L'Oreal Feria Haircolor

3.0

659 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The packaging for the Feria hair dyes is so beautiful, but don't be fooled! The colors fade a lot, and fast. I've used this a few times in a few different shades, and never got results that I liked.



on 10/28/2007 6:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I tried this product twice: once with Crushed Garnet, it left my roots a light red and the rest of my hair a reddish brown, it looked horrible. Then I tried Chocolate Cherry to try and cover the roots and even it out. Looked great for a few days, then my roots faded again to a much lighter color than the rest of my hair. It looked ridiculous and I have never had that problem with diy haircolor. Also, it burned my scalp and made my eyes water because the smell was sooo strong. It did make my hair VERY shiny and metallic looking which was neat but I would not buy this product again because of the inconsistency of the color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2007 9:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Update -- As I understand usually happens with reds, this faded rather quickly. Six weeks later, I've got what looks like strawberry blond highlights. I did like the look, it just didn't last long.

Like so many others, I'm surprised by the negative reviews. I actually really liked this product. I used Chocolate Cherry and it came out great -- exactly like it's pictured on the box. I found it much less drippy than other hair color products I've used; in fact, this is the first time in a long time that I haven't dripped all over the bathroom.

The "aromatic ampoule" is mostly just a marketing strategy, but it did cut down on the ammonia smell in the product. I got this on sale at CVS for $7.99, so I thought it was a great deal.


on 10/20/2007 5:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love the color (at first) but don't like how it looks as it fades, and I don't like the condition of my hair when I use it. On me (dark brown hair -- I always dye it a similar dark brown, or a dark red) this faded in a really flat way. So for two weeks it looks great, and then for the rest of the time it looks monochromatic and dull. And the condition of my thin hair would get dry and stiff with this color. Love the colors, don't like the result.


on 10/18/2007 3:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am shocked by all the negative reviews; I have used several shades of Feria, and have always gotten raves from my hairdressers-- people have literally stopped me on the street to compliment my hair (most of all when I was in my "Chocolate Cherry" phase). My hair is extremely fine and delicate, and I have never had split ends or other damage with this product-- in fact, my hair is bouncy and shiny.

With regard to fading: Red dye molecules are larger than other molecules, and therefore, precipitate out of hair shafts faster than other colors. Red is ALWAYS difficult to maintain, especially in a home coloring kit. Three things can help:

1. Do not wash hair for two days after coloring.
2. Do not use shampoo with harsh cleansers, especially ammonium lauryl sulfate (harmful!) and even ammonium laureth sulfate, the most common cleanser in shampoos.
3. Do not expose colored hair to sun, chlorine (including chlorinated tap water), or other bleaching agents.

Also, use the right product if fading is a problem: Not all home hair coloring kits are created equal! Consult the box for the "number of shampoos" it is designed to endure-- also keeping in mind that your hair's porousness can affect that estimate WILDLY!

Everyone's hair is different, and how you stress it via repeated coloring, blow drying, product usage, etc. will have a dramatic effect on your success with color. Most of all, if you find something that works with your hair's chemistry, STICK WITH IT! Feria is MY HG home coloring kit-- but everyone is different.

Cheers!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2007 11:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've never had a bad experience with Feria. Like someone posted below, I love that Feria can cover my highlights, then "soften" naturally. I hate when haircolor looks highly pigmented or flat, and the darker brown shades of Feria (Espresso, for example) deepen and enrich my hair w/o being matte or muddy.

I must must must add that some of the reviews amaze me. 1. NEVER pick a color because you "like the shade on the box." No haircolor will give you that.....you have the read whether it is a warm or cool tone, bronzing, red etc.... Then compare your natural color or if you already have processed hair. 2. If you have dark brown hair, don't got for the light brown shades.....use the specially made Feria "Hi-Lift Brown" colors instead, because COLOR does NOT lift color (well).... so your results would certainly be a lighter, but a weird & brassy tone.

Feria never states it is a highly pigmented, meant to cover 100% grey type of color, so those looking for deeply saturated and heavily pigmented results will be disappointed. It isn't the most perfect haircolor on the market, but it's not nearly as bad if you know what you are using, know what your shade limits are, and know your own hair type beforehand.

Finally.... Feria is NOT a metallic dye. It is a semi-permanent color with some permanent dyes. Feria is MIXED by pouring one bottle into another then adding the "scent"...metallic dyes aren't mixed. After the color fades, you're left with a 'stained' version of your hair before Feria, hence why some find it looks orangey, brassy, yellow, or green-ish.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2007 7:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've never had problems with this hair color. There's always enough solution for my long hair, which is usually my biggest problem with other brands - I end up having to buy two bottles. The color goes evenly onto my hair and I don't have to wait too long to see results.


on 9/6/2007 3:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have to put in my 2 cents on this product. After reading the negatives reviews on this site I was afraid to try this stuff. But against my better judgement, I fell in love with the color on the box and decided to go for it. I'm glad I did.
After bleaching and dyeing and highlighting my dark blonde hair for over a year, I decided to go back to something close to my natural color. I chose #73 Golden Sunset, Dark Golden Blonde. The dyeing process was generally drama free. It didn't drip all over the place, it didn't smell overwhelming, and my head didn't start burning. In fact, it felt a little cool. This was obviously from the "soothing aromatic aura" packet in the kit. Of course, right before I went to wash my hair out I looked in the mirror and was horrified to see bright red, I was prepared for the worst. But after everything was rinsed, I was left with a nice, fairly even dark golden blonde shade. I'm utterly impressed, I usually hate the way my hair turns out! This didn't dry out my hair, or leave my scalp any more sensitive than any other dye I've used has. After reading through, and comparing ingredients, I've learned there is nothing in this dye that is any more "metallic", than most other hair dyes out there.
I'm hoping I won't have to dye my hair for some time, since I went back to my natural color. But if I do, I will use Feria again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2007 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually buy Garner haircolor product, but i decided to give loreal a try. I figured that Feria would fit me the best, and i was hoping for good results.
The smell was soo strong, stronger than any hair dye ive used that midway of my procedure i almost had a black out. My vision went out for a couple of seconds twice and my breathing gotten really hard.
some experience.. i would never buy it again.


on 8/26/2007 11:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this because I was having trouble finding Garnier 100% color.

I can't remember the shade, but it was a bright red.

The product is rather messy, in my opinon. Not only do you have to mix the 3 bottles of stuff, but after you wash it out, you have to shampoo your hair with the accompanying shampoo TWICE and then use their conditioner. This is time consuming.

I do have to say that the color was amazing and 2.5 weeks later, it's still very vibrant and my roots haven't started showing yet.

I would probably buy it again if I had a coupon or couldn't find any of my other brands/colors.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
373 Reviews
Colorsilk
711 Reviews
Back to Top