L'Oreal • Feria Haircolor • Hair Color

rated 2.9(654 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolcefan on 10/11/2007 11:15:00 AM more reviews by dolcefan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've never had a bad experience with Feria. Like someone posted below, I love that Feria can cover my highlights, then "soften" naturally. I hate when haircolor looks highly pigmented or flat, and the darker brown shades of Feria (Espresso, for example) deepen and enrich my hair w/o being matte or muddy.

I must must must add that some of the reviews amaze me. 1. NEVER pick a color because you "like the shade on the box." No haircolor will give you that.....you have the read whether it is a warm or cool tone, bronzing, red etc.... Then compare your natural color or if you already have processed hair. 2. If you have dark brown hair, don't got for the light brown shades.....use the specially made Feria "Hi-Lift Brown" colors instead, because COLOR does NOT lift color (well).... so your results would certainly be a lighter, but a weird & brassy tone.

Feria never states it is a highly pigmented, meant to cover 100% grey type of color, so those looking for deeply saturated and heavily pigmented results will be disappointed. It isn't the most perfect haircolor on the market, but it's not nearly as bad if you know what you are using, know what your shade limits are, and know your own hair type beforehand.

Finally.... Feria is NOT a metallic dye. It is a semi-permanent color with some permanent dyes. Feria is MIXED by pouring one bottle into another then adding the "scent"...metallic dyes aren't mixed. After the color fades, you're left with a 'stained' version of your hair before Feria, hence why some find it looks orangey, brassy, yellow, or green-ish.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kochou on 9/10/2007 7:24:00 PM more reviews by kochou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've never had problems with this hair color. There's always enough solution for my long hair, which is usually my biggest problem with other brands - I end up having to buy two bottles. The color goes evenly onto my hair and I don't have to wait too long to see results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Koshenka on 9/6/2007 3:50:00 AM more reviews by Koshenka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have to put in my 2 cents on this product. After reading the negatives reviews on this site I was afraid to try this stuff. But against my better judgement, I fell in love with the color on the box and decided to go for it. I'm glad I did.
After bleaching and dyeing and highlighting my dark blonde hair for over a year, I decided to go back to something close to my natural color. I chose #73 Golden Sunset, Dark Golden Blonde. The dyeing process was generally drama free. It didn't drip all over the place, it didn't smell overwhelming, and my head didn't start burning. In fact, it felt a little cool. This was obviously from the "soothing aromatic aura" packet in the kit. Of course, right before I went to wash my hair out I looked in the mirror and was horrified to see bright red, I was prepared for the worst. But after everything was rinsed, I was left with a nice, fairly even dark golden blonde shade. I'm utterly impressed, I usually hate the way my hair turns out! This didn't dry out my hair, or leave my scalp any more sensitive than any other dye I've used has. After reading through, and comparing ingredients, I've learned there is nothing in this dye that is any more "metallic", than most other hair dyes out there.
I'm hoping I won't have to dye my hair for some time, since I went back to my natural color. But if I do, I will use Feria again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mycuriosity on 8/27/2007 12:08:00 AM more reviews by mycuriosity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I usually buy Garner haircolor product, but i decided to give loreal a try. I figured that Feria would fit me the best, and i was hoping for good results.
The smell was soo strong, stronger than any hair dye ive used that midway of my procedure i almost had a black out. My vision went out for a couple of seconds twice and my breathing gotten really hard.
some experience.. i would never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 frenna on 8/26/2007 11:37:00 PM more reviews by frenna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I was having trouble finding Garnier 100% color.

I can't remember the shade, but it was a bright red.

The product is rather messy, in my opinon. Not only do you have to mix the 3 bottles of stuff, but after you wash it out, you have to shampoo your hair with the accompanying shampoo TWICE and then use their conditioner. This is time consuming.

I do have to say that the color was amazing and 2.5 weeks later, it's still very vibrant and my roots haven't started showing yet.

I would probably buy it again if I had a coupon or couldn't find any of my other brands/colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bec_ee on 8/26/2007 5:51:00 PM more reviews by Bec_ee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

ever the optimist, even after reading the reviews i convinced myself that i would be amoung the few people to get good results from this product. However, to err on the side of caution, for the first time in my life, i did a strand test before applying the color.
It's a good thing i did. I had wanted this color to cover up my roots, which i had tried unsuccesfully a few times to get to match the rest of my hair ( natural hair color is medium brown, roots are dark golden blonde, the rest of my hair is medium ash blonde) I picked candied peacan, or dark iridescent blonde, which pretty much matched my roots. My the hair from my strand test turned purple. Light grey purple, but definetly purple. The ash blonde part of my hair especially, but my regrowth was decededly purple too. Uneven, with a bit more gold. Gross! Good grief, it's a good thing i didn't just put this stuff on my head. There is NO EXCUSE why a dark golden blonde (the box looked beautiful of course) should turn PURPLE. It's sunday today, but i am calling l'oreal first thing tomorrow. I better be able to return this. Especially considering it was the most expensive at home color kit the store had. Oy.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Deandra on 8/26/2007 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Deandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure how to answer the question, "Would you buy this again?" I am not happy with the results of shade 94 Blush Blonde, which looks gorgeous on the box but came out a darker red. It is not so bad that I feel the need to rush to the salon to fix, but it is just not the color I wanted. I am a natural redhead but wanted to go one shade lighter and a shade brighter (more coppery) than my own color. I think I will go back to Revlon Colorsilk in Strawberry Blonde which was cheaper and gave better results. I strayed because the Colorsilk faded over time and I thought Feria might have better staying power. But I think I would have been better off staying with Colorsilk. Also fumes from Feria made my eyes burn and water and this is without anything getting in my eye. The dye while creamy and conditioning was very messy, requiring me to wash some towels immediately afterward and is hard to wash out. However, the conditioners are very soft. If I bought Feria again I would have to try a different shade or mix two shades together, and for the amount of mess and smell, I guess not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chelssix on 8/19/2007 6:52:00 PM more reviews by chelssix

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I bought the midnight ruby shade, and the color was gorgeous. It was the prettiest red shade I've ever had.
The only problem was that it faded. Fast. All of the red was sucked out after a week and I was left with a dark brown that obviously wasn't what I wanted.
I'm not sure if this happens with all Feria shades or just the red I tried, but I wouldn't buy the brand again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 winnz on 8/13/2007 8:44:00 PM more reviews by winnz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i'm not buying this again. i bought this in crystal brown, and i have medium to dark brown hair. and this didn't do much. my roots are also brighter than the rest of my hair, and my ears, just.. feel weird.. i think this is what the other reviewers mean by, "burning".. i'm going back to the brand i usually buy. cheaper AND at least the colour stays on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bubbles217987 on 8/13/2007 2:49:00 AM more reviews by bubbles217987

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

im shocked by reading these reviews... i am a natural blonde but i do dye my hair to keep it a real light blonde... however i dont use this on all my hair... i only do my roots and then i use the left over for streaks in my hair... maybe thats why my hair is still healthy and not real damaged...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products