4:19:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why I didn't learn the first time. I've tried this product twice and it's failed me both times. This system is just way to harsh for even my extremely oily, acne-covered skin. I do like the cleanser somewhat but rest of it can go to the garbage.


on 7/21/2003 10:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this stuff. My skin started breaking when I graduated from college, and this is the only product that's kept it in check.

I recommend using the cleanser and the toner in the mornings and evenings, but only use the "repairing lotion" at night. The repairing lotion is a really a drying agent, so I think "lotion" is kind of misleading.

My only complaints are the price and the fact that I run through the cleanser about twice as fast as I run through the "repairing lotion", and I can't even count the excess bottles of toner I have. I'm about to stop the automatic shipments and just order a few bottles of the cleanser until I use up my stash of the other products.


on 7/20/2003 2:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This really didn't do much for my skin. I can't see myself spending the money to buy it again. My brother-in-law uses it as well and has seen no results either.


on 7/18/2003 2:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This system works really well on my skin. I have super sensitive skin, and had no problems with any of these products. The downside is if you become a member of the program you get automatic delivery-so it arrives whether you still have product left or not. Unless you call them and delay it - which is a hassle. UPDATE- my skin went up and down while using this - I had breakouts then I didn't. I think it was the normal cycle for my skin and not the Proactiv which really didn't seem to help that much.


on 7/16/2003 4:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this system for 3 weeks now....and could kick myself for not using it sooner. I have always had problems with my skin breaking out - from a few pimples to severe. Until now, I never would have described my skin as beautiful - but it's almost there. It looks so smooth and even I just can't believe it. When I bought this, I was SURE I'd be taking it back before the 60 day time limit...but now I just want to make sure I don't run out! To me it's a little pricey but, based on my results, I'd pay it in a heartbeat!


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1297 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
183 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
106 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
283 Reviews
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top